Monday, 22 March 2021

(450) Bathurst of Franks, and Bathurst of Hothorpe, Cirencester and Langwith, Earls Bathurst - part 2

This post is divided into two parts: part 1 includes the introduction to the family and the descriptions of the houses they built or owned over the last five hundred years; and this section contains the biographical and genealogical details of the owners.


Bathurst family of Franks Hall


Bathurst, Launcelot (1529-96). Son of Edward Bathurst (fl. 1558) of Staplehurst (Kent) and his wife Margaret (later Margaret Portriffe) (fl. 1596), born 1529. A citizen and grocer of the city of London; warden of the Grocers Company, 1592; alderman of the city of London (from 1593). He married, 30 March 1573 at St Benet Fink, London, Judith, daughter of Barnard Randolph of London and Wardis (Sussex), and had issue:
(1) Judith Bathurst (1574-1657), baptised at St Mary Abchurch, London, 27 June 1574; married, 27 November 1595 at St Botolph, Aldgate, London, Thomas Buckhurst (d. 1624?) of Staplehurst (Kent), and had issue three daughters; will proved in the PCC, 15 December 1657;
(2) Randolph Bathurst (1576-1644) (q.v.);
(3) Elizabeth Bathurst (1577-1623?), baptised at St Mary Bothaw, London, 31 December 1577; married 1st, November 1595 at St Mary Bothaw, London, John Browne (d. 1596) and 2nd, between August 1596 and February 1596/7, Thomas Saunder (d. 1644?) of Charlwood (Surrey) (who m2, Elizabeth Hopkins of Norwich and had further issue two sons and three daughters), and had issue one son and two daughters; probably the woman of this name buried at St Clement Danes, London, 13 March 1622/3;
(4) Mary Bathurst (1579-1629), baptised at St Mary Bothaw, London, 26 July 1579; married, 9 June 1597 at St Mary Bothaw, London, Edmund Peshall (d. 1629) of London, grocerand had issue three sons and one daughter; buried at St Mary Bothaw, London, 15 January 1629;
(5) Susan[na] Bathurst (1582-1619?), baptised at St Mary Bothaw, 25 March 1582; married, 1601 (contract 15 June) Robert Owen, son of Edward Owen of Shrewsbury, and had issue; probably the woman of this name buried at Condover (Shrops), 7 January 1618/9;
(6) Rafe Bathurst (b. 1583), baptised at St Mary Bothaw, London, 30 January 1583/4; educated at Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1604); probably died unmarried;
(7) Lancelot Bathurst (1585-1668?), baptised at St Mary Bothaw, London, 26 August 1585; lived at Hawley (Kent); living in 1596;
(8) Edward Bathurst (1588-1649?), baptised at St Mary Bothaw, 31 March 1588; married Mary, daughter of Thomas Browne and had issue one son (who may have died in the lifetime of his father) and one daughter; probably the man of this name whose will was proved 22 February 1649;
(9) George Bathurst (1589-1656) [for whom see Bathurst family, Earls Bathurst, below];
(10) Henry Bathurst (1592-1620), baptised at St Mary Bothaw, London, 13 January 1591/2; died unmarried between 1 March and 13 March 1619/20; will proved in the PCC, 13 March 1619/20.
He acquired the manor of Franks (Kent), and built the house there, which he left to his widow for life and then to his son Randolph. He also owned a house in London, property at Chingford (Essex), the manor of Highlands at Sutton-at-Hone (Kent), and lands on Romney Marsh (Kent) and at East Bergholt (Suffk).
He died  26 September 1596 and was buried at St Mary Bothaw, London, 6 October 1596; his will was proved 5 November 1596 and an inquisition post mortem was held 22 July 1601. His widow married 2nd, Sir Edward Kynaston (d. 1641), kt. of Oteley (Shrops), but her date of death has not been traced.

Bathurst, Randolph (1576-1644). Eldest son of Lancelot Bathurst (1529-96) and his wife Judith, daughter of Barnard Randall or Randolph of London and Wardis (Sussex), baptised at St Mary Bothaw, London, 1 July 1576. Educated at Pembroke College, Cambridge (matriculated 1596) and Lincolns Inn (admitted 1596). He married, 18 September 1596 at St Bartholomew-the-Less, London, Catherine (b. 1575; fl. 1620), daughter of Robert Argall of East Sutton (Kent) and had issue:
(1) Lancelot Bathurst (1600-01), born 1600 and died in infancy, 1601);
(2) Sir Edward Bathurst (c.1603-80), kt. (q.v.);
(3) Lancelot Bathurst (1610-77), of Barnend, Wilmington (Kent); married 1st, 28 March 1637 at Sutton-at-Hone (Kent), Anne Blathwight [Blathwayt?] of Wilmington; married 2nd, 1669 (licence 14 July), Anne (d. 1708) (who m2, William Bathurst of Finchcocks (Kent)), daughter of Richard Gamon, but had no issue; buried 28 January 1677; will proved 8 February 1677;
(4) Samuel Bathurst (b. c.1614; fl. 1664), of Charlton in Wantage (Berks); married Dorothy, daughter of Edward Scoles of Charlton and had issue three sons and one daughter; living in 1664;
(5) Judith Bathurst (fl. 1620); died unmarried;
(6) Mary Bathurst; married John Halton of Kent;
(7) Elizabeth Bathurst; married Thomas Walter of Kent;
(8) Catherine Bathurst; died unmarried;
(9) Margaret Bathurst; married Sir Thomas Heath, kt., of Kent;
(10) Anna Bathurst (fl. 1620); married Philip Ward (d. 1651?) of Rochester (Kent), mayor of Rochester in 1640 and 1647-48 and a prominent figure in the town during the Civil War; he was a Presbyterian and a Parliamentarian but fell out with the County Committee and became a Royalist who was involved in the Kent rebellion of 1648; he ceased to be involved in civic affairs in 1651 and may have died then.
He inherited Franks Hall from his father in 1596, subject to his mother's life interest, and came of age in about 1597.
He died between October 1643 and March 1643/4, when his death was reported to the Committee for the Advance of Money. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bathurst, Sir Edward (c.1603-80), kt. Eldest surviving son of Randolph Bathurst (1576-1644) and his wife Catherine, daughter of Robert Argall of East Sutton (Kent), born about 1603. Educated at Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1621). He was knighted by King Charles I at Nonsuch Palace, 3 November 1625. He married, 1624 (licence 2 November), Frances (c.1607-89), daughter of Sir Thomas Wyseman of Rivenhall (Essex), and had issue:
(1) Sir Thomas Bathurst (c.1628-88), kt. (q.v.);
(2) Francis Bathurst; died young.
He inherited Franks Hall from his father in 1643 or 1644. 
He was probably the man of this name buried at St Giles, Cripplegate, London, 19 November 1680. His widow was buried at Horton Kirby, 2 March 1688/9 and her will was proved in the PCC, 26 February 1688/9.

Bathurst, Sir Thomas (c.1628-88), kt. Only surviving son of Sir Edward Bathurst (c.1603-80), kt. and his wife, born about 1628. Educated at the University of Leiden (MD, 1659); incorporated at Oxford (MD 1662); admitted to Royal College of Physicians, 1662. He was knighted by King Charles II at Whitehall, 11 February 1664/5. He married Mary (d. 1690), daughter of Sir John Maynard, and had issue:
(1) Francis Bathurst (c.1667-1738) (q.v.);
(2) Lancelot Bathurst (c.1670-1720), born about 1670; buried at Horton Kirby, 1 August 1720;
(3) Maynard Bathurst; died young;
(4) Thomas Bathurst; died young;
(5) Thomas Bathurst; died young;
(6) John Bathurst; died young;
(7) Henry Bathurst; died young;
(8) Maynard Bathurst; died young.
He inherited Franks Hall from his father in 1680.
He died 5 March and his funeral was held at St Bride, Fleet St., London, 9 March 1687/8, but he was buried at Horton Kirby, where he is commemorated by a monument; will proved 20 March 1687/8. His widow was buried at Horton Kirby, 3 March 1689/90.

Bathurst, Francis (c.1667-1738). Elder surviving son of Sir Thomas Bathurst (c.1628-88), kt. and his wife Mary, born about 1667. Educated at Trinity College, Oxford (matriculated 1684). He married 1st, 1 May 1688 at St Katherine by the Tower, London, Susanna (1670-1707), daughter of Thomas Hibbert alias Hubbert; 2nd, 20 April 1710 at St Pancras (Middx), Martha (1660-1721), daughter of John Highlord esq. of Beddington (Surrey) and widow of William Malthus (1651-1700) of Reading; 3rd, 22 August 1723 at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), Frances (1680-1725), daughter of Edward Eyre and widow of Richard Hill (1660-1721) of Sutton-at-Hone (Kent); and 4th, 18 September 1726 at St Ann, Blackfriars, London, Mary Smith (d. 1748), widow, and had issue:
(1.1) Berenice Bathurst (1692-1748) (q.v.);
(1.2) Lancelot Bathurst (1693-1714), baptised in London, 5 October 1693 (but entered in the register at Horton Kirby); educated at Pembroke College, Cambridge (matriculated 1711/2); buried at Horton Kirby, 9 December 1714;
(1.3) Bosvile Bathurst (1700-14), baptised at Horton Kirby, 14 March 1699/1700; died young and was buried at Horton Kirby, 9 December 1714.
He inherited Franks Hall from his father in 1688.
He was buried at Horton Kirby, 8 March 1738; will proved in the PCC, 9 May 1739. His first wife was buried at Horton Kirby, 2 May 1707. His second wife was buried at Horton Kirby, 26 July 1721. His third wife was buried at Horton Kirby, 20 August 1725. His widow married 3rd, 23 September 1739 at St Mary-at-Hill, London, as his second wife, Dr. Clifford Handasyde MD (1693-1772), son of Thomas Handasyde, and was buried at West Malling (Kent), 3 October 1748.

Bathurst, Berenice (1692-1748). Only daughter of Francis Bathurst (c.1667-1738) and his wife, baptised in London, 12 August 1692 (but entered in the register of Horton Kirby). She married, 20 May 1718 at St Benet, Paul's Wharf, London (separated by 1730), Joseph Fletcher (d. c.1739) of London, and had issue:
(1) Susan Fletcher (1721-57), born 29 November and baptised at St Gregory by St Paul, London, 7 December 1721; married, 14 June 1745 at Charterhouse Chapel, London, John Tasker (c.1720-96) (who m2, 28 April 1760 at Rochester (Kent), Anne (1739-1814), daughter of Thomas Faunce of Sutton-at-Hone (Kent)), of Grays Inn and Dartford (Kent), solicitor, but had no issue; buried at Horton Kirby, 26 May 1757; will proved 2 June 1757.
She inherited Franks Hall from her father in 1738. At her death it passed to her daughter and her husband.
She was buried at Horton Kirby, 28 August 1748; her will was proved in the PCC, 3 October 1748. Her husband was living in 1738 but was dead by 1739.

Bathurst family, Earls Bathurst


Bathurst, George (1589-1656). Son of Launcelot Bathurst (1529-96) [for whom see above] and his wife Judith, daughter of Barnard Randolph of London and Wardis (Sussex), baptised at St Mary Bothaw, London, 31 August 1589. Educated at Trinity College, Oxford (matriculated 1605) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1607). At the time of his marriage he had only about £300 a year, but the estate he acquired by marriage enabled him to support a large family. It was said near the time that 'All his children were very ingenious and prosperous in the world, and most of them handsome', something which surviving portraits tend to bear out. He married 1st, 1610, Elizabeth (1594-1650), third daughter and co-heiress of Edward Villiers of Hothorpe (Northants) and stepdaughter of Dr. Kettel, the President of Trinity College, and 2nd, Susanna, daughter of Sir Richard Burneby, kt. of Watford (Northants), and had issue:
(1.1) George Bathurst (1612-44), baptised at Garsington (Oxon), 22 March 1611/2; educated at Trinity College, Oxford (admitted 1626; matriculated 1629; BA 1629; MA 1632; BD 1640); Fellow of Trinity College, Oxford, 1634-44; a Royalist in the Civil War, who died as a result of a wound in the thigh received at the siege of Faringdon (Berks), 2 May 1644; a probate inventory of his goods was approved at Oxford, 7 August 1645;
(1.2) Rev. Edward Bathurst (1614-68), said to have been born 1 January 1614; educated at Trinity College, Oxford (matriculated 1629; BA 1630; MA 1634; BD 1641; DD); 'a distinguished Royalist academic' and 'a person of singular learning and probity', he was a Fellow of Trinity College, and erected a statue of the founder over the entrance to the hall in 1665, when his brother Ralph was President; ordained deacon, 1636 and priest, 1637; vicar of Aylburton (Glos), 1638-42; vicar of Cropredy (Oxon), 1642-56, and rector of Chipping Warden (Northants), 1656-68; died 19 November 1668 and was buried at Chipping Warden, where he is commemorated by a monument; will proved in the PCC, 10 December 1668;
(1.3) Eliza Bathurst (1615-1713?), born 1615; married, 19 August 1638 at Holy Trinity, Coventry (Warks),  Abraham Bowne (1617-95?) of Coundon (Warks), son of Ralph Bowne of Coventry, and had issue three sons and one daughter; living in 1698 and said to have died aged about 97 on 28 July 1713;
(1.4) John Bathurst (1616-56), born 1616; apprenticed to Robert Garland of London, fishmonger, 1639; a citizen and fishmonger of London, who had a number of apprentices during the Civil War and Commonwealth; a member of the Common Council of the City of London; died unmarried and without issue and was buried at Theddingworth, 23 April 1656 (the same day as his father);
(1.5) James Bathurst (1618-82), of Dublin and Boulten (Co. Kildare), born 1618; married 1st, Elizabeth Clarke and had issue ten children; married 2nd, 1664, Elizabeth Blounte (d. 1691); died in Dublin in 1682 and his probate inventory was approved, 1683;
(1.6) Very Rev. Dr Ralph Bathurst (1620-1704), born 1620; educated at Gloucester Hall and Trinity College, Oxford (matriculated 1634; BA 1638; MA 1641; MB 1653; MD 1654; DD); Fellow of Trinity College, Oxford, 1640-1704 (President, 1664-1704), where he built the wonderful chapel and the earlier part of Garden Quad; Vice-Chancellor of Oxford University, 1673-76, in which capacity he refitted the chancel of St Mary's church; ordained 1644, but on the suppression of the church establishment by Parliament, he qualified as a doctor and practised as a physician in Oxford for many years, appointed a physician to the sick and wounded in the Navy under the Commonwealth; after the Restoration he became rector of Garsington (Oxon), 1664 and Dean of Wells Cathedral, 1670, but declined the bishopric of Bristol in 1691; Chaplain to King Charles II; Fellow of the Royal Society, 1663-1704; a friend of Sir Christopher Wren, who was consulted about his buildings for Trinity College; became blind some years before his death; married, 1664, Mary (c.1617-90), daughter and heiress of John Tristram of Baunton (Devon) and widow of Dr. John Palmer MD of Taunton, Warden of All Souls College, but had no issue; he died 14 June 1704 after breaking his leg in a fall occasioned by his blindness while walking in his garden a few days earlier, and was buried in Trinity College chapel; his will was proved 22 June 1704;
(1.7) Henry Bathurst (b. & d. 1621), baptised at Theddingworth, 6 July 1621; died in infancy;
(1.8) Mary Bathurst (1622-c.1700), born 1622; married, 23 November 1648 at Cropredy (Oxon), John Turner of Hothorpe and had issue two sons and three daughters; buried at Theddingworth, 28 May 1700; will proved at Leicester, 1700;
(1.9) Henry Bathurst (1623-76), born 1623; educated at Trinity College, Oxford (matriculated 1638), Clifford's Inn and the Inner Temple (admitted 1646; called 1653); barrister-at-law; attorney general for Munster; recorder of Cork and Kinsale; lived at Castlepark (Co. Cork); died unmarried and without issue; will was proved in Dublin 27 May 1676;
(1.10) Lancelot Bathurst (1624-69), born 1624; apprenticed to Robert Ostwick of London, draper, 1644; died unmarried and without issue and was buried at Theddingworth, 23 August 1669;
(1.11) Thomas Bathurst (b. 1626), baptised at Theddingworth, 29 March 1626; apprenticed to George Haynes of London, grocer, 1640; said to have been killed in the Civil War and this may be correct as there seems no sign of him afterwards; he died without issue;
(1.12) Samuel Bathurst (1627-66?), baptised at Theddingworth, 15 July 1627; apprenticed to Robert Allam of London, grocer, 1642; married Mary [surname unknown] (fl. 1650) and had issue three sons (one of whom, Villiers Bathurst (1655-1711) is said erroneously in some sources to be a son rather than a grandson of George Bathurst); known to be dead by 1668 and perhaps the man of this name whose will was proved in Dublin, 23 February 1666;
(1.13) Moses Bathurst (1628-1705), baptised at Theddingworth, 29 September 1628; merchant in London; inherited the Hothorpe estate from his father in 1656; married, by 1659, Dorothy (1640-1711), daughter of Dr. John Bathurst of Leeds (Yorks WR), and had issue two daughters; retired to Hothorpe Hall; died 28 March 1705 and was buried at Theddingworth; will proved 18 June 1705;
(1.14) Judith Bathurst (1631-1708), born 1631; lived with her brother Edward, at Chipping Warden and was his executor, and later with her brother Moses at Hothorpe; died unmarried 5 June 1708; will proved in the PCC, 9 July 1708;
(1.15) Susanna Bathurst (1633-1705), baptised at Holy Trinity, Coventry (Warks), 5 May 1633; married Rev. Joseph Guy (c.1642-1706), vicar of Speenhamland (Berks), 1670-1706; buried at Speenhamland, 10 January 1704/5;
(1.16) Joseph Bathurst (b. 1634), baptised at Holy Trinity, Coventry, 28 October 1634; apprenticed to Robert Ostwick of London, draper, 1651; owned a plantation of 1200 acres on Jamaica, 1670; joint clerk of the common pleas at Port Royal, Jamaica, 1688, and from 1692 in any town on the island, an earthquake having destroyed Port Royal; married and had issue three daughters; date of death untraced;
(1.17) Sir Benjamin Bathurst (1638-1704), kt. (q.v.).
He inherited Hothorpe Hall (Leics) in right of his first wife on his marriage in 1610.
He died 19 April, and was buried at Theddingworth, 23 April 1656, where he is commemorated by a wall monument; his will was proved 16 September 1656. His first wife was buried 5 January 1650. His second wife married 2nd, [forename unknown] Brian; her death has not been traced.

Sir Benjamin Bathurst (1638-1704)
Image: Hermitage Museum, St Petersburg 
Bathurst, Sir Benjamin (1638-1704), kt. 
Thirteenth and youngest son of George Bathurst (1589-1651/56) of Hothorpe (Northants) and his first wife Elizabeth, daughter and co-heir of Edward Villiers of Hothorpe, baptised at Theddingworth (Leics), 3 October 1638. His much older brothers having been active Royalists during the Civil War, he was unable to live in England without disturbance during the Commonwealth period, and settled in Cadiz and later Seville (Spain), where he became a prosperous merchant. He probably returned to England in the early 1670s. He was a Director of Royal African Company 1677-95 (deputy governor, 1680-82; sub-governor, 1682-84, 1685-86 and 1689-90); of the East India Company, 1684-98 (deputy governor, 1686-88, 1695-96; governor, 1688-90), and of the Levant Company (deputy governor, 1686-87, 1688-89, 1695). An alderman of the city of London, 1683-86 and a Deputy Lieutenant for the City, 1685-87, 1688-89 and 1702-04. 
MP for Bere Alston (Devon), 1685-87 and for New Romney (Kent), 1702-04. He was knighted, 17 January 1682 and was awarded an honorary degree by Oxford University (DCL, 1702). His wife was an intimate friend of Princess Anne (later Queen Anne), and secured him a succession of financial appointments at Court in which he distinguished himself (according to his epitaph) ‘by his singular prudence and economy’; he also became a significant lender to the Government. He was a Commissioner for the Duke of York's revenue, 1682-85 and Treasurer to the Duke, 1684-85; Treasurer to Princess Anne of Denmark, 1683-1702 and to her husband, Prince George of Denmark, 1684-1702; Treasurer to the Duke of Gloucester, 1699-1700, and Cofferer of the Royal Household, 1702-04. He married, June 1682, Frances (1653-1727), daughter of Sir Allen Apsley, kt., and had issue:
(1) Allen Bathurst (1684-1775), 1st Baron Bathurst and 1st Earl Bathurst (q.v.);
(2) Peter Bathurst (1687-1748), of Clarendon Park (Wilts), born 22 April and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 1 May 1687; educated at Eton and Trinity College, Oxford (matriculated 1703) before travelling on the continent with a tutor (Mr Douns) in 1707, visiting Padua and Rome; Tory MP for Wilton, 1711-13, Cirencester, 1727-34 and for Salisbury, 1734-41; married 1st, 1709, Leonora Maria (d. 1720), daughter and heiress of Charles Howe of Gritworth (Northants) and 2nd, 24 October 1720, Lady Selina Shirley, daughter of 1st Earl Ferrers, and had issue seventeen children [from whom descend the Hervey-Bathurst family who will be the subject of a future post]; died 6 May 1748; will proved 16 May 1748;
(3) Ann Bathurst (1690-1729), born 1 December and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 12 December 1690; married, as his second wife, Henry Pye (1683-1749) of Faringdon House (Berks) and Knotting (Beds), and had issue sixteen children (of whom seven sons and six daughters survived to maturity); died 6 October 1729;
(4) Benjamin Bathurst (1692-1767) [for whom see my article on the Bathursts of Lydney].
He purchased the manor of Paulerspury (Northants) from Edward Hales (1645-95) in 1673-74 and in 1675 also acquired the rectory manor at Potterspury (Northants); they were settled on his wife by their marriage settlement, but she gave them to her eldest son in 1707. In 1695 he purchased the Cirencester estate for his eldest son and he also bought lands in Lincolnshire for his second son.
He died 27 April and was buried at Paulerspury, 9 May 1704; his will was proved in the PCC, 19 May 1704. His widow died 7 June and was buried at Paulerspury, 13 June 1727.

Allen Bathurst, 1st Earl Bathurst 
Bathurst, 
Rt. Hon. Allen (1684-1775), 1st Baron Bathurst and 1st Earl Bathurst. Son of Sir Benjamin Bathurst (d. 1704), kt. and his wife Frances, daughter of Sir Allen Apsley of Apsley (Sussex), born 16 November 1684. Educated privately (by the Hugeunot émigré, Abel Boyer (d. 1729)) and at Trinity College, Oxford (matriculated 1700). Tory MP for Cirencester, 1705-12. His connections to the court of Queen Anne were strong (his father had been her Treasurer and his mother a close confidant), and in 1708 Queen Anne and her consort spent the night at Cirencester Park. He was raised to the peerage as 1st Baron Bathurst of Battlesden* (Beds), 1 January 1711/2, as part of the Queen's plan to pack the House of Lords with twelve carefully selected Tory peers in order to secure the passage of the Treaty of Utrecht that ended the War of the Spanish Succession. With the death of Queen Anne in 1714 and the arrival of King George I, who favoured the Whig party, he found himself in the political wilderness and became a Jacobite, sending money and assurances of support to the old Pretender and vigorously opposing successive Whig ministries in the Lords (in an attempt to suppress evidence of his Jacobitism, his son burned almost all his correspondence, which is a sad loss). There was a restlessness about him which his brother Benjamin found annoying: ‘he has more than once, in my opinion, quitted his best friends for those I think very indifferent. He flies about in life as in his journeys, still pursuing something new, without taking the least delight in anything he once has known.’ He was sworn of the Privy Council in 1742 and was Captain of the Gentleman Pensioners, 1742-44. Later in the 1740s, he was a member of Prince Frederick’s ‘Leicester House faction’, and when the princely household was re-established for the future George III Bathurst was appointed its Treasurer, 1757-60. When George III became king, he declined office on the grounds of his age, but was awarded a pension of £2,000 a year, and some years later he was promoted in the peerage to be 1st Earl Bathurst of Bathurst (Sussex), 27 August 1772. He was a friend of both the leading Tory writers, Jonathan Swift and Alexander Pope, and was particularly close to Pope on whose advice he relied a great deal in laying out the grounds at Cirencester. He gained a considerable reputation for his landscape design ability, and is known to have supplied designs to the Duke of Bolton for landscaping at Hackwood (Hants). He married**, 6 July 1704, his first cousin, Catherine (1688-1768), daughter and eventual heiress of Sir Peter Apsley of Apsley (Sussex), and had issue including:
(1) Catherine Bathurst (b. 1705), born 2 December and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 16 December 1705; died young;
(2) Hon. Frances Bathurst (1708-56), born 6 July 1708; married 1st, 5 August 1731, William Wodehouse MP (1705-35), son of Sir John Wodehouse, 4th bt., of Kimberley Hall (Norfk), but had no issue; married 2nd, 5 December 1738 at Bath (Som.), James Whitshed (c.1716-89), MP for St Ives, 1754-61 and for Cirencester, 1761-83 (who m2, 6 June 1770 at Walcot (Som.), Frances, daughter of Thomas Enery of Bawnboy (Co. Cavan)), son of James Whitshed of Dublin; buried at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 25 May 1756;
(3) Lady Catherine Bathurst (1709-1800), born 12 November and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 20 November 1709; married, 14 April[?] 1737 at St James, Piccadilly, Hon. Henry Reginald Courtenay (1714-63) of Aldershot (Hants), MP for Honiton, 1741-47, 1754-63, son of Sir William Courtenay, 2nd bt., of Powderham Castle (Devon) and but for the attainder 6th Earl of Devon, and had issue two sons and two daughters; died in London, May 1800;
(4) Hon. Benjamin Bathurst (1711-67), born 12 August and baptised 18 August 1711; educated at Balliol College, Oxford (matriculated 1725); undertook a Grand Tour through France and Italy, 1729-30; Tory MP for Cirencester, 1754-61; out-ranger of Windsor Forest, 1763-65, a post from which he was removed by the Earl of Rockingham but for which he was compensated with a secret service pension of £500 a year; lived at Siddington (Glos); married, 26 November 1732, Lady Elizabeth (d. 1771), daughter of Charles Bruce, 4th Earl of Elgin and Earl of Ailesbury, and had issue one son, who died in infancy; died 22 January and was buried at Siddington, 27 January 1767;
(5) Henry Bathurst (1714-94), 2nd Earl Bathurst (q.v.);
(6) Lady Jane Bathurst (1718-94), born 13 April 1718; married, 24 April 1744 at St James, Piccadilly, as his second wife, John Buller (1717-65) of Downes (Devon), MP for East Looe, 1741-47 and for Cornwall, 1748-65, eldest son of John Francis Buller MP, and had issue three sons and three daughters; died in London, 5 March 1794;
(7) Lady Leonora Bathurst (c.1720-98), born about 1720; married, 2 September 1752, Gen. Edward Urmston (1720-78); died at Esher, and was buried at Harrow (Middx), 5 November 1798; will proved 11 December 1798;
(8) Hon. Allen Bathurst (1721-25), born 16 February and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 6 March 1720/1; died young and was buried at St James, Piccadilly, 25 January 1724/5;
(9) Lady Anne Bathurst (1722-1803); married, 13 April 1752, Rev. James Benson LLD (c.1721-81), vicar of Siddington St Mary (Glos) and chancellor of the diocese of Gloucester, and had issue one son (who died young) and two daughters; buried at St Mary de Lode, Gloucester, 11 February 1803; will proved at Gloucester, 9 August 1811 (effects under £100);
(10) Hon. Mary Bathurst (1724-25), baptised at St James Piccadilly, 30 December 1724; died in infancy and was buried at St James Piccadilly, 20 February 1724/5;
(11) Hon. John Bathurst (1726-77), born 29 January and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 16 February 1725/6; lived at Sapperton (Glos); died unmarried, 7 May, and was buried at Sapperton, 12 May 1777; by his will proved in the PCC, 31 October 1777 he left all his possessions to his housekeeper, Mrs Ann Stockwell;
(12) Hon. Edmund Bathurst (1727-28), born 1 April and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 17 April 1727; died in infancy and was buried at St James, Piccadilly, 29 January 1727/8;
(13) Hon. and Rev. Allen Bathurst (1729-67), born 6 September and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 24 September 1729; educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1748; BCL 1756); ordained deacon, 1752 and priest, 1754; rector of Sapperton, 1754-67 and Beverstone (Glos), 1760-67; died unmarried, 22 August and was buried at Sapperton, 25 August 1767.
He inherited the Cirencester Park and Hothorpe estates from his father in 1704, and remodelled the house at Cirencester in 1723-27. He devoted much of his life to laying out the grounds at Cirencester with the help of Alexander Pope (1688-1744). He purchased the Battlesden (Beds) estate in 1706. In 1707 his mother gave him the Paulerspury estate in Northamptonshire. In 1708 he inherited in right of his wife the Richings Park (alias Riskins) estate at Iver (Bucks) and the Langwith (Notts/Derbys) estate from her brother. He sold Battlesden in 1727 and Richings Park in 1739.
He died aged 90 on 16 September and was buried at Cirencester, 21 September 1775; his will was proved in the PCC, 3 October 1775. His wife died 8 June, and was buried at Cirencester, 16 June 1768.
* The choice of this title is interesting, since they only acquired Battlesden in 1706 and sold it in 1727. It suggests that at the time they had thoughts of making Battlesden their principal seat.
** Their daughter Leonora recorded that the couple had been through a form of marriage in 1692 (when Allen was eight and Catharine was four), which was 'celebrated in jest' to please their grandmother, Lady Apsley.

Henry Bathurst, 1st Baron Apsley 
and 2nd Earl Bathurst
Bathurst, 
Rt. Hon. Henry (1714-94), 1st Lord Apsley and later 2nd Earl Bathurst. Second son of Allen Bathurst (1684-1775), 1st Baron Bathurst and later 1st Earl Bathurst, and his wife Catherine, born 20 May 1714. Educated at Eton, Balliol College, Oxford (matriculated 1730) and the Inner Temple (admitted 1730; called 1736; bencher 1746). He was also admitted to Lincoln's Inn in 1743. Barrister at law (KC, 1746), practising on the Oxford circuit; Tory MP for Cirencester, 1735-54, when he withdrew in favour of his elder brother; solicitor general, 1745-48 and attorney general, 1748-51 to Frederick, Prince of Wales, and later attorney general to George, Prince of Wales, 1751-54; Judge of Court of Common Pleas, 1754-71; one of the judges who held the Lord Chancellorship in commission, 1770-71. He was sworn of the Privy Council in and raised to the peerage as 1st Baron Apsley, 24 January 1771, on being made the substantive Lord Chancellor, in which office he served until 1778. He succeeded his father as 2nd Earl Bathurst, 16 September 1775, and after being removed from the Chancellorship because his views on the American War of Independence were at variance with those of the Government, he was made Lord President of the Council, 1779-82. Contemporaries felt he 'was honourable and good humoured', but that 'his abilities were perhaps unsuited to the high offices which he came to fill', although even his critic, Lord Campbell, admitted that 'his career had been without reproach and that, so far as the public could observe, he had performed his duties decently'. He married 1st, 19 September 1754 at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), Anne (d. 1758), daughter and heiress of [forename unknown] James and widow of Charles Philipps (d. 1753?); and 2nd, 6 June 1759 at Maidwell (Northants), Tryphena (1730-1807), daughter of Thomas Scawen of Maidwell, and had issue:
(2.1) Lady Tryphena Bathurst (1760-1834), born 23 October and baptised at St Anne, Soho, Westminster (Middx), 15 November 1760; lived with her sisters in London (Manchester Square and later 10 Upper Cadogan Place); died unmarried, 11 December, and was buried at St Luke, Chelsea (Middx), 18 December 1834; will proved in the PCC, 23 December 1834;
(2.2) Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst (q.v.);
(2.3) Lady Catharine Bathurst (1764-1837), born 14 June and baptised at St Anne, Soho, 2 July 1764; lived in London with her elder sister; died unmarried, 23 October, and was buried at Henley-on-Thames (Oxon), 30 October 1837; will proved in the PCC, 10 November 1837;
(2.4) Lady Letitia Selina Bathurst (1766-1827), born 3 January and baptised at St Anne, Soho, 1 February 1766; lived with her sisters in London; died unmarried, 7 June and was buried at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 13 June 1827; will proved in the PCC, 5 July 1827;
(2.5) Lady Susanna Bathurst (1768-1847), born 3 February and baptised at St Anne, Soho, 27 February 1768; lived with her sisters in London; died unmarried, about 30 March and was buried at St Luke, Chelsea, 3 April 1847; will proved 10 April 1847;
(2.6) Hon. Apsley Bathurst (1769-1816), born 14 October and baptised at St Anne, Soho, 10 November 1769; educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1786; BA 1789) and Inner Temple (admitted 1787); Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford (BCL 1794; DCL 1801); joint Clerk of the Crown in Chancery with his brother, 1801-16; died unmarried, 24 January 1816.
He inherited the Cirencester Park, Hothorpe and Paulerspury estates from his father in 1775, and continued the laying out of the park at Cirencester. He built Apsley House to the designs of Robert Adam as his town house in 1771-78 and built or acquired Fairy Hill as a suburban residence before 1771. He sold Hothorpe in 1788 to William Cook of Enfield.
He died 6 August and was buried at Cirencester, 13 August 1794; his will was proved in the PCC, 23 September 1794. His first wife died 4 February and was buried at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 9 February 1758. His widow died 2 December and was buried at Cirencester, 17 December 1807; her will was proved in the PCC, 7 January 1808.

Rt. Hon. Henry Bathurst, 3rd Earl Bathurst 
Bathurst, Rt. Hon. Sir Henry (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst. Elder son of Henry Bathurst (1714-94), 1st Lord Apsley and later 2nd Earl Bathurst, and his second wife, Tryphena, daughter of Thomas Scawen of Maidwell (Northants), born 22 May 1762. Educated at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1779; Hon. DCL 1814), and then undertook a Grand Tour with his friend William Wyndham Greville, travelling through Germany and Switzerland to Italy and returning through France via Paris, 1781-83. Tory MP for Cirencester, 1783-94; a Lord of the Admiralty, 1783-89 and of the Treasury, 1789-91. He was the last Teller of the Exchequer, 1790-1834, before the abolition of that post. He succeeded his father as 3rd Earl Bathurst, 6 August 1794. He was sworn of the Privy Council, 1793 and continued to hold Government office as a Commissioner of the Board of Control for India, 1793-1802; Clerk of the Crown in Chancery, 1801-34 (jointly until 1816); Master of the Mint, 1804-06 and 1807-12; President of the Board of Trade, 1807-12; Foreign Secretary for a short period, October-December 1809; Secretary for War and the Colonies, 1812-27; and Lord President of the Council, 1828-30. He was made a Knight of the Garter, 1817. Locally, he was an officer in the Cirencester Volunteer Cavalry (Capt. commanding, 1803). He was a loyal personal friend and protégé of Pitt the younger, and was useful to successive Governments as a broker of deals across cabinet factions during the volatile Napoleonic era. In the 1820s his annual salary from active and nominal offices exceeded £10,000, and attracted hostile comment in the Liberal press, which called him "notoriously a person with the least possible claims to public honour and emoluments. He is altogether without talent, a most feeble awkward, and puzzled speaker, and, in every sense of the word, a most trifling personage." Although most contemporaries were agreed that he was not a particularly good speaker, he wrote well and appears to have been a competent administrator: he held office continuously for longer than any of his contemporaries. Charles Greville, once his private secretary, wrote of him: "He was a very amiable man and with a good understanding, though his talents were far from brilliant, a High Churchman and a High Tory, but a cool politician... greatly averse to changes but unwillingly acquiescing in many. He was nervous and reserved with a good deal of humour, and habitually a jester... I am disposed to rate his abilities more highly than the world has done". He was a book-lover, and a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. He married, 1 April 1789 at West Stoke (Sussex), Georgina (1765-1841), daughter of Lord George Lennox and sister of the 4th Duke of Richmond, and had issue:
(1) Henry George Bathurst (1790-1866), 4th Earl Bathurst (q.v.);
(2) William Lennox Bathurst (1791-1878), 5th Earl Bathurst (q.v.);
(3) Lady Louisa Georgina Bathurst (1792-1874), born 22 September and baptised at East Lavant (Sussex), 21 October 1792; Lady in Waiting to HRH The Duchess of Gloucester; lived latterly at 4 Wilton Crescent, London; died there, unmarried, 27 March, and was buried at Cirencester, 2 April 1874; will proved 13 May 1874 (effects under £30,000);
(4) Hon. Peter George Allen Bathurst (1794-96), born 14 January 1794; died young, 22 October 1796;
(5) Hon. Thomas Seymour Bathurst (1795-1834) (q.v.);
(6) Lady Emily Charlotte Bathurst (1798-1877), born 28 February and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., London, 9 March 1798; married, 16 March 1825 at St George, Hanover Sq., London, Maj-Gen. the Hon. Sir Frederick Cavendish Ponsonby (1783-1837), GCMB, KCB, KCH, Governor of Malta, son of Frederick Ponsonby, 3rd Earl of Bessborough and brother of Lady Caroline Lamb, and had issue three sons and three daughters; lived latterly at Hampton Court Palace (Middx); died 1 February 1877; will proved 9 March 1877 (effects under £45,000);
(7) Hon. and Rev. Charles Bathurst (1802-42), born 21 January and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., London, 24 February 1802; educated at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1821; BA 1825); Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford (BCL 1825; DCL 1835); ordained deacon, 1825 and priest, 1826; vicar of Limber Magna (Lincs), 1827-30; rector of Southam (Warks), 1830 and of Siddington (Glos), 1830-42; married, 31 July 1830, Lady Emily Caroline (1810-81), daughter of Montagu Bertie, 5th Earl of Abingdon, but had no issue; died at Abbey House, Cirencester, 28 February 1842.
He inherited Apsley House, London, and the Cirencester Park, Paulerspury and Langwith Lodge estates from his father in 1794, and made improvements to the house at Cirencester in 1812 and the late 1820s, and also to the park, which he finally united by closing the public road between the Home and Oakley parks in 1813-14. He sold Paulerspury to Robert Shedden in 1805 and Apsley House, London to the Marquess of Wellesley in 1808, and his town house was subsequently 16 Arlington St., London.
He died in London, 27 July and was buried at Cirencester, 5 August 1834; his will was proved 1 September 1834. His widow died in London, 20 January and was buried at Cirencester, 27 January 1841; her will was proved 12 March 1841.

Henry George Bathurst, 4th Earl Bathurst 
Bathurst, Henry George (1790-1866), 4th Earl Bathurst. 
Eldest 
son of Rt. Hon. Sir Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst, and his wife Georgina, daughter of Lord George Lennox, born 24 February 1790. Educated at Eton, Glasgow University (admitted 1806) and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1808; BA 1811; MA 1814; Hon. DCL 1820). An officer of the Cirencester Yeomanry Cavalry (Capt. commanding, 1810). Tory MP for Weobley, Jan-Sept. 1812 and for Cirencester, 1812-34, in which capacity he was 'a die-hard opponent' of Catholic emancipation. He joined the Government as a commissioner of the Board of Control for India, 1812-18. In April 1814 he went to Paris, where Castlereagh took him under his wing, and he accompanied Castlereagh to Vienna later in the year, returning home in May 1815. In June he he returned to the Continent to join Wellington’s staff as a civilian, and he was present at the battle of Waterloo. Lady Harriet Leveson Gower reported from Paris: "Lord Apsley is full of the battle, in which he by all accounts put himself forward as much as any who were not obliged to do so. He is a good-natured, friendly creature, and has shown great spirit where he might have got off without showing any." He succeeded his father as 4th Earl Bathurst, 27 July 1834. It is said that his 'shy and reserved' manner concealed a kind and generous personality, and he leased the site for the building of the Royal Agricultural College in the 1840s. He was unmarried and without issue.
He inherited the Cirencester Park and Langwith Lodge estates from his father in 1834. He sold Langwith Lodge to the Duke of Portland in 1844.
He died 25 May and was buried at Cirencester, 1 June 1866; his will was proved 13 September 1866 (effects under £90,000).

William Lennox Bathurst, 5th Earl Bathurst 
Bathurst, William Lennox (1791-1878), 5th Earl Bathurst. 
Second 
son of Rt. Hon. Sir Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst, and his wife Georgina, daughter of Lord George Lennox, born 14 February 1791. Educated at Eton, Glasgow University (admitted 1806), Christ Church and All Souls College, Oxford (matriculated 1808; BA 1812; MA 1817; Hon. DCL 1870) and Lincolns Inn (admitted 1812; called 1821). Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford, 1812-78; Tory MP for Weobley, 1812-16, but resigned on becoming deputy (to his father) teller of the Exchequer, 1816-30, a place which provided a handsome salary of £1,200 a year and gave him the time to complete his legal studies. He qualified as a barrister-at-law, but only practised for a few years, until his father secured him further public appointments as a commissioner for victualling the Royal Navy, 1825-29; joint secretary to the Board of Trade, 1830-47 and joint Clerk to the Privy Council, 1830-60. He succeeded his brother as 5th Earl Bathurst, 25 May 1866. He was a generous benefactor of church building and restoration, and paid for the addition of a tower and spire to Watermoor church and for the restoration of the medieval reredos in All Souls College chapel, for both of which the architect was Sir George Gilbert Scott (d. 1872). He was unmarried and without issue.
He lived principally at 38 Half Moon St., London, but inherited the Cirencester Park and Scarcliffe estates from his elder brother in 1876.
He died at his house in London, 24 February, and was buried at Cirencester, 2 March 1878; his will was proved 25 March 1878 (effects under £70,000).

Lt-Col. Thomas Seymour Bathurst (1795-1834) 
Bathurst, Lt-Col. the Hon. (Thomas) Seymour (1795-1834). 
Fourth son of Rt. Hon. Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst, and his wife Georgina, daughter of Lord George Lennox, born 28 October and baptised at Cirencester, 21 November 1795. Educated at Eton. An officer in the Grenadier Guards (Ensign & Lt., 1814; Lt & Capt., 1821; Maj., 1823; br. Lt-Col., 1825; retired 1828), who fought at the Battle of Waterloo in 1815; his brother-in-law, General Ponsonby, was no doubt responsible for his later appointments as Inspecting Field Officer of Militia in the Ionian Islands, 1825-28 and Deputy Governor of Malta, 1831, both roles in which Ponsonby was his superior. He married, 6 October 1829 at St George, Hanover Sq., London, Julia (1798-1877), daughter of John Peter Hankey of London, a partner in Simond & Hankey, West India merchants, and had issue:
(1) Isabel Melita Bathurst (b. & d. 1830), born 5 August 1830; died in infancy, 26 August 1830;
(2) Isabel Melita Frederica Bathurst (b. & d. 1831); died in infancy, 10 October 1831;
(3) Allen Alexander Bathurst (1832-92), 6th Earl Bathurst (q.v.);
(4) Mary Selina Bathurst (1834-83), born and baptised at Putney (Surrey), 14 September 1834; died unmarried at Chateau Leader, Cannes (France), 16 March 1883.
After his marriage he seems to have lived chiefly at his father-in-law's London house in Grosvenor Sq. or at his father's house, Lime Grove in Putney (Surrey), but he also acquired Hyams, Bagshot, which was later occupied by his widow and children.
He died 10 April, and was buried at Kensal Green Cemetery, London, 16 April 1834, but was  exhumed and reburied at Cirencester on the same day as his father, 5 August 1834. His widow died 21 February 1877; her will was proved 31 March 1877 (effects under £120,000).

Allen Alexander Bathurst, 6th Earl Bathurst 
Bathurst, Allen Alexander (1832-92), 6th Earl Bathurst. 
Only son of Lt-Col. the Hon. Thomas 
Seymour Bathurst (1795-1834) and his wife Julia, daughter of John Peter Hankey, born 19 October and baptised at Cirencester, 26 November 1832. Educated at Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge (matriculated 1850; Hon. MA 1853). Conservative MP for Cirencester, 1857-78; JP for Gloucestershire; County Councillor for Gloucestershire, 1889-92; an officer in the Gloucestershire Rifle Volunteers (Capt., 1860; retired 1872); Hon. Lt-Col. of North Gloucestershire Militia, 1870-78. He succeeded his uncle as 6th Earl Bathurst, 24 February 1878. He married 1st, 30 January 1862 at Tabley chapel, Great Budworth (Ches.), Hon. Meriel (1839-72), second daughter of George Leicester Warren, 2nd Baron de Tabley and 2nd, 6 June 1874 at Fetcham (Surrey), Evelyn Elizabeth (1847-1927), only daughter of George James Barnard Hankey of Fetcham Park (Surrey), and had issue:
(1.1) Lady Georgina Meriel Bathurst (1863-1922), born 25 July 1863; married, 25 February 1885 at St Peter, Eaton Square, Westminster (Middx), Rt. Hon. Sir George William Buchanan GCB GCMG GCVO, diplomat, son of Sir Andrew Buchanan GCB, 1st bt., and had issue one daughter; died 25 April 1922; administration of goods granted to her husband, 10 July 1922 (effects £748);
(1.2) Seymour Henry Bathurst (1864-1943), 7th Earl Bathurst (q.v.);
(1.3) Hon. Lancelot Julian Bathurst (1868-1928), born 24 January and baptised at Chobham (Surrey), 25 February 1868; educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1886; BA 1890); he worked in publishing for some years, owned and published Land and Water magazine, was a partner in a firm of wine merchants, before becoming manager of The Morning Post, 1910-15, from which he retired on health grounds; he was a keen sportsman, and was Master of Exmoor Foxhounds, 1889-94, the Puckeridge Hunt, 1894-96, and the Eggesford Hunt, 1896-1901; his obituarist called him 'perhaps the greatest living authority on hunting' and 'a great conversationalist'; he lived latterly near Midhurst (Sussex); he died 14 June 1928 and was buried at Cirencester, 18 June 1928; administration of his goods was granted 19 December 1928 (estate £416);
(1.4) A son (b. & d. 1870), born 31 December 1870 and died the same day;
(1.5) Hon. (Allen) Benjamin Bathurst (1872-1947), born 25 June and baptised at Chobham, 27 July 1872; educated at Eton and Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester; an officer in 4th (Militia) Battn, Gloucestershire Regiment (2nd Lt, 1891; Lt., 1893; Capt., 1895; Maj., 1904; Lt-Col. 1914; retired 1921); MP for East Gloucestershire, 1895-1906, 1910-18; PPS to the Postmaster General, 1901-03; lived latterly at Queensmead, Windsor (Berks); married, 22 April 1902 at St Peter, Eaton Sq., Westminster (Middx), Augusta Ruby (1877-1971), daughter of Lord Edward Spencer-Churchill, and had issue one son; suffered a severe heart attack in 1945 and was an invalid until his death on 8 October 1947; will proved 13 August 1947 (estate £19,650);
(2.1) Lady Evelyn Selina Bathurst (1875-1946), born 18 October and baptised at St Peter, Eaton Sq., Westminster (Middx), 1 December 1875; married, 18 June 1898 at St Paul, Knightsbridge (Middx), Maj. George Coryton Lister (1864-1903), son of Sir Thomas Villiers Lister KCMG, and had issue one son and one daughter; died 16 April 1946; will proved 30 October 1946 (estate £17,245).
He lived chiefly in London and at Hyams, Bagshot (Surrey) until he inherited the Cirencester Park (Glos) and Scarcliffe (Derbys) estates from his uncle in 1878.
He died 1 August 1892 and was buried at Cirencester; his will was proved 8 October 1892 (effects £249,425). His first wife died in London after childbirth, 6 July 1872, and was buried at Hyams, Bagshot (Surrey). His widow died 1 March 1927; her will was proved 27 April 1927 (estate £22,973).

Seymour Henry Bathurst, 7th Earl Bathurst 
Bathurst, Seymour Henry (1864-1943), 7th Earl Bathurst. 
Eldest son of Allen Alexander Bathurst (1832-92), 6th Earl Bathurst, and his first wife, the Hon. Meriel, daughter of George Leicester Warren, 2nd Baron de Tabley, born 21 July and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., London, 13 August 1864. He succeeded his father as 7th Earl Bathurst, 2 August 1892. JP and DL for Gloucestershire, and a County Councillor 1890-1943. An officer in the 4th (Militia) Battn, Gloucestershire Regiment (Capt. 1889; Maj. 1894; Lt-Col. 1898; retired 1908) and saw service in South Africa (awarded CMG, 1902); Hon. Col. of 4th Battalion, Gloucestershire Regiment, 1908-33; 
President of the Gloucestershire Territorial Army Association. He was a trustee of the National Portrait Gallery and president or trustee of many local organisations, including the Bingham Library Trust and the Cirencester Conservative Benefit Society. He was Master of the VWH (Earl Bathurst's Hounds) for more than half a century. As a freemason he served as Senior Grand Warden of the Gloucestershire Province and as Grand Warden of England. He was widely regarded as a model landlord and practical farmer. He married, 15 November 1893 at St Paul, Knightsbridge (Middx), Hon. Lilias Margaret Frances (1871-1965), only surviving child of Algernon Borthwick, 1st Baron Glenesk, and after his death in 1908, owner of the strongly Conservative Morning Post until 1937, when it was merged with the Daily Telegraph. They had issue:
(1) Lady Meriel Olivia Bathurst (1894-1936), born 3 September 1894; married, 4 May 1916, Capt. Lord Alastair Mungo Graham RN (1886-1976) of Chantry Farm, Campsea Ash (Suffk)  (who m2, 24 Oct 1944 Sheelah Violet (d. 1985), daughter of Essex Edgeworth Reade), third son of Douglas Beresford Malise Ronald Graham, 5th Duke of Montrose, and had issue two sons and two daughters; died 18 January 1936; will proved 2 April 1936 (estate £14,305);
(2) Hon. Allen Algernon Bathurst (1895-1942), Lord Apsley (q.v.);
(3) Hon. William Ralph Seymour Bathurst (1903-70), born 21 September and baptised at Cirencester, 18 October 1903; educated at Eton and Trinity College, Oxford (BA 1925; MA 1929); banker; served in Second World War as an officer in Royal Gloucestershire Hussars (Capt.); High Sheriff of Gloucestershire, 1952; a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries; Master of the Society of Merchant Venturers of Bristol, 1958-59; a freemason (Provincial Grand Master for Gloucestershire, 1950); lived at Cold Ashton Manor (Glos) from c.1947-70; married, 12 July 1932 at St George, Hanover Square, London, Helen Winifred (1905-72), elder daughter of Lt-Col. Harry Heathcoat-Amory of Hele Manor, Dulverton (Som.), but had no issue; killed in a car crash, 10 September 1970; will proved 27 October 1970 (estate £168,996);
(4) Hon. Ralph Henry Bathurst (1904-65), born 26 September and baptised at Cirencester, 23 October 1904; educated at Eton and Trinity College, Oxford (MA); lived at The Cranhams, Chesterton (Glos); he was unmarried and without issue; committed suicide in the grounds of his home, 5 December 1965; will proved 29 March 1966 (estate £138,836).
He inherited Cirencester Park and the Scarcliffe estate in Derbyshire from his father in 1892.
He died 21 September 1943. His widow died 30 December 1965; her will was proved 14 April 1966 (estate £17,029).

Allen Algernon Bathurst, Lord Apsley 
Bathurst, Hon. Allen Algernon (1895-1942), Lord Apsley. 
Eldest son of Seymour Henry Bathurst (1864-1943), 7th Earl Bathurst, and his wife Hon. Lilias Margaret Frances Borthwick, only surviving child of 1st Lord Glenesk, born 3 August and baptised at Cirencester, 15 September 1895. Educated at Eton. An officer in the Royal Gloucestershire Hussars (2nd Lt, 1914; Lt, 1917; Capt. 1918; Maj., 1938; Lt. Col.), who served in the First World War (awarded MC, 1917 and DSO, 1918), 1915-19 and in Second World War, 1939-42, latterly with the Arab Legion, 1941-42. Conservative MP for Southampton, 1922-29 and Bristol (Central), 1931-42; PPS to junior ministers, 1924-29, 1936; JP (from 1930) and DL (from 1923) for Gloucestershire, Bristol and the city of Gloucester. In continuance of a long family tradition, he was 
a director of the Morning Post, until he resigned in 1935An enthusiastic and intrepid amateur pilot, he was President of the UK Pilots' Association, 1925, and later chairman of Western Airways and Western Air Transport Co., based at Weston-super-Mare (Som.); his career as an amateur pilot included many forced landings (including seven on one journey returning from Poland in 1938) and a crash-landing in the sea off the Isle of Wight. In the 1920s, wishing to investigate the conditions of immigrants in Australia, he sailed there under the name of George Bott and worked as a farmhand in Victoria; he was also the author (with Lady Apsley) of The Amateur Settlers (1925) about his travels in the Northern Territory of AustraliaHe married, 27 February 1924 at St George, Hanover Sq., London, Viola Emily Mildred CBE MP (1895-1966), elder daughter of Capt. Bertram Charles Christopher Spencer Meeking of Richings Park (Bucks), and had issue:
(1) Henry Allen John Bathurst (1927-2011), 8th Earl Bathurst (q.v.);
(2) Hon. George Bertram Bathurst (1929-2010), of Hullasey House, Tarlton (Glos), born 12 March 1929; educated at Eton, Ridley College (Canada), Trinity College, Oxford (MA) and Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester; an officer in the Royal Armoured Corps (2nd Lt., 1949; Lt., 1949; ret. 1949) and and Royal Wiltshire Yeomanry (2nd Lt, 1951; Lt. 1952; Capt. 1956; retired 1967); obtained a private pilot's licence, 1948; married, Jul-Sept 1973 (div. 1989 but remarried November 2005), Susan Mary (b. 1945), daughter of Malcolm Messer CBE of Tarlton, and had issue one son; died 22 February 2010; will proved 29 July 2011.
His father gave him Franks Hall as a wedding present in 1923, but he and his wife only lived there for a few months and it was sold in the 1930s. He lived later at Petty France, Badminton (Glos). His widow lived latterly at Hullasey House, Tarlton (Glos).
He was killed on active service in the lifetime of his father, 17 December 1942, and was buried at Kalkara Naval Cemetery, Malta; his will was proved 21 February 1945 (estate £3,559). His widow, who was left an invalid after spinal damage in a hunting accident before the Second World War, succeeded him as MP for Bristol (Central), 1943-45 and as a director of Western Airways, and was MFH of the Vale of White Horse Hunt, 1946-53 and National Chairman of the Women's Section of the British Legion, 1942-48; she died 20 January 1966; her will was proved 24 April 1967 (estate £88,258).

Henry Bathurst, 8th Earl Bathurst
Bathurst, Henry Allen John (1927-2011), 8th Earl Bathurst. 
Elder son of Allen Algernon Bathurst (1895-1942), Lord Apsley, and his wife Viola Emily Mildred, elder daughter of Capt. Bertram Charles Christopher Spencer Meeking of Richings Park (Bucks), born 1 May 1927. Educated at Eton, Ridley College (Canada) and Christ Church, Oxford. He succeeded his grandfather as 8th Earl Bathurst, 21 September 1943. Landowner and farmer. An officer in the 10th Royal Hussars (2nd Lt, 1946) and Royal Gloucestershire Hussars (2nd Lt., 1948; Lt., 1950; Capt., 1954; retired 1959). A Lord in Waiting (Government whip), 1957-61; Joint Parliamentary Under-Secretary at Home Office, 1961-62; he was one of the ministers dismissed by Harold Macmillan in the 'Night of the Long Knives'. 
DL for Gloucestershire, 1960-86. Governor of St Lawrence Hospital, Cirencester, 1944-2011, and of Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester, 1948-2003. Chairman of the Gloucestershire branch of the Country Landowners Association, 1968-71. President of Royal Forestry Society, 1976-78, of the Association of Professional Foresters, 1983-86 and 1995-98, and of the Institute of Sales and Marketing Management, 1981-92; joint MFH of Vale of White Horse Hunt, 1949-65. He married 1st, 20 March 1959 (div. 1976), Judith Mary (d. 2001), only daughter of Amos Christopher Nelson of Springfield House, Foulridge (Lancs) and 2nd, 17 January 1978, Gloria Wesley (1927-2018), only daughter of Harold Edward Clarry of Vancouver, British Columbia (Canada) and widow of David Rutherston (d. 1975) of Jaynes Court, Bisley (Glos), and had issue:
(1.1) Allen Christopher Bertram Bathurst (b. 1961), 9th Earl Bathurst (q.v.);
(1.2) Lady Henrietta Mary Lilias Bathurst (b. 1962), born 17 October 1962; fashion designer; lives in South Africa; married, 2000, Neil Stephen Palmer (b. 1963), son of Colin Palmer of Morecambe (Lancs), and had issue one son and one daughter;
(1.3) Hon. Alexander Edward Seymour Bathurst (b. 1965), of Tarlton Farm, Tarlton (Glos), born 8 August 1965; educated at Harrow, Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst and Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester; an officer in Royal Hussars (2nd Lt, 1985; Lt., 1987; Capt., 1991; retired 1993); married, Apr-Jun 1992, Emma Gae (b. 1968), daughter of J.L. Sharpe FRCS, and had issue one son and one daughter.
He inherited Cirencester Park from his grandfather in 1943, and made the estate and house over to his eldest son in 1988, living latterly at Manor Farm, Sapperton.
He died 16 October 2011; his will was proved 21 September 2012. His first wife died 25 April  2001; her will was proved 5 September 2001. His widow died 27 December 2018 and was buried at Sapperton; her will, proved 1 November 2019, left the majority of her estate to two friends, Grant White and Geoffrey Bradfield, rather than the family; a major sale was held at Christies in July 2020.

Allen Bathurst, 9th Earl Bathurst 
Bathurst, Allen Christopher Bertram (b. 1961), 9th Earl Bathurst. 
Elder son of Henry Allen John Bathurst (1927-2011), 8th Earl Bathurst, and his first wife, Judith Mary, only daughter of Amos Christopher Nelson of Springfield House, Foulridge (Lancs), born 11 March 1961. Educated at Harrow, Wye College, University of London and Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester. Landowner and farmer. A Governor of the Royal Agricultural College, 2003-date; 
President of the Three Counties Agricultural Society, 2008 and President of the Gloucestershire Farming and Wildlife Advisory Group; President of Cirencester Housing; trustee of the St Lawrence Hospital Trust, Cirencester; founding Director of the annual Cotswold Show; Steward of the Cirencester Society in London; and hon. President of many local cultural and sports organisations. He married 1st, 31 May 1986 (div. 1995), Hilary Jane, younger daughter of John F. George of Weston Lodge, Albury (Surrey) and 2nd, 8 June 1995, Sara Lucille, High Sheriff of Gloucestershire, 2016-17, daughter of Christopher Chapman of Ilminster (Som.), and had issue:
(1.1) Benjamin George Henry Bathurst (b. 1990), Lord Apsley, born 6 March 1990; educated at Eton, Bristol University and Said Business School, Oxford University; an officer in the Royal Marines (Lt.);
(1.2) Lady Rosie Meriel Lilias Bathurst (b. 1992), born 20 April 1992.
He inherited Cirencester Park (now some 15,500 acres) from his father in 2011.
Now living. His first wife is now living. His second wife is now living.

Principal sources

Burke's Peerage and Baronetage, 2003, pp.; A. Kippis, Biographia Britannica, 1778, vol. 1, p. 692; J.A. Hankey, History of the Apsley and Bathurst families, 1889; G.E. C[okayne], The complete peerage, vol. 2, 1912, pp. 28-32; Country Life, 26 July 1913, p. 126; Country Life, 16 June 1950, p. 1796; G. Sherburn (ed), The correspondence of Alexander Pope, 1956, ii, p. 116; J. Lees-Milne, Earls of Creation, 1962, pp. 22-33;  C. Hussey, English gardens and landscapes, 1700-50, 1967, pp. 78-83; Sir N. Pevsner & J. Sherwood, The buildings of England: Oxfordshire, 1974, pp. 202-07; T. Friedman, James Gibbs, 1984, p. 301; A. Everitt, The community of Kent and the Great Rebellion, 1640-60, 1986, pp. 189-90, 200; M. Batey & D. Lambert, The English garden tour, 1990, p. 152; D. King, The complete works of Robert and James Adam, 1991, pp. 264, 279-85; N.W. Kingsley, The country houses of Gloucestershire: vol. 2, 1660-1830, 1992, pp. 100-03;  Sir N. Pevsner & E. Williamson, The buildings of England: Buckinghamshire, 2nd edn., 1994, p. 415; J. Ingamells, A dictionary of British and Irish travellers in Italy, 1701-1800, 1999, pp. 60-61; Sir H.M. Colvin, ‘The Townesends of Oxford’, Georgian Group Journal, x, 2000, p. 48; E. Harris, ‘Adam at No 1 London’, Country Life, 1 Nov. 2001; N.W. Kingsley, The country houses of Gloucestershire: vol. 1, 1500-1660, 2nd edn., 2001, pp. 71-72; T. Mowl, Historic gardens of Glos, 2002, p. 12, 67-72; VCH Northamptonshire, vol. 5, 2002, pp. 245-89; T. Warrener, A History of Langwith, Nether Langwith & Whaley Thorns, 2008; W.A. Brogden, Ichnographia Rustica: Stephen Switzer and the designed landscape, 2017, pp. 51-55, 81-90.

Location of archives

Bathurst of Cirencester, Earls Bathurst: deeds, estate papers (Gloucestershire, Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire) and family papers, 14th-20th cents [Gloucestershire Archives, D2525, D4483]; Hothorpe estate deeds and estate papers, 17th-18th cents [Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland DE30]; family correspondence and papers, 18th-19th cents [British Library, MS Loan 57]; business correspondence re Morning Post, 20th cent. [Leeds University Library, Special Collections, MS Dep 1990/1]

Coat of arms

Bathurst of Cirencester: Sable, two bars ermine, in chief three crosses pattée or.

Can you help?

  • I should be most grateful if anyone can provide photographs or portraits of people whose names appear in bold above, and who are not already illustrated. 
  • Any additions or corrections to the text above will be gratefully received and incorporated. I am always particularly pleased to hear from descendants of the family who can supply information from their own research for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 22 March 2021 and was updated 30 March and 21 April 2021. I am particularly grateful to my friends Mike Hill and Freddie Hervey-Bathurst for their assistance with this entry.

(450) Bathurst of Franks, and Bathurst of Hothorpe, Cirencester and Langwith, Earls Bathurst - part 1

Bathurst of Cirencester
This post is divided into two parts: this section includes the introduction to the family and the descriptions of the houses they built or owned over the last five hundred years; and part 2 contains the biographical and genealogical details of the owners.

The Bathurst family are said to have come originally from Sussex, and to have been of gentry status there in the later middle ages. One Laurence Bathurst sided with the Lancastrians in the Wars of the Roses and was executed and dispossessed of his estates by King Edward IV after the defeat of King Henry VI at the Battle of Hexham in 1463. Laurence's descendants lived afterwards at Canterbury and Cranbrook (Kent), and his great-grandson, Edward Bathurst, moved to Staplehurst (Kent), where he owned lands. One of Edward's sons, Lancelot Bathurst (1529-96), became a London grocer and later alderman of the City, and it was evidently his wealth that returned the family to the ranks of the gentry. Like so many of his contemporaries, he invested his surplus capital in land, ending up with a scattered portfolio of property across south-east England. The two most important estates were, however, a manor at Sutton-at-Hone (Kent) and the nearby Franks Hall estate at Horton Kirby (Kent), where Lancelot built a sophisticated and fashionable new mansion in about 1590. These two properties formed the basis of a compact estate that eventually extended along the Darent valley to Hawley. Lancelot Bathurst (with whom the genealogy in part 2 of this post begins) and his wife Judith had ten known children, all of whom seem to have lived to maturity. Franks Hall passed to his eldest son, Randolph Bathurst (1576-1644), but several of the younger sons seem to have settled on the estate as well, although they may have combined farming with mercantile occupations in London, which was within easy reach. At the end of his life, Randolph Bathurst took part in the so-called 'Kentish rebellion' of 1643 against attempts by the Parliamentarian County Committee to make every adult in the county take a 'Solemn Vow and Covenant' declaring their support for the Parliamentary army. This rising was swiftly put down and prominent participants, including Bathurst, were heavily fined. Unfortunately, the parish registers for Horton Kirby do not survive before the late 17th century, so there are many gaps in the genealogical record, including the precise date of death of Randolph Bathurst, who was alive in October 1643 but dead by the following March. Franks Hall descended to his eldest surviving son, Sir Edward Bathurst (c.1603-80?), kt., who had been knighted by King Charles I in 1625, and who has frequently been confused with his contemporary and namesake, Sir Edward Bathurst of Lechlade (1603-74), who was made a baronet in 1642 [the Bathursts of Lechlade will be the subject of a future post]. Sir Edward Bathurst of Franks seems to have been a more moderate Royalist than his father, and seems to have avoided further trouble during the Civil War, his sequestration being discharged in 1648.

It was perhaps because of the turbulent conditions in England and the presence of the exiled court on the continent that Sir Edward's only surviving son, Thomas, was sent to the University of Leiden, when he graduated as a Doctor of Medicine in 1659. He returned to England at the Restoration of the Monarchy and evidently intended to practice medicine, for he joined the Royal College of Physicians in 1662, although we know nothing about his medical career. He was knighted in 1665 but did not succeed to the Franks estate until 1680, and he enjoyed it for less than a decade before his own death in 1688. His heir was his elder surviving son, Francis Bathurst (1667-1738), who produced two sons and a daughter by his first wife in the 1690s. Sadly, the two sons both died in 1709 - presumably of an infectious disease, since they were buried on the same day - and three further marriages over the next fifteen years failed to produce a new male heir. Francis was therefore obliged to make his daughter, Berenice (1692-1748) his heir. She married Joseph Fletcher of London, but by 1730 was living apart from him, having had only a daughter, Susan Fletcher (1721-57), who became her heir and inherited Franks Hall in 1748. Susan married a solicitor, John Tasker (c.1720-96), but they had no children, and on Susan's death in 1757, the estate passed to him absolutely, and so out of the Bathurst family.

Returning to the children of Lancelot Bathurst (1529-96), the youngest but one son was George Bathurst (1589-1656), who was sent to Trinity College, Oxford in 1605, where he formed an attachment to Elizabeth Villiers (1594-1650) the young stepdaughter of the Principal, Dr. Kettel. They were married in 1610, and the Villiers estate at Hothorpe and Theddingworth, either side of the Northamptonshire-Leicestershire border was settled on the young couple. Although George's income at the time of his marriage was as little as £300 a year, the estate provided a good income, which is just as well, for the couple enjoyed notable fecundity, producing thirteen sons and four daughters, all but one of whom lived to maturity, between 1612 and 1638. Kippis tells us that the children were 'very ingenious and prosperous in the world, and most of them handsome', which seems to be borne out by the biographical details which can be assembled about them and surviving portraits. Kippis is less accurate, however, when he tells us that six of the thirteen sons were killed in the Civil War. Although the family were ardently loyal to the Royalist cause, only the eldest son, George Bathurst (1612-44), who was a Fellow of Trinity College, Oxford, is definitely known to have perished in arms, dying from a wound in the thigh at the siege of Faringdon (Berks). Another son, Thomas Bathurst (b. 1626), who was apprenticed to a London grocer during the Civil War, may also have been a war casualty, as there seems to be no record of him after the war. Of the ten other sons, Edward (1614-68) became a clergyman; John (1616-56) was a London fishmonger; James (1618-82) went to Ireland; Ralph (1620-1704) was a polymath with the unusual distinctiion of being both a doctor of medicine and a doctor of divinity, and became President of Trinity College, Vice-Chancellor of Oxford University and Dean of Wells Cathedral; Henry (1623-76) was a barrister, who became a judge in Ireland; Lancelot (1624-69), Samuel (1627-66?) and Moses (1628-1705) became merchants in London, and Moses also inherited Hothorpe; while Joseph (b. 1634) became a plantation owner and lawyer in Jamaica. 

George's youngest son, later Sir Benjamin Bathurst (1638-1704) took the family to a new level of social prominence by establishing his presence at Court. He was a financial wizard who eclipsed the success of his brothers as a merchant (being Governor of the East India Company in 1688-90 and prominent in several other major trading companies) and began lending money to the Government in the 1680s. In 1682 he married Frances Apsley (d. 1727), the daughter of Sir Allen Apsley (1616-85), kt. She was a close friend and confidant of Princess Anne, and her influence may have helped him secure a series of appointments to manage the private finances of the Duke of York (later James II) and Princess Anne (later Queen Anne). The couple had three sons and one daughter, but this comparative modest family (by the standards of the time) produced no less than 82 grandchildren, so that one wonders how many people now living can count Sir Benjamin among their ancestors! Out of the profits of his investments and court appointments, Sir Benjamin purchased an estate at Paulerspury (Northants) for himself in the 1670s, and later he made generous provision for his four children, buying the Cirencester estate for his eldest son, Allen Bathurst (1684-1775) in 1695, and lands in Lincolnshire for his second son Peter, as well settling a substantial dowry on his daughter and leaving his youngest son enough money to buy estates in Oxfordshire and Gloucestershire when he came of age. Both of his younger sons founded significant gentry families that continue today and which will be the subject of future articles here. 

Sir Benjamin's brother-in-law, Sir Peter Apsley (d. 1691), kt., who had enlarged his family's property, died comparatively young leaving his wife pregnant and with an infant daughter. In these circumstances, he bequeathed his property to Sir Benjamin in trust for the posthumous child, should it be a boy, and otherwise for his daughter. The unborn child was indeed a son (Peter Apsley), and he and his sister Catherine, were brought up with the Bathursts at Paulerspury after their mother died in 1696. In the light of this close relationship between the two families, it is perhaps not surprising that an eight year old Allen Bathurst and a four year old Catherine Apsley should have been put through a form of marriage 'in jest' in 1692. This should, perhaps, be regarded as a formal betrothal or a declaration of intent between the families, for it had no legal force, but in 1704 the couple - now twenty and sixteen respectively - were married in earnest.  The result was, that when Catherine's brother Peter died in 1708 before coming of age, the Apsley family estates including Richings Park at Iver (Bucks) and Langwith Lodge (Notts) devolved upon the young couple, who had already inherited the Cirencester estate from Sir Benjamin Bathurst in 1704, and the Hothorpe estate in Northamptonshire from Allen's childless uncle Moses Bathurst in 1705. They had also bought the Battlesden estate in Bedfordshire in 1706 and were given Paulerspury by Allen's mother in 1707.

Not only did the successful unification of all this property make Allen Bathurst a rich young man, but the reputation of his father and his mother's close friendship with Queen Anne meant that the doors were open for him at Court too. In 1705 he entered Parliament, representing Cirencester, where his extensive property more or less guaranteed his election, and seven years later, when the Queen was anxious to force the Treaty of Utrecht through Parliament but faced opposition in the House of Lords, he was chosen as one of twelve new peers, as Baron Bathurst of Battlesden (Beds), created to ensure a majority for the peace in both houses. He was then at the height of his power and influence, and seems to have lived primarily at Richings Park (which was convenient for both London and Windsor), where he began about 1710 to create a new garden, and where he entertained his political, literary and aristrocratic friends in a generous way. In 1714, however, with the death of Queen Anne and the advent of the Hanoverian dynasty, who favoured the Whigs over the Tories, much of Bathurst's influence evaporated overnight. It was, no doubt, not entirely unexpected since the Queen had been ailing for some years and the succession was known, but after the failure of the 1715 rebellion to restore the Stuarts to the throne, Lord Bathurst seems to have accepted that there was no future for him in politics, and turned his mind to other things. At Richings he had taken great pleasure in the creation of a garden, and as he began to spend more time at Cirencester he began to see the potential for doing so there too, on a much grander scale. In 1716 he bought the Sapperton Manor estate and Oakley Wood to the west of his existing property, which provided him with a stretch of country over five miles long from east to west that was interrupted only by a single public road.  All through the 1720s and 1730s there was sustained investment in planting and building at Cirencester, and it is apparent that money was sometimes tight. With no supplementary income from Government office or place-holding under Walpole's Whig regime, all these costs, and those of Lord Bathurst's large family of thirteen children, had to be met from the estates, and cash injections were provided by the disposal of some property: the manor of Battlesden in 1727, for instance, and Richings in 1739. From about 1718, with the advice of Pope, and perhaps some professional support from Stephen Switzer, Lord Bathurst began the creation of a 'forest landscape' that was to be his major preoccupation for the rest of his long life, and some features of which, including the woodland drive along the northern perimeter, echo aspects of the design at Richings. He also undertook a remodelling of the house, to the designs of the mason-architect William Townesend of Oxford, but he seems to have been not greatly concerned by the rather unsatisfactory results, 'I trust to you' he wrote to Pope 'to give an account how it comes to be so oddly bad'

After the fall of Walpole in 1742, Lord Bathurst's complete exclusion from politics and office-holding came to an end. King George III gave him a pension of £2,000 a year, which must have eased his financial worries considerably, and in 1772, when he was 88, he was also made 1st Earl Bathurst. At an advanced age he remained 'uncommonly vigorous', walking or riding around the Cirencester estate every day, regularly consuming two bottles of port after dinner, and being proud of the fact that he could still drink his heir under the table. His eldest son having died in 1767, the heir was his second son, Henry Bathurst (1714-94), who became a barrister and later a judge in the court of common pleas. His judicial duties required him to be in London a good deal and in 1771-78 he built Apsley House at Hyde Park Corner - later sold to and remodelled for the Duke of Wellington - to the designs of Robert Adam. By 1771 he had also either built or bought a house called Fairy Hill (later Fairy Hall) at Mottingham (Kent) as a bolt hole to use when he could get away for a few days. When the Lord Chancellorship fell vacant in 1770 he was one of the senior judges who jointly held the post 'in commission', but since he was not very highly regarded by his contemporaries there was general surprise when he was chosen to fill the office on a substantive basis the following year. Since the Lord Chancellor acted as speaker of the House of Lords, it was necessary that he should be a peer, and he was accordingly made 1st Baron Apsley at the same time. In 1778 he was eased out of the Lord Chancellorship as a result of a disagreement over American policy, but he became Lord President of the Council, 1779-82. His father having died in 1775, he was by then the 2nd Earl Bathurst and had come into possession of Cirencester, where he continued his father's tree planting, extending the main axial ride of the park westwards to Sapperton.

The 2nd Earl's ministerial career did not quite overlap with that of his eldest son, Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst, who was still undertaking his Grand Tour when his father left office for the last time. From 1783 until he inherited the peerage in 1794 he was MP for Cirencester, and he was at once brought into Government as a lord of the Admiralty and later of the Treasury. After he moved to the Lords he was a member of the Board of Control for India and later President of the Board of Trade, Foreign Secretary, and Secretary of State for War and the Colonies before ending his career, like his father, as Lord President of the Council, 1828-30. At this time, ministerial office brought little direct financial reward (and MPs were not paid at all), and it was usual for ministers to be appointed to other posts which did attract a salary and which were either sinecures with little or no work, or with real duties which could be discharged by a deputy paid a fraction of the salary. Over a long career, the 3rd Earl accumulated a great many such appointments, and by the 1820s his income from these sources was said to be over £10,000 a year, attracting hostile comment in the Liberal press. Despite the disparaging remarks from his political opponents, however, he seems to have been a competent administrator and a natural conciliator, often finding a way to reconcile divergent views among his cabinet colleagues. The 3rd Earl's political career has tended to overshadow his other achievements, and particularly his impact on the Cirencester estate. It was the 3rd Earl who remodelled the house at Cirencester into its current form in two campaigns in the early 19th century. He also managed to close the public road that divided the Home Park from Oakley Park, replacing it with a new road to the south of the park. And it was the 3rd Earl who extended the Broad Walk through the Home Park to the top of Cecily Hill, creating the layout of the park we know today.

When the 3rd Earl died in 1834 his estates passed to his son, Henry George Bathurst (1790-1866), 4th Earl Bathurst. From 1812 until he succeeded to the title, he was MP for Cirencester and went out of his way to be involved in some of the most stirring episodes of the Napoleonic Wars, including being present at the Battle of Waterloo, as a civilian volunteer member of Wellington's staff. His self-confidence is apparent, but he never married and after succeeding to the title he took no part in public affairs, his manner later in life being described as kindly but 'shy and reserved'. In 1844 he sold Langwith Lodge to the Duke of Portland, while retaining those parts of the estate that were coal-bearing, and the following year he leased a site south of the park at Cirencester for the building of the Royal Agricultural College, which was the first institution of its kind in the country. The 4th Earl was succeeded by his brother, William Lennox Bathurst (1791-1878), 5th Earl Bathurst, a London lawyer who was over a long period one of the clerks to the Privy Council. He too was unmarried, and he was notable for his support of church building and restoration projects. When he died in 1878 he was succeeded by his nephew, Allen Alexander Bathurst (1832-92), 6th Earl Bathurst, who although not brought up at Cirencester had been the heir presumptive for many years. He was MP for Cirencester from 1857 until he succeeded to the title, and played a fuller part in the life of the county than his predecessors had had the time or inclination to do, most especially in the militia (his father had been a professional soldier). He was also a keen hunting man and was responsible for the creation of the Cirencester Park Polo Club in the park in 1894. It was perhaps his marriage to Meriel Leicester Warren which introduced a more intellectual and literary streak into the family that is apparent over the next two generations. When the 6th Earl died, comparatively young, he was succeeded by his eldest son, Seymour Henry Bathurst (1864-1943), 7th Earl Bathurst, who combined his father's activities in the county and the militia with being a model landlord, a prominent freemason, and holding wide-ranging cultural and charitable positions. In 1893 he married Lilias Borthwick, the daughter and heiress of Lord Glenesk, the proprietor of the Morning Post, a right-of-centre daily newspaper. In 1906 Lady Bathurst inherited the newspaper from her father, and she remained its proprietor until 1937, when it was merged with the Daily Telegraph. The newspaper provided valuable opportunities for several members of the family, not least Lord Bathurst's younger brother, Lancelot Julian Bathurst (1868-1928), who in addition to being 'perhaps the greatest living authority on hunting' was its manager from 1910-15. The remaining portions of the Nottinghamshire-Derbyshire estate were finally sold in from the 1920s onwards.

The 7th Earl's eldest son and heir apparent, Allen Algernon Bathurst (1895-1942), known by the courtesy title of Lord Apsley, was something of a latter-day Renaissance man. He joined the Royal Gloucestershire Hussars at the start of the First World War and won the MC and the DSO. He remained in the Hussars between the wars and saw further service, latterly with the Arab Legion, in the Second World War. He was a Conservative MP from 1922-29 and 1931-42, and sometimes a junior minister. He was a keen amateur pilot, and undeterred by many forced landings and a crash landing in the Solent, he founded a successful short-haul passenger aircraft company based at Weston-super-Mare. Tragically, he was killed in a plane crash while on active service in the Second World War: perhaps ironically, he was not the pilot. His wife Viola (1895-1966) was equally energetic, and despite having been disabled in a riding accident in the 1930s, she succeeded him in many of his roles, including as MP for Bristol (Central), 1943-45. She, incidentally, was brought up at Richings Park, the estate which the Bathursts had sold in 1739, but sold it in 1922, a year before her marriage. The Apsleys had two sons, the elder of whom, Henry Allen John Bathurst (1927-2011) succeeded as 8th Earl Bathurst at the age of 16 on his grandfather's death in 1943. The fact that the 8th Earl inherited directly from his grandfather, coupled with the longevity of both the 7th and 8th Earls, has undoubtedly been a key factor in the preservation of the Cirencester estate intact through the period of very high capital taxation in the 20th century. It is now owned  by the elder son of the 8th Earl, Allen Christopher Bertram Bathurst (b. 1961), 9th Earl Bathurst.

Franks Hall, Horton Kirby, Kent

The original manor house was built on the opposite bank of the River Darent in 1220 by the Frankish family. When the Frankish family died out in the fifteenth century the property passed to the Martin family, and the house was purchased from their descendants by Lancelot Bathurst (1529-96), who built the present house in about 1590. It is a square two-storey building, with gabled attics, consisting of four ranges around a small central courtyard: a plan had been used in Kent for more than a century. 

Franks Hall, Horton Kirby: entrance front and side elevation in 1913. Image: Country Life.
The five-bay entrance front has a two storey bay window under a gable at either end, while the middle three bays are taken up by the hall in the recessed centre, with its entrance porch to the left, and dais window to the right. The side elevations are given a regular rhythm by the projecting chimney breasts, but fail to achieve symmetry. The house is built of warm red brick, laid in English bond, with flint footings and ashlar quoins and dressings. Architecturally it is very plain, except for the entrance doorway, which has a round classical arch with unfluted Doric columns to either side, supporting a triglyph frieze, segmental pediment and finials. The straight-sided gables and tall octagonal chimneystacks are untouched by classical influences. The large windows, with two or three mullions and a transom, and straight-headed lights give away the late Elizabethan date.

Franks Hall, Horton Kirby: the hall in 1913. Image: Country Life.
The late 16th century interior is generally well-preserved. The front door opens into a screens passage, which originally opened through two archways (now blocked) into the hall. The screen itself supports a first-floor gallery that projects forward at the ends, and has a lattice grille running the full width of the room. The hall has a simple Tudor arched fireplace with a low wainscot overmantel and above that, a magnificent plaster achievement of the arms of Queen Elizabeth. The plaster ceiling has low-relief ribs forming overlapping circles, ogees and squares, and is dated 1591. At the dais end of the hall a doorway leads through to the parlour (now dining room) beyond, which has a similar ceiling, here surrounding the royal arms, and is also dated 1591. The walls have a deep strapwork plaster frieze, and there is a grey marble chimneypiece. The Great Chamber above the hall now has a 19th century ceiling, but preserves another grey marble chimneypiece and a tall wainscot overmantel with pilasters as well as the usual rectangles and arches. The doorcases to left and right of the chimneypiece have herms to either side. The east corner room on this floor (now called the Queen's Room) was the Withdrawing Chamber. The ceiling here, again dated 1591, was richly decorated with a dense pattern of broad ribs decorated with honeysuckle, enclosing five shields of the royal arms. The deep plaster frieze has drapery looped above mounds of fruit. The chimneypiece is again of grey marble, but is here made fully classical by a bolection frieze and cornice, and above it is a good overmantel, with paired colonnettes and strapwork crests enclosing intarsia panels of ruins, shown in perspective.

Franks Hall, Horton Kirby: postcard view showing the large conservatory attached to the west front in the late 19th century.
In the 1850s the house was used as a barn by the farmer owner and became semi-derelict. After Robert Bradford bought it in 1860 he had the house repaired and remodelled by R.L. Roumieu in 1860-61. The chimneystacks and gables on the north-west front are his, and he altered the parapets and the south-west bay window, but his most important alteration was to fill in the courtyard with a spacious top-lit neo-Elizabethan staircase. Further changes were to come. Vavasour Earle, who bought the estate in 1883, built a picture gallery at the end of the lime avenue, but it was largely destroyed by incendiary bombs during the Second World War and only the outside walls remain now. He was probably also responsible for the addition of a large conservatory or winter garden on the south-west side elevation. In 1910 the house was bought by the 7th Earl Bathurst, thus returning it to the family after a long break. He was probably responsible for the decoration of the Ladies Room on the ground floor of the house, which was copied from now lost plasterwork at Beaudesert (Staffs). Lord Bathurst gave Franks Hall to his son Lord Apsley in 1923 as a wedding present, but the Apsleys only lived in it for a few months and it then stood empty for about ten years. It passed through several hands before being acquired by Findlay Publications Ltd who restored it for use as their headquarters in 1980. The house has since been sold and has reverted to being a private residence.

Descent: built for Lancelot Bathurst (1529-96); to son, Randolph Bathurst (1576-1644); to son, Sir Edward Bathurst (c.1603-80); to son, Sir Thomas Bathurst (c.1628-88), kt.; to son, Francis Bathurst (c.1667-1738); to daughter, Berenice (1692-1748), wife of Joseph Fletcher (d. c.1739); to daughter Susan (1721-57), wife of John Tasker (d. 1796) of Dartford; to his second wife (d. 1814) and then his niece...sold 1850s to Nicholas Ray (d. 1860); sold 1860 to Robert Bradford; sold c.1877 to Frederick Power; sold 1883 to Vavasour Earle; sold c.1910 to Somerset Henry Bathurst (1864-1943), 7th Earl Bathurst, who gave it in 1923 to his son Allen Algernon Bathurst (1895-1942), Lord Apsley, as a wedding present; sold 1930s to Morris Wheeler (d. 1962) of Bexley; to widow (d. 1977); sold to Michael Berry; sold 1980 to Findlay Publications Ltd.; sold 2005 and restored to a private residence.

Hothorpe Hall, Northamptonshire

The hamlet of Hothorpe anciently formed part of the parish of Theddingworth, the main part of which lay on the other side of the River Welland in Leicestershire, although modern administrative convenience dictates that it is now part of the parish of Marston Trussell (Northants). Hothorpe Hall, with its lodge and outbuildings, is indeed all that remains today of the hamlet, which had largely disappeared by the middle of the 16th century. The first manor house of which there is any record appears to have stood nearer the river than the present one, and was a stone building of two stories and attics, having mullioned windows and a principal front of five bays. Two of the bays formed small projecting wings surmounted by gables; the base of one wing served as an entrance porch, the other probably contained the staircase. The style of the house suggests that it was built in the early 17th century, most probably by George Bathurst (d. 1656), but possibly by his father-in-law, Edward Villiers (d. 1600). 

Hothorpe Hall: the house built in 1799-1801 and later greatly extended.
When John Cook inherited the estate from his father, he built the present Hothorpe Hall on a new site about half a mile further from the river in 1799-1801.  The new house was an roughly  square two-storey brick building with a five-bay entrance front and a central stone porch surmounted by a pediment. After the de Trafford family acquired the estate, additions were made in 1882-84 when the house was cement rendered and embellished with Renaissance ornament, plate-glass windows were inserted, a bay window was added to the drawing room, and a service wing to the north was either rebuilt or much enlarged. Further additions were  made in 1892-95, when a Roman Catholic chapel was built in the grounds to the northeast of the house and the two storey octagonal wing on the west front was built. Several features of mid 18th century character survive inside, including a staircase and fireplaces, but it is not clear whether these survive from the Georgian house or are later introductions. The east lodges and most of the outbuildings date from the late 19th century. After 1955 the outbuildings of the house were converted to provide additional accommodation.

Descent: Edward Villiers (d. 1600); to widow Sibell, later wife of Dr. Ralph Kettel of Trinity College, Oxford; to youngest daughter Elizabeth (1595-1650), wife of George Bathurst (1589-1656); to son, Moses Bathurst (1628-1705); to nephew, Allen Bathurst (1684-1775), 1st Earl Bathurst; to son, Henry Bathurst (1714-94), 1st Baron Apsley and 2nd Earl Bathurst, who sold 1788 to Maj. William Cook of Enfield; to son, John Cook (d. c.1868), who rebuilt the house; to great-nephew, Henry Everitt; sold 1881 to Sir Humphrey de Trafford (1808-86), 2nd bt., who gave it to his son, Charles de Trafford; sold 1941 and requisitioned for wartime use as a home for evacuees; sold 1955 to Lutheran Council of Great Britain for use as a youth centre; sold 1984 to private owners for Christian conference and wedding use; sold 2021 for similar purposes.

Great House, Paulerspury, Northamptonshire

The manor house of Paulerspury stood in the field immediately north of the church, adjoining the lane to Pury End.  In 1550 the medieval house was said to be ruinous and was ordered to be repaired. In 1593 Sir Arthur Throckmorton began building a new mansion on the site of the old house, which he made his home until his death in 1626. We know a great deal about the building process because of the fortunate survival of his diary for the years 1593-95. Early in the campaign he visited Stowe (Bucks.) and Holdenby (Northants), presumably looking for ideas for his own building, and also the more modest Moulton (Northants), where he consulted James Furness. In May 1595 Furness was paid 10 French crowns for 'directing the building' and he was probably responsible for its design, although Throckmorton made separate piecework bargains with individual master tradesmen, rather than engaging Furness as a single main contractor. William Green undertook all the freemasonry (except coloured work and pilasters), at 3d. a foot, and also did the bricklaying, which suggests that the house may have had brick internal walls and chimneybreasts. Stone came from Throckmorton’s own quarries at Silverstone and Cosgrove, and oak timber for scaffolding and floorboards from his woods at Silverstone and Tiffield.

By July 1595 work was sufficiently advanced for a locksmith to be engaged to supply 12 locks and for wainscot to be ordered from a joiner in Southwark, including both plain work and ‘French panelling’. In August 1595 a chimney-piece of 'Sussex marble, alabaster, touch and rance' (i.e. a mixture of cream, red and black stone) was ordered from Garret Johnson, the Southwark marble carver, for the hall, to be carved according to a pattern left with him. This cost £60, including gilding. In September 1595 Throckmorton bought a Turkey carpet, although this might have been for his London house. By October the building work was drawing to a close and he was replacing the old fences, posts and rails round the park. The resulting house was described in the mid 17th century as ‘a fair capital messuage of stone, with barns, stables, coach-houses, outhouses, gardens and orchards’, but by then the mansion was already let as a farmstead. The former manor house, known as the Great House, was still tenanted in 1772, when part of the site was being used as a parish workhouse. In 1791 the Dukes of Grafton were buying stone from the Great House for re-use elsewhere, and much of the structure was apparently taken down before the end of the 18th century. The manor house site had probably been cleared by the 1820s, although some farm buildings survived until the second half of the 20th century, when they too were taken down, leaving only earthworks to indicate the site of the mansion and its gardens running down to the brook west of the church.

One volume of Throckmorton's diary ends in 1595 and when it resumes in 1609 he was laying out new gardens around his house, engaging a carpenter named Truslowe to make doors and masons named Russell to build the walls. A gardener came from Mixbury (Oxon.) in September that year to design new gardens, although he and his son broke their contract almost at once, and advice was also obtained from Lord Stanhope's gardener at Harrington, a man named Daniel, and from the gardener at Holdenby. Terraces were laid out across the slope which ran down from the house towards the stream which bounds the site to the west, a causeway was built from the mansion to the churchyard, and seats were made for the garden, including one near the bowling green. Fruit trees, including apricots, were trained and spread in espaliers against one of the walls of the mansion. In the spring of 1611 waterworks were being installed and by July the long walk in the great garden had been levelled.

Descent: Sir John St. John sold 1541 to King Henry VIII as part of a complex exchange agreement; in 1551 the Crown granted the estate, with other lands, in return for the surrender of an annuity, to Sir Nicholas Throckmorton (d. 1571); to son, Sir Arthur Throckmorton (d. 1626); to widow Anne, Lady Throckmorton, who sold her life interest in 1628 to their daughter Mary, wife of Thomas Wotton (1587-1630), 2nd Lord Wotton of Marley; to daughter Anne, later wife of Sir Edward Hales of Tunstall (Kent), 2nd bt; sold 1668 to their son and heir, Edward Hales, who sold 1673-74 to Sir Benjamin Bathurst (1638-1704); to widow Frances Bathurst (d. 1727), who gave the estate in 1707 to her eldest son, Allen Bathurst (1684-1775), 1st Earl Bathurst; to son, Henry Bathurst (1714-94), 1st Baron Apsley and 2nd Earl Bathurst; to son, Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst; who sold 1805 to Robert Shedden (d. 1826); to son George (1769-1855); to son, William George Shedden (d. 1872); to brother, Roscow Cole Shedden (d. 1877) of East Cowes (Isle of Wight); to son George Shedden, who in 1920 sold the remaining 600 acres to the sitting tenant, Thomas Roddis; sold to Edgar Eales (fl. 1939).


Richings Park, Iver, Buckinghamshire

The estate takes its name from a family called Richking who owned it in the 14th and 15th centuries. From them it passed through several hands until, as Richings, it was bought in 1576 by William Salter (1526‐1606), a London grocer. His son, Sir Edward Salter (1562‐ 1647) became a barrister at Grays Inn, and in the next generation his sons Sir William and Sir Christopher Salter were courtiers to James I and Charles I, and entertained members of the royal family at Richings, which contemporary wills show was richly furnished.

After the property came into the hands of Allen Bathurst (1684‐1775), later 1st Earl Bathurst, in 1708, there was a period of about eight years when Richings (or Riskins as it was often called at the time) was his main residence. At this time he was a prominent figure at Court and in Parliament, and the house was convenient for both London and Windsor. He entertained at Richings both his political associates, like Lord Bolingbroke, and the leading Tory writers and wits like Addison, Pope, Congreve, Gay and Swift. After 1714, when the Tory Bathurst’s star was eclipsed for a generation by the death of Queen Anne and the advent of the Hanoverian regime, he spent increasing amounts of time at Cirencester Park, and although work at Richings did not stop altogether, the focus of his landscaping activities moved to Gloucestershire. We have no information about what the gardens at Richings were like when Lord Bathurst inherited the property, but he developed them as one of the earliest examples of a ferme ornée: in which areas of productive pasture and arable were interwoven with decorative walks and rides through narrow belts of woodland. The gardener and landscape designer Stephen Switzer is known to have been involved in the work (he describes the layout in Ichnographia Rustica and dedicated his Practical Kitchen Gardener to Bathurst as ‘the best of Masters, best of Friends’) but whether he really took a leading role in the design is unclear. The fuller evidence for Cirencester Park suggests that Bathurst was himself the principal designer there, but the situation at Richings may have been different, as Bathurst would then have been less experienced and perhaps did not have the leisure to direct the works himself. Alexander Pope was no doubt also involved, as he was at Cirencester later on, and Bathurst dedicated both a seat and an avenue of horse chestnut trees at Richings to Pope.
Richings Park, Iver: the 'regulated Epitomy'
published by Stephen Switzer in 1742

Richings Park, Iver: plan from a county map of 1761



















In 1739 Lord Bathurst sold Richings to the Earl and Countess of Hertford (from 1748 the Duke and Duchess of Somerset), and they renamed it Percy Lodge. They continued to enhance Bathurst’s ferme ornée. Lady Hertford in her letters to Henrietta Knight, Lady Luxborough, details the changes planned for the house and grounds; “We have just now taken a house by Colnbrook. It belongs to Lord Bathhurst, and is what Mr. Pope called his ‘Extravagant Bergerie’. The environs perfectly answer that title, and come nearer to my idea of a scene in Arcadia than any place I ever saw…The house is old but convenient, and when you are got within the little paddock it stands in, you would believe yourself one hundred miles from London….” She describes some of its romantic features; “a cave overhung with periwinkles” with a spring gushing out of the back of it; “with little arbours interwoven with lilacs, woodbine, syringas and laurels…; an astounding number of nightingales” After her husband’s death in 1750, the Dowager Duchess continued to enhance the estate including a Porter’s Lodge “at my Gate” and “some Change in my Rosary, and Openings in other Parts of the Park. I have erected a little Hermitage in one of the Woods near the Canal, whose roof is thatched, and its Walls of Straw”.

For an estate which was so well-known in the 18th century, it is remarkable that not a single drawing appears to survive that shows the house or the garden at this time. Our only information comes from a plan published by Switzer in Ichnographia Rustica (1742), and two county maps of the 1750s by John Rocque. Switzer calls his drawing a ‘regulated Epitomy’: this appears to be an idealised version of reality that is based on the irregular layout shown by Rocque but which is rendered symmetrical, the better to support his didactic purpose. John Rocque’s Maps of Middlesex (1754) and Berkshire (1761), show the reality, but at a very small scale. The centrepiece of the layout was a canal some 555 yards long (L-shaped not straight as Switzer suggests), with a central circular pool, formal allées cut through wooded parkland south of the house and a ‘circumferential ride’. West of the house was a menagerie, and on the site of a former chapel, a grotto and greenhouse and the “Abbey Walk of beech trees with a statue at the end”. Whereas Switzer shows the house as a regular square building on the axis of the canal, Rocque shows an irregular house set at the north-west corner of the site, which seems to sit better with Lady Hertford’s description of it as ‘old but convenient’.

Richings Park, Iver: the entrance front of the house built c.1790. Image: Historic England

Richings Park, Iver: the garden front of the house built c.1790. Image: Historic England.
The estate changed hands several times in the later 18th century, and Stiff Leadbetter was evidently making improvements to the house in 1763 for the 1st Duke of Northumberland, but nothing is known of the nature of these works. In 1786 the estate was sold to John Sullivan (d. 1839), an East India Company ‘nabob’ who had made a large fortune at Tanjore by supplying the British troops in India. The old house at Richings burned down in 1788, and after his marriage to a daughter of the Earl of Buckinghamshire in 1789, Sullivan built a new rectangular villa on slightly higher ground about 130 yards north-east of the old stable block. The new house was a three-storey six-bay yellow brick building with two-storey pavilions, linked to the house by single storey colonnades. The main block was neo-classical but astylar, with cornice and parapet, and a central porch on the entrance front. The garden front had a semi-circular full height bow and faced south. Full-length sash windows on the ground floor provided views of the park and its canalSullivan also purchased the adjoining Parsonage House property allowing him to enlarge the park to the north. He then moved the public road to the new northern boundary and re-landscaped the park with new drives and lodges, and a three‐arched bridge. By 1810 the new landscape was largely complete, with informal parkland with specimen trees, boundary woodland and belts. The 18th century canal remained a key feature, but the banks were made sinuous and irregular.

In 1922 the estate was sold to the Sykes Brothers, who occupied the house and retained some of the land for farming, but began developing the rest as a residential estate (Richings Park). Some houses were built, but their company went into receivership in 1932, and in 1938 the park was sold to William Boyer & Sons, aggregate merchants. In 1938‐40 the villa was taken over briefly by Bomber Command, but in 1950 the villa was demolished, possibly as a result of wartime damage or neglect; parts of the foundations and the cellars are said survive amid scrub. In 1963 the M4 was built through the south section of the park, cutting through the south tip of the canal, and in the mid‐1990s the majority of the estate was developed as a golf course.

Descent: sold 1576 to William Salter (1526‐1606), a London grocer, for his son Sir Edward Salter (1562‐1647); to son... sold 1678 to Sir Peter Apsley (d. 1691); to son, Peter Apsley (d. 1708); to sister Catherine (1688-1768), wife of Allen Bathurst (1684-1775), 1st Earl Bathurst; sold 1739 to Algernon Seymour (1684-1750), Earl of Hertford and later 7th Duke of Somerset; to son-in-law, Sir Hugh Smithson (later Percy) (c.1714-86), 4th bt. and 1st Duke of Northumberland; sold 1776 to Sir John Coghill (d. 1785), 1st bt.; to widow, Hester Coghill, Dowager Countess of Charleville, who sold 1786 to John Sullivan (d. 1839); to nephew, Augustus Sullivan; sold 1855 to Charles Meeking; to son, Lt-Col. Charles Meeking (d. 1912); to granddaughter, Miss Viola Meeking; sold 1922 to Sykes family; sold 1938 to William Boyer & Sons, aggregate merchants; requisitioned for wartime use by Bomber Command; demolished 1950.

Cirencester Park (aka Oakley Lodge), Gloucestershire

The great house and park at Cirencester which we know today are largely the creation of Allen, 1st Earl Bathurst (1684-1775), but the mansion had an illustrious late 16th century predecessor, sometimes called Oakley Lodge, which was recorded by Kip but has since been largely forgotten. 

The House
Cirencester Park: detail of Kip's view of Cirencester, showing the Elizabethan house built for Sir John Danvers
The Elizabethan house was built for Sir John Danvers (d. 1594) of Dauntsey (Wilts), who was in possession by 1588, and was presumably complete by 1592 when one of Queen Elizabeth's progresses included an overnight stay at 'Sir John Danvers new House'. It was a large symmetrical U-shaped building on the west side of Park Street, with its front facing east and a rear elevation facing the home park behind. On the east side, long multi-gabled wings stretched out to embrace a forecourt, and beyond this an outer court was defined by a curved wall, a rebuilt version of which forms the present street boundary. Since at least 1779 a great yew hedge has been grown along its length to conceal and insulate the house from the town. As depicted by Kip, the house was a notable example of the recession which the Elizabethan and Jacobean age found so desirable: the wings themselves being stepped on the inner face, the corners of the main block extruded and the centre emphasised not by a porch but by a single central gable. Such an elaborate system of recession in the main façade would have been distinctly avant garde for a house entirely of c.1590, and the tradition quoted by Neale that the house was built in 1626 may be due to a distant memory of early alterations for Sir Henry Poole which enhanced the system of recession on this front.  The internal arrangement of the house cannot now be fully reconstructed, although it is known that the space now occupied by the main staircase was formerly the great hall.  A structural survey would probably reveal further helpful evidence. 

In 1695, the estate was sold to Sir Benjamin Bathurst, whose son Allen, later 1st Baron Bathurst, inherited it in 1704. After a brief career in politics that was cut short by the death of Queen Anne, he turned his attention to the improvement of his house, and the creation of one of the grandest landscaped parks of 18th century England. There has been much discussion of just when the old house was rebuilt. It has usually been assumed that work was begun in 1715, and in August 1718 Bathurst was being 'disturbed with the noise of saws and hammers which has no other ill effect whatsoever attending it but only that it is apt to melt money sometimes'. In May 1722, however, Bathurst’s friend Alexander Pope wrote enthusiastically of ‘the Palace that is to be built, the Pavilions that are to glitter, the Colonnades that are to adorn them’, and since there is now archival evidence that the major remodelling was not carried out until 1725-27, when William Townsend was the architect, he was presumably thinking of a new house which Bathurst was then contemplating. The reality was much less architecturally impressive than Pope’s vision, for the net effect of Townesend’s work was that the wings of the Jacobean house were pulled down leaving only the narrow double pile main block, which was given new, rather plain, 13 bay, two and a half storey facades, depicted in vignettes on the plan of the Home Park published in Rudder's Gloucestershire.  

Cirencester Park: the west (left) and east (right) fronts of the house as remodelled in 1723-27. The tower visible in the left hand view is that of the parish church not part of the house.
The new east front was a relatively long and featureless elevation: the ground floor windows were arched, the rest plain sashes. More articulation was provided for the (little altered) thirteen-bay west front, which has a three-bay centre under a segmental pediment and wider end bays that project forward under rather insignificant pediments. Its three-bay porch was rusticated, matching in character the parkland buildings which were about to be erected. As remodelled, the house really lacked sufficient depth to provide rooms of Georgian proportions, and later alterations have failed to solve this problem, so that the house remains cramped, especially in the entrance hall. Lord Bathurst was the first to admit that the remodelling was not a great success, and wrote to his friend Alexander Pope: 'I trust to you to give an account how it comes to be so oddly bad'.  This comment and his remark to his cousin, Lord Strafford, that ‘I think any house good enough to sleep in’, suggest that he had not yet developed that interest in architecture which he later displayed.  Bathurst’s decision to remodel the old house rather than rebuild it on a new site, which ensured that it remained an adjunct of the town and did not become an aloof mansion isolated in its park, was in keeping with his Tory sympathies.  The same spirit may have pursuaded him to employ a mason-architect like Townesend rather than a gentleman-architect like Vanbrugh or Gibbs; he will have wanted a quiet house, not an assertive one.

When the 1st Earl Bathurst died in 1775 at the age of 90, the the house was apparently unsound.  The property and earldom passed to his eldest surviving son, Henry Bathurst (1714-94), 1st Baron Apsley, who was just completing Apsley House in London to the design of Robert Adam when he inherited. The 2nd Earl feared that he would need to take Cirencester Park down and rebuilt it, but in the end nothing was done until 1810-11, when the 3rd Earl employed the young and fashionable Tory architect, Robert Smirke, to add the present north wing and demolish the west porch. Smirke will have been known to him because he designed the new building for the Royal Mint during the 3rd Earl's term as Master of the Mint. The commission would seem to have been Smirke’s first employment in Gloucestershire, and he probably owed several later projects in the county, including the building of a new Shire Hall, to recommendations from Lord Bathurst. Smirke was employed at Cirencester by the 3rd Earl for a second time in the late 1820s, and it was probably then that he rebuilt the east front facing the town, creating a severely plain fifteen bay facade which was evidently complete by 1829 when it was recorded in a drawing by Admiral Lord Mark Kerr

Cirencester Park: a view of the east front from within the yew hedge by H.W. Taunt, c.1895. Image: Oxfordshire Libraries.
The east front has a three-bay central pediment and is articulated by stepping forward the central five bays to create the effect of a villa with wings of equal height.  The ground floor was brought forward from the earlier building line to create rooms of better proportions along the entrance front, and this necessitated an almost complete remodelling of the interiors, which were decorated with an unexpectedly severe plainness. A staircase and gallery were provided in the space formerly occupied by the Elizabethan great hall, and a set of four antique marble columns, acquired in Italy in 1815, were set up against the entrance wall.  To the north of the house, Smirke built a new quadrangle of stables, which was much altered for the 6th Earl in 1878 by John Birch, who may also have been responsible for laying out the Italian Garden. Since 1830, the mansion has escaped significant external alteration, although little survives of Smirke’s internal decoration. 

The Park
Before beginning work at Cirencester, it is thought Lord Bathurst had already employed the landscape gardener and writer, Stephen Switzer, to improve his ornamental farm at Richings Park in Buckinghamshire.  Certainly Switzer’s concept of ‘Rural and extensive gardening’, based on the grand layout and formality of French gardens but ‘set off... by the luxury of Nature’ underlies what was to be achieved at Cirencester.  In 1727 Switzer dedicated The practical kitchin gardener to Bathurst as ‘the best of masters and best of friends’, but there is no evidence that he played an active role at Cirencester.  In 1718, if not before, Lord Bathurst became a friend of the poet, Alexander Pope, who was a leading figure in London architectural and gardening circles, and he became a regular correspondent of the Earl and a frequent visitor to Cirencester.  It seems to have been Pope whose judgement and aesthetic sense guided Lord Bathurst’s creation of a forest park at Cirencester.  That autumn, Pope recorded how he and Lord Bathurst occupied their time: ‘[We] draw Plans for Houses and Gardens, open Avenues, cut Glades, plant Firrs, contrive waterworks, all very fine and beautiful in our own imagination’. In 1716, Bathurst had bought a tract of land west of the Home Park that comprised Oakley Wood and the Sapperton Manor estate from the executors of Sir Robert Atkyns. Although the Home Park and Oakley Wood remained separated by a public road until the early 19th century, the two areas were designed as an integrated landscape.  Kip shows the land west of the mansion as a meadow, with trees informally fringing an open plain. From 1718, new planting was introduced, creating a series of intersecting avenues crossing a central route aligned on the centre of the mansion and Cirencester church tower beyond it. Along the northern edge of the park, a narrow belt of densely planted trees containing winding paths was planted. The conception developed slowly, and became more informal as it developed, but the bones of the layout remained the great rides. Bathurst laid great emphasis on seasonal colouring, and his calculated efforts to achieve it contribute to his reputation as a great gardener. Chestnut, elm and oak trees were used to give variety to the dominant beech, and yews and other conifers introduced where a sombre atmosphere was desired.  Pope indeed equated Bathurst’s prodigious tree-planting with the architectural activities of Lord Burlington in his Epistle to Lord Burlington with the line, “Who plants like Bathurst or builds like Boyle”.  For the romantic imagination of Pope, the woods of Cirencester were an enchanted forest, and he wrote “I look upon myself as the Magician appropriated to the place, without whom no mortal can penetrate the Recesses of these sacred Shades”. 

Cirencester Park: plan of the Home Park
as laid out by the 1st Earl, published in 1779.
Cirencester Park: plan of Oakley Park
as laid out by the 1st Earl, published in 1779





















All the key positions in the layout were highlighted by architectural features, for which Lord Bathurst seems to have been his own architect, although he consulted Pope a great deal.  Among those surviving are Pope's Seat (at the north end of a cross avenue aligned on Kemble church tower), the Horse Temple (moved nearer to the house in the 19th century), and the Hexagon, all of about 1736. At the point known as Seven Rides, where several avenues radiated, a column was erected in 1741, crowned by a statue of Queen Anne. Towards the south-west end of the the Home Park, a naturalistic lake was constructed in 1736, somewhat in advance of the general fashion for such lakes, as promoted by Capability Brown: its banks followed the contours of the ground and its ends were concealed by tree-planting, so that, as Rudder noted, it appears to be ‘part of a considerable river’. Its construction encountered considerable difficulty because of the lack of a convenient water supply.

Cirencester Park: Pope's Seat in 1895.
Cirencester Park: The Hexagon in 1895.


In Oakley Park,  a more dramatic layout was adopted, with ten rides radiating out from another ronde point, the longest being the east-west Broad Ride, eventually some five miles in length, for which clearing and planting was in progress in 1728. Further landscape buildings were erected here by Lord Bathurst, including the simply Gothick Ivy Lodge of c.1720 and the more important Alfred's Hall. This incorporated or superseded an earlier structure called Oakley Bower or the Wood House, which was used for the accommodation of distinguished guests such as Pope, but which is said to have collapsed one morning after Jonathan Swift had been lodging in it overnight. After 1721, this was rebuilt with a round tower at either end, some simple Gothick fenestration, and battlements, as a lodge which was referred to as King Arthur’s Castle. 

Cirencester Park: engraving of Alfred's Hall published in 1763 after a drawing by Thomas Robins. The drawing shows the sham ruins added to the grounds after 1730.
Pope dreamed up the notion that this was where King Alfred, disguised as a minstrel, had spied on the Danish camp at Cirencester, and coined the final name, Alfred’s Hall.  It was probably always Gothick, although its original appearance is unclear, for in about 1730 Lord Bathurst demolished Sapperton Manor and took windows, doorways, battlements and sculpture from the Jacobean house to construct artificial ruins around the building and give the lodge a more romantic appearance. The mock ruins are clearly shown in two views by Thomas Robins that were engraved in 1763. So successful and unexpected was this confection that a visitor soon afterwards took it for the remains of the old family home ‘built with stone, in the old manner, with battlements round the top, and a towr with an old gate to go into it, which gives it much the look of a Castle; this my Lord has left a good deal of standing, and furnish’d it, and makes a summer house of it, and it is a very Romantick pretty place’. 

When Lord Bathurst finally died in 1775 at the age of 90, the park was unfinished. The 2nd Earl continued his planting plan, and in 1813-14 the 3rd Earl succeeded in closing the public road that separated the two parks and made them one physical space. He also extended the Broad Walk that cuts through Oakley Park eastward to a new terminus at the end of Cecily Hill, where a public entrance to the park was created in 1843 and improved c.1856. Successive generations of Earls have continued to harvest and renew the trees through to the present day, so that it remains, as it has been since the early 18th century, the finest forest landscape in England.  Most of the 1st Earl’s garden buildings survive too, although Alfred’s Hall, without doubt the most important of them, is now in an advanced state of decay and on the Buildings at Risk Register.  

Descent: Crown sold 1554 to Sir Anthony Kingston (d. 1556); to illeg. son, Anthony or Edmund; sold 1563 to Sir John Danvers (d. 1594), kt.; to son, Henry Danvers, 1st Baron Danvers and later 1st Earl of Danby; sold 1615 to Sir Henry Poole (d. 1616); to son, Sir Henry Poole (d. 1645), kt.; to son, Sir William Poole (d. 1651), kt.; to son, Henry Poole, who sold? to his sister Anne (d. 1692) and her husband, James Levingston (d. 1670), 1st Viscount of Newburgh and later 1st Earl of Newburgh; to son, Charles Levingston (d. 1694), 2nd Earl of Newburgh; to widow, Frances (d. 1736), Countess of Newburgh and later wife of Richard Bellew, 3rd Baron Bellew, who sold 1695 to Sir Benjamin Bathurst (1638-1704), kt.; to son, Rt. Hon. Allen Bathurst (1684-1775), 1st Baron and later 1st Earl Bathurst; to son, Rt. Hon. Henry Bathurst (1714-94), 1st Baron Apsley and later 2nd Earl Bathurst; to son, Rt. Hon. Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst; to son, Henry George Bathurst (1790-1866), 4th Earl Bathurst; to brother, William Lennox Bathurst (1791-1878), 5th Earl Bathurst; to nephew, Allen Alexander Bathurst (1832-92), 6th Earl Bathurst; to son, Seymour Henry Bathurst (1864-1943), 7th Earl Bathurst; to grandson, Henry John Allen Bathurst (1927-2011), 8th Earl Bathurst; to son, Allen Christopher Bertram Bathurst (b. 1961), 9th Earl Bathurst.

Langwith Lodge, Nether Langwith, Nottinghamshire


The village of Langwith between Mansfield (Notts) and Chesterfield (Derbys) is divided into two parts, with Upper Langwith to the west lying in Derbyshire and Nether Langwith to the east forming part of Nottinghamshire.The original manorial residence was the 17th century ‘Old Hall’ at Upper Langwith, which is said to have been built in 1632 and has mullioned windows and gabled dormers. This house survives but has been divided into three dwellings. In 1690 the estate, which extended into the adjoining villages of Cuckney, Scarcliffe and Palterton, was sold by the Pierrepont family to Sir Peter Apsley (d. 1691), whose son, also Peter Apsley, died in 1708 leaving the estate to his sister Catherine, the wife of Allen Bathurst (1684-1775), 1st Earl Bathurst.

Langwith Old Hall in 2013. Image: John Slater. Some rights reserved.

The Old Hall was superseded by the house now known as Langwith Lodge east of Nether Langwith. The only early illustration of this which I can trace shows a three-bay house with sash windows, to which wings with canted bays were added in the mid 18th century. The proportions of the centre block suggest strongly that it was originally a late 17th century building with mullioned windows, which were replaced with sashes, probably rather earlier than the addition of the wings. The house was originally called Langwith Hall, and first appears on a map of 1774 as such, but the later name was in use by the early 19th century. 

Langwith Lodge: drawing by S.H. Grimm, 1785, showing the possibly late 17th century house with its 18th century wings.
Image: Yale Center for British Art.

In the 1780s, a cotton mill was constructed by the Bathursts to the east of the site (creating substantial new employment and leading to an increase in the size of the village) and the river was dammed in front of Langwith Lodge to form a lake to supply the mill with water. The lake and grounds were landscaped in 1794, when James Dowland, the local agent of the Bathursts, had trees planted around the site, many of which survive around the lake and alongside the road. A lodge was also built around this time at the south eastern entrance. The view referred to shows a party of ladies and gentlemen in a rowing boat on the lake, and the 2nd Earl Bathurst seems to have used the house occasionally, but already in 1797 Throsby noted that "This family residence is seldom used as such by the present owner, indeed it is not frequently visited by the family", and it may have been occupied by James Dowland and his successors as agent. From the early 19th century it was generally leased: Robert Nassau Sutton was recorded as resident in 1823, and his son Peter Nassau Sutton in 1832; Henry Hollins, a local cotton merchant, lived there in 1841, soon followed by Captain Samuel William Need, a grandson of Samuel Need, the business partner of cotton miller Richard Arkwright.

The 4th Earl Bathurst sold Langwith Lodge with some land to the Duke of Portland in 1844, but retained those parts of the estate which formed part of the north Derbyshire coalfield until the early 20th century. In the 19th century there were large coal mining operations at Scarcliffe and Palterton and much of the landscape was obliterated by spoil heaps, now all smoothed away. When the house was sold, Captain S.W. Need remained as tenant, but in the same year changed his surname to Welfitt (his maternal uncle’s surname). Welfitt eventually became Colonel of the local yeomanry, and a JP, and remained at Langwith Lodge until his death in 1889. His widow died in 1899, and soon afterwards, in February 1900, the surviving contents of the house were auctioned off, and the building was demolished. It is not clear why: some accounts state that the house was damaged by fire after Mrs. Welfitt's death, but there are no reports of such a fire in the local press and the notices of the sale of the contents make no reference to any of the goods being damaged or smoke blackened, so this seems unlikely; it was probably just in poor condition. 

Langwith Lodge: engraving from The Building News, 1903 showing the design and plan of the new house.

Langwith Lodge: a postcard view of the new house in the early 20th century.
The 6th Duke of Portland commissioned the Yorkshire architect Louis Ambler to design a replacement house in the neo-Georgian style as a home for his agent. This was constructed in a very red brick with yellow stone dressings and completed in 1904. It is somewhat in the manner of Ernest Newton, and has an eleven bay front with slightly projecting wings and centre. The majority of the windows are plain sashes with segmental heads, but the wings have shallow canted bays on the ground floor and Venetian windows in the pedimented gable-ends. In the centre of the eleven-bay front is a single-storey porch with a segmental hood, and this has another Venetian window above it under a smaller pedimental gable. The skyline is kept busy with a series of closely-spaced segmental-pedimented dormer windows between the gables and on the side elevations, and tall chimneys. In 1920, the house and park was sold to H.A. Longbottom, who left in 1923, and then to W.H.T. Davies, who put it on the market in 1951. The house was purchased by the Ministry of Health in 1954 and converted into a diabetic hospital. Since then, there has been some building on the former grounds, but the open aspect over the lake to the south survives. The diabetic hospital closed in or about 1987 and the house then became a nursing home.

Descent: Pierrepont family sold 1691 to Sir Peter Apsley (d. 1691); to son, Peter Apsley (d. 1708); to sister, Catherine (1688-1768), wife of Allen Bathurst (1684-1775), 1st Earl Bathurst; to son, Henry Bathurst (1714-94), 2nd Earl Bathurst; to son, Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst; to son, Henry George Bathurst (1790-1866), 4th Earl Bathurst, who sold 1844 to William Henry Cavendish Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck (1768-1854), 4th Duke of Portland; to son, William John Cavendish Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck (1808-79), 5th Duke of Portland; to cousin, William John Arthur Charles James Cavendish-Bentinck (1857-1943), 6th Duke of Portland; sold 1920 to H.A. Longbotham; sold c.1923 to W.H.T. Davies; sold 1954 to Ministry of Health.

Fairy Hill (later Fairy Hall), Mottingham, Kent

An 18th century villa, known initially as Fairy Hill but from the late 1770s as Fairy Hall, which was either built for or sold before 1771 to, Henry Bathurst, 1st Baron Apsley and later 2nd Earl Bathurst, who made this his chief residence during his term as Lord Chancellor. Although Lord Apsley was employing Robert Adam to design his London town house from 1771, there are no drawings in the Soane Museum to connect Adam with work on this site.

Fairy Hall, Mottingham: the house as rebuilt in 1857 for James Hartley.
No record has been found of its appearance, for it was either remodelled or rebuilt in 1857 for James Hartley, a shipowner, as a five bay rendered house of two storeys with a central single-storey porch carried on four Tuscan columns. There is a tripartite window above the porch and a rather limp pediment above that. It was given an Italianate tower at one corner, and the building was later estimated to have cost £25,000. In the 1880s, the house was acquired by the Royal Naval School, the former home of which at New Cross had become too industrial to be a suitable location. Fairy Hall was enlarged by the addition of wings either side of the existing building in a matching style, which were completed before the school opened in 1889. A chapel was built between the house and the road in 1903, but the School closed in 1910 and the premises were sold in 1912 to the School for the Sons and Orphans of Missionaries, which later developed into the present co-educational Eltham College.

Fairy Hall, Mottingham: the house as enlarged in 1889 for the Royal Naval School. The house is now the home of Eltham College.
Image: Eltham College.

Descent: Henry Bathurst (1714-94), 1st Baron Apsley and 2nd Earl Bathurst; to son, Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst; sold before 1797 to Mr Nelson of London; sold to William Smith (d. by 1839); to Alfred Brettle (fl. 1843); to John Griffith Frith (fl. 1846); to James Hartley (d. 1857); to widow Jane Hartley; to R.B. Carson (fl. 1866-68); to R.H. Atkinson (fl. 1869) sold c.1889 to Royal Naval School; sold 1912 to School for Sons and Orphans of Missionaries, later Eltham College.

Principal sources

Burke's Peerage and Baronetage, 2003, pp.; A. Kippis, Biographia Britannica, 1778, vol. 1, p. 692; J.A. Hankey, History of the Apsley and Bathurst families, 1889; G.E. C[okayne], The complete peerage, vol. 2, 1912, pp. 28-32; Country Life, 26 July 1913, p. 126; Country Life, 16 June 1950, p. 1796; G. Sherburn (ed), The correspondence of Alexander Pope, 1956, ii, p. 116; J. Lees-Milne, Earls of Creation, 1962, pp. 22-33;  C. Hussey, English gardens and landscapes, 1700-50, 1967, pp. 78-83; Sir N. Pevsner & J. Sherwood, The buildings of England: Oxfordshire, 1974, pp. 202-07; A. Everitt, The community of Kent and the Great Rebellion, 1640-60, 1986, pp. 189-90, 200; M. Batey & D. Lambert, The English garden tour, 1990, p. 152; D. King, The complete works of Robert and James Adam, 1991, pp. 264, 279-85; N.W. Kingsley, The country houses of Gloucestershire: vol. 2, 1660-1830, 1992, pp. 100-03;  Sir N. Pevsner & E. Williamson, The buildings of England: Buckinghamshire, 2nd edn., 1994, p. 415; J. Ingamells, A dictionary of British and Irish travellers in Italy, 1701-1800, 1999, pp. 60-61; Sir H.M. Colvin, ‘The Townesends of Oxford’, Georgian Group Journal, x, 2000, p. 48; E. Harris, ‘Adam at No 1 London’, Country Life, 1 Nov. 2001; N.W. Kingsley, The country houses of Gloucestershire: vol. 1, 1500-1660, 2nd edn., 2001, pp. 71-72; T. Mowl, Historic gardens of Glos, 2002, p. 12, 67-72; VCH Northamptonshire, vol. 5, 2002, pp. 245-89; T. Warrener, A History of Langwith, Nether Langwith & Whaley Thorns, 2008; W.A. Brogden, Ichnographia Rustica: Stephen Switzer and the designed landscape, 2017, pp. 51-55, 81-90.

Location of archives

Bathurst of Cirencester, Earls Bathurst: deeds, estate papers (Gloucestershire, Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire) and family papers, 14th-20th cents [Gloucestershire Archives, D2525, D4483]; Hothorpe estate deeds and estate papers, 17th-18th cents [Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland DE30]; family correspondence and papers, 18th-19th cents [British Library, MS Loan 57]; business correspondence re Morning Post, 20th cent. [Leeds University Library, Special Collections, MS Dep 1990/1]

Can you help?

  • Can anyone provide an image of the Georgian house at Fairy Hill, Mottingham before it was rebuilt in 1857?

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 22 March 2021 and updated 25 March 2021. I am particularly grateful to my friends Mike Hill and Freddie Hervey-Bathurst for their assistance with this entry.