Thursday, 11 February 2021

(446) Jones, later Jones-Bateman, of Pentre Mawr

Jones-Bateman of Pentre Mawr 
This family claimed descent from Cynfyn ap Gwerstan, prince of Powys, through a younger branch of the Joneses of Trewythen (Montgomerys), but their more certain genealogy begins with the Rev. William Jones (d. 1725?), who was vicar of Llanferres (Denbighshire) at the beginning of the 18th century. He had three sons, Hugh, John and Rowland, with whom the genealogy below begins, and three daughters. His sister Judith married Humphrey Williams of Pentre Mawr, Abergele (Denbigshire), and inherited that estate from him as they had no surviving children. When she died in 1724 she left it to William's son, the Rev. Hugh Jones (1697-1764), who also succeeded his father as rector of Llanferres the following year. Hugh, who later became vicar of Gresford (Denbighshire) and a canon of St. Asaph Cathedral, appears to have died unmarried, and his property passed to his younger brother, John Jones (1703-78) of Wrexham (Denbighshire). John, and almost certainly Hugh too, had their portraits painted by Richard Wilson in the 1730s, when the artist was just beginning his independent practice as an artist and spent some time at Llanferres, staying with relations at Colomendy Hall. Their patronage seems to have helped the artist become established, and it is possible that the portrait of 'Rowland Jones, an old bard, aged 90' at Chirk Castle was also of a relation.

John Jones died in 1778 and left Pentre Mawr to his nephew, Rowland Jones (1737-1812), who was a saddler in Chester, but also a member of the city corporation who served as Mayor in 1797-98. Rowland's only son, John Jones (1784-1849) was evidently articled to a solicitor in London, and having completed his training, attended Lincoln's Inn for a time, although he does not seem to have been called to the bar. He eventually became the senior partner in the solicitor's practice of Jones, Bateman, Bennett and Field, who occupied chambers in Lincoln's Inn Fields and acted for clients including the Earl of Thanet. He married, in 1824, Marianne Burleton (1799-1874), who has some reputation as an amateur artist, and over the next seven years they had three sons and three daughters, all of whom survived to adulthood. In about 1830, he rebuilt or remodelled the house at Pentre Mawr as a small neo-Tudor mansion, which the family used as a holiday home. In 1834, for reasons which are unclear but which must be connected with his legal practice, John sought royal licence to add the name Bateman to his patronymic, and he and his descendants were subsequently known as Jones-Bateman.

In 1849, the even tenor of the family's life was disrupted by an annus horribilis, which began in January with a fire at the chambers of the legal practice at 2 New Square, Lincoln's Inn Fields.
The Lincoln's Inn Fire of 1849, from the Illustrated London News, 20 January 1849

This blaze, which is said to have been the biggest fire in London for more than a decade, affected several legal gentlemen with chambers in the building and destroyed many documents which had been entrusted to their care, although Jones, Bateman & Bennett had fortunately invested in nine fireproof safes which preserved some of the most important. This upsetting and no doubt disruptive event was followed by - and indeed may have precipitated - the death of John Jones-Bateman himself on 14 July. Little over a month later, on 18 August, John's youngest son, Philip, aged 21, was drowned while swimming off the beach at Abergele. John left Pentre Mawr to his wife for life, but on 11 May 1850 that house also was burned down. One could not blame Marianne Jones-Bateman if she had felt persecuted by Fate after so many cruel blows in such a short time.

Pentre Mawr was rebuilt by 1853, and the remaining five children carried on with their lives. One bright spot in the annus horribilis was the ordaining of the eldest son, Rev. John Burleton Jones-Bateman (1825-1910) and his appointment as rector of Sheldon (Warks), a village near Birmingham, where he was to be the incumbent for sixty-one years, living at first at Olton Hall and later in the rectory.
Sheldon rectory

In 1852, Burleton (he seems to have dropped the John after his marriage) married Mary Jennens, the daughter of a local manufacturer, and they had ten children in the next fourteen years. Apart from one child who died young, the eight sons all had interesting lives, becoming in order of seniority a judge in India, Archdeacon of Zanzibar, a surgeon in Birmingham, a chaplain in the Mediterranean resorts favoured by English tourists, an international standard chess player, the Archdeacon of Southern Mexico... and a serial bigamist. The youngest son's inglorious career is an interesting illustration of how easy it was to lead a double, or even a triple, life in a world of poor communications and manual records, despite being possessed of the distinctive name 'Hastings Jones-Bateman', which he never troubled to change - although he did sometimes add Thomas as a first or second forename. In 1904 he twice found himself in court on charges of bigamy, although he got off on a technicality on both occasions. I have found no evidence that his first wife ever divorced him after the bigamy trial, although it seems likely that she would have done; if not, his fourth, fifth and sixth marriages would also have been bigamous!

Pentre Mawr descended to Rev. Burleton Jones-Bateman on his mother's death in 1874, and continued to be used chiefly as a holiday residence by the family. Burleton's eldest son, Herbert Burleton Jones-Bateman (1853-1918) retired from his career as a judge in India in 1904, and took his young family to live in north Wales, buying Eyarth Hall (Denbighs), a few miles inland from Pentre Mawr.
Eyarth Hall, Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd

When he inherited Pentre Mawr from his father in 1910 he did not move there, but let it as a school, and it was never occupied by the family again, although his sister Lilian built a bungalow on the estate in 1911 where she lived until her death in 1925. 

In 1913, Herbert and his son, Reginald (1894-1965) were out shooting on the Eyarth estate when they were told that an escaped convict - a man with a long list of convictions who was something of a popular hero because of his record of prison escapes - had been seen nearby. Herbert went to inform the police, but Reginald found the man and challenged him to stop and surrender.  When the man refused to do so and went to attack Reginald with a chisel, Reginald shot him in the leg, but unfortunately caught an artery so the man bled to death before help arrived. At the subsequent inquest the jury insisted on bringing in a verdict of manslaughter against Reginald, and he was accordingly sent for trial, although the Crown offered no evidence against him and the judge directed the jury to acquit him.

Herbert's three surviving sons were precisely of the generation to fight in the First World War, and all three were commissioned as junior officers, each eventually achieving the rank of Captain. The eldest son, Llewellyn, was killed in 1916, and Reginald was wounded in the same year. The youngest son, Frank, was killed a week before the Armistice, by which time Herbert himself was already dead, killed in what was deemed at the time to be a freak accident while salmon fishing in the River Dee. Herbert's widow appears to have lived on at Eyarth Hall with her two daughters, who never married, until her death in 1933, but Reginald joined the Ceylon Civil Service, and on his return to England in 1934 bought a house at Budleigh Salterton (Devon), where he lived with his wife and daughter. His younger sister, Margaret Jones-Bateman, went to Oxford to read law and in 1934 qualified as  a solicitor; she was among the first two hundred women to do so and later practised in St. Asaph.

Pentre Mawr, Abergele, Denbighshire

A manor house on this site is first mentioned in 1697, and was probably altered or rebuilt by the Jones family in the 18th century. It was further remodelled in the Tudor Gothic style in about 1830 for John Jones-Bateman. 

Pentre Mawr: the house in the early 20th century, from an old postcard.
On 11 May 1850, however, the house was seriously damaged by fire, and although it was possible for volunteers led by the local vicar to rescue many of the contents, contemporary press reports state that 'despite the efforts of the local fire brigade, it was found impossible to save the house, which in a few hours was completely gutted'. Reconstruction was quickly put in hand, and was apparently completed by 1853, possibly to the designs of John Welch of St. Asaph, who had worked on many of the local mansions. The external walls may have survived the fire, as the symmetrical entrance front, with an oriel in a battlemented two-storey porch, was said to be unchanged from its pre-fire appearance. 

The main front faces west and has five bays, with a battlemented two-storey porch with high angle buttresses and a canted oriel window lighting the chamber over the porch, which has Tudor arched lights and a crenellated parapet. To either side of the porch were two timber cross windows on each floor with a gable over and a high lancet window inset in the gable. Over the front door is an achievement of arms, with the inscription 'Spes Non Fracta'. The south end wall has a two-storey square bay of ashlar stone with three-light mullioned and transomed windows. At the rear is a parallel service range, built in unrendered stone rubble, which has an oriel window on the south end. 

Pentre Mawr: the side and rear elevations of the house. Image: RCAHMW AA54/2362.
The inside must have been very largely renewed after the fire, but some of the plasterwork is very much in the style of the 1830s, and so it may have been replaced to the original designs. By the 20th century the house had a good early 18th century Imperial staircase with ornamented tread ends, twisted balusters and Corinthian newels, which must have been imported although it is unclear whether this was installed after the fire or later.  In the 1870s the house was said to house 'many interesting... works of art, including several family portraits... by [Richard] Wilson, and one by Beechey of Barbara Lisle Bowles, the great-great-great niece of Sir Isaac Newton'. The house became a private school in 1913 and seems to have remained in this use until the Second World War, after which it was sold to the local council for use as offices. More recently, it was insensitively converted into twenty-four small flats, with much loss of interior detail, while some of the windows have also been replaced and the front block has been inappropriately rendered, further detracting from its appearance.

Descent: Humphrey Williams (fl. 1685); to widow, Judith Williams (d. 1724); to nephew, Rev. Hugh Jones (1697-1764); to brother, John Jones (1703-78); to nephew, Rowland Jones (1737-1812); to son, John Jones (later Jones-Bateman) (1784-1849); to widow, Marianne Jones-Bateman (1799-1874); to son, Rev. (John) Burleton Jones-Bateman (1825-1910); to son, Herbert Burleton Jones-Bateman (1853-1918); to son, Reginald Jones-Bateman (1894-1965). The house was leased as a school from 1913 and sold 1948 to Abergele Urban District Council.

Jones and Jones-Bateman family of Pentre Mawr


Rev. Hugh Jones (1697-1764) 
Jones, Rev. Hugh (1697-1764). Son of Rev. William Jones, rector of Llanferres (Denbighs) and his wife Martha, born 8 February and baptised at Llanferres, 10 February 1696/7. Educated at Jesus College, Oxford (matriculated 1715/6; BA 1719). Vicar of Hope, 1724-25; Rector of Llanferres, 1725-43 and vicar of Gresford (Denbighs.), 1743-64; prebendary of St Asaph's Cathedral. His portrait, attributed to Richard Wilson, was painted in 1734. He was probably unmarried, and had no issue.
He inherited Pentre Mawr in 1724 from his aunt Judith, widow of Humphrey Williams of Pentre Mawr. At his death it passed to his brother John.
He died 12 March and was buried at Gresford, 15 March 1764; administration of his goods was granted 1 May 1764.


John Jones (1703-78)
Jones, John (1703-78). Son of Rev. William Jones, rector of Llanferres (Denbighs) and his wife Martha, born 11 August and baptised at Llanferres, 14 August 1703.  He was a signficiant early patron of the artist Richard Wilson, and his portrait by Wilson, of 1738, is the earliest surviving securely dated portrait by the artist. He was probably unmarried and had no issue.
He lived at Wrexham (Denbighs) but inherited Pentre Mawr from his elder brother in 1764. At his death it passed to his nephew, Rowland Jones (1737-1812).
He may be the 'Mr. John Jones, gent., excise officer, Wrexh[a]m'  buried at Gresford, 14 January 1778, although no other record of his being connected with the excise has been found; his will was proved 28 March 1778.



Jones, Rowland (b. 1704). Son of Rev. William Jones, rector of Llanferres (Denbighs) and his wife Martha, born 16 November and baptised at Llanferres, 21 November 1704. He apparently married, 21 October 1731 at Fitz (Shropshire), Mary Birch, and had issue, probably among others:
(1) Hugh Jones (b. 1735), baptised at St Mary, Shrewsbury, 11 September 1735;
(2) Rowland Jones (1737-1812) (q.v.);
(3) Martha Jones (fl. 1812); married [forename unknown] Smith.
He lived in Shrewsbury.
His date of death is unknown. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Jones, Rowland (1737-1812). Son of Rowland Jones (b. 1704) of Shrewsbury and his wife Mary Birch, baptised at St Mary, Shrewsbury (Shrops.), 18 March 1736/7. Saddler in Chester. Alderman of Chester (Sheriff, 1781-82 and Mayor, 1797-98). He married, 11 August 1773 at Shotwick (Ches.), Jane (c.1751-1843?), daughter of Richard? Lloyd of Great Saughall, Shotwick, and had issue:
(1) Margaret Jones (b. & d. 1774), baptised at St. Peter, Chester, 19 September 1774; died in infancy and was buried, 11 October 1774;
(2) Patricia (k/a Patty) Jones (1775-1845), baptised at St Peter, Chester, 17 November 1775; married, 1 January 1802 at St Michael, Chester, Dr. Samuel Nevett Bennett (1779-1844) of Chester, surgeon, and had issue one son and four daughters; died 2 December 1845 and was buried at Shotwick (Ches.);
(3) Elizabeth Jones (1777-1836), baptised at St Peter, Chester, 6 May 1777; married, 23 January 1818 at St John, Chester, Hugh Colley (c.1780-1865) of Chester, woollen draper; died without issue and was buried at St Mary, Chester, 10 April 1836;
(4) Jane Jones (b. 1781), baptised at St Peter, Chester, 15 May 1781; living in Queen Street, Chester in 1851 and probably died unmarried;
(5) Mary Jones (b. 1783), baptised at St Peter, Chester, 26 February 1783; living with her sister in Queen St., Chester in 1851 and probably died unmarried;
(6) John Jones (later Jones-Bateman) (1784-1849) (q.v.).
He inherited Pentre Mawr from his uncle, John Jones, in 1778.
He died 31 October 1812; his will was proved in the PCC, 12 December 1812. His widow may be the woman of that name buried at St John, Chester, 27 March 1843.

Jones (later Jones-Bateman), John (1784-1849). Only son of Rowland Jones (1737-1812) and his wife Jane, daughter of Richard? Lloyd of Great Saughall, Shotwick (Ches.), born 3 September 1784 and baptised at Chester, 29 June 1785. Educated at a solicitor's office in the Middle Temple and at Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1814). Solicitor; senior partner in Jones, Bateman, Bennett & Field, of Lincolns Inn Fields, London; auditor and land agent to the Earl of Thanet. He took the additional surname of Bateman in 1834. He married, 24 August 1824 at Donhead St Mary (Wilts), Marianne (1799-1874), daughter of William Burleton of Wyken Hall (Leics) and Donhead Lodge, and had issue:
(1) Rev. John Burleton Jones-Bateman (1825-1910) (q.v.);
(2) Rowland Lloyd Jones-Bateman (1826-96), born 10 November 1826 and baptised at St Pancras, 15 August 1827; educated at Winchester College, Trinity and New Colleges, Oxford (matriculated 1845; BA 1848; MA 1852; cricket blue, 1846, 1848), Lincolns Inn (admitted 1848) and Inner Temple (called 1852); barrister-at-law, who worked as an equity draughtsman and conveyancer; Fellow of New College, Oxford, 1846-59; married, 12 August 1858 at Holy Trinity, St Marylebone (Middx), his first cousin, Jessy Jane Marianne (1839-1914), eldest daughter of Col. William Burleton of Portland Place, London, and had issue one son and one daughter; lived latterly at Otterbourne Grange, Winchester (Hants) and died there, 16 December 1896; administration of goods granted 3 March 1897 (effects £30,001) and 8 November 1912;
(3) twin, Philip Wythen Jones-Bateman (1828-49), baptised at St Pancras, 1 August 1828; educated at Eton; drowned while bathing at Abergele, 18 August 1849; administration of goods granted to his brother Rowland, 20 January 1876 (effects under £2,000);
(4) twin, Marianne Emily Jones-Bateman (1828-73), baptised at St Pancras, 1 August 1828; married, 9 August 1850 at Holy Trinity, St. Marylebone (Middx), Charles Hill (b. 1822), son of James Haydock Hill of Berry Hill, Mansfield (Notts), and had issue three sons; died 8 May 1873;
(5) Ellen Jones-Bateman (1829-1902), born 1829; baptised at St Pancras, 16 July 1830; married, 20 February 1851 at Holy Trinity, St. Marylebone, Robert Bamford-Hesketh (1826-94) of Gwyrch Castle (Denbighs.) and had issue one daughter (Winifred Bamford-Hesketh (d. 1924), who succeeded her father at Gwyrch Castle; married, 18 September 1878, Lt-Gen Douglas Mackinnon Baillie Hamilton Cochrane (1852-1935), 12th Earl of Dundonald, and had issue); lived latterly at Torquay (Devon), but died suddenly while on a visit to Gwyrch, 27 August, and was buried at Llandulas (Denbighs.), 30 August 1902; will proved 10 October 1902 (estate £174,808);
(6) Susan Bowles Jones-Bateman (1831-78), baptised at St Pancras, 25 July 1831; married, 27 January 1863 at St Marylebone (Middx), George Deeks Skingley (1812-88), son of Henry Skingley, esq.; died at Folkestone (Kent), 14 October 1878; will proved 19 December 1878 (effects under £18,000).
He inherited Pentre Mawr from his father in 1812 and remodelled it about 1830. His widow rebuilt the house in c.1853 after a fire in 1850. By an unhappy coincidence, his chambers in Lincolns Inn were destroyed by fire in January 1849.
He died in London, 14 July 1849 and was buried at Abergele, where he is commemorated by a monument; his will was proved in the PCC, 12 November 1849. His widow died 25 November and was buried at Abergele, 1 December 1874; her will was proved 5 April 1875 (effects under £18,000).

Jones-Bateman, Rev. (John) Burleton (1825-1910). Eldest son of John Jones (later Jones-Bateman) (1784-1849) and his wife Marianne, daughter of William Burleton of Wyken Hall (Leics), born 21 June 1825 and baptised at St Pancras, 15 August 1827. Educated at Winchester and Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge (matriculated 1844; BA 1848; MA 1851; cricket blue, 1848). Ordained deacon and priest, 1849. Rector of Sheldon (Warks), 1849-1910; Rural Dean of Coleshill, 1859-1910; a surrogate in the diocese of Birmingham, 1905-10. He married, 8 June 1852, Mary (1833-1911), daughter of Joseph Jennens of Small Heath, Birmingham, and had issue:
(1) Herbert Burleton Jones-Bateman (1853-1918) (q.v.);
(2) Marion Jones-Bateman (1854-1933), baptised at Sheldon, 5 November 1854; died unmarried, 9 March 1933; will proved 11 May 1923 (estate £17,771);
(3) Newton Jones-Bateman (1855-56), baptised at Sheldon, 2 December 1855; died in infancy and was buried at Sheldon, 29 March 1856;
(4) Ven. Percy Lisle Jones-Bateman (1857-97), baptised at Sheldon, 4 October 1857; educated at Uppingham School and Clare College, Cambridge (matriculated 1876; BA 1880; MA 1891); ordained deacon, 1880 and priest, 1884; missionary in Zanzibar, 1880-86; Principal and Chaplain, Kiungani Theological College, Zanzibar, 1886-97; Archdeacon of Zanzibar, 1889-97; Chancellor of Christ Church Cathedral, Zanzibar, 1896-97; died at Zanzibar, 25 October 1897; will proved 12 January 1898 (estate £647);
(5) Llewellyn Jones-Bateman (1859-89), born 8 February and baptised at Sheldon, 3 April 1859; educated at Haileybury and Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge (matriculated 1878; BA 1882; MB and BCh, 1884); Member of the Royal College of Surgeons, 1884; practised in Birmingham, where he was resident Medical Officer at the Jaffray and other Birmingham Hospitals; author of medical texts; died at Bournemouth, 20 November 1889 and was buried at Sheldon, 25 November 1889;
(6) Rev. Cecil Jones-Bateman (1860-1945), born 8 October and baptised at Sheldon, 2 December 1860; educated at Haileybury and Clare College, Cambridge (matriculated 1880; BA 1884; MA 1895); ordained deacon, 1884, and priest, 1885; held a series of curacies in England, 1884-1909; chaplain at Madeira, 1909-13, Florence, 1920-21, Capri, 1921-22 and Christ Church, Nice (France), 1922-25; vicar of Toddington with Stanley Pontlarge (Glos), 1926-36, when he retired to Cheltenham (Glos); a freemason from 1913; married 1st, 29 November 1887 at St James, Paddington (Middx), Marianne Smith (1857-1914), third daughter of Robert Ritson of Glenbank, Maryport (Cumbld) and had issue one daughter; married 2nd, 7 September 1915, Sibyl Rita Byrom (1886-1984), daughter of Edward Rowland Corrie of Coombe Wood, Branksome Park, Bournemouth (Hants), and had issue two sons and one daughter; died in Bournemouth, 14 October 1945; will proved 4 December 1945 (estate £18,645);
(7) Ernest Jones-Bateman (1862-1929), baptised at Sheldon, 4 May 1862; as a young man, he worked in a bank; later moved to London where he was a noted chess player and took part in several championship congresses; moved to Exmouth on his marriage, 12 January 1905 at Littleham-cum-Exmouth (Devon), to Georgiana Herbert (1861-1938), daughter of James Capell of Weston-super-Mare (Som.) and widow of Rev. Charles Edward Strong (1814-99), vicar of Withycombe Raleigh (Devon), but had no issue; died 18 June 1929; will proved 29 August 1929 (estate £15,022);
(8) Lilian Jones-Bateman (1863-1925), baptised at Sheldon, 2 August 1863; built a bungalow called Cae Glas on the upper portion of the Pentre Mawr estate in 1911, to the designs of D. MacDougall of Abergele; died 19 May 1925; will proved 15 August 1925 (estate £12,045);
(9) Rev. Wilfred Jones-Bateman (1865-1937), born 12 February and baptised at Sheldon, 2 April 1865; educated at Haileybury and Selwyn College, Cambridge (matriculated 1883; BA 1886; MA 1890); ordained deacon, 1888 and priest, 1890; held curacies in England, 1888-93; rector of St. George, Grenada, 1893-1903; chaplain to the bishop, 1894-1904 and canon of the Windward Islands, 1905; rector of Christ Church, Mexico City, 1903-12; archdeacon of Southern Mexico, 1905-12; moved to Godinch, Ontario (Canada) about 1912; served in First World War as chaplain to the Canadian Forces, 1914-19; married, 11 September 1895 at Sewickly, Allegheny, Pennsylvania (USA), Annie Eleanor Bennett (1870-1948), of Pittsburgh (USA) and had issue two sons; died following an operation for a burst appendix at Huron, Ontario, 28 July, and was buried at Maitland Cemetery, Huron, 30 July 1937;
(10) Hastings Jones-Bateman (1866-1934), born 17 March and baptised at Sheldon, 6 May 1866; for reasons unknown he was disowned by his family who sent him to Canada in disgrace with a final severance payment of £13,000 in 1885, where he bought a farm and married 1st, 4 January 1886 at Chatham, Ontario (Canada), Harriet (1865-1929), daughter of John Johnson, and had issue one son; in 1890 he left his wife and child to make a visit to England, but on his return he went straight to California to start a new life as a journalist; there he married 2nd, bigamously, 29 March 1901 at Santa Ana, California (sep. 1902; annulled 1904), Florence M. (b. c.1882), daughter of Edwin Bird; having left his second wife he married 3rd (again bigamously), 15 February 1904 at the RC Church in Pasadena, California (annulled 1904), Catherine Quin, whose sister discovered his previous marriage to Miss Bird; he was twice tried for bigamy but escaped gaol on technical grounds, even though he effectively admitted the offence; the press reported "no mention is made in the complaint... of the wives that Bateman had fitted into his life between 1886 and 1901, but he is a large-hearted man and they are many"; by 1910 he was a clerk in the Post Office, but he later came into or made money and by 1920 gave his occupation as 'capitalist'; he married* 4th, 4 May 1915 at San Diego, California (sep. by 1920; div. 1923 on grounds of his adultery), Wanda Caroline Becker (1890-1972) (who m2, 30 January 1928, Abelson Epstein MD (1889-1977), physician and surgeon); he married 5th, 2 March 1923 at Modesto, California, Ida Elizabeth Hallonquist, with whom he had been living for some years, but this ended in an acrimonious divorce on grounds of his cruelty in 1924; he finally married 6th, c.1926, Betty [surname unknown] (b. 1893); he died at Santa Clara, California, 13 October 1934.
He inherited Pentre Mawr from his mother. He lived at Olton Hall, Solihull (Warks) in the earlier years of his ministry at Sheldon, but later moved to Sheldon rectory.
He died at Sheldon, 29 December 1910; his will was proved 23 February 1911 (estate £94,592). His widow died 24 June 1911; her will was proved 29 July 1911 (estate £6,728).
* His first wife was then still living, but it is possible she divorced him after the events of 1904.

Jones-Bateman, Herbert Burleton (1853-1918). Eldest son of John Burleton Jones-Bateman (1825-1910) and his wife Mary Jennens,  born at Olton Hall, 4 May and baptised at Sheldon (Warks), 10 July 1853. Educated at Marlborough College, 1866-71 and Lincolns Inn (admitted 1875). An officer in the Indian Civil Service, 1874-1904, where he served as Assistant Commissioner and joint magistrate in the North-West Provinces and Oudh, 1876-92 and then as district and sessions court judge, 1892-1904. He married, 11 October 1887 at Henllan (Denbighs.), Evelyn (1863-1933), younger daughter of Rev. Hugh Edward Heaton of Plas Heaton, Henllan, and had issue:
(1) Llewellyn Jones-Bateman (1889-1916), born at Azamgarh (India), 28 January and baptised there, 17 March 1889; educated at Malvern College, Wellington College and Royal Military College, Sandhurst; an officer in the Royal Field Artillery (2nd Lt, 1909; Lt. 1912; T/Capt., 1915); died unmarried, of wounds received in action, 19 March 1916 and was buried at Lapugnoy Military Cemetery, Pas-de-Calais (France); will proved 12 May 1916 (estate £185);
(2) Mary Catherine Jones-Bateman (1890-91), born 31 May and was baptised at Cawnpore, Bengal (India), 13 July 1890; died in infancy, 15 December and was buried at Gorakhpur, Bengal (India), 17 December 1891;
(3) Gilbert Jones-Bateman (1892-93), born 20 March and baptised at Gorakhpur, 17 April 1892; died in infancy, 18 November and was buried at Saharanpur, Bengal (India), 19 November 1893;
(4) Reginald Jones-Bateman (1894-1965) (q.v.);
(5) Francis Jones-Bateman (1895-1918), born 29 November and baptised at Saharanpur, 31 December 1895; educated at Rugby, 1909-14; he served in the First World War in the 3rd battalion, Welsh Fusiliers (2nd Lt., 1914; Lt., 1915; Capt. 1915), and was wounded in 1915 and killed in action near Englefontein (France), 4 November 1918; buried in the Cross Roads Cemetery, Fontaine-au-Bois (France);
(6) Beatrice Jones-Bateman (b. 1899), born 8 March and baptised at Lucknow, 20 April 1899; served as a VAD nurse, 1919; lived at Plas Heaton (Denbighs.) in 1952; died unmarried after 1953;
(7) Margaret Jones-Bateman (1900-70), born 13 August 1900; educated at Society of Home Students, Oxford (BCL 1928) and Grays Inn, and qualified as a solicitor, 1934; lived at St. Asaph (Flints); died unmarried, 5 June 1970; will proved 4 September 1970 (estate £19,095).
He inherited the Pentre Mawr estate from his father in 1910, but let it as a private school from 1913 and lived at Eyarth Hall, Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd (Denbighs.).
He died as a result of an accident while salmon fishing in the River Dee, 19 July 1918, and was buried at Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd; his will was proved 30 September 1918 (estate £35,166). His widow was buried at Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd, 22 September 1933; her will was proved 4 December 1933 (estate £32,738).

Jones-Bateman, Reginald (1894-1965). Third, but eldest surviving son of Herbert Burleton Jones-Bateman (1853-1918) and his wife Evelyn, younger daughter of Rev. Hugh Edward Heaton of Plas Heaton (Denbighs.), born 23 April and baptised at Mussoorie, Bengal (India), 1 June 1894. Educated at Rugby, 1907-13 and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1913; scholar). In 1913 he attempted to detain an escaped convict called John Jones, an habitual criminal who seems to have been something of a popular hero, and shot him in the leg; the man died from shock and loss of blood and the inquest jury sent Jones-Bateman for trial for manslaughter, but the Crown declined to offer evidence against him and he was acquitted at the direction of the judge. He served in the First World War with the Welsh Regiment (2nd Lt., 1915; Lt. 1917; T/Capt., 1918). He was wounded in 1916, and was part of the North Russia Expeditionary Force, June-November 1918. He was an officer in the Ceylon Civil Service, 1919-34, where he served under the Superintendent of Census and Director of Statistics, 1921-24, as Assistant Government Agent, Mullaittivu, 1924-26 and Kandy, 1926-27, and as Assistant Settlement Officer, 1927-34.  He was the author of  A refuge from civilisation (1931) about life in Ceylon, An illustrated guide to the buried cities of Ceylon (1932), and also of the controversial Some new principles of auction bridge (1929; 2nd edn, 1939). He married, 29 January 1925, Dorothy (1898-1981), daughter of John Owen Cook of Diss (Norfk), and had issue:
(1) Patricia Jones-Bateman (1927-2003), born 9 July 1927; educated at Howell's School, Denbigh; died unmarried, 27 May 2003; will proved 16 July 2003.
He inherited Pentre Mawr from his father in 1918, but continued to let it as a school until he sold it to Abergele Urban District Council in 1948. After returning from Ceylon, he lived at 'Inner Ting Tong', Budleigh Salterton (Devon).
He died 16 September 1965; will proved 4 January 1966 (estate £39,266). His widow died 23 November 1981; her will was proved 22 January 1982 (estate £138,442).

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1952, p. 129; E. Hubbard, The buildings of Wales: Clwyd, 1986, p. 99; M. Baker, 'The development of the Welsh country house', Cardiff Univ. PhD thesis, 2015, pp. 262-63; https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/files/bangor/60_2002_2002.xml.

Location of archives

Jones and Jones-Bateman of Pentre Mawr: deeds and estate records, 1531-1866 [National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth: Pentre Mawr collection]

Coat of arms

Quarterly : 1st and 4th, or, a lion rampant gules, armed and langued of the first ; 2nd and 3rd, argent, a chevron sable, between three boars' heads of the second.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone supply a view of Pentre Mawr before it was rebuilt in 1830, or between 1830 and the fire of 1850?
  • Does anyone know more about Rowland Jones (b. 1704) of Shrewsbury, who remains a shadowy figure?
  • I should be most grateful if anyone can provide photographs or portraits of people whose names appear in bold above, and who are not already illustrated. 
  • Any additions or corrections to the text above will be gratefully received and incorporated.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 11 February 2021 and was updated 12 February 2021 and 4 July 2023.

Friday, 5 February 2021

(445) Bateman of Tolson Hall, Knypersley Hall, Biddulph Grange and Brightlingsea Hall

Bateman of Biddulph Grange 
In 1622 one Randle Bateman purchased lands at Strickland Kettle near Kendal (Westmld), which his descendants retained into the 18th century. It does not seem to be clear what this property was, or whether the family had any pretensions to gentry status at this time. Rowland Bateman, who founded the Irish gentry family, Bateman of Oak Park, in the mid 17th century, may have been a younger son of the family. On the death of Thomas Bateman in 1736 the Strickland Kettle property descended to his son John Bateman (1719-83), with whom the genealogy below begins. Sometime before 1750 he purchased Tolson Hall, Burneside, and with this acquisition unquestionably joined the ranks of the minor landed gentry. In 1750 he altered the house and constructed a new entrance arch in a rather rustic version of the very fashionable Gothick style. John and his wife Elizabeth had two sons, the elder of whom, James Bateman (1748-1824), was keen to pursue a business career. He therefore persuaded his father to make his younger brother the heir to the estate, and to buy him a Kendal ironmongery business that was for sale at the time. From this small beginning, James rapidly built a substantial business empire, based in Manchester, Salford, Cheshire and Staffordshire, that diversified first into iron foundries and forges, then into steam engine building and cloth mills, and finally into property and banking. Although he eventually inherited Tolson Hall on his unmarried brother's death in 1810, James himself lived at Islington House, Salford, until his own death in 1824 (after which it was sold to Thomas Agnew). In 1809 he purchased, for £37,000, the Knypersley Hall estate near Biddulph, where there was a large Georgian house. Although he may have had an eye to the possibility of his descendants occupying Knypersley, the primary motivation for his purchase was the rich coal deposits which underlay the estate, which he wanted to exploit to power his ironworks and cloth mills.

When James died in 1824, his business empire descended to his only surviving son, John Bateman (1782-1858), who seems to have already been living at Knypersley Hall as manager of the estate. John was not the business man that his father had been, but while the profits of his father's enterprises continued to roll in, he was a rich man, and the profits tailed off only slowly, as parts of the empire were sold, or passed into the hands of less competent managers. John also spent heavily at this time, creating a lake at Knypersley that was overlooked by a sham castle, and indulging his only child, James Bateman (1811-97), in his desire for greenhouses in which to pursue a precocious interest in exotic orchids. James was the first of the family to be sent to Oxford, where he took a degree, although accounts of his life which describe him as being a Fellow of Magdalen College in the 1840s seem to be wrong. In 1838 he made a socially advantageous marriage to Maria Sybilla Egerton of Arley Hall, who shared his interest in plants and gardening, and in 1840 they began developing the former vicarage house at Biddulph, Biddulph Grange, as their home. A great deal of money was poured into this project over the next twenty years, both into creating the large Italianate mansion, and the garden, designed in combination with their old friend, the painter Edward Cooke, which is now recognised as one of the outstanding landscapes of Victorian Britain. By the 1860s, however, the family's capital had all gone and there were mortgages on the estate. The last significant development of the property was the purchase of Old Biddulph Hall about a mile to the north, and the development of the narrow valley between it and the park of Biddulph Grange as a picturesque walk. In 1868, James made over the whole Biddulph and Knypersley estate to his eldest son, John Bateman (1839-1910) and moved to London, where he rented the house in Hyde Park Gate where Edward Cooke had lived until his recent move to Glen Andred (Sussex). John, who was living at a much-reduced Knypersley Hall, found a short-term tenant for the Grange, and look for a way to salvage the estate. But the mortgages, which by 1871 totalled £35,000, were too large, and the family's income from industry had largely dried up. In 1871 the house and estate were put up for auction, but failed to reach their reserve, and in 1872 a private sale was agreed to Robert Heath (d. 1893), who had been the tenant of the coalmines on the Knypersley estate, and who had built a business empire in much the same way as John's great-grandfather. The sale included Biddulph Grange, Knypersley Hall and Biddulph Old Hall, although the last continued to be tenanted by John's brother, Robert, until his death in 1922.

The sale of the Biddulph estate enabled John to pay off the mortgages and his father's other debts and still have enough capital left to buy a new property. In 1875 he bought a shooting estate of some 3,000 acres in County Mayo (which lacked a gentleman's house and must have cost relatively little), and after renting a farm in Essex for a number of years he decided he liked the area and bought some 1,200 acres on the coast at Brightlingsea in 1881. Here he remodelled the Hall Farm into a plain red brick gentleman's house, and took up the role of squire of the little town with enthusiasm. At much the same time, he weighed into the political debate about landownership in Victorian England. The radical MP, John Bright, had claimed that a tiny number of the richest aristocrats and gentry owned much of the country, and that this virtual monopoly was stifling Britain's progress. The landed classes felt threatened by a growing popular clamour for land reform and sought to defuse it by an official survey - The Return of Owners of Land (1873-75) - which was so badly structured and edited that it concealed more than it revealed. John Bateman took it upon himself to reorganise the data for landowners with more than 2,000 acres, to correct the data through correspondence with the landowners concerned, and to add biographical information culled from popular reference works. The result was The Acreocracy of England (1876), later republished and extended to the rest of the country as The Greater Landowners of Britain and Ireland (4th edn., 1883), which was something of a best-seller and remains useful today. It seems unlikely that Bateman was very happy with the results of his analysis - which broadly supported Bright's claims about the concentration of land ownership in the hands of a few thousand men and women - but it must have been some solace to a man so bruised by the loss of wealth and status which he had experienced since his childhood, that as the owner of 1,200 acres in Essex and 3,000 acres in Co. Mayo, he himself was listed among the élite in the 1883 edition.

John Bateman was married in 1865 to the Hon. Jessy Caroline Bootle Wilbraham, whose brother became the 1st Earl of Lathom. Their marriage was the social high water mark of the Bateman story, but it was blessed with only a single child, a daughter. As a result, when John died in 1910 he left his property to his widow (d. 1925) for life, and then to his daughter and her second husband, who sold it shortly afterwards. By 1930, the Batemans were no longer significant landowners.

John Bateman had two brothers and a younger sister, all of whom had interesting lives. The middle brother, the Rev. Rowland Bateman (1840-1916), went out to India as a missionary in 1868 and stayed there until 1902, while the youngest brother, Robert Bateman (1842-1922) was a talented artist in the pre-Raphaelite school. In a compelling biography (The Lost Pre-Raphaelite, (2014), which I strongly recommend as a good read!), Nigel Daly makes the case that Robert and his eventual wife, Caroline Howard, had an affair in the early 1870s, which culminated in the birth of a son at the end of 1873, and that the two families embarked on an astonishingly elaborate conspiracy to prevent this becoming known. The deception not only enabled the families concerned to avoid damage to their reputations and social position, but was politically expedient for the Tory party in the run up to the 1874 General Election, when Disraeli was returned to power. It involved Caroline being isolated for the later months of her pregnancy while feigning illness; the child, Henry, being smuggled out of the country to India, where he was produced as the new-born son of Robert's sister, Katharine (1849-1933), and her husband Ulick Burke (1845-95), but largely raised by Robert's brother, Rowland the missionary. The ostensible parents never bonded successfully with the child and as a teenager he was finally rejected by his father and sent penniless to Canada. Against the odds he survived, became a friend of 'Buffalo Bill' Cody and later a businessman in South America. He married well, but soon afterwards his business collapsed and his health was undermined by the climate and insects of Peru. In 1904 he returned to England, leaving his wife and child with members of her family for a while, and it would seem that only then was he told the truth about his parentage by Robert and Caroline. They helped him make a new start as manager of a tobacco factory in Bristol, but not surprisingly considering his early experiences, he was permanently emotionally scarred. When Robert and Caroline died - within a fortnight of one another - in 1922, Henry was their heir, but the conspiracy of silence continued and his descendants were never told the story.

Tolson Hall, Burneside, Westmorland

A two storey house with rubble walls, slate roofs, and an early core that was either built or greatly improved in 1637-39 for Thomas Tolson, a cloth and tobacco merchant, who exported Kendal cloth to the West Indies via London and imported tobacco in return. The main block with the eastern cross-wing is probably of this period, while the western cross-wing is a later rebuilding or addition.
Tolson Hall: the Gothick gateway, 1750. Image: Jol Martyn-Clark

In 1750 the house was remodelled in the Gothick style for John Bateman (d. 1783), and given sash windows with circles and ovals in the heads; at the same time a Gothick archway was erected on the roadside. A watercolour of about 1800 shows a symmetrical flat front between gabled wings. In 1814, James Bateman built an obelisk designed by George Webster of Kendal in the park to honour the younger Pitt ('the pilot that weathered the storm'); it was struck by lightning in 1822 but restored. The Batemans leased the estate out as early as 1810, and William Whitwell MP, who took on the lease in 1845 and was in residence until 1876, removed the Gothic battlements, raised the roofline, built the porch and the small gable above it, and added bargeboards to the gables. These changes were almost certainly designed by Webster too.

Tolson Hall: the entrance front as remodelled in the late 1840s for William Whitwell MP. Image: Trevor Littlewood. Some rights reserved.
Inside the building, more remains of the 17th century house. The principal room in the central block is lined on three sides with original panelling, with some carved panels and the initials and date 1638 on the north wall; there are some enriched panels also on the east wall, one bearing the date 1687. The south-east room on the first floor, has a rustic plaster panel over the fireplace with foliage and the initials and date T. & A.T. 1639 and the royal monogram, C.R. The adjoining room to the north has a similar plaster panel dated 1638. Also preserved in the house are a number of naïve painted glass quarries dated between 1637 and 1639.
Tolson Hall: drawing of the two dated quarries recording the source
of Thomas Tolson's money spent on building the house.

One shows three pipes, two plugs of tobacco and the inscription "God by this meanes hath sent, what I on this house have spent T.T. 1638"; while a second shows three piles of coins and the legend "All prayses be unto His name, that gave me meanes to build the same". Further quarries depict a female figure, probably Faith, the arms of France, England and Scotland, and those of families and organisations connected to the Tolsons. 

The Batemans retained the freehold of Tolson Hall until 1867, when the accommodation was described as "two spacious Entrance Halls, in front and rear, commodious Dining Room, Drawing Room, Parlour, Library, and Sitting Room... Seven spacious Bed Chambers... Front and Back Staircases and Landings, and all... domestic conveniences...". In 1876 it was acquired by Mr. C.J. Cropper of neighbouring Ellergreen, whose family soon afterwards made Tolson Hall their principal seat.

Descent: Thomas Tolson (fl. 1637-39)... sold c.1745 to John Bateman (1719-83); to son, John Bateman (1754-1810); to brother, James Bateman (1748-1824); to son, John Bateman (1782-1858); to son, James Bateman (1812-97); sold 1867 to S. Whineley; ...sold 1876 Charles James Cropper (1852-1924) of Ellergreen; to son, Maj. James Winstanley Cropper (1879-1956); to son, Anthony Charles Cropper (1912-67); to son, Sir James Anthony Cropper (b. 1938), KCVO. 
In the 19th century, the house was leased to Simon Clark (resident 1810-12), Edward Colebank (resident 1825), Joseph Hinde (d. 1842) (resident 1828-37), Thomas Willan (resident 1843-45), and William Whitwell MP (d. 1890) (resident 1845-76).

Knypersley Hall, Biddulph, Staffordshire

There was a medieval house at Knypersley which was built for the de Kynpersley family and passed by marriage to the Bowyers in the 14th century. The earliest house of which anything is known was a three-storey 16th or early 17th century building with mullioned windows, probably built for William Bowyer (d. 1602) or his grandson, Sir William Bowyer (d. 1641). There were still substantial remains of this house in 1847, when John Buckler drew the ruins, but it is not clear exactly where it stood, as no trace of it appears on Ordnance Survey maps by the late 19th century. 

Knypersley Hall: watercolour by John Buckler, 1847, showing the Georgian house before its partial demolition. Image: William Salt Library.
The Jacobean house was replaced in the second quarter of the 18th century by a new house facing south-west, of three storeys and seven by four bays, the middle three bays of the main front projecting slightly. The house was built of brick and had a hipped slate roof and urns on the parapet. A three-bay service wing continued the south-east return elevation to create a second, but irregular, seven bay front. 

Knypersley Hall: the Rococo ceiling in the drawing room.
Inside, the drawing room preserves a remarkable mid 18th century Rococo plaster ceiling moulded in high relief with arabesques, interlacing, cartouches, shells, ribbons, baskets of flowers, branches of blossom and delicate sheaves above an enriched modillion cornice. The house was updated by James Bateman, who must have been renting it before he acquired the freehold in 1809, as the fine open-well staircase with scrolled tread-ends has a wrought-iron and brass balustrade dated 1800 by W. Marsh with anthemion decoration and the monogram JB. The two-storey canted bays on the south-east side were presumably also an addition to the original house, but may have been earlier than 1800.

Knypersley Hall: the Warder's Lodge built in the 1820s above Kynpersley Pool for John Bateman (1782-1858).
Image: Brian Deegan. Some rights reserved.
James Bateman died in 1824 and his son John began to make improvements to the park soon afterwards. These included the digging of the Knypersley Pool on the boundary between his land and the neighbouring Greenway Bank estate in 1827, and the construction of a sham castle known as The Warder's Lodge on a rocky outcrop overlooking the new lake. The castle was built in red sandstone ashlar, some of which was cut smooth and some of which was left rock-faced, producing a rather odd and unsatisfactory finish. The silhouette of the building was, however, remarkably picturesque, and these developments probably helped to shape the garden-making of John Bateman's son James at Biddulph Grange twenty years later. The house and Warden's Lodge are both illustrated on a Spode plate made to commemorate James Bateman's 21st birthday in 1832.

Knypersley Hall: the surviving fragment of the house today.
By 1860 the house 'had become spoiled, as a place of residence, by the proximity of large iron works and coal pits', and was reduced in size by removing the top floor and demolishing the four west bays of the main front and service wing, so that the four-bay south east side elevation became the principal front. The house has since been divided into flats.

Descent: John Bowyer (fl. 1500); to son, William Bowyer (d. 1541); to son, John Bowyer; to son, William Bowyer (d. 1602); to son, Sir John Bowyer (1557-1606), kt; to son, Sir William Bowyer (1588-1641), kt.; to son, Sir John Bowyer (1623-66), 1st bt.; to son, Sir John Bowyer (1653-91), 2nd bt.; to son, Sir John Bowyer (1672-1701), 3rd bt.; to uncle, Sir William Bowyer (1654-1702), 4th bt.; to daughter, Dorothy (d. 1736), wife of Sir Thomas Gresley (d. 1746), 4th bt.; to son, Sir Thomas Gresley (1722-53); to brother, Sir Nigel Gresley (c.1727-87), 6th bt.; to son, Sir Nigel Bowyer Gresley (d. 1808), 7th bt.; whose executors sold 1809 to James Bateman (1748-1824); to son, John Bateman (1782-1858); to son, James Bateman (1811-97), given 1868 to son, John Bateman (1839-1910), who sold 1872 to Robert Heath (d. 1893); to son, Robert Heath (fl. 1896)... sold or leased to Rev. Charles James Bird (d. 1908), to widow, Caroline Vidler Bird (d. 1914)... sold 1942...

Biddulph Grange, Staffordshire

In 1840, the recently-married James and Maria Bateman moved out of Knypersley Hall and made a new home in what had been the vicarage house of Biddulph, which occupied the site of a medieval grange of Hulton Abbey. They largely rebuilt and greatly enlarged the house between 1845 and 1860, to the designs of an unknown architect, and named it Biddulph Grange. The house that resulted was a three-storey Italianate mansion, somewhat in the style of Sir Charles Barry, of yellow brick and render, with slate roofs that were largely concealed behind balustraded parapets. At the same time, they began to create one of the most ambitious gardens of Victorian England, as well as extensive conservatories in which James could raise the orchids which were his particular interest, and on which he was an acknowledged expert. Since 1988 the gardens have been owned and wonderfully restored by the National Trust.

Biddulph Grange: the Italianate house built by the Batemans between 1845 and 1860, from the sale particulars of 1871.

As first built, the house had a principal front facing south over the gardens. At the centre were five plain bays with plate glass sashes set within architraves, clamped between two broad and slightly taller projecting wings with quoins at the angles. To either side of this block were large asymmetrical wings, also with plate glass sashes. The west wing projected to the north, making the house L-shaped, and terminated in an entrance hall and porch that formed the main entrance. The east wing was largely occupied by the so-called Geological Gallery, in which Bateman displayed fossils and attempted to reconcile contemporary scientific and geological discoveries with the Biblical creation story along the lines proposed by the Scottish evangelist, Hugh Miller. The gallery survives and has recently been partially restored by the National Trust.

By the 1860s, the cost of creating and maintaining the house and gardens at Biddulph had largely consumed the family's wealth, and the pace of development slowed. In 1868 James handed over the heavily mortgaged estate to his son John (1839-1910), who was living at Knypersley, and in 1872 both Biddulph Grange and Knypersley were sold to Robert Heath (d. 1893), a local industrialist who was leasing the Childerplay colliery from the Batemans. He continued the process of developing the house, and commissioned Crace & Sons to redecorate the interior in 1872-74. Some of their designs survive in the British Architectural Library drawings collection.

Biddulph Grange: the main block of the house as rebuilt after 1897, showing the off-centre placing of the tower.
Image: Nicholas Kingsley. Some rights reserved.
In 1893 Robert Heath died and his son, also Robert Heath, commissioned a new wing at the rear of the house, which was contracted to cost £20,000. Unfortunately, while this was under construction in 1896 a serious fire burned out the central block of the house, only the wings remaining largely undamaged. It was estimated that the fire caused £30,000 worth of damage. The centre was soon afterwards rebuilt in sandstone ashlar to the designs of Thomas Bower of Nantwich, who employed the English Baroque style rather effectively; were it not for the fact that the three-storey garden front is has an even number of bays and a two-bay centre rather than a three-bay centre, it might be mistaken for a severe frontage of the 1720s or 1730s. It rises in the centre to an attic storey under pediment and has pilasters defining the centre and two bays at either end, which are also slightly broken forward. The roof is largely hidden behind a parapet with urns, which is solid at the ends but has a balustraded section either side of the pedimented attic. The windows are all sashes with glazing bars set in architraves, with alternate triangular and segmental pediments to ground floor windows in pairs. Behind this facade rises an off-centre tower with a balustraded parapet, which unbalances the composition or alternatively gives it tension, depending on your point of view. The eye is perhaps caught more by the series of mighty red brick chimneystacks which also rise above the roof.

Biddulph Grange: entrance front, 2012.

Biddulph Grange: the rebuilt centre of the garden front and the earlier wings, framed by the archway of the Shelter House. 
Image: Nicholas Kingsley. Some rights reserved.

Biddulph Grange: the staircase hall.
The central block of 1897 has a splendid three-tiered staircase rising, at the end of a hall with a coffered ceiling, behind a screen of massive marble Ionic columns that are embraced by semi-circular bays of a balustraded landing. Preserved from the earlier house is Bateman's study at the south-east corner, which has a parquet floor, part-mirrored walls, a shallow domed centre to the ceiling and much gilt enrichment. The room is set behind the domed porch and over the steps which lead out to the gardens. Recent restoration work has shown that much of Crace & Son's scheme for the former drawing room (which had earlier been Bateman's sober Grecian library), also survives and this has now been restored.

When James Bateman moved to Biddulph Grange in 1840, it was a small and unpromising house set in a marsh. He had already had some experience of gardening at Knypersley Hall, and had become an expert in the cultivation of orchids. His wife was also deeply interested in plants, her family, the Egerton-Warburtons, being well known for their gardens at Arley Hall. After 1849 the garden's development was a collaborative venture between the Batemans and their friend Edward Cooke (1811-80), a painter, botanical engraver, and enthusiastic amateur gardener, who shared with the Batemans a passion for ferns. The main gardens and pleasure grounds lie south of the house, where they formed terraces overlooking a lake and planted woodland to enclose the gardens on three sides. South and east of the terraces they created a series of garden tableaux, separated from one another by artful planting and rockwork, in which the plants of other countries are displayed amid a remarkable collection of garden buildings. The main framework of the whole garden, including the terraces to the south of the house, was laid out by the Batemans before 1849, but the architectural features were probably all designed by Edward Cooke after that time. Cooke was also responsible for the design of the rockwork which contributes so much to the atmosphere of the garden.

Biddulph Grange: the Dahlia Walk from the Shelter House. Image: Nicholas Kingsley. Some rights reserved.
The terraces south of the house are divided up into several distinct formal compartments of varying design. Running along the south front of the house from west to east are a long sequence of small garden compartments, to the south of which is the Dahlia Walk, which terminates at its east end in the Italo-Moorish Shelter House, a reconstructed two-storey structure. This part of the garden has had to be almost entirely recreated by the National Trust after it was obliterated by 20th century hospital buildings. The upper storey of the Shelter House gives on to The Stumpery, a sunken path bordered by stumpwork, which leads south to China, and also north to the eastern terrace. The terrace gives views over and along the terraced gardens south of the house, and gives access eastwards to the 'Egypt' garden area, where a path bordered by yew obelisks and stone sphinxes leads up to a stone temple portal, the doorway giving access through a dark passage to a dim chamber containing the Ape of Thoth, a stone idol probably sculpted by Waterhouse Hawkins, creator of the Crystal Palace dinosaurs. A second passage from this chamber leads south, out of the structure, through the facade known as the Cheshire Cottage.

Biddulph Grange: the Chinese Temple. Image: Nicholas Kingsley. Some rights reserved.
Biddulph Grange: the water buffalo and the dragon in 'China'. Image: Nicholas Kingsley. Some rights reserved.
'China', reached via The Stumpery, lies south of the Dahlia Walk. It is hidden from the rest of the garden by high banks, trees, and the tall stone 'Wall of China' which encloses it on three sides and terminates in the Prospect Tower. Within China a wooden Chinese Temple looks across a pool spanned by a wooden footbridge that leads to an ornamental landscape of rocks and exotic plants, many of the latter collected for Bateman in the Far East by the plant collector Robert Fortune. Perched high above the south-east end of the garden is the 'Joss House', a small pavilion painted, like all the Chinese structures, in vibrant red, green and yellow. At the north side of 'China' is a semi-circular space entered by stone Chinese doorways and overlooked by a gilded water buffalo idol sculpted by Waterhouse Hawkins which leans over the stone wall around the north side of the space. From the Chinese Temple a grotto and tunnel leads south to The Glen, a quarry-like garden crossed by a stream and planted with rhododendrons from Sikkim and Bhutan.

A wider and less structured pleasure ground extends around and beyond the 'world gardens'; this includes the Pinetum, where Bateman's was one of the richest collections of conifers assembled in mid Victorian Britain, the trees here being planted on mounds to emphasise their silhouettes against the sky. The path ends at the Cheshire Cottage facade, where stone pine-cone finials on the approach wall restate the Pinetum theme. To the east of the gardens there was a small park, principally comprised of Spring Wood. 

Biddulph Grange: the Cheshire Cottage facade at the end of the Pinetum walk. Image: Nicholas Kingsley. Some rights reserved.
In 1922 the house and garden were sold to the North Staffordshire Cripples Aid Society for use as a hospital, and three years later the Society sold it to Lancashire County Council for the same purpose. They built wooden wards on the cherry orchard and later in the 1930s, knocked down the remaining glass houses and part of the geological gallery to build new wards and a ‘modern’ hospital complex; the house was used as accommodation for nurses. It remained in use as a hospital until the 1991, but there was increasing neglect and vandalism from the 1960s. This prompted a public campaign to designate the gardens as a conservation area, which was successful in the 1970s. The efforts of the campaigners to publicise the unique nature of the gardens ultimately enabled the National Trust to raise the funds to buy the gardens in 1988 and to begin the mammoth task of restoring them. They have been open to the public since 1991. More recently, the parts of the house not owned by the Trust have been converted into flats.

Descent: built for James Bateman (1811-97), given 1868 to son, John Bateman (1839-1910), who sold 1872 to Robert Heath (d. 1893); to son, Robert Heath... sold 1922 to North Staffordshire Cripples Aid Society; sold 1925 to Lancashire County Council; transferred 1948 to National Health Service; gardens and part of the house sold 1988 to The National Trust; remainder converted into flats.

Brightlingsea Hall, Essex

Brightlingsea Hall: the house in recent years.
A modest, probably three bay, early 19th century farmhouse, which was enlarged by the addition of two gables to the entrance front and a four-bay two-storey service wing on the east side for John Bateman after 1881. The house became an hotel in the later 20th century but is now a private house again.

Descent: Robert Mason; sold 1862 to Walter Gainsford Walford; sold to Frank Eagle (d. 1882); sold 1881 to John Bateman (1839-1910); to widow, Hon. Jessy Caroline Bateman (1836-1925); to daughter, Agnes Mary (1866-1957), wife of William Henry Liddell, who sold to Lt-Col. John Usborne (d. 1934).. sold 1948. 

Bateman family of Tolson Hall, Biddulph Grange and Brightlingsea Hall


Bateman, John (1719-83). Only son of Thomas Bateman (d. 1736) and his wife Isabella Pitchal (d. 1723/4?), said to have been born 1719. He married, 13 June 1747 at Kendal (Westmld), Elizabeth, daughter of Edward Branthwaite of Carlingill (Westmld), and had issue:
(1) James Bateman (1748-1824) (q.v.);
(2) Isabel Bateman (1751-69), baptised at Kendal, 17 August 1751; died unmarried and was buried at Kendal, 10 December 1769;
(3) John Bateman (1754-1810), baptised at Kendal, 1 December 1754; inherited the Tolson Hall estate from his father in 1783; died unmarried, 1810.
He inherited property at Strickland Ketel from his father in 1736 and probably purchased Tolson Hall shortly before 1750, when he altered it.
He died in 1783. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bateman, James (1748-1824). Elder son of John Bateman (1719-83) and his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Edward Branthwaite of Carlingill (Westmld), baptised at Kendal (Westmld), 20 September 1748. Although the eldest son, he wanted to go into business not to become a landowner. He accordingly persuaded his father to make his younger brother the heir to the estate, and to buy him the business of a retiring Kendal ironmonger. By 1773 he had moved the business to Deansgate, Manchester and by 1781 he was also trading in Salford. Although a highly successful businessman, he was apparently somewhat ruthless, as he was later described as "prosperous and unscrupulous". About 1788, he took William Sherratt (1754-1822) into partnership, and they built iron foundries and forges in Salford and Dukinfield (Ches.), where they manufactured steam engines, boilers and a wide range of other iron products. He eventually retired as an active partner, leaving the firm in the hands of Sherratt and his son, Thomas Sherratt (d. 1837); after the latter's death it was sold. Bateman diversified further and built three large cotton mills in Manchester and a range of warehouses known as Bateman’s Buildings, while towards the end of his career, he also went into banking. He married, 11 May 1779 at St Sepulchre, Holborn (Middx), Margaret (k/a Mary) (c.1750-1819), daughter of Edward Nicholson of Kendal (Westmld), merchant, and had issue:
(1) Elizabeth Bateman (1780-1854), baptised at Manchester Collegiate Church, 25 April 1780; married, 21 January 1802 at Manchester Collegiate Church, William Thorpe (d. by 1867) of Ardwick Grove, Manchester, cotton merchant, and had issue; died 19 March 1854;
(2) Margaret Bateman (1781-1854), baptised at St Ann, Manchester, 23 March 1781; married, 7 October 1806 in Manchester Collegiate Church, Obadiah Paul Wathen (1783-1868) of Woodchester, clothier (bankrupt, 1838), fifth son of Sir Samuel Wathen of Stratford Park (Glos), and had issue four sons and four daughters; buried at Prestbury (Glos), 14 November 1854;
(3) John Bateman (1782-1858) (q.v.);
(4) James Bateman (1784-1800), baptised at St Ann, Manchester, 29 October 1784; said to have died young in Germany;
(5) Susanna Bateman (1790-1828), baptised at St Mary, Manchester, 5 February 1790; married, 10 December 1817 at St John, Manchester, Richard Gould (1792-1868) of Willow Bank, Broughton, Salford (Lancs), third son of Richard Gould of Northaw (Herts), and had issue two daughters; died 14 May and was buried at Salford, 22 May 1828.
He inherited Tolson Hall from his younger brother in 1810, but let it. He built Islington House, Salford, as his residence in the late 18th century, and purchased the Knypersley Hall (Staffs) estate in 1809 for £37,000, primarily for the underlying coal seams which he exploited through the Childerplay Colliery (later the Victoria Pit); he never lived on the estate, but remained in Salford.
He died at Islington House, 2 April, and was buried at St Stephen, Salford (Lancs), 8 April 1824, but he is commemorated by a memorial plaque at Burneside (Westmld); his will was proved at Chester, 14 May 1824. His wife died at Islington House, 1 January, and was buried at St Stephen, Salford, 7 January 1819.

John Bateman (1782-1858) 
Bateman, John (1782-1858).
Elder son of James Bateman (1749-1824) and his wife Margaret, daughter of Edward Nicholson of Kendal (Westmld), born 31 October and baptised at St Ann, Manchester, 27 November 1782. Banker, ironfounder, and pump manufacturer. JP and DL for Staffordshire; High Sheriff of Staffordshire, 1829. He held strongly Low Church views and 
was a determined and active opponent of Catholic emancipation. He married, 30 May 1810 at Bury (Lancs), Elizabeth (1782-1857), second daughter of George Holt of Redivals, Bury, and had issue:
    (1) James Bateman (1811-97) (q.v.).
He inherited Tolson Hall and Knypersley Hall from his father in 1824, and created landscaped grounds at Knypersley.
He died 17 August 1858; will proved 26 October 1858 (estate under £10,000). His wife died 30 January and was buried at Biddulph, 5 February 1857.


James Bateman (1811-97) 
Bateman, James (1811-97).
Only child of John Bateman (1782-1858) of Knypersley Hall (Staffs) and his wife Elizabeth, second daughter of George Holt of Redivals, Bury (Lancs), born 18 July and baptised privately at St James, Didsbury, Manchester, 17 August 1811. Educated at Lincoln and Magdalen Colleges, Oxford (matriculated 1829; BA 1834; MA 1845), where he became active in opposition to the Oxford movement; he was subsequently a lay preacher of very Low Church persuasion, and in later life he perhaps became rather paranoid about the subject: his dispute with the rector of St George's church, Worthing (Sussex), about what he perceived as a drift towards ritualism seems to have had little, if any, foundation. While still a schoolboy, he developed a precocious interest in plants and especially in exotic orchids, and i
n 1833, while still a student at Oxford, he sent a local gardener, Thomas Colley, to collect orchids in British Guiana. Colley returned with some twenty new species and Bateman published an account of his trip in Loudon's Gardener's Magazine in 1835. Soon afterwards, he persuaded an English merchant in Guatemala to send him orchids, and this led him to publish a lavish and rare volume, published in ten parts, The Orchidaceae of Mexico and Guatemala (1837–43). He returned to publication in the 1860s with A Guide to Cool Orchid-Growing (1864); A Monograph of Odontoglossum (1864–1874); and A Second Century of Orchidaceous Plants (1867). In 1840, he and his wife moved from Knypersley Hall to Biddulph Grange, which they enlarged into a mansion and where they laid out a remarkable and costly garden with the help of their friend, Edward Cooke (1811-80). In 1863 he laid out the Oxford University Parks. He was President of the Royal Horticultural Society and a Fellow of the Royal Society (from 1838), the Linnean Society (from 1833), and the Geological Society. By the 1860s he had exhausted the wealth generated by his grandfather and heavily mortgaged his estates. He handed over his property to his son John in 1868 in return for an annuity, and left Biddulph Grange in 1869. JP and DL for Staffordshire. He married 1st, 24 April 1838 at Norley (Ches.), Maria Sibylla (1812-95), daughter of Rev. Rowland Egerton (later Egerton-Warburton) of Norley and Arley Hall (Ches.), and 2nd, Apr-Jun 1896, Annie Goss (c.1849-1916), who had been his first wife's lady's maid, and had issue:
(1.1) John Bateman (1839-1910) (q.v.);
(1.2) Rev. Rowland Bateman (1840-1916) (q.v.);
(1.3) Robert Bateman (1842-1922) (q.v.); 
(1.4) Katharine Bateman (1849-1933), born 13 January and baptised at Biddulph, 18 April 1849; married 1st, 9 July 1868, Ulick Ralph Burke (1845-95), barrister-at-law, eldest son of Charles Granby Burke, Master of the Common Pleas in Ireland, and had issue one son* and three daughters; married 2nd, 11 November 1906, as his second wife, Rev. John Richard Baldwin (1828-1912) of Fareham (Hants); died 24 June 1933; will proved 17 August 1933 (estate £651).
He developed the existing Biddulph Grange on his father's estate into a new mansion from 1840-60, and made a spectacular garden. In 1853 he bought Biddulph Old Hall as a home for his youngest son. He inherited the Biddulph, Knypersley and Tolson Hall estates from his father in 1858, but partly demolished Knypersley in 1861, sold Tolson Hall in 1867 and handed over the other properties to his eldest son in 1868. He lived subsequently in Kensington (Middx) in a house he rented from Edward Cooke, and later at Worthing (Sussex).
He died 27 November, and was buried at Worthing Cemetery, 2 December 1897; his will was proved 23 February 1898 (effects £Nil). His first wife died in Worthing, 4 May 1895. His widow died Oct-Dec 1916.
* But see below, under Bateman, Robert (1842-1922).

John Bateman (1839-1910) 
Bateman, John (1839-1910).
Eldest son of James Bateman (1811-97) of Biddulph Grange (Staffs), and his wife Maria Sibylla, daughter of Rev. Rowland Egerton (later Egerton-Warburton) of Norley and Arley Hall (Ches.), born 19 March 1839. Educated at Trinity College, Cambridge (matriculated 1856), and then travelled extensively in North and South America. When he first acquired the Brightlingsea estate he kept it in hand and tried to farm it himself, but finding this was not profitable in Agricultural Depression conditions, he diversified into butchery, forestry, and other enterprises, including growing tobacco (his best crop was unfortunately burnt in the drying kilns). 
In 1891-92 he gave up farming and rented his land out again.  He took a prominent part in the life of his adopted town and made many philanthropic gifts. He helped to revive the Liberty of the Cinque Ports and became the first Deputy from Brightlingsea to the Liberty, providing a chain formed of gold oysters and silver sprats and a large opal as the official chain of office for his successors. He was an elected member of Essex County Council, 1889-1910 and of Brightlingsea Urban District Council, and was also a member of the Kent and Essex Sea Fisheries Committee. JP and DL for Staffordshire and Essex (Chairman of Biddulph Petty Sessions, c.1865-71 and later of Lexden & Winstree Petty Sessions). He is perhaps most notable for having published the Acreocracy of England (1876) retitled in subsequent editions as The Great Landowners of Great Britain (4th edn, 1883), a statistical compilation based upon The Return of Owners of Land (1873-75) which demonstrated the concentration of landed property in the hands of the aristocracy and greater gentry. He was a noted sportsman and in 1882 published in the Essex County Standard an extended account of a shooting expedition to Argentina. He married, 4 October 1865 at Ormskirk (Lancs), the Hon*. Jessy Caroline (1836-1925), daughter of the Hon. Richard Bootle Wilbraham MP, and had issue:
(1) Agnes Mary Bateman (1866-1957), baptised at Biddulph, 16 September 1866; married 1st, 31 July 1889 at Brightlingsea (div. 1906 on grounds of his adultery with Gertrude Mary Burden and desertion), Capt. Robert Maxwell D'Arcy Hildyard (1867-1907) (who m2, 1906, Gertrude Mary Burden) of Avranches (France); married 2nd, 4 December 1909 at St Clement Danes, London, William Henry Liddell (1874-1955), sailor, only son of William Henry Liddell of Wakering (Essex), engineer; died at St. Leonards-on-Sea (Sussex), 9 April 1957; will proved 23 May 1957 (estate £37,094).
His father handed the Biddulph Grange and Knypersley Hall estates over to him in 1868 and he sold them to Robert Heath in 1872. In 1875 he purchased a 3,000 hunting estate in Co. Mayo which had no house. After renting property for some years he purchased the Brightlingsea Hall estate (Essex) in 1881. At his death his property passed to his widow.
He died 12 October 1910 and was buried at Brightlingsea, 17 October 1910; his will was proved 24 November 1910 (estate £10,848). His widow died aged 89 on 18 October  and was buried at Brightlingsea, 23 October 1925; her will was proved 16 November 1925 (estate £626).
* She was granted the rank of a baron's daughter in about 1853.

Rev. Rowland Bateman
(1840-1916) 
Bateman, Rev. Rowland (1840-1916).
Second son 
of James Bateman (1811-97) of Biddulph Grange (Staffs), and his wife Maria Sibylla, daughter of Rev. Rowland Egerton (later Egerton-Warburton) of Norley and Arley Hall (Ches.), born 1 November 1840 and baptised at Biddulph, 15 April 1841. Educated at Brighton College and Magdalen College, Oxford (matriculated 1859; BA 1864; MA 1867). Curate in Keswick (Cumbld), then a Church Missionary Society worker in the Punjab (India), 1868-1902; Rector of Fawley (Bucks), 1902-07 and Vicar of Biddulph (Staffs), 1907-16. He married 1st, 25 November 1879 at Baroda (India), Helen (1856-96), daughter of Philip Melvill, British Resident at the Court of Baroda, and 2nd, 27 October 1908 at Christ Church, Ottershaw (Surrey), Katharine Lettice (c.1865-1950), daughter of Rev. John Young Nicholson, rector of Aller (Som.) and prebendary of Wells, and had issue:
(1.1) John Melvill Bateman (1881-c.1935), born 25 May 1881; educated at King Edward VI School, Norwich and Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester; first went to Canada, 1897 and emigrated permanently in 1904, settling in Saskatchewan and later at Battle River, Alberta and Dauphin, Manitoba; railway worker; he and his family took Canadian nationality; married, 20 August 1904, Margaret Anne (b. 1885; fl. 1937), second daughter of Capt. Francis Motley of Calcutta (India), and had issue one son and four daughters; died about 1935;
(1.2) Ernest Wigram Bateman (b. & d. 1884), born 16 January 1884; died in infancy, 22 January 1884;
(1.3) Mary Sibylla Bateman (1885-1957), baptised at St Paul, Kensington (Middx), 6 March 1885; educated privately at Eastbourne; died unmarried in London 1 April, and was buried at Brightlingsea, 29 April 1957; will proved 31 July 1957 (estate £5,304);
(1.4) Robert Egerton Bateman (1888-95), born in India, 8 May and baptised at Dharmsala (India), 17 June 1888; died young, at Brightlingsea, 27 June 1895.
He died at Nunney (Som.), 7 March 1916 and was buried at Brightlingsea; his will was proved 29 May 1916 (estate £744). His first wife died 12 November 1896. His widow died at Burnham-on-Sea (Som.), 24 January 1950; her will was proved 28 March 1950 (estate £7,896).

Bateman, Robert (1842-1922). Third son of  James Bateman (1811-97) of Biddulph Grange (Staffs), and his wife Maria Sibylla, daughter of Rev. Rowland Egerton (later Egerton-Warburton) of Norley and Arley Hall (Ches.), born 12 August 1842. A professional artist in the pre-Raphaelite tradition, who also turned his hand occasionally to sculpture and architecture. JP for Shropshire. He married, 18 October 1883 at St Marylebone (Middx), Caroline Octavia (1839-1922), daughter of the Very Rev. the Hon. Henry Howard, Dean of Lichfield, and widow of Rev. Charles Philip Wilbraham (1810-79), and probably had issue*:
(X1) Henry Ulick Burke (1873-1960), born ten years before the marriage of his parents, 10 December 1873; his birth was apparently carefully concealed by both his parents' families, and he was probably taken, immediately after birth, out to India, where he was produced as the new-born child of his uncle, Ulick Burke; he was then raised primarily by his uncle Rowland, who was a missionary in the same area; as a teenager, he was rejected by his ostensible father and sent penniless to Canada; after an adventurous life in Canada, the USA (where he was employed by 'Buffalo Bill' Cody) and Peru, he returned to England in 1904 and it is suggested that only then was he apprised of his real parentage, although it was never publicly acknowledged; subsequently his natural parents quietly provided him with support and assistance, perhaps helping secure his appointment as the manager of a tobacco factory in Bristol, moving to live near him, and making him the principal beneficiary of their wills; he married, 4 November 1902, Rose Ellen Marian Antoinette Uvedale (1876-1931), daughter of Capt. Uvedale Edward Parry Parry-Okeden of Turnworth House (Dorset), and had issue two sons and one daughter; died 2 December 1960; will proved 13 March 1961 (estate £102,768).
He lived from 1863-90 at Biddulph Old Hall (where he retained a life tenancy until his death), then rented Benthall Hall (Shrops.) until 1906, and finally bought owned Nunney Delamere (now Rockfield House), Nunney (Som.) in 1906.
He died of a broken heart a few days after his wife, 11 August 1922 and was buried at Whatley (Som.); will proved 3 November 1922 (estate £5,579). His wife died 30 July 1922; her will was proved 3 November 1922 (estate £5,410).
* For an exciting account of this illegitimate child and the impact it had on the family see Nigel Daly, The lost pre-Raphaelite, (2014).

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1850, vol 1, p. 67; 1898, vol. 1, p. 83; 1925, p. 97; 1937, p. 117; J. Ward, The borough of Stoke-upon-Trent in the commencement of the reign of... Queen Victoria, 1843, p. 179; A. Taylor & J. Martin (ed.), The Websters of Kendal, 2004, pp. 97-98; T. Mowl & D. Barre, The historic gardens of England: Staffordshire, 2009, pp. 246-54; M. Hyde & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: Cumbria, 2010, p. 207; N. Daly, The Lost Pre-Raphaelite, 2014.

Location of archives

Bateman of Biddulph Grange: small group of miscellaneous deeds and estate records, 1698-1869 [Cheshire Archives and Local Studies DCB/1595/1]. 
No significant archive is known to survive.

Coat of arms

Azure, on a fesse embattled between three crescents, issuant from each an estoile argent the chemical character for Mars, sable.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone provide fuller information about the 20th century ownership of Knypersley Hall or Brightlingsea Hall?
  • If anyone knows of other views of Biddulph Grange before the 1896 fire, especially any views of the entrance front, I would be very interested to see them.
  • Can anyone throw more light on the early genealogy of the Bateman family or the nature of the property at Strickland Kettle before their purchase of Tolson Hall?
  • I should be most grateful if anyone can provide photographs or portraits of people whose names appear in bold above, and who are not already illustrated. 
  • Any additions or corrections to the text above will be gratefully received and incorporated. 

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 5 February 2021 and was updated 4 March 2023. I am grateful to Alan Bateman for additional information.