Showing posts with label Foreign immigrant owners. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Foreign immigrant owners. Show all posts

Saturday, 1 August 2026

(641) Blaauw of Beechland

Blaauw of Beechland
This family claimed descent from the innovative and successful 17th century Dutch cartographer Willem Blaeu (1571-1638), and may have had long-standing connections with England (the will of a Willem Blaauw of Amsterdam was proved in the PCC in 1728), but I have traced them back no further than Gerrit Blaauw (1708-75), a prominent merchant and banker in Amsterdam (Netherlands), who arranged the refinancing of a large part of the national debt of the States General in the mid 18th century. His younger son, Gerrit Blaauw (1750-1825) became Burgomeister (Mayor) of Amsterdam, 1816-24 and was also employed in diplomatic contacts between the French republic and the Dutch States in the 1790s. The mayor's elder brother, Willem (later William) Blaauw (1748-1808), settled in London in about 1788 as a widower with one surviving daughter, and the following year married an Englishwoman as his second wife and produced a second family. He may have come to London initially for business reasons, but neither official sources nor contemporary newspapers contain any reference to him being involved in business or public affairs, and he was always described as 'esquire' in legal records. He was naturalised as a British subject in 1790, and anglicised his forename to William, but neither he nor his descendants sought to anglicise the spelling of their obviously foreign surname. By his second wife he produced a son and two daughters, and the daughter of his first marriage also stayed in England and married into an Essex gentry family.

William's only son was William Henry Blaauw (1793-1870), who was educated as an English gentleman at Eton and Oxford. In 1834 he purchased the modest Beechland estate in Sussex for £7,000 and enlarged the house. From the windows of his new abode he had a distant prospect of the site of the Battle of Lewes (1264), which is said to have stimulated an interest in the constitutional conflicts of the 13th century, and led him to write a history of The Barons' War (1844), which was well-regarded and remained a standard work into the late 20th century. Two years later, Blaauw played a leading part in the founding of the Sussex Archaeological Society, becoming its secretary and editor of its journal, and in 1850 he was elected a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. Blaauw was married twice. His first wife, Harriet King (1797-1828) brought him an additional income of £1,000 a year for life, which may explain how he was able to afford the estate in Sussex, but their two daughters both died young. His second wife, Margaret Emily Gillman (1798-1881), was the daughter of an obscure Irish baronet and probably did not contribute much to his exchequer, but gave him two sons and a daughter. After Eton and Oxford, his eldest son, Henry William Gillman Blaauw (1834-57), undertook a Grand Tour with friends, which took him rather adventurously to Egypt, where he sadly contracted a fever and died. The heir to Beechlands was therefore his younger brother, Thomas St. Leger Blaauw (1839-93), who inherited on his father's death in 1870.

Thomas inherited the estate but not the thousand a year which his father had received under his first marriage settlement, and this perhaps made a critical difference to the sustainability of the estate. He continued to live at Beechland, but when he died in 1893 the value of his personal estate was only two-thirds that of his father, and his widow Fanny (1839-1912), who inherited a life interest in Beechland, promptly let it and moved to a suburban villa in Bournemouth. Their elder son, Henry Thomas Gillman Blaauw (1874-1949) went to Oxford and then attended the Royal Agricultural College at Cirencester, but his heart does not seem to have been in estate management. In 1911 he was working as a bookbinder and he later employed a farm manager to run the estate. He himself was an officer in the army during the war until he was invalided out after being severely injured in the leg in 1917. He then found himself unable to move around easily enough to manage the farm, and in 1920 he sold the entire Beechland property and moved to a rambling Edwardian house at Wivelisfield (Sussex) called Towning's Place, and later to a smaller house at Chailey (Sussex). He married in 1912 but he and his wife had no children, and eventually adopted a daughter, who took his name and married into an Irish gentry family. His younger brother, Bertram William St Leger Blaauw (1876-1946), who was a nurseryman and fruit grower in Sussex, also had no issue, so the Blaauw name died out in England with this generation.

Beechland, Newick, Sussex

Earlier called Fuller's Lands and Mount Pleasant, the estate was renamed Beechland(s) in about 1820. The house may have genuine Tudor or 17th century origins, but it seems to have been extensively remodelled or rebuilt in the early 1820s as a large gabled gentleman farmer's house with a central porch, elaborately carved bargeboards on the gables, and hood-moulds over the mullioned and transomed windows. Sale notices of 1820 and 1824 suggest that the remodelling was carried out between those dates, and it was acquired in 1824 by William Thomson, one of the founders (and first president) of the Newick Horticultural Society. A highway diversion order in 1825 allowed Thomson to move a public road and footpath to expand his grounds. The only visual record of the house at this time is an engraving showing the grounds in use for the Horticultural Society's annual show in the early 1830s. 

Beechland, Newick: the house in the 1830s, from an engraving in Horsfield's history of Sussex, 1835.

In 1834 the Beechland estate was bought by William Henry Blaauw for £7,000, and soon after gaining possession he added two wings on a larger scale to the existing house. His architect is unknown, but the plain ashlar walls with plate glass hood-moulded mullioned and transomed windows, projecting square bay windows and oriels, and steep-sided gables with a profusion of stubby pinnacles, are reminiscent of the work of William Burn or David Brandon.

Beechland, Newick: north-west (entrance) front as remodelled c.1835-37

Beechland, Newick: the house from the south in the mid 20th century.

Beechland, Newick: south-east front of the enlarged house built c.1835-37.
At the end of the 19th century, Beechland was let to a series of tenants, and the estate was sold by the Blaauw family in 1920. It remained in use as a private house, but after the Second World War, the house was subdivided into three units, which remains the case today.

Descent: sold 1820; sold 1824 to William Thomson, who sold 1834 to William Henry Blaauw (1793-1870); to son, Thomas St. Leger Blaauw (1839-93); to widow and then to son, Henry Thomas Gillman Blaauw (1874-1949), who sold 1920 to Charles L. Bower... divided into three dwellings c.1955. The house was let by Mrs. Blaauw after 1893 to Edmund Deacon (fl. 1895), Capt. Harcourt Rose (fl. 1899) and his widow (fl. 1915). The central portion of the house (Centre House) was owned after subdivision by Dr. Blake, who sold 1962 to Daphne MacDonald (d. 1977) and Naomi Whittle (d. 1985), who sold 1980 to Mr & Mrs Poffle.

Blaauw family of Beechland


Blaauw, Willem (later William) (1748-1808). Elder son of Gerrit Blaauw (1708-75) of Amsterdam (Netherlands), merchant and banker, and his wife Maria Agneta (1710-77), daughter of David van Heijst, born in Amsterdam, 9 November 1748. He settled in England about 1788 and was naturalised as a British subject by private Act of Parliament, 28 April 1790. He married 1st, 5 April 1772 at Amsterdam, Anne Charlotte (1747-82), daughter of M. Charles Le Maitre, and 2nd, 1 August 1789 at Woodford (Essex), Louisa (1754-1842), daughter of Christopher Puller of Woodford, and had issue:
(1.1) Marie-Anne Blaauw (1773-1821), born 20 December and baptised at Amsterdam, 23 December 1773; married, 6 February 1796 at St Marylebone (Middx), Thomas Gardiner Bramston (1770-1831) (who m2, 1823, Charlotte (1782-1847), daughter of Sir Henry Hawley (1745-1826), 1st bt. of Leybourne Grange (Kent) and widow of Rev. Brook John Bridges (1782-1812)), of Skreens (Essex), briefly MP for Essex, 1830, and had issue two sons and six daughters; died 6 February 1821;
(1.2) Charlotte Julie Blaauw (1777-87), born 19 April and baptised in Amersterdam, 15 May 1777; said to have died young, 1787;
(2.1) Louisa Agnes Blaauw (1790-1876), born 20 September and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), 21 October 1790; married, 24 April 1813 at St Marylebone, Capt. Charles Robert Manners Molloy (1787-1824) of the Grenadier Guards, son of Capt. Anthony James Pye Molloy RN (c.1746-1814); died 18 January 1876; will proved 10 February 1876 (effects under £20,000);
(2.2) Frances Elizabeth Blaauw (1792-1878), born 24 January and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 25 February 1792; married, 14 June 1817 at St Marylebone, Frederick Burmester (1783-1856), a founder director of the Westminster Bank, son of Henry Burmester (d. 1823) of Gwynne House, Woodford Bridge (Essex), corn merchant; died 30 May 1878; will proved 14 June 1878 (effects under £100,000);
(2.3) William Henry Blaauw (1793-1870) (q.v.).
He lived at Queen Anne St., Marylebone; his house was later occupied by his daughter Louisa.
He died 27 December 1808; his will was proved in the PCC, 16 January 1809. His first wife was buried in Amsterdam, 11 April 1782. His widow died 26 October 1842; her will was proved in the PCC, 9 December 1842.

William Henry Blaauw (1793-1870) 
Blauuw, William Henry (1793-1870).
Only son of William Blaauw (1748-1808) and his second wife, Louisa, daughter of Christopher Puller of Woodford (Essex), born 25 May and baptised at St Marylebone (Middx), 26 June 1793. 
Educated at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1812; BA 1815; MA 1818), and incorporated at Cambridge University (MA 1854). JP and DL for Sussex; High Sheriff of Sussex, 1859-60. His chief interests were antiquarian, and he was the author of The Barons' War (1844; revised ed. issued posthumously, 1871), which remained the standard work on the subject for more than a century. He was on the council of the Camden Society, 1848-65; was elected a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries in 1850 and also of the Royal Geographical Society; and was the leading founder of the Sussex Archaeological Society in 1846. He edited (and until 1861 was a frequent contributor to) the latter Society's Collections, 1846-56 and was its honorary secretary, 1846-67. He married 1st, 14 June 1825 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), with £1,000 a year for life, Harriet (1797-1828), daughter of John King MP (1759-1830), and 2nd, 16 June 1832 at St Marylebone, Margaret Emily (1798-1881), fourth and youngest daughter and co-heiress of Sir John St. Leger Gillman (1756-1817), 1st and only bt. of Curraheen (Co. Cork), and had issue:
(1.1) Louisa Henrietta Blaauw (1826-41), born 16 August and baptised at All Souls, Langham Place, Marylebone, 13 September 1826; died young, 14 July, and was buried at Newick, 21 July 1841;
(1.2) Caroline Jane Blaauw (1827-28), born 19 November and baptised at Danbury (Essex), 18 December 1827; died in infancy, 6 May, and was buried at Clifton (Glos), 10 May 1828;
(2.1) Emily Hannah Blaauw (1833-1919), born 9 March and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 22 May 1833; married, 30 October 1860 at Newick, Maj. the Hon. Charles Cornwallis Chetwynd (1834-84), fourth son of Richard Walter Chetwynd (1800-79), 6th Viscount Chetwynd, and had issue two sons and seven daughters; as a widow lived at Cissbury, Ascot Heath (Berks); died 24 September 1919; will proved 12 December 1919 (estate £29,936);
(2.2) Henry William Gillman Blaauw (1834-57), born 9 March 1834; educated at Eton, Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1852; BA 1856) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1856); an officer in the West Sussex Militia; died unmarried at Cairo (Egypt), 25 March 1857, and was buried at Newick, 8 April 1858;
(2.3) Thomas St Leger Blaauw (1839-93) (q.v.).
He purchased Beechland in 1834 and extensively remodelled and enlarged it c.1834-37.
He is said to have become increasingly melancholic after the death of his elder son, and ceased new writing on antiquarian subjects from 1861; he died 26 April and was buried at Newick, 3 May 1870; his will was proved 4 July 1870 (effects under £40,000). His first wife died 26 May and was buried at Clifton (Glos), 31 May 1828. His widow died 13 August 1881; her will was proved 4 November 1881 (effects £19,518).

Blaauw, Thomas St. Leger (1839-93). Second, but only surviving, son of William Henry Blaauw (1793-1870) and his second wife, Margaret Emily, daughter and heiress of Sir John St. Leger Gillman (1756-1817), 1st bt., of Curraheen (Co. Cork), born 1 July 1839. Educated at Trinity Hall, Cambridge (matriculated 1859). An officer in the Sussex Light Infantry militia battalion (Ensign c.1864; Lt., 1865; retired 1868). JP for Sussex. He married, 6 June 1867 at Ightham (Kent), Fanny Alice (1839-1912), second daughter of Charles John Bigge (1803-46) of Linden Hall (Northbld.), and had issue:
(1) Alice Agneta Emily Mitford Blaauw (1868-1935), born 31 March and baptised at Newick, 3 May 1868; lived latterly at Bournemouth (Hants); died unmarried, 2 May 1935; will proved 17 June 1935 (estate £999);
(2) Frances Catherine Blaauw (1869-1948), baptised at Newick, 31 October 1869; lived latterly at Bournemouth; died unmarried, 25 February, and was buried at Newick, 28 February 1948; will proved 26 May 1948 (estate £5,293);
(3) Margaret Louisa Blaauw (1871-1928), baptised at Newick, 1 November 1871; died unmarried, 16 December, and was buried at Newick, 20 December 1928; will proved 9 February 1929 (estate £5,167);
(4) Henry Thomas Gillman Blaauw (1874-1949) (q.v.);
(5) Bertram William St. Leger Blaauw (1876-1946), born 6 May and baptised at Newick, 12 July 1876; in partnership with Hubert Patrick Gray as a nurseryman and fruit and flower grower to 1916; served in Second World War as a special constable; married, 11 April 1913 at Hampton Hill (Middx), Edith (1881-1947), daughter of Rev. Henry Mellowes, rector of Moor Monkton (Yorks WR), but had no issue; died 27 September 1946; administration of goods (with will annexed) granted 11 July 1947 (estate £6,762).
He inherited Beechland from his father in 1870. At his death it passed to his widow for life, but she lived at Bournemouth (Hants) and let the house.
He died at Binfield (Berks), 11 September, and was buried at Newick, 15 September 1893; his will was proved 28 November 1893 (effects £28,162). His widow died 20 November and was buried at Newick 26 November 1912; her will was proved 20 January 1913 (estate £3,323).

Blaauw, Henry Thomas Gillman (1874-1948). Elder son of Thomas St. Leger Blaauw (1839-93) and his wife Fanny Alice, second daughter of Charles John Bigge of Linden Hall (Northbld.), born 4 July and baptised at Newick, 9 August 1874. Educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1893; BA 1898) and Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester (Honour Diploma, 1901). Before the First World War he worked as a bookbinder. During the First World War he was an officer in the army (2nd Lt., 1915; Lt., 1916; severely wounded in leg and invalided out 1917). JP for Sussex, 1925. He married, 29 August 1912 at Holy Trinity, Weymouth (Dorset), Mary Verner (1878*-1963), younger daughter of Maj. James William Anderson of the Indian army, and had no issue, but adopted one daughter:
(A1) Margaret Esme Blaauw (b. c.1915); married, 9 July 1940 at Chailey (Sussex), Capt. Conor John O'Callaghan-Westropp (b. 1913) of Maryfort (aka Lismehane), Tulla (Co. Clare), which he demolished in 1967, and had issue one son; death not traced.
He inherited Beechland on the death of his mother in 1912, but continued to let it until he sold the estate in 1920. He lived subsequently at Towning's Place, Wivelisfield (Sussex) and later at Marriners, Chailey (Sussex).
He died 6 February 1948; his will was proved 27 May 1949 (estate £63,047). His widow died 10 November 1963, and was buried at Ditchling (Sussex), 14 November 1963; her will was proved 16 December 1963 (estate £3,675).
* Her date of birth and/or age are given inaccurately in several official sources, but this appears to be the correct date, based on her baptism in India.

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1925, pp. 147-48; T.W. Horsfield, The history, antiquities, and topography of the county of Sussex, 1835, p.223; L.F. Saltzman (ed.), Victoria County History of Sussex, vol. 7, 1940, p. 88; ODNB article on William Henry Blaauw (1793-1870). 

Location of archives

Blaauw of Beechland: family papers, 19th cent-1993 [East Sussex, Brighton & Hove Record Office, Acc. 6051]; prints and drawings of W.H. Blaauw, 19th cent. [East Sussex, Brighton & Hove Record Office, BMW/C29]; antiquarian and other papers of W.H. Blaauw, 19th cent. [Sussex Archaeological Society, Blaauw]

Coat of arms

Azure, a human foot couped argent, on a canton or, an anchor gules.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone provide any evidence for an attribution of the remodelling of Beechland in 1834-37?
  • Can anyone provide portraits or photographs of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 1 August 2026 and updated 2 August 2026.

Friday, 23 February 2024

(570) Berens of Kevington Hall

Berens of Kevington
The Berens or Behrens family name is said to originate in Schleswig-Holstein on the borders of Germany and Denmark, but the branch of the family that came to England in the 18th century were previously established as merchants in Amsterdam (Netherlands). The use of a black bear on their coat of arms suggests the family's mercantile interests may have begun in the Russian and/or Baltic trade, but during the 18th century they became general shipping merchants, trading with the Dutch East Indies, British India and North America, and the countries of western and southern Europe. Herman Berens (c.1702-91), with whom the genealogy below begins, was evidently living and working in England by 1732, when he took British nationality. By the 1740s he was in partnership in London with his brother John Berens (d. 1787), who was naturalised in 1762, although the two brothers later traded separately. In March 1761 John suffered a daring robbery of plate at his house in Copthall Court, London, and this experience may have prompted his decision to buy a property at Southgate (Middx), where he built a handsome villa to the designs of Sir Robert Taylor in 1762-63, which he called Beaver Hall. This house, which was sold by John's executors in 1790 and greatly extended soon afterwards, is recorded in its original form in a sketch plan and pencil elevation by William Newton, who visited in 1765.

Beaver Hall, Southgate: sketch plan and pencil elevation of the 
house as first built, drawn by William Newton, 1765. Image: RIBA
Beaver Hall, Southgate: the house c.1870, showing it as enlarged c.1790.
Image: Enfield Local Studies Collection












John's brother, Herman Berens, would undoubtedly have been familiar with Beaver Hall, and probably also knew Taylor personally as they were both active in the city of London. It is no surprise, therefore, that when Herman followed his brother's lead and bought a villa outside London, in his case Kevington Hall at St Mary Cray (Kent), it was to Taylor that he turned to modernise and enlarge it.

Herman's purchase of a country villa began the family's transition from city merchants to landed gentry, which was continued by his only surviving son Joseph Berens (1745-1825), whose marriage connected them to the greater gentry. Like his father, Joseph was a director of the Hudson's Bay Company, but he seems to have retired from business in 1795 and devoted himself to the traditional roles of the landed gentry, as a justice of the peace and an officer in the local volunteers. His four sons were all sent to Oxford, and the two eldest went on Lincoln's Inn and became barristers, while the others went into the church and academia. The eldest son, Joseph Berens junior (1773-1853), succeeded in combining a significant position in the city (being Governor of the Hudson's Bay Company, 1812-22) with his role as a landowner. He married a daughter of Richard Benyon of Gidea Hall (Essex) and Englefield House (Berks), and had five sons and one daughter. His eldest son, William Joseph Berens (1800-54), had pursued a career in the army, but he was terminally ill and in the throes of a messy divorce when his father died, and Kevington passed to his younger brother, Richard Beauvoir Berens (1801-59). Like his father, Richard was a barrister and pursued a career in the city, being Governor of the New River Co. - responsible for much of London's water supply - from 1847 until his death.

Richard was in turn succeeded at Kevington by his elder son, Richard Benyon Berens (1834-1916), who was the first of the family not to combine a career in the city with his responsibilities as a landowner. In 1883, he inherited the Culford Hall estate in Suffolk from his kinsman, the Rev. Edward Richard Benyon, but he sold it about five years later. He married the daughter of a leading lawyer and had nine children, several of whom predeceased him. His heir apparent, Richard Berens (1864-1909), was a barrister who was married but left no children, and his next son, the Rev. George Berens (later Berens-Dowdeswell) (1866-1945), was expected to inherit the Pull Court estate in Worcestershire from a cousin. When Richard died in 1916, therefore, he left Kevington to his widow, Fanny Georgina (c.1840-1924), with remainder to his fifth son, Cecil Berens (1869-1933), who had studied at the Royal Agricultural College and become a land agent. He had two sons and two daughters, but his younger son, a pilot in the RAF, died in an unexplained flying accident over Southampton Water in 1932. When he died in 1933, Cecil left a surprisingly large estate, in excess of £140,000, and it is not clear what the source of this wealth - six times what his father had left in 1916 - was. His elder son, Herbert Cecil Benyon Berens (1908-91), who became an accountant and merchant banker and amassed a considerable fortune, inherited Kevington, but the house was requisitioned for military use in the Second World War. By the time it was returned to the family the tentacles of London suburbia were creeping towards St Mary Cray and rather than repair and reoccupy the house he chose to sell it to Kent County Council for use as a primary school and to buy the more rural Bentworth Hall near Alton in Hampshire as a replacement seat. Bentworth was a less impressive house than Kevington, and probably rather smaller, but Herbert enlarged it with the addition of a single-storey wing (which ironically looks rather like a primary school classroom block). He lived at Bentworth until his death, after which it was sold, marking the close of the family's period as landed gentry.

Kevington Hall, St Mary Cray, Kent

The estate belonged from later medieval times until the mid 18th century to the Manning family, whose house here was known as Manning's Hall. It was taxed on 12 hearths in 1664, but nothing is known about its character or appearance. After it was sold to Herman Behrens (d. 1791), it was remodelled and enlarged by Sir Robert Taylor in 1767-69, at a cost of £6,192. Behrens' notebook, of which there is a copy in the RIBA Library, records the purchase of the land, the alterations to the house, the building of the offices and garden wall, together with costs of materials and labour. Berens perhaps knew Taylor through their respective connections in the city of London, but Richard Garnier has shown that the work at Kevington followed on Taylor's building of Beaver Hall, Southgate (Middx) in c.1762-63 for Herman Berens' brother, John Berens (d. 1787), and this probably led to the commission. 

Kevington Hall: the entrance front in 1938. Image: Historic England BB71/9324

Kevington Hall: the south front in 1938, showing the bow window added by Joseph Berens. Image: Historic England BB71/9619
The house at Kevington is unusually plain by Taylor's standards, with few of his characteristic design features, such as shaped rooms, octagonal glazing, and elaborate Rococo plasterwork. Once the works were completed, the house showed no outward sign of its earlier origins, and became a square two and a half storey villa. Perhaps surprisingly, there seem to be no published engravings of the house showing it at this time, and as it was altered after Herman's death for his son, Joseph Berens (1745-1825), we cannot be quite certain what it looked like originally. Joseph added the broad curved bow - which stylistically could be an original feature but which is not bonded in to the rest of the elevation - to the centre of the south front, and no doubt also the tripartite windows on the upper floors of the west front, largely giving the house its present external appearance. Later additions include the single-storey stuccoed bays built out either side of the curved bow, containing panelled tripartite windows flanked by pilasters, and probably also the large pedimented porch on the west front, which has twin Doric engaged columns with narrow windows between them and further windows on the sides.

Kevington Hall: the dining room in 1938. Image: Historic England BB71/9341

Kevington Hall: the drawing room in 1938. Image: Historic England BB71/9339
Inside, the house was a good deal more altered in the 19th century and later, and little of the original simple but elegant neo-classical decoration survives now. The best that remains is in the former dining room, which has a delicate swagged circular panel on one wall, formerly set above a fireplace, and further decorative plaster panels around the rest of the room. Photographs taken in 1938 show the house as it was during the ownership of the Berens family, with good ceiling cornices in the main rooms and a fine chimneypiece in the bow-ended drawing room. Probably around 1900, the entrance hall and the staircase behind were thrown into a single long room divided by an elliptical archway, and the original staircase was replaced with the present open well stair with rather widely spaced and spindly turned balusters. 

Kevington Hall: the house today, after extensive recent restoration.

Kevington Hall: the hall and staircase today.
In the Second World War the house was requisitioned and used as the headquarters of the Canadian army in Europe. At the end of the war it was returned to the Berens family but quickly sold to Kent County Council, which used it to house a primary (later infants') school. During forty years of school use, the historic interiors were considerably abraded, and additional accommodation was built on the site. The additions were all removed after the building returned to private ownership in 1987, and there have been several phases of restoration work since then. The house is now used as a conference centre and wedding venue, but the hall and staircase and the former library remain decorated and furnished in country house style.

Descent: John Manning (d. 1435); to son, Hugh Manning (c.1431-1503); to younger son, Richard Manning; to son, John Manning; to son, Edward Manning; to son, Edward Manning (d. 1640); to son, Edward Manning; to son, Edward Manning (c.1654-1703); to son, Richard Manning (d. 1753); to nephew, Denzil Onslow (c.1698-1765); to son, Middleton Onslow (1732-1801), who sold to Herman Behrens (c.1702-91); to son, Joseph Berens (1773-1853); to son, Richard Beauvoir Berens (1801-59); to son, Richard Benyon Berens (1834-1916); to son, Cecil Berens (1869-1933); to son, Herbert Cecil Berens (1908-81); requisitioned during WW2 and sold 1947 to Kent County Council; transferred 1965 to Bromley London Borough Council; sold 1987; sold 1993... Mrs Janet Jackson (fl. 2006); to son, Jonathan Barlow Jackson (b. 1980). 

Bentworth Hall, Hampshire

The house was built for Roger Staples Horman-Fisher after he bought the estate in 1832, as a replacement for the late medieval Hall Place, (which became a farmhouse). The new house was sited on a gentle ridge of open downland dotted with abandoned chalk pits, to the south of its predecessor. Alongside the construction of the house, Horman-Fisher laid out a small park, with a gate-lodge at the edge of Bentworth village and extensive woodland planting to provide shelter belts and an attractive setting for the house. 

Bentworth Hall: the newly-built in c.1835-40, from an amateur watercolour. Image: Public Domain.
The house itself was a Tudor villa with mullioned windows, of two storeys, with a front of three bays that gave a misleadingly modest impression, for further ranges to the rear made it much bigger than it looked at first, and in 1848 it had six principal bedrooms. The most remarkable feature of the house was that it was built of beautifully squared and coursed knapped flint ('carefully and minutely cut and smoothed at an incalculable cost' according to the sale particulars of 1848) with stone dressings. Inside, the hall and staircase were surrounded by four reception rooms (library, drawing room, dining room and breakfast room). 

Bentworth Hall: the house in 1905.

Bentworth Hall: the house in 1983, showing the single-storey Modernist addition of the 1950s.
After Maj. Berens bought the estate in 1947, he built a single-storey flat-roofed extension to the south side of the house, with large floor-length plate glass windows like a contemporary primary school, and also added two further lodges in neo-Georgian style, designed by Hugh Vaux. After his death, attempts to sell the house as a single unit were unsuccessful, and the property was divided into three dwellings, with two more being created later in the former stable block.

Descent: built c.1832 for Roger Staples Horman-Fisher (1792-1866); sold c.1845 to Charles Bushe; sold 1848 to Jeremiah Robert Ives (d. 1865); to widow, Emma Ives (d. 1897); to son, Col. Gordon Maynard Gordon-Ives (d. 1907) of Gaston Grange; to son, Cecil Maynard Gordon-Ives (d. 1923); sold 1924 to Arthur d'Anyers Willis; sold 1932 to Maj. John Arthur Pryor, but requisitioned for military use in Second World War; sold 1947 to Maj. Herbert Cecil Berens (1908-81); sold after his death and divided into flats. The house was leased from c.1900-23 to William Graham Nicholson MP (1862-1942) of Basing Park. 

Berens family of Kevington Hall


Berens, Hermanus alias Herman (c.1702-91). Son of Hermanus Behrens of Amsterdam (Netherlands) and his wife Regina, born about 1702. In partnership with his brother John (and possibly also another brother, Joseph) he established a mercantile house in London, engaged in general shipping business. The partnership was later broken and Herman became a director of the East India Company and of the Hudson's Bay Company. He was naturalized as an Englishman, 1732. Alderman of the City of London by 1780. He married, 17 July 1742, Magdalen (1721-90), daughter of Etienne alias Stephen Riou (1676-1740), and had issue:
(1) John Stephen Berens (1743-67), baptised at St Bartholomew Exchange, London, 25 August 1743; probably died unmarried and was buried at Enfield, 19 February 1767;
(2) Joseph Berens (1745-1825) (q.v.);
(3) Magdalen Berens (1746-1800), baptised at St Bartholomew Exchange, London, 13 March 1745/6; died unmarried and was buried at Orpington, 5 June 1800; will proved in the PCC, 14 June 1800;
(4) Catherine Berens (1749-1826), baptised at Enfield (Middx), 20 August 1749; died unmarried and was buried at Orpington, 18 November 1826; will proved in the PCC, 1 December 1826.
He purchased Kevington Hall in about 1766, and enlarged it to the designs of Sir Robert Taylor, 1767-69.
He died 31 December 1791 and was buried at Orpington (Kent); his will was proved in the PCC, 13 January 1795. His wife died 11 July 1790 and was also buried at Orpington.

Berens, Joseph (1745-1825). Only surviving son of Herman Behrens (c.1702-91) and his wife Magdalen, daughter of Etienne alias Stephen Riou, born in London, 21 February and baptised at St Bartholomew Exchange, London, 28 February 1744/5. A director of the Hudson's Bay Company, 1776-95. DL for Kent (from 1797). An officer in the Kevington Volunteer Infantry (Capt., 1798). He married, 17 August 1772 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Elizabeth (d. 1827), second daughter* of Sir Edward Hulse of Breamore (Hants), and had issue:
(1) Joseph Berens (1773-1853) (q.v.);
(2) Elizabeth Magdalene Berens (1774-86), baptised at St Botolph, Bishopsgate, London, 26 October 1774; died young, 28 May, and was buried at Wilmington (Kent), 1 June 1786;
(3) Henry Berens (1776-1852), born 19 February and baptised at Farningham (Kent), 24 March 1776; educated at Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1795; called 1804); barrister-at-law; one of three commissioners appointed to inquire into the collection of excise duty, 1833; died unmarried, 12 May, and was buried at Sidcup (Kent), 22 May 1852; will proved 7 June 1852;
(4) Ven. Edward Berens (1777-1859), baptised at Sutton-at-Hone (Kent), 4 August 1777; educated at Christ Church and Oriel College, Oxford (matriculated 1795; BA 1798; MA 1801); ordained deacon, 1801 and priest, 1802; domestic chaplain to Bishop of Exeter, 1803-17; vicar of Shrivenham (Berks), 1804-55 and rector of Englefield (Berks), 1817-55; rural dean and a prebendary of Salisbury Cathedral, 1829-32; Archdeacon of Berkshire, 1832-55; a liberal in politics and a supporter of religious orthodoxy with high church leanings, he wrote for the Quarterly Review and also published works including Church Reform (1828), Advice to a Young Man on first going to Oxford (1832) and Steadfast Adherence to the Church of England, Recommended and Enforced (1852); he resided at Shrivenham, where he built a new vicarage to the designs of Richard Pace of Lechlade in 1805; he married, 30 December 1805, Catherine (1781-1865), daughter of Rt. Rev. Henry Reginald Courtenay, bishop of Exeter, but had no issue; died 7 April 1859; will proved 24 June 1859 (effects under £45,000);
(5) Maria Anne Berens (1778-1849), baptised at Sutton-at-Hone, 12 October 1778; married, 24 April 1804, at Farnborough (Kent), Rev. John Pratt (c.1773-1861), rector of Sedlescombe (Sussex), 1803-61, son of Henry Pratt of Orpington (Kent), and had issue four sons and three daughters; buried at Sedlescombe, 26 April 1849;
(6) Sophia Caroline Berens (1780-1851), baptised at Sutton-at-Hone, 4 June 1780; married, 21 June 1804 at Sedlescombe (Sussex), Benjamin Harenc (1780-1825) of Foots Cray Place (Kent), and had issue five sons and four daughters; died 4 July 1851; will proved 18 February 1851;
(7) Richard Berens (1781-1849), born 1 October and baptised at Sutton-at-Hone (Kent), 28 October 1781; educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1800; BA 1804) and All Souls College (BCL 1807; DCL 1813); Fellow and Bursar of All Souls College; died unmarried at his house in London, 13 June 1849, and was buried at All Souls College, where he is commemorated by a monument; will proved in the PCC, 12 July 1849.
He lived first at Hextable House (Kent) and after his father's death at Kevington.
He died 19 December 1825 and was buried at Orpington (Kent); his will was proved in the PCC, 31 December 1825. His widow died 27 April 1827 and was buried with her husband the following day.
* Her elder sister, Hannah, married Richard Benyon (1746-96), establishing a close connection between the two families.

Berens, Joseph (1773-1853). Eldest son of Joseph Behrens (1745-1825) and his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Edward Hulse of Breamore (Hants), baptised at St Botolph, Bishopsgate, London, 25 May 1773. Educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1791; BA 1796; MA 1798) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1795; called 1800). Barrister-at-law; Recorder of Romney Marsh by 1815. A member of the Hudson's Bay Company (Committee Member, 1801-33; Deputy Governor, 1807-12; Governor 1812-22). An officer in the Kevington Volunteer Infantry (Lt., 1798; Capt., 1798) and the London & Westminster Light Horse Volunteers (Cornet, 1809; Lt. 1812; Capt., 1815). He married, 11 June 1799 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Charlotte (1774-1854), third daughter of Richard Benyon (1746-96) of Gidea Park (Essex) and Englefield House (Berks), and had issue:
(1) William Joseph Berens (1800-54), of Orpington Hall (Kent), baptised at St Giles in the Fields, Holborn (Middx), 12 June 1800; educated at Westminster; an officer in the army (Ensign, 1822; Lt., 1825; Capt., 1827; retired 1837) and later the West Kent Yeomanry Cavalry (Capt. 1848); JP for Kent; married, 20 July 1837 (div. 1854*) at Greasley (Notts), Louisa Maria (1813-57), daughter of Lancelot Rollston, but had no issue; died at Ryde (IoW), 11 June 1854; will proved in the PCC, 8 September 1854;
(2) Richard Beauvoir Berens (1801-1859) (q.v.);
(3) Henry Hulse Berens (1804-83), of Sidcup (Kent), born 21/24 November and baptised at St Giles in the Fields, Holborn (Middx), 23 December 1804; JP for Kent and a Commissioner of Lieutenancy for London; a director of the Bank of England, 1849-80; Governor of Hudson's Bay Co., 1858-63 (Committee Member 1833-63 and Deputy Governor, 1856-58), and auditor of the New River Company; a freemason from 1851; married, 30 October 1841 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, Ellinor (1815-46), daughter of George Stone of Coopers, Chislehurst (Kent), and had issue one daughter (who with her husband took the name Berens in 1885); died 23 August 1883 and was buried at Sidcup (Kent); will proved 19 November 1883 (effects £71,282);
(4) Rev. Edward Riou Berens (1807-66), born 12 January and baptised at St Giles in the Fields, Holborn (Middx), 13 February 1807; educated at Westminster, Christ Church and St Mary's Hall, Oxford (matriculated 1825; BA 1831; MA 1832); ordained deacon, 1831 and priest, 1832; vicar of Broxted and rector of Wickford (Essex), 1833-39 and Downham (Essex), 1839-66; married, 21 August 1849 at Woodmansterne (Surrey), Sophia Frances (1807-1900), daughter of Thomas Walpole of Stagbury, Woodmansterne, and had issue one daughter (who died young); died 31 July 1866; will proved 22 September 1866 (effects under £35,000);
(5) Charlotte Elizabeth Berens (1813-81), baptised at St Paul's Cray, 29 August 1813; after the death of her father, she lived with her brother Henry; died unmarried, 12 September, and was buried at Sidcup, 17 September 1881; administration of goods granted to her brother, 19 October 1881 (effects £40,265);
(6) George Samuel Berens (1819-43), baptised at St Pauls Cray (Kent), 31 January 1819; joined the Royal Navy and was mate of HMS Harlequin during an action in China for which the crew received medals, 1842; died 11 September 1843 and was buried at sea off the island of Borneo; administration of goods granted to his father, 1844.
He inherited Kevington Hall from his father in 1794.
He died at Downham (Essex) but was buried at Orpington, 11 January 1853; his will was proved in the PCC, 18 February 1853. His widow died 1 July 1854.
* This was a sensational divorce case. After a very short acquaintance, Louisa eloped in 1853 with John Coventry (1793-1871) of Burgate House, Fordingbridge (Hants), son of the Hon. John Coventry (whom she married 2nd, 13 January 1857 at St Marylebone (Middx)). Efforts to trace the couple, who evidently stayed in hotels in Liverpool and Manchester as husband and wife, were unsuccessful. Berens initiated divorce proceedings in the House of Lords, but the bill only passed its final stages in the House of Commons a day or two after he had died.

Berens, Richard Beauvoir (1801-59). Second son of Joseph Berens (c.1773-1853) and his wife Charlotte, daughter of Richard Benyon of Englefield House (Berks), born 14/16 December 1801 and baptised at St Giles-in-the-Fields (Middx), 27 January 1802. Educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1820; BA 1823; MA 1827) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1823; called 1828). Barrister-at-law. An officer in the West Kent Yeomanry Cavalry (Cornet, 1830). Governor of the New River Company, c.1847-59. He married, 10 January 1833 at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), Catharine (1801-78), daughter of John Edmund Dowdeswell MP (1772-1851) of Pull Court (Worcs), and had issue:
(1) Richard Benyon Berens (1834-1916) (q.v.);
(2) Catharine Frances Carolina Berens (1837-92), born 10 November and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), 13 December 1837; married, 12 August 1880 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, Lt-Col. Wilmot Grant (1839-1909) (who m2, 31 October 1893 at Thurlbere (Som.), Frances Mary (c.1863-1920), daughter of George Edwin Lance, judge in Indian civil service), son of Col. Edward Fitzherbert Grant; died without issue, 4 October 1892; will proved 10 January 1893 (effects £48,281);
(3) Edward Osmond Berens (1839-72), born 27 July 1839; educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1857; BA 1861; MA 1864); an officer in the Kent Rifle Volunteers (Lt., 1860); died without issue, 31 January, and was buried at Orpington, 6 February 1872, where he is commemorated by a monument in the churchyard; will proved 22 February 1872 (effects under £14,000).
He inherited Kevington Hall from his father in 1853.
He died of a stroke while riding, 25 February 1859, and was buried at Orpington where he is commemorated by a monument; his will was proved 11 May 1859. His widow died 5 August 1878 and was buried at Orpington, 10 August 1878, where she is commemorated on her husband's monument.

Richard Benyon Berens (1834-1916)
Image: National Portrait Gallery
Berens, Richard Benyon (1834-1916).
Elder son of Richard Beauvoir Berens (d. 1859) and his wife Catharine, daughter of John Edmund Dowdeswell MP, born 15 March 1834. Educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1852; BA 1857; MA 1865). An officer in the West Kent Yeomanry Cavalry (Cornet, 1859; Lt., 1863; retired 1870). JP (from 1861) and DL (from 1892) for Kent; High Sheriff of Kent, 1893-94. He married, 13 June 1860 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Fanny Georgina (c.1840-1924), daughter of Alexander Atherton Park, Master of the Court of Common Pleas, and had issue, with a daughter who was stillborn in 1861:
(1) Richard Berens (b. & d. 1863), born 22 January and baptised at St Mary Cray, 12 February 1863; died in infancy and was buried at Orpington (Kent), 14 March 1863;
(2) Richard Berens (1864-1909), born 28 January and baptised at St Mary Cray, 20 March 1864; educated at Westminster, Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1882; BA 1887; MA 1890) and Inner Temple (admitted 1887; called 1892); barrister-at-law; married, 3 December 1900 at St George, Bloomsbury (Middx), Elizabeth Evelyn (c.1877-1946) (who m2, 17 April 1915, Maj. Edgar Oswald Anderson (1876-1945)), daughter of John Fitzgibbons of Belton, Doncaster (Yorks); died in the lifetime of his father, at Felixstowe (Suffk), 14 July 1909; will proved 11 December 1909 (estate £9,249);
(3) Rev. George Berens (later Berens-Dowdeswell) (1866-1945), born 11 January 1866; educated at Westminster, Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1884; BA 1888; MA 1891) and Leeds Clerical School (admitted 1888); ordained deacon, 1889 and priest, 1891; curate, 1889-1904 and vicar, 1904-07 of St Andrew, Bethnal Green (Middx); curate of Harworth (Notts), 1908-11; rector of Foots Cray (Kent), 1911-21; assumed the additional name Dowdeswell by royal licence, 1916, on inheriting the Pull Court estate from his cousin, but was driven to sell it by the pressure of taxation, 1932, and retired to The Abbey, Sutton Courtenay (Berks); married, 23 September 1918 at Foots Cray, Eveleen Mary MA, Fellow of British College of Nurses (1875-1967), eldest daughter of Dr William Hunter MD of Rothesay (Bute); died 28 November 1945 and was buried at Bushley (Worcs);
(4) Herbert Berens (1867-97), born 2 October and baptised at St Mary Cray, 17 November 1867; educated at Westminster; captain of the St Mary Cray fire brigade, 1895-97; died unmarried of pneumonia, 2 December 1897, and was buried at St Mary Cray;
(5) Cecil Berens (1869-1933) (q.v.);
(6) Maud Catherine Berens (1871-1960), born 28 September and baptised at St Mary Cray, 19 November 1871; married 1st, 25 November 1920 at St Mary Cray, Henry Pitt Tozer (1864-1928) of Bere Regis (Dorset); married 2nd, 3 June 1931 at Bere Regis (Dorset), William Bedford (1858-1936); died without issue, 9 July 1960; will proved 12 September 1960 (estate £25,045); 
(7) Edward Berens (1873-1938), born 24 October and baptised at St Mary Cray, 21 December 1873; educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1892; BA 1897); member of Bromley Board of Guardians, 1917-30 and Bromley Rural District Council, 1922-35; a keen cricketer; died unmarried, 2 October 1938; administration of goods (with will annexed) granted 25 November 1938 (estate £10,610);
(8) Atherton Berens (1877-1940), born 21 May 1877; educated at Westminster and Pembroke College, Oxford; farmer; served in First World War with Army Service Corps, 1916-18; married, 3 November 1906 at St John, Paddington (Middx), Wenefrede Dorothy (1875-1956), daughter of Joseph Watson Overbury of London, and had issue three daughters; died 11 February 1940; will proved 13 April 1940 (estate £126);
(9) Violet Frances Berens (1880-1949), born 10 November 1880; married, 31 July 1906 at St Mary Cray, Edward Loxley Waring (1863-1933) of Halstead Hall, Sevenoaks (Kent), son of William Waring of Woodlands, Chelsfield (Kent), and had issue; died 26 July 1949; will proved 10 October 1949 (estate £14,737).
He inherited Kevington Hall from his father in 1859. At his death he bequeathed it to his widow for life, with remainder to his fifth son, Cecil. He also inherited Culford Hall (Suffk) on the death of his kinsman, the Rev. Edward Richard Benyon, in 1883, but sold it about five years later to the Earl Cadogan.
He died 28 October 1916; will proved 21 February 1917 (estate £23,075). His widow died 4 April 1924; her will was proved 14 July 1924 (estate £3,463).

Berens, Cecil (1869-1933). Fifth son of Richard Benyon Berens (1834-1916) and his wife Fanny Georgina, daughter of Alexander Atherton Park, Master of the Court of Common Pleas, born 12 May and baptised at St Mary Cray, 20 June 1869. Educated at Sherborne and Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester. Estate agent. Master of West Kent Harriers, 1886-1905. During the First World War he was an Inspector of the Special Constabulary. JP for Kent (from 1922) and a member of Bromley Rural District Council and Bromley Board of Guardians. He married, 27 July 1905 at St Mary Abbots, Kensington (Middx), Mildred Turnour (1886-1984), only daughter of James Blackwood of Foots Cray (Kent), and had issue:
(1) Violet Cecil Turnour Berens (1907-70), born 26 June 1907; married, 25 July 1931 at St Mary Cray, Geoffrey Arthur John Smallwood (1900-73) of Milford (Staffs), barrister-at-law, deputy chairman of Leicestershire Quarter Sessions, 1947-71 and a stipendiary magistrate in Stoke-on-Trent, 1960-73, son of Arthur I. Smallwood of Leamington Spa (Warks); died 24 June 1970; administration of goods granted 1 October 1970 (estate £8,051);
(2) Herbert Cecil Benyon Berens (1908-81) (q.v.);
(3) Richard James Berens (1911-32), born 25 July 1911; an officer in the Royal Air Force (Pilot Officer); died as the result of a flying accident over Southampton Water, 4 December 1932;
(4) Rita Sylvia Berens (1913-2002), born 4 September 1913; married, 5 August 1940 in India, as his second wife, Lt-Cdr. Patrick Spencer Boyle RN (1906-78) of Ashe Park (Hants), only son of Capt. the Hon. Edward Spencer Henry Boyle RN, and had issue one son; died 7 November 2002; will proved 9 June 2003 (estate £128,796).
He inherited Kevington Hall on the death of his mother in 1924.
He died 30 December 1933 and was buried at St Mary Cray Cemetery; his will was proved 26 February and 19 March 1934 (estate £141,323). His widow married 2nd, 10 November 1945, Sir Oliver Hamilton Augustus Hart-Dyke (1885-1969), 8th bt., and died aged 98 at Balgowen, Natal (South Africa), 9 June 1984; her will was proved 8 November 1984 (estate in England & Wales, £20,136).

Berens, Herbert Cecil Benyon (1908-81). Elder son of Cecil Berens (1869-1933) and his wife Mildred Turnour, only daughter of James Blackwood of Foots Cray (Kent), born 16 October 1908. Educated at Wellington College and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1927). Merchant banker who began his career as an accountant with Hambro's Bank, 1931-39. An officer in the City of London Yeomanry (2nd Lt., 1939; Capt. by 1942; Hon. Maj.), who served in the Second World War with the Royal Armoured Corps and was a Prisoner of War, 1941-43; awarded the MC, 1942. After the war he was managing director of Anglo-Foreign Securities, 1944-51, and the Bentworth Trust from 1951, and was later a director of the Allied Irish Bank, 1966; and of Hambro's Bank, 1968 and Chairman of International Distillers, 1962-72 and Evans of Leeds, 1972. As a young man he played cricket for the Kent Second XI. He married, 10 October 1931 at St Margaret, Westminster (Middx), Moyra Nancy (1907-94), daughter of Louis Oliver Mellard (1873-1954), and had issue:
(1) Richard Wilfrid Beauvoir Berens (1933-98), born 18 February 1933; educated at Eton; colourful journalist who edited the 'William Hickey' column in the Daily Express and was notoriously a gambler and alcoholic; married 1st, 10 April 1958 (div. 1962), Hon. Nicole (k/a Minty) (1936-2011) (who m2, Michael Russell (1933-2020), literary agent and publisher, son of Edward Dennis Russell of Bournemouth (Hants), solicitor), only daughter of Richard Francis Roger Yarde-Buller (1910-91), 4th Baron Churston, and had issue one son and one daughter; married 2nd, 6 January 1965 (div.), Virginia Rose (1940-2023) (who m2, 1971, Mark Charles Grenville Fortescue (1947-82), son of Brig. Arthur Henry Grenville Fortescue MC (1913-2005), and had further issue two daughters), youngest daughter of Anthony William Fabio Caccia-Birch MC (1898-1986) of Guernsey Lodge, Marton (New Zealand), and had issue one daughter; married 3rd, Oct-Dec 1971, Barbara, only daughter of Charles A. Neil, and had further issue two daughters; died 8 July 1998; will proved 16 September 1998;
(2) Penelope Anne Georgina Berens (b. 1934), born 9 August 1934; married, 29 May 1954, Geoffrey Jackson Ackroyd (1930-82) of Candover Park, Brown Candover (Hants), second son of Geoffrey Ackroyd of Hayley Green Farm, Warfield (Berks), and had issue two sons and two daughters;
(3) Jonathan Christopher Dowdeswell Berens (1936-76), born 11 December 1936; educated at Eton; partner in a firm of stockbrokers; married, 14 July 1960, Phoebe Helen (b. 1939) (who m2, 1986, Duncan A. Cavenagh), younger daughter of Leslie William Parkhouse of St Mary Abbots House, London W14, and had issue three daughters; committed suicide, 22 October 1976; will proved 19 January 1977 (estate £158,666);
(4) David John Cecil (k/a Henry) Berens (1939-2025), born 7 October 1939; educated at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford (MA 1961); managing director of London Trust plc, investment managers; married, 3 October 1963, Janet Roxburgh (1943-2019), youngest daughter of Archibald Roxburgh Balfour MC (1883-1958) of Lima (Peru), and had issue two sons and two daughters; died 29 September 2025.
He inherited Kevington Hall from his father in 1933, but sold it in 1947 and purchased Bentworth Hall (Hants), which was sold after his death.
He died 27 October 1981; his will was proved 8 March 1982 (estate £1,105,564). His widow died 12 February 1994; her will was proved 12 May 1994 (estate £31,370).

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1969, p. 43; B. Cherry & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: London - South, 1983, p. 193; M. Binney, Sir Robert Taylor, 1984, p. 95; R. Garnier, 'Two "Crystalline" Villas of the 1760s', The Georgian Group Journal, 1997, pp. 9-25; M. Bullen, J. Crook, R. Hubbock & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: Hampshire - Winchester and the North, 2010, p. 178;

Location of archives

No significant accumulation is known to survive, but some papers may remain with the family.

Coat of arms

Argent, on a mount vert a bear passant sable.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone explain the source of the wealth which Cecil Berens (1869-1933) left at his death?
  • Can anyone provide full information on the ownership of Kevington Hall since 1987?
  • Can anyone provide photographs or portraits of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 23 February 2024 and was updated 25 February 2024, 21 April and 30 October 2025.

Monday, 5 February 2024

(568) Cavendish-Bentinck of Welbeck Abbey, Dukes of Portland - part 3

This post has been divided into three parts. Part 1 consists of my introduction to the family and its property, and an account of  Welbeck Abbey and Bolsover Castle. Part 2 contains histories of the other houses built or acquired by the family. This part gives the biographical and genealogical details of the family.


Cavendish-Bentinck family, Earls and Dukes of Portland


Hans William Bentinck, 1st Earl of Portland 
Bentinck, General Hans William (1649-1709) KG, 1st Earl of Portland. 
Fourth, but third surviving, son of Bernhard Bentinck (d. 1668), Baron Bentinck, lord of Diepenheim, Schoonheten etc. in the province of Overyssel (Netherlands) and his wife Anna (d. 1685), daughter of Hans Hendrik van Bloemendaal, Seneschal of Vianen, born 20 July 1649. Page of Honour, c.1664 and Nobleman of the Chamber, 1672, at the Dutch court. He was a confidential adviser to Prince William of Orange, whom he accompanied on a visit to England in 1670 (when he was awarded an honorary degree by Oxford University (DCL)) and who he nursed through an attack of smallpox in 1675. He acted as an envoy to England to arrange the marriage of William of Orange to Princess Mary in 1677, and again in 1683 and 1685. He was bailiff of Breda, 1674 and of Lingen, 1675, and was called to the States General as Lord of Drummelen, 1676, when he joined the Order of Nobility of the Netherlands; in 1681 he was appointed Verderer of Holland. He served as an officer in the Dutch Horse Guards (Cornet, 1668; Capt. 1672; Colonel. 1675; Maj-Gen., 1683; Lt-Gen., 1689; Gen., 1697; retired 1699). He brought his regiment to England when Prince William was invited to take the English throne in 1688, and was present at the Battle of the Boyne, 1690, and also at Steinkirk, 1692, Landen, 1693, and the Siege of Namur, 1695, but gave up his command when the regiment returned to the Netherlands in 1699. After King William III's accession to the throne he was created Earl of Portland, Viscount Woodstock and Baron Cirencester, 9 April 1689, and appointed Groom of the Stole, First Gentleman of the Bedchamber, and Keeper of the Privy Purse, appointments which he held until 1700 and which brought him £3,000 a year. He was also appointed Superintendent of the Royal Gardens in June 1689, with George London as his deputy and William Talman as his comptroller, and in 1697 and 1699 respectively he was made Ranger of Windsor Great and Little Parks, posts worth £1,500 a year, which he held until 1702. In 1696/7 he was made a Knight of the Garter. In 1698 he was sent as ambassador and the king's plenipotentiary to France, negotiating the Partition Treaties with Louis XIV and the States General, for his part in which the House of Commons voted to impeach him on 1 April 1701, although the proceedings were dismissed by the House of Lords in June that year. In 1700 he resigned all his offices in the Royal Household, apparently in a fit of pique about being supplanted as the king's chief adviser by Arnold Joost van Keppel (1670-1718), 1st Earl of Albemarle. A good-looking man, he was staunchly loyal to King William III, but 'never possessed any of the graces of the courtier' and did not greatly care for the ways or character of the English, with whom he made no attempt to ingratiate himself. It is no surprise, therefore, that he was widely regarded with suspicion and unpopularity as a 'foreign favourite'. He married 1st, 1 February 1677/8 at The Hague, Anne (1651-88), Maid of Honour to Princess Mary of Orange (later Queen Mary II), daughter of Sir Edward Villiers (1620-89), kt. and sister of Edward Villiers, 1st Earl of Jersey; and 2nd, 12 May 1700 at Chiswick (Middx), Jane Martha (1672-1751), Maid of Honour and later Governess to the daughters of King George II, sixth daughter of Sir John Temple, kt. of East Sheen (Surrey) and widow of John Berkeley (c.1663-97), 3rd Baron Berkeley of Stratton, and had issue:
(1.1) Lady Mary Bentinck (1679-1726), born 1679; married 1st, 28 February 1698, Algernon Capel (1670-1710), 2nd Earl of Essex, of Cassiobury House (Herts), Lord Lieutenant of Hertfordshire, and had issue one son and two daughters; married 2nd, August 1714, as his first wife, Hon. Sir Conyers d'Arcy MP (c.1685-1758) of Aske Hall (Yorks NR) (who m2, 12 September 1728, as her third husband, Elizabeth, daughter of John Rotherham of Great Waltham (Essex)), but had no further issue; died 20 August 1726;
(1.2) Willem Bentinck (1681-88), born before 3 March 1680/1; died young, 26 May 1687/8;
(1.3) (William) Henry Bentinck (1682-1726), 2nd Earl and 1st Duke of Portland (q.v.);
(1.4) Lady Anne Margaretta Bentinck (1683-1763), born 1683; married, 1701, Baron Arent van Wessenaer (1669-1721) of Duivenvoorde Castle (Netherlands), Ambassador of the States General to Great Britain, and had issue three daughters; died 3 May 1763;
(1.5) Lady Frances Wilhelmina Bentinck (1684-1712); born 18 February 1684; married, 19 December 1706, as his second wife, William Byron (1669-1736), 4th Baron Byron, but had no surviving issue; died 31 March 1712 and was buried at Hucknall (Notts);
(1.6) Lady Eleanora Sophia Bentinck (b. 1687), born 8 April 1687; died unmarried;
(1.7) Lady Isabella (k/a Belle) Bentinck (1688-1728), born 4 May 1688; married, 2 August 1714, as his second wife, Evelyn Pierrepont (1667-1726), 5th Earl and 1st Duke of Kingston-upon-Hull, and had issue two daughters; died 23 February 1727/8;
(2.1) Lady Sophia Bentinck (1701-48), born at Whitehall, Westminster, 4 April 1701; married, 24 March 1728/9, as his second wife, Henry de Grey (1671-1740), 12th Earl, 1st Marquess and 1st Duke of Kent, of Wrest Park (Beds), and had issue one son (who died in infancy) and one daughter; died 14 June and was buried at Flitton (Beds), 20 June 1748;
(2.2) Lady Elizabeth Ariana Bentinck (1703-65), born at Whitehall, 27 June and baptised at St Martin-in-the-Fields, Westminster, 30 June 1703; married, 18 December 1720, Rt Rev. and Hon. Henry Egerton (1689-1746), Bishop of Hereford, 1724-46, fifth son of John Egerton, 3rd Earl of Bridgewater, and had issue five sons and one daughter; died 9 November, and was buried at Bruton (Som.), 15 November 1765; will proved in the PCC, 11 December 1765;
(2.3) Hon. William Bentinck (1704-74), 1st Count Bentinck [for whom see my post on the Bentinck family of Indio House];
(2.4) Lady Henrietta alias Harriet Bentinck (1705-92), born at Whitehall, 12 December 1705; married, 15 October 1728 at The Hague, Rt. Hon. James Hamilton (1694-1758), 1st Baron Clanboye, 1st Viscount Limerick and 1st Earl of Clanbrassil of the second creation, MP for Dundalk, 1715-19, Wendover, 1735-41, Tavistock, 1741-47 and Morpeth, 1747-54, and had issue one son and one daughter; died 10 June 1792;
(2.5) Hon. Charles John Bentinck (1708-79), born at Bulstrode Park, 2 June 1708; married, 11 January 1739, Lady Margaret Cadogan (1707-82?), daughter and co-heir of Lt-Gen. William Cadogan (1672-1726), 1st Baron and 1st Earl Cadogan; died at Zorgvliet (Netherlands), 9 March 1779; will proved in the PCC, 24 April 1779;
(2.6) Lady Barbara Bentinck (1709-36), born at Bulstrode Park, 20 October 1709; married, 18 February 1733/4, Hon. Francis Godolphin (1706-85) (who m2, Lady Anne Fitzwilliam (1722-1805)), MP for Helston, 1741-66 and later 2nd Baron Godolphin, of Baylies (Bucks) and Godolphin House (Cornw.), but had no issue; died 1 April 1736.
In 1674 he bought the estate of Zorgvliet near The Hague, which remained his main residence in Holland. In 1676 William granted him Drimmelen, a lordship entitling him to a place in the Dutch nobility. In 1683, he purchased the lordships of Rhoon and Pendrecht and just before embarkation, in October 1688, William granted him several other Dutch lordships. In England he was granted Theobalds Park (Herts) in 1689. In London he had a house in Pall Mall and bought another in St James's Square for his son, but he also had apartments in several of the royal palaces. In 1695 he was granted a large estate in Wales, but a parliamentary outcry led to this being revoked; instead, the king quietly compensated him with more scattered lands in Cheshire, Cumberland, Norfolk, Suffolk and Yorkshire. In 1697 he was made Ranger of Windsor Great Park, and the Great Lodge (later Cumberland Lodge) became his favourite residence until he was obliged to give it up in 1702. In 1698 he was granted lands in Westminster (Middx) which were valued at over £376,000 in 1709. In 1702 he moved to Bagshot (Surrey) and in 1706 bought the Bulstrode Park (Bucks) estate.
He died of pleurisy at Bulstrode Park, 23 November, and was buried in Westminster Abbey, 3 December 1709; his will was proved 22 December 1709. His first wife died in Holland, 20 November 1688 and was buried at Rhoon. His widow died 26 May 1751 and was buried at Mortlake (Surrey); her will was proved 20 April 1751.

2nd Earl and 1st Duke of Portland 
Bentinck, (William) Henry (1682-1726), 2nd Earl and 1st Duke of Portland. 
Second, but eldest surviving, son of Baron Hans William Bentinck (1649-1709), 1st Earl of Portland, and his first wife, Anne, 
daughter of Sir Edward Villiers (1620-89), kt., born at The Hague (Netherlands), 17 March 1682. He undertook the Grand Tour in 1701-03, visiting Italy and Germany with his tutor, the historian, Paul de Rapin. Whig MP for Southampton, 1705-08 and for Hampshire, 1708-09. An officer in the Life Guards (Capt. and Lt-Col.), 1710-13. He was styled Viscount Woodstock from 1689 until he succeeded his father as 2nd Earl of Portland, 23 November 1709, and after the accession of King George I he was further created Duke of Portland and Marquess of Titchfield, 6 July 1716, in recognition of his father's service to the Hanoverian dynasty. A Lord of the Bedchamber, 1717-26. Unfortunately, he lost huge sums in the South Sea Bubble in 1720, and subsequently accepted the resident post of Governor and Vice-Admiral of Jamaica, 1721-26, although he did not arrive in Jamaica until 22 December 1722. He married, 9 June 1704 at Chiswick (Middx), Lady Elizabeth (c.1688-1737), elder daughter and co-heir of Wriothesley Baptist Noel, (c.1661-90), 2nd Earl of Gainsborough, of Exton Park (Rutland) and Twickenham (Middx), who brought him a fortune of £60,000 and a moiety of the Titchfield estate. They had issue*:
(1) Lady Anne Bentinck (1705-49), born 7 April and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 12 April 1705; married, 30 August 1737 at St George, Bloomsbury (Middx), Lt-Col. Daniel Paul (c.1690-1749); died 7 July 1749 and was buried with her husband in St Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin; administration of goods granted in Dublin, September 1749;
(2) Lady Mary Bentinck (c.1706-07), probably born in 1706; died in infancy and was buried at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster, 5 February 1706/7;
(3) Lady Elizabeth Bentinck (1707-08), born 16 January and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 25 February 1706/7; died in infancy and was buried at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster, 10 April 1708;
(4) Lady Frances Bentinck (c.1708-10), probably born in 1708; died young and was buried at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster, 25 October 1710;
(5) William Bentinck (1709-62), 2nd Duke of Portland (q.v.);
(6) Hon. Henry Bentinck (b. & d. 1713), born 12 March 1712/3 and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 29 March 1713; died in infancy and was buried at Hedgerley (Bucks), 12 September 1713;
(7) Lord George Bentinck (1715-59), of Hall Place, Heston (Middx), born 24 December 1715 and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 22 January 1715/6; educated at Eton, 1725-28 and undertook a belated Grand Tour in 1739; an officer in the army (Ensign, 1735; Capt., 1743; Lt-Col., 1745; Col., 1752); ADC to King George II, 1751; Colonel-in-Chief of 5th Foot, 1754; MP for Droitwich, 1742-47, Grampound, 1747-54 and Malmesbury, 1754-59; married**, 29 June 1753 at Mayfair Chapel, Westminster and again, 9 October 1753 at St Benet, Paul's Wharf, London, Mary, eldest daughter of William Davies, but had no issue; died at Bath, 1 March 1759 and was buried at Heston (Middx); his will was proved in the PCC, 2 March 1759 (the day after his death!), and made his widow chief beneficiary and executrix; she quickly remarried, 17 April 1759 at St Clement Danes, London, Joseph Griffith (b. c.1728);
(8) Lady Anne Isabella Bentinck (1719-83), born 20 December 1719 and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 16 January 1719/20; married, 8 November 1739, Henry Monck (c.1715-87) of Charleville (Co. Wicklow) and had issue one daughter; died in Ireland, 1783;
(9) Lady Amelia Catherine Bentinck (1726-56), born at St Jago de la Vega (Jamaica), 5 April 1726; married, December 1747, Jacob Arend van Wassenaer (1721-67), Baron de Wessenaer, of The Hague (Netherlands) (who m2, Catherina van der Heim), and had issue one daughter; died 10 January 1756.
He was granted the Clancarty estate (135,000 acres) at Woodstock in Ireland during his father's lifetime, but this was annulled by the Resumption Act in 1701. He acquired a moiety of the Titchfield (Hants) estate through his marriage in 1704, and inherited most of his father's English property in 1709.
He died at St. Jago de la Vega (Jamaica), 4 July 1726, but his body was returned to England for burial at Westminster Abbey, 3 November 1726; his will was proved 14 February 1727/8. His widow died in London, 19 March 1736/7, and was buried at Titchfield (Hants).
* Collins' Peerage says there were seven daughters, but I have found records of only six; it is possible that the seventh was born in Jamaica after 1722 and died young.
** His wife was described by his aunt as 'a common woman about the town' who had been his mistress for some years previously, and the marriage was not accepted by his family, from whom he became distanced as a result. The couple evidently felt their first, clandestine, marriage might be challenged, and so a second ceremony was held a few months later. When Lord George died, his widow obtained probate of his will (of which she was executrix and chief beneficiary) within 24 hours, and she married again just six weeks later; the haste was no doubt intended to prevent Lord George's family seeking to overturn his will. Her second marriage is normally said to have been on 24 June 1759 to Commodore Walter Griffith (d. 1779), but there is no record of such a marriage and the Commodore took command of a vessel on that day, so was probably not getting married! It is not clear whether Joseph Griffith was any relation of the Commodore; the marriage licence calls him 'esquire'.

2nd Duke of Portland
Bentinck, William (1709-62) KG, 2nd Duke of Portland. 
Elder son of (William) Henry Bentinck (1682-1726), 1st Duke of Portland, and his wife Lady Elizabeth, elder daughter of Wriothesley Baptist Noel, 2nd Earl of Gainsborough, of Exton Park (Rutland), born 1 March and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 8 March 1708/9. Educated at home by John Achard, a Swiss scholar, and later at Eton; he undertook a Grand Tour in Italy and France, visiting Venice, Padua, Rome, Naples and Toulouse, 1730-32. He was styled Viscount Woodstock until 1716 and then Marquess of Titchfield until he succeded his father as 2nd Duke of Portland, 4 July 1726; appointed KG, 1740/1. A Whig in politics, but he took no part in public affairs. Harleian trustee of the British Museum (in right of his wife), 1753-62. A Fellow of the Royal Society, 1739. Awarded an honorary degree by the University of Oxford (DCL, 1755). By some accounts he was 'the handsomest man in England' and although a less assertive personality than his wife, was 'wise, gentle and kindly'. He married, 11 July 1734 at the Oxford Chapel, Marylebone (Middx), Lady Margaret Cavendish (1715-85), a gifted, witty, intelligent woman who was a great collector and botanist, and an accomplished craftswoman*, and who had a wide circle of friends including Garrick, Rousseau and Mary Delany; she was the only daughter and ultimate heiress of Edward Harley (1689-1741), 2nd Earl of Oxford and Earl Mortimer. They had issue:
(1) Lady Elizabeth Cavendish Bentinck (1735-1825), born 27 July and baptised at St Margaret, Westminster, 22 August 1735; a Lady of the Bedchamber to Queen Charlotte 1761-93 and Mistress of the Robes 1793-1818; married, 22 March 1759, Thomas Thynne KG (1734-96), 3rd Viscount Weymouth and later 1st Marquess of Bath, of Longleat House (Wilts), Secretary of State, 1768-70 and 1775-79, and had issue three sons and five daughters; died aged 90 on 12 December 1825 and was buried at Longbridge Deverill (Wilts), where she is commemorated by a simple tablet;
(2) Lady Henrietta Cavendish Bentinck (1737-1827), born 8 February 1737; married, 26 May 1763 by special licence, at her mother's house in Whitehall, Westminster, George Grey (1737-1819), 5th Earl of Stamford and 1st Earl of Warrington, of Enville Hall (Staffs) and Dunham Massey (Ches.), MP for Staffordshire, 1761-68 and Lord Lieutenant of Cheshire, 1783-1819, and had issue four sons and six daughters; died aged 90 on 4 June 1827;
(3) William Henry Cavendish Bentinck (later Cavendish-Bentinck) (1738-1809), 3rd Duke of Portland (q.v.);
(4) Lady Margaret Cavendish Bentinck (1739-56), born 26 July and baptised at St Margaret, Westminster, 22 September 1739; died unmarried, 28 April and was buried at St Margaret, Westminster, 30 April 1756;
(5) Lady Frances Cavendish Bentinck (1741-43), born 9 April 1741; died in infancy and was buried at St Margaret, Westminster, 5 March 1742/3;
(6) Lord Edward Charles Bentinck (1744-1819), born 31 March and baptised at St Margaret, Westminster, 26 April 1744; educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1761), and then undertook a Grand Tour, 1764-66; MP for Lewes, 1766-68, Carlisle, 1768-74, Nottinghamshire, 1774-96 and Clitheroe (Lancs), 1796-1802; he was several times rescued from financial difficulties by the 3rd Duke, but lived latterly in Brussels (Belgium) for reasons of economy; married, 28 December 1782 at St Marylebone (Middx), Elizabeth (1760-1837), eldest daughter of Richard Cumberland (1732-1811), dramatist and essayist, and had issue two sons (from whom descended the 8th and 9th Dukes of Portland) and two daughters; died in Brussels, 8 October 1819.
He inherited Bulstrode Park and the other Bentinck estates from his father in 1726, but sold his share in the Titchfield Place estate to the Duke of Beaufort c.1734-41. His wife acquired Welbeck Abbey on the death of his mother-in-law, the Countess of Oxford, in 1755, but as a widow lived at Bulstrode Park.
He died 1 May and was buried in Westminster Abbey, 8 May 1762; his will was proved 12 May 1762. His widow died at Bulstrode Park, 17 July, and was buried at Westminster Abbey, 30 July 1785; her will was proved 4 August 1785.
* Her particular skill lay in the turning of wood, jet and amber. She also inherited the Harley passion for collecting, with an enthusiasm for paintings (both old masters and family portraits), gems and snuff-boxes. Her acquisitions included the famous Portland Vase, which she bought in 1782. Her interests extended to the natural world and she formed a museum of shells, beetles, insects, rare plants and flowers and a menagerie of exotic animals and birds, employing the Rev. John Lightfoot FLS to manage her collections. Mary Delany made hundreds of botanical illustrations for her, and she also employed a professional artist to make drawings of exotic plants. After her death, her museum was dispersed at an auction which lasted 38 days.

3rd Duke of Portland
Bentinck (later Cavendish-Bentinck), Rt. Hon. William Henry Cavendish (1738-1809) KG, 3rd Duke of Portland. 
Elder son of William Bentinck (1709-62), 2nd Duke of Portland, and his wife 
Lady Margaret Cavendish (d. 1785), only daughter and heiress of Edward Harley (1689-1741), 2nd Earl of Oxford and Earl Mortimer, born 14 April 1738. Educated at Westminster, 1747-54 and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1755; MA 1757; DCL 1792) and then travelled in Germany, Poland and Italy, 1757-61. Whig MP for Weobley (Herefs), 1761-62. He was styled Marquess of Titchfield until he succeeded his father as 3rd Duke of Portland, May 1762. He was sworn of the Privy Council, 1765, and served as Lord Chamberlain, 1765-66, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, Apr-Aug 1782, and Prime Minister, Apr-Dec 1783; leader of the Whig opposition, 1784-90. The repercussions of the French Revolution slowly drove a wedge between the duke and Charles James Fox, splitting the Whig party and leading Portland to an initially reluctant support of Pitt the younger, whose ministry he joined as Home Secretary, 1794-1801. He played a significant part in securing the Union of Great Britain and Ireland by acting as a channel for the payment of secret service funds to the Irish administration, where it was used to bribe Irish MPs and others into support for the Union. He further served as Lord President of the Council, 1801-05, and as Prime Minister, 1807-09, but by the time of his second premiership he was in ill-health and was no longer up to the demands of the role, dying shortly after leaving office. Throughout his political career he was a competent administrator and an adroit and principled politician, sustaining the Whig principle of opposing any increase in the influence of the Crown in public life, and refusing to pander to popular clamour in the interest of political advantage. Unfortunately, his political abilities were not matched by his business skills, and by the time of his death he was £500,000 in debt. He was Lord Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire, 1795-1809, Harleian trustee of the British Museum, 1764-1809, Chancellor of Oxford University, 1792-1809, Recorder of Nottingham, 1794, and Elder Brother of Trinity House, 1797-1809 (Master 1807-09), and was appointed High Steward of Bristol, 1786, Fellow of the Royal Society, 1766, Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London, 1775, and Knight of the Garter, 1794. He took the surname Cavendish-Bentinck informally in 1755 and by royal licence, 5 October 1801. He married, 8 November 1766 at Burlington House, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), Lady Dorothy (1750-94), only daughter of William Cavendish (1720-64), 4th Duke of Devonshire, and had issue, with a daughter who was stillborn in 1786:
(1) William Henry Cavendish Bentinck (later Scott-Bentinck and Scott-Cavendish-Bentinck) (1768-1854), 4th Duke of Portland (q.v.);
(2) General Lord William Henry Bentinck (later Cavendish-Bentinck) (1774-1839), born at Burlington House, Piccadilly, Westminster, 14 September, and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 19 October 1774; educated at Dr. Goodenough's School, Ealing (Middx) and Westminster School, 1788-91; an officer in the army (Ensign, 1791; Capt., 1792; Lt-Col., 1794; Maj-Gen., 1805; Lt-Gen, 1811; Gen., 1825) who played important liaison and political roles in Italy, 1799-1801, 1811-14; Col in Chief of the 11th Dragoons; MP for Camelford, Mar-May 1796, for Nottinghamshire, 1796-1803, 1812-14 and 1816-26, for Kings Lynn, 1826-27, and for Glasgow, 1836-39; Governor of Madras, 1803-07 and Governor-General of Bengal, 1827-33, where he abolished the practice of suttee and imposed many other reforms; first Governor-General of India, 1833-35; appointed KB, 1813, GCB, 1815 and GCH, 1817, but declined a peerage on his return from India; married, 19 February 1803 at St Marylebone, Lady Mary (1778-1843), second daughter of Arthur Acheson (c.1745-1807), 1st Earl of Gosford, but had no issue; died at his house in Paris (France), 17 June, but was buried at St. Marylebone, 26 June 1839; will proved in the PCC, 5 November 1839;
(3) Lady Charlotte Bentinck (1775-1862), born 2 October and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 30 October 1775; married, 31 March 1793, Charles Greville (1762-1832), son of Fulke Greville of Wilbury (Wilts) and had issue three sons (the eldest of whom was Charles Greville (1794-1865), the famous diarist) and one daughter; died at Hatchford near Cobham (Surrey), 28 July 1862; will proved 5 September 1872 (effects under £25,000);
(4) Lady Mary Bentinck (later Cavendish-Bentinck) (1778-1843), born 13 March and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 13 April 1779; died unmarried, 6 November, and was buried at Kensal Green Cemetery, 14 November 1843;
(5) Lord (William) Charles Augustus Bentinck (later Cavendish-Bentinck) (1780-1826) (q.v.);
(6) Lord Frederick Bentinck (later Cavendish-Bentinck) (1781-1828), born 2 November 1781; educated at Westminster School; an officer in the army (Ensign, 1798; Lt., 1798; Capt., 1799; Maj., 1804; Lt-Col., 1804; Col., 1813; Maj-Gen., 1819); MP for Weobley (Herefs), 1816-24 and for Queenborough-in-Sheppey (Kent), 1824-26; married, 16 September 1820 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, Lady Mary (1785-1862), daughter of William Lowther, 1st Earl of Lonsdale, and had issue one son; died in Rome, 11 February 1828.
He inherited Welbeck Abbey and the other Bentinck estates from his father in 1762 and Bulstrode Park on the death of his mother in 1785. He employed John Carr and Humphry Repton to make alterations to Welbeck, but handed the estate over to his son in 1795. Much of the Bentinck property except Welbeck and the London estate was sold in his lifetime.
He died following an operation to remove a kidney stone, 30 October and was buried at St Marylebone, 9 November 1809; his will was proved in the PCC, 18 November 1809. His wife died 8 June 1794 and was buried at St Marylebone.

4th Duke of Portland
Bentinck (later Scott-Bentinck and Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck), William Henry Cavendish (1768-1854), 4th Duke of Portland. 
Eldest son of William Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (1738-1809), 3rd Duke of Portland, and his wife 
Lady Dorothy, only daughter of William Cavendish (1720-64), 4th Duke of Devonshire, born 24 June 1768. Educated at Dr Goodenough's School, Ealing (Middx), Westminster, Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1785; DCL 1793), and in the household of Sir James Harris, ambassador to The Hague. He undertook a Grand Tour of Italy, visiting Venice, Rome, Florence and Livorno in 1789-90. MP for Petersfield, 1790-91 and for Buckinghamshire, 1791-1809, sitting as a Whig until 1793 and thereafter as a Pittite Tory. He took the name Scott-Bentinck by royal licence, 19 September 1795, and further added the name Cavendish in 1801. He succeeded his father as 4th Duke of Portland, 30 October 1809. A Lord of the Treasury, Mar-Sept 1807, Lord Privy Seal, Apr-Jul 1827, Lord President of the Council, 1827-28. Lord Lieutenant of Middlesex, 1794-1842. He was an enthusiastic improving landlord, and encouraged constant experiment among his tenant farmers, but he was a man of wide-ranging interests, including shipbuilding, where he persuaded a hostile Royal Navy to adopt the new principles of naval architecture advocated by Capt. Symonds, and horse-racing, where he was the Jockey Club's tenant at Newmarket and responsible for developing the course. In 1819 he won the Derby with Tiresias, but his delight was entirely in the sport, and he is said never to have placed a bet in his life. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society and of the Society of Antiquaries of London. Having a healthy, outdoor lifestyle, he lived to a ripe old age, troubled only by gout, which became a serious affliction in his later years. He married, 4 August 1795 at Mrs Scott's house in Piccadilly, in the parish of St George, Hanover Sq,, Westminster, Henrietta (d. 1844), eldest daughter and co-heir of Gen. John Scott of Balcomie, Crail (Fife), and had issue:
(1) William Henry Cavendish Scott-Bentinck (1796-1824), styled Viscount Woodstock until 30 October 1809 and then Marquess of Titchfield, born 21 August and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 29 September 1796; educated at home and at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1815; BA 1818; MA 1821); an independent-minded Tory MP for Bletchingley (Surrey), 1819-22 and for Kings Lynn, 1822-24; Greville regarded him as indolent but clever, as he could 'master...any subject he thought fit to grapple with'; his particular interest lay in economics, and he distinguished himself in the House of Commons in debates on currency; he was unusually tall, at 6 ft 5 in; he died unmarried, 5 March 1824 and was buried at St Marylebone, 13 March 1824; administration of goods granted 1824;
(2) Lady Margaret Harriet Scott-Bentinck (later Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck) (1798-1882), born 21 April and baptised at St Marylebone (Middx), 20 May 1798; lived in Naples (Italy), where she was noted for her charitable works; succeeded to the Kilmarnock estates of 5th Duke in 1879; died in Naples, 9 April 1882; will proved 20 June 1882 (estate in the UK, £141,032);
(3) Lady Caroline Scott-Bentinck (later Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck) (1799-1828), born 6 July and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 7 July 1799; died at Nice (France), 23 January 1828;
(4) William John Cavendish Scott-Bentinck (later Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck) (1800-79), 5th Duke of Portland (q.v.);
(5) Lord (William) George Frederick Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck (1802-48), born 27 February 1802; educated at home; an officer in the army (Ensign & Lt., 1818; Cornet, 1819; Capt., 1821; retired as Maj., 1826); private secretary to his uncle, George Canning as Foreign Secretary and Leader of the House of Commons, 1822-24; MP for Kings Lynn, 1828-48, but was notably active only in his last few years in the house, when he became the leader of the protectionist group within the Tory party; he had a passion for the turf and was an amateur jockey, 1824-45 and racing stud owner until 1846, who won the Thousand Guineas three times, the Two Thousand Guineas twice and the Oaks once, and was involved the reform of horse-racing; unfortunately he did not share his father's abhorrence of betting, and frequently turned to his father for payment of his debts; he was involved in at least three affairs of honour, but probably fought only once; he died unmarried of a heart attack, 21 September, and was buried at Marylebone, 29 September 1848;
(6) Lord (William) Henry Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck (1804-70), born 9 June and baptised at Cuckney (Notts), 4 November 1804; MP for North Nottinghamshire, 1849-57; Harleian trustee of the British Museum; he devoted himself to sporting pursuits, hunting six days a week in the season and excelling at shooting, stalking and breeding hounds, as well as in the field; Master of the Rufford Hounds, 1835-37 and of the Burton Hunt, 1842-64; he died at Tathwell Hall (Lincs), 31 December 1870; will proved 19 January 1871 (effects under £500,000);
(7) Lady Charlotte Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck (1806-89), born 14 January 1806; married, 14 July 1827 at All Souls, Langham Place, Marylebone (Middx), John Evelyn Denison (1800-73), 1st and last Viscount Ossington, of Ossington Hall (Notts), MP and Speaker of the House of Commons, 1857-72, but had no issue; succeeded her elder sister in the Kilmarnock estates of the family, and took name of Scott in lieu of Denison by royal licence, 26 June 1882; died 30 September 1889; will proved 15 November 1889 (effects £410,249); 
(8) Lady Lucy Joan Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck (1807-99), born 27 August 1807; married, 8 November 1828 at All Souls, Langham Place, Marylebone, Charles Augustus Ellis (1799-1868), 6th Baron Howard de Walden and 2nd Baron Seaford, and had issue six sons and one daughter; died at Malvern (Worcs), 29 July 1899;
(9) Lady Mary Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck (1809-74), born 8 July 1809; she wished to marry her eventual husband as early as 1841, but as her father strongly disapproved she agreed not to contract such a marriage until after his death; the duke executed a deed in 1848 which attempted to prevent her benefiting, in the event of the marriage taking place after his death, from sums to which she was entitled under his marriage settlement of 1795, but this was set aside by the courts in 1862; she married, 5 October 1854, Lt-Col. Sir William Topham (1810-95) (who m2, 7 August 1879 at St Mark, South Norwood (Surrey), Anne Tomlinson (1824-96), daughter of Thomas Harrison), eldest son of Lupton Topham of Middleham (Yorks NR), but had no issue; died at Weybridge (Surrey), 20 July 1874 and was buried at Coverham (Yorks NR).
He was given Welbeck Abbey on his marriage in 1795, and inherited Bulstrode Park and the London property from his father in 1809, but finding the estates burdened by more than £500,000 of debt, he sold Bulstode to the Duke of Somerset in 1810, as well as selling other property in Northumberland and Cumberland. He also sold the lay rectorship of Marylebone to the Crown for £40,000 in 1816, allowing the Crown to promote the building of new churches in the district. His wife's trustees bought the Cessnock, Dean and Kilmarnock estates in Ayrshire for her, and she inherited Balcomie (Fife) from her father. The Duke enlarged the Ayrshire estate, notably by the purchase of Fullarton in 1803, but sold Balcomie; he developed the port of Troon on his estate and was responsible for building the first railway in Scotland between Troon and Kilmarnock.
He died at Welbeck, 27 March, and was buried at Bolsover, 4 April 1854; his will was proved in the PCC and PCY, July 1854 (effects £980,000). His wife died at Welbeck Abbey, 24 April 1844; administration of her goods was granted in 1844.

5th Duke of Portland
Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck, William John Cavendish (1800-79), 5th Duke of Portland. 
Second, but eldest surviving, son of 
William Henry Cavendish Bentinck (later Scott-Bentinck and Cavendish-Scott-Bentinck), (1768-1854), 4th Duke of Portland and his wife Henrietta, eldest daughter and co-heir of Gen. John Scott of Balcomie, Crail (Fife), born in London, 17 September and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), 30 September 1800. Educated at home, perhaps because was regarded as 'delicate'. An officer in the army (Ensign & Lt., 1818; Cornet, 1818; Capt., 1821; Lt & Capt., 1830). He was briefly a Canningite Tory MP for Kings Lynn, 1824-26, but he had no taste for public affairs, and when he found that his political opinions (in favour of the repeal of the Corn Laws) were opposed to those of his father and brother George, he carefully suppressed his political views to avoid this dissent becoming publicly known. He was styled Marquess of Titchfield from 1824 until he succeeded his father as 5th Duke of Portland, 27 March 1854. Not until 1857 he did take his seat in the House of Lords, and shortly afterwards he called in a loan of £25,000 which his father had advanced to Disraeli for the purchase of Hughenden, apparently deliberately causing the Tory leader considerable inconvenience. He was twice offered, and twice declined, the honour of appointment as a Knight of the Garter, apparently in recognition of his charitable works. As his position demanded, he was a DL for Nottinghamshire, 1859-79. As a young man, he was keen on hunting and shooting, and he remained interested in hunting and racing in later life, although he ceased to participate in any sports. After leaving the army he travelled extensively in Germany, and developed an interest in opera. In later life, he was a noted supporter of local charities and his constant building programmes provided much needed local employment, but he became a recluse, taking the most extreme measures to avoid being seen in public, or even by his own servants. This tendency may have been inherited from his mother, who in her later years shunned all society and did not like to be observed by her servants. In the 1830s he courted the singer, Adelaide Kemble, who is said to have rejected a proposal of marriage, and he remained unmarried and without issue. Long after his death, his notorious eccentricities lent credence to false claims in 1896 that he had led a double life as a London draper called Thomas Charles Druce (d. 1864), which resulted in a celebrated peerage case.
He inherited Welbeck Abbey and the Marylebone and Ayrshire estates from his father in 1854. He bought the Langwell (Caithness) estate between 1857 and 1869. At his death most of his property passed to his first cousin once removed, who became the 6th Duke of Portland (q.v.), but the Ayrshire estate was divided between his sisters, Lady Ossington and Lady Howard de Walden, while his property in Marylebone (Middx) was bequeathed to his surviving sisters as tenants in common, passing ultimately to Lady Howard de Walden, as the last survivor.
He died at his London home, Harcourt House in Cavendish Square, 6 December 1879, and was buried at Kensal Green Cemetery, 12 December 1879; his will was proved 12 March 1880 (effects under £1,500,000).

Lord William Charles Augustus
Cavendish-Bentinck (1780-1826) 
Bentinck (later Cavendish-Bentinck), Rt. Hon. Lord William Charles Augustus (1780-1826). 
Third 
son of William Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (1738-1809), 3rd Duke of Portland, and his wife Lady Dorothy, only daughter of William Cavendish (1720-64), 4th Duke of Devonshire, born at Burlington House, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 20 May and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster, 17 June 1780. An officer in the army (Ensign, 1796; Lt., 1798; Capt., 1798; Maj., 1802; Lt-Col. 1802; retired 1811). MP for Ashburton (Devon), 1807-12; Treasurer of the Household, 1812-26; sworn of the Privy Council, 1812. He married 1st, 21 September 1808 at St Peter, Chester (Ches.), Georgiana Augusta Frederica (who used the surname Seymour) (1782-1813), daughter of the courtesan, Grace Dalrymple Elliott (c.1754-1823), reputedly by either HRH George (1762-1830), Prince of Wales (later King George IV) or George James Cholmondeley (1749-1827), 4th Earl and 1st Marquess of Cholmondeley, both of whom acknowledged paternity), and 2nd, 23 July 1816 at St Martin-in-the-Fields, Westminster (Middx), after a notorious elopement and divorce*, Anne (1788-1875), illegitimate daughter of Richard Colley Wesley (later Wellesley) (1760-1842), 1st Marquess Wellesley, and formerly wife of Sir William Abdy (1778-1868), 7th bt., and had issue:
(1.1) Hon. Georgiana Augusta Frederica Henrietta Cavendish-Bentinck (1811-83), born 21 August 1811 and baptised at Heckfield (Hants), 6 September 1812; raised after her mother's death by Lord Cholmondeley at Cholmondeley Castle; died unmarried, 12 September 1883; administration of goods granted 24 January 1884 (effects £1,568);
(2.1) Anne Hyacinthe Cavendish-Bentinck (1816-88), born 1 September 1816 and baptised at St Mary Abbotts, Kensington (Middx), 14 May 1818; died unmarried at Hotel St. Charles, Cannes (France), 7 June 1888; will proved 15 September 1888 (estate £48,322);
(2.2) Rev. Charles William Frederick (Cavendish-)Bentinck (1817-65), born 8 September 1817 and baptised at St Mary Abbotts, Kensington, 14 May 1818; educated at Merton College and New Inn Hall, Oxford (matriculated 1837; BA 1845; MA 1846); ordained deacon, 1846; vicar of Husborne Crawley and Ridgmont (Beds), 1849-65; married 1st, 26 September 1839 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, Sinetta (1821-50), 'a Romany princess', daughter of James Lambourne, and had issue two sons, who both died in infancy; married 2nd, 13 December 1859 at St Paul, Wilton Place, Westminster, Caroline Louisa (1832-1918) (who m2, 30 November 1870 at St Barnabas, Pimlico (Middx), Harry Warren Scott (1833-89), third son of Sir William Scott, 6th bt., of Ancrum (Berwicks)), eldest daughter of Edwyn Burnaby of Baggrave Hall (Leics), and had issue three daughters; died 17 August 1865 and was buried at Croxton (Cambs);
(2.3) Gen. Arthur Cavendish-Bentinck (1819-77) (q.v.);
(2.4) Emily Cavendish-Bentinck (1820-50), said to have been born in April 1820; married, 8 November 1845 at Cuckney (Notts), Rev. Henry Hopwood (1810-59), rector of Bothal (Northbld), and had issue two sons and one daughter; died of puerperal fever following childbirth, 6 January 1850.
After retiring from the army, he lived in London. His widow lived at Norfolk St. in the Savoy until her death.
He died suddenly of an aneurysm, 28 April 1826 and was buried at St Marylebone (Middx), 3 May 1826; no will has been traced. His first wife died 10 December and was buried at St Marylebone, 17 December 1813. His widow died 19 March 1875; her will was proved 8 May 1875 (effects under £45,000).
* Sir William Abdy was awarded £7,000 in damages for 'criminal conversation' against Cavendish-Bentinck, but this seems never to have been paid.

Lt-Gen. Arthur Cavendish-Bentinck 
Cavendish-Bentinck, Gen. Arthur Charles (1819-77). 
Second son of Lord William Charles Augustus Cavendish-Bentinck (1780-1826) and his second wife, 
Anne, illegitimate daughter of 1st Marquess Wellesley, and formerly wife of Sir William Abdy, 7th bt., born 10 May 1819. An officer in the army (Cornet, 1838; Lt., 1840; Capt., 1847; Maj., 1851; Lt-Col., 1854; retired as Col., 1858; Maj-Gen., 1868; Lt-Gen., 1877). He married 1st, 18 February 1857 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Elizabeth Sophie (1835-58), eldest daughter of Sir St Vincent Hawkins-Whitshed, 2nd bt., and 2nd, 10 June 1862 at Weybridge (Surrey), Augusta Mary Elizabeth (1834-93), created in 1880 Baroness Bolsover in her own right, younger daughter of Very Rev. and Hon. Henry Montague Browne, Dean of Lismore, and had issue:
(1.1) William John Arthur Charles James Cavendish-Bentinck (1857-1943), 6th Duke of Portland (q.v.);
(2.1) Lord Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (1863-1931) of Underley Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale (Westmld), born at Eversleigh (Hants), 28 May and baptised at All Saints, Knightsbridge (Middx), 13 July 1863; educated at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1881); granted the style and precedence of a duke's son, 1880 and was heir presumptive to his half-brother until 1893; Conservative MP for Norfolk NW, 1886-92, Nottingham South, 1895-1906, 1910-29; member of London County Council, 1907-10; an officer in the Derbyshire Yeomanry (Lt-Col.), who served in the Boer War and First World War; Lord Lieutenant of Westmorland, 1927-31; married, 27 January 1892 at St Margaret, Westminster, Lady Olivia Caroline Amelia DGStJ (1869-1939), daughter of Col. Thomas Taylour (1844-93), Earl of Bective, but had no issue; died 6 October 1931; will proved 12 November 1931 (estate £57,452);
(2.2) Lord William Augustus Cavendish-Bentinck (1865-1903), born 31 January and baptised at Send, Ripley (Surrey), 29 March 1865; educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1883); granted the style and precedence of a duke's son, 1880; an officer in the 10th Hussars (2nd Lt., 1887; Lt., 1889; Capt., 1893; Maj., 1902), who served in the Boer War and was awarded the DSO, 1901; died unmarried of a heart attack at sea off Ismailia (Egypt), 4 November 1903; will proved 21 November 1903 (estate £100,637);
(2.3) Lord Charles Cavendish-Bentinck (1868-1956), of Birlingham Court (Worcs) and later of Oxton Hall (Notts), born in Dublin, 7 October 1868; granted the style and precedence of a duke's son, 1880; educated at Eton; an officer in the army (2nd Lt., 1889; Lt., 1889; Capt., 1900; Br. Maj., 1900; retired 1906 but returned to regiment, 1914; T/Lt-Col., 1916) who served in the Boer War (wounded and mentioned in despatches) and First World War (wounded, mentioned in despatches three times); Master of Blankney Hunt, 1906-08 and of Southwold and Burton Hunts c.1920; JP (from 1930) and DL (from 1937) for Nottinghamshire; married, 27 February 1897 at Taplow (Bucks), Cecily Mary DGstJ (1872-1936), daughter of Charles Seymour Grenfell, and had issue two daughters; died 19 June 1956; will proved 14 September 1956 (estate £73,143);
(2.4) Lady Ottoline Violet Anne Cavendish-Bentinck (1873-1938), born 16 June and baptised at St Thomas, St Marylebone (Middx), 23 July 1873; granted the style and precedence of a duke's daughter, 1880; educated at Somerville College, Oxford; a famous literary hostess and patron of the arts, who supported and promoted the work of many young artists, sculptors, poets and authors; she was also an enthusiastic decorator, gardener and photographer; married, 8 February 1902, in an open marriage where both parties took lovers, Philip Edward Morrell (1870-1943) of Garsington Manor (Oxon), MP for Oxford South, 1906-10 and Burnley, 1910-18, only surviving son of Frederick Morrell of Black Hall, Oxford, and had issue one son (who died young) and one daughter, but she also brought up several of her husband's children by other women; she had a long affair with Bertrand Russell from 1911 until her death, but other lovers may have included Augustus John, Henry Lamb, Dora Carrington and Roger Fry, as well as a gardener and stonemason employed at Garsington; the affair with the stonemason may have influenced the plot of D.H. Lawrence's Lady Chatterley's Lover (1928); died 21 April 1938 and was buried at Holbeck (Notts); will proved 20 July 1938 (estate £1,832).
He lived at East Court, Wokingham (Berks) and in London after retiring from the army.
He died 11 December 1877 and was buried at Holbeck (Notts); his will was proved 18 March 1878 (effects under £25,000). His first wife died at Kinnard House (Perths) following childbirth, 4 January 1858. His widow died 7 August 1893; her will was proved 27 February 1894 (effects £7,534).

6th Duke of Portland
Cavendish-Bentinck, Rt. Hon. William John Arthur Charles James (1857-1943), 6th Duke of Portland. 
Only child of Gen. Arthur Cavendish-Bentinck (1819-77) and his first wife, 
Elizabeth Sophie, eldest daughter of Sir St Vincent Hawkins-Whitshed, 2nd bt., born at Kinnaird House (Perths.), 28 December 1857. Educated at Eton, 1871-73. An officer in the Coldstream Guards (Lt., 1877-80); Lt-Col. of the Hon. Artillery Company, 1881-89; Hon. Col of 4th Battalion, Sherwood Foresters, 1889-91; President of Nottinghamshire Territorial Army Association. He succeeded his first cousin once removed as 6th Duke of Portland, 6 December 1879, and his stepmother* as 2nd Baron Bolsover, 7 August 1893, and was appointed GCVO, 1896 and KG, 1900, serving as Chancellor of the Order of the Garter, 1937-43. He was Master of the Horse, 1886-92, 1895-1905 and was sworn of the Privy Council, 1886. Chairman of the first Royal Commission on Horse-Breeding, 1888-1912; Lord Lieutenant of Caithness, 1889-1919 and of Nottinghamshire, 1898-1939. President of Highland & Agricultural Society of Scotland, 1888-89; Provincial Grand Master of Nottinghamshire Freemasons, 1898-1933; and Harleian Trustee of the British Museum. He was Bailiff Grand Cross of the Order of St. John, and held foreign orders from Spain, Serbia and Belgium. He was a noted breeder of racehorses, and won the Derby in 1888 (with Ayrshire) and 1889 (with Donovan). He was the author of Men, Women and Things; Fifty years and more of sport in Scotland; Memories of Racing and Hunting; and The Red Deer of Longwell and Braemore. In his later years he fostered research into the history of Welbeck and its collections, leading to the publication of A.S. Turberville's History of Welbeck and its owners (1938-39) and catalogues of his plate and pictures. He married, 11 June 1889 at St Peter, Eaton Sq., Westminster (Middx), Winifred Anna DBE DGStJ JP (1863-1954), Mistress of the Robes to HM Queen Alexandra, 1913-25, only daughter of Thomas Yorke Dallas (later Dallas-Yorke) of Walmsgate (Lincs), and had issue:
(1) Lady Victoria Alexandrina Violet Cavendish-Bentinck (1890-1994), born 27 February 1890; Extra Woman of the Bedchamber to HM Queen Elizabeth (later Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother), 1937; married, 25 November 1918, Capt. Michael John Erskine Wemyss (1888-1982) of Wemyss Castle (Fife), and had issue two sons; died aged 104, 8 May 1994;
(2) William Arthur Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (1893-1977), 7th Duke of Portland (q.v.);
(3) Lord (Francis) Morven Dallas Cavendish-Bentinck (1900-50), born 27 July 1900; educated at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford and trained in estate management; an officer in the RAF Volunteer Reserve (Fl-Lt.) and in the Nottinghamshire Yeomanry (Lt.); Chairman of Nottingham branch of Alliance Assurance; a semi-professional pianist, he was President of Mansfield & District Music Club; died unmarried, 22 August 1950; will proved 17 January 1951 (estate £56,884).
He inherited the Welbeck Abbey, Bothal Castle and Langwell properties from his first cousin once removed in 1879. He and his son agreed to break the entail on the estates so that they could pass to the 7th Duke's daughters.
He died 26 April 1943 and was buried at Holbeck (Notts); his will was proved 16 September 1943 and 26 April 1943 (estate £210,916). His widow died 30 July 1954; her will was proved 21 October 1954 (estate £87,859).
* This resulted from the unusual remainder in the Bolsover peerage patent to the heirs male of the body of Gen. Arthur Cavendish-Bentinck, rather than only the heirs male by Augusta. As a result, the barony of Bolsover became merged with the dukedom of Portland until it became extinct on the death of the 7th Duke in 1977.

7th Duke of Portland
Cavendish-Bentinck, William Arthur Henry (1893-1977), 7th Duke of Portland. 
Elder son of William John Arthur Charles James Cavendish-Bentinck (1857-1943), 6th Duke of Portland and his wife Winifred Anna DBE, only daughter of Thomas Yorke Dallas-Yorke of Walmsgate (Lincs), born in London, 16 March and baptised at Welbeck, 22 May 1893. Educated at Eton. As a young man he was known as 'Sonny'. An officer in the Royal Horse Guards in the First World War, who served as an ADC on the Personal Staff, 1914-16 and later in France and Gallipoli. Lt-Col. commanding the Nottinghamshire Yeomanry, 1933-36; hon. Air Commodore, 616 Squadron, Auxiliary Air Force. Unionist MP for Newark, 1922-43, who served in government as an assistant whip, 1927, junior Lord of the Treasury, 1928-29 and Aug-Nov 1931. He was styled Marquess of Titchfield until he succeeded his father as 7th Duke of Portland, 26 April 1943. Lord Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire, 1939-62; Chancellor of Nottingham University, 1955-71, which awarded him an honorary degree (LLD, 1955). Joint MFH, Rufford Hunt, 1930. He married, 12 August 1915 at Welbeck, Ivy DBE (1887-1982), Maid of Honour to HM Queen Alexandra, 1912-15, only child of Lord Algernon Charles Gordon-Lennox, and had issue:
(1) Lady (Alexandra Margaret) Anne Cavendish-Bentinck (1916-2008) (q.v.);
(2) Lady (Victoria) Margaret Cavendish-Bentinck (1918-55) (q.v.).
In 1930-32 he built a new house (Welbeck Woodhouse) in the park of Welbeck Abbey, to the designs of Brierley & Rutherford. He inherited the Welbeck Abbey, Bothal Castle and Langwell properties from his father in 1943. At his death his estates passed to his elder daughter, but his titles passed to his first cousin twice removed, Ferdinand William Cavendish-Bentinck (1888-1980).
He died 21 March 1977 and was buried at Holbeck (Notts). His widow died 3 March 1982.

Cavendish-Bentinck, Lady (Alexandra Margaret) Anne (1916-2008). Elder daughter of William Arthur Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (1893-1977), 7th Duke of Portland, and his wife Ivy DBE, only child of Lord Algernon Charles Gordon-Lennox, born 6 September 1916. She was a prominent supporter of charities for the blind and of the Girl Guides, who had a permanent camp at Welbeck. Appointed CStJ. She was unmarried and without issue.
She inherited the Welbeck Abbey estates from her father in 1977, and lived at Welbeck Woodhouse. Welbeck Abbey was leased to the Ministry of Defence as an army training college (Welbeck College) until 2005. At her death, her properties passed to her nephew, William Parente (b. 1951).
She died aged 92 on 29 December 2008, and was buried at Welbeck; her will was proved 26 July 2011.

Cavendish-Bentinck, Lady (Victoria) Margaret (1918-55). Younger daughter of William Arthur Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (1893-1977), 7th Duke of Portland, and his wife Ivy DBE, only child of Lord Algernon Charles Gordon-Lennox, born 9 October 1918. She was a trainbearer for HM Queen Elizabeth (later Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother) at the coronation of 1937, and was then granted the status of a duke's daughter (six years before her father inherited the peerages). She married, 12 April 1950 at Welbeck Abbey, Don Gaetano Parente (1909-76), Prince of Castel Viscardo (Italy), eldest son of Marchese Enrico Parente, and had issue:
(1) William Henry Marcello Parente (b. 1951) (q.v.).
She died of polio, 29 August 1955, and was buried at Holbeck (Notts). Her husband died 20 July 1976.

Parente, William Henry Marcello (b. 1951). Only son of Gaetano Parente (1909-76), Prince of Castel Viscardo, and his wife Lady (Victoria) Margaret, younger daughter of William Arthur Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (1893-1977), 7th Duke of Portland, born 18 February 1951. High Sheriff of Nottinghamshire, 2003-04. Appointed CBE, 2017. He married, 23 January 1981, Alison Jane MBE DL (b. 1948), psychotherapist, daughter of John Fraser Swan, and had issue:
(1) Margherita Amelia (k/a Daisy) Parente (b. 1981), born 29 August 1981; educated at Bedales School; literary agent; married, 2011, Aaron David Rosenberg (b. 1982), son of Dr Dana Rosenberg of California (USA), and had issue;
(2) (Henry) Joseph Parente (b. 1983), born 12 January 1983; married, 2013, Anuszka, daughter of Mark Elland of Nether Langwith (Notts), and had issue. 
He inherited the Welbeck Abbey estates from his aunt in 2008 and undertook a major restoration programme at Welbeck Abbey, as well as the Welbeck Project, a scheme to transform listed and architecturally significant 18th and 19th century buildings on the estate into a 21st century business community combining rural and creative industries. He recently moved to Welbeck Woodhouse and the Oxford Wing is being restored to provide a home for his son.
Now living. His wife is now living.

Principal sources

Burke's Peerage and Baronetage, 2003, pp. 3181-87; H. Repton, Observations on the theory and practice of landscape gardening, 1803, pp. 65-72; T. Besterman, The Druce-Portland Case, 1935; A. Hamilton Thompson, The Premonstratensian Abbey of Welbeck, 1938; A.S. Turberville, A history of Welbeck and its owners, 1938-39 (2 vols); J. Harris, William Talman: maverick architect, 1982, pp. 19, 46; M.C. Davis, The castles and mansions of Ayrshire, 1991, pp. 261-63; Sir N. Pevsner, I. Richmond, J. Grundy, G. McCombie, P. Ryder & H. Welfare, The buildings of England: Northumberland, 2nd edn., 1992, p.199; S. Daniels, Humphry Repton, 1999, pp. 166-70; P. Smith, 'Welbeck Abbey and the 5th Duke of Portland', in M. Airs (ed.), The Victorian Great House, 2000, pp. 147-64; P. Smith, ‘Lady Oxford’s alterations at Welbeck Abbey, 1741-55’, Georgian Group Journal, 2001, pp. 133-68; P. Smith, 'Welbeck Abbey and the 6th Duke of Portland', in M. Airs (ed.), The Edwardian Great House, 2001, pp. 77-92; L. Worsley & T. Addyman, ‘Riding houses and horses: William Cavendish’s architecture for the art of horsemanship’, Architectural History, 2002, pp. 194-229; P. Smith, 'The survival of the fittest: Welbeck Abbey and the great houses of Nottinghamshire in the 20th century' in M. Airs (ed.), The Twentieth-Century Great House, 2002, pp. 35-56; D.M.L. Onnekink, The Anglo-Dutch Favourite.The career of Hans Willem Bentinck, 1st Earl of Portland (1649-1709), PhD thesis, Univ. of Utrecht, 2004; L. Worsley, ‘Female architectural patronage in the 18th century and the case of Henrietta Cavendish Holles Harley’, Architectural History, 2005, pp. 139-162; A. Gomme & A. Maguire, Design and plan in the country house, 2008, pp. 70-72; H.J. Grainger, The architecture of Sir Ernest George, 2011, pp. 315-22; R. Close & A. Riches, The buildings of Scotland: Ayrshire and Arran, 2012, pp. 326-27; C. Hartwell, Sir N. Pevsner and E. Williamson, The buildings of England: Derbyshire, 3rd edn., 2016, pp. 167-79; C. Hartwell, Sir N. Pevsner and E. Williamson, The buildings of England: Nottinghamshire, 3rd edn., 2020, pp. 678-90; Oxford Dictionary of National Biography entries for 1st Earl, 2nd Duchess, and 3rd and 5th Dukes of Portland, and for Lord William Henry Cavendish-Bentinck;


Location of archives

Cavendish-Bentinck, Dukes of Portland: deeds, family and estate papers relating to Notts, Derbys, Bucks, Herts, Cumberland, London and Northumberland estates, 12th-20th cents [Nottinghamshire Archives, 157DD/P, DD104/1-2]; deeds, estate and family papers relating to Notts, Derbys, Bucks, Herts, Cumberland, London and Northumberland, 14th-20th cents [Nottingham University Archives, Pl, Pw]; Buckinghamshire deeds and papers, 16th cent-1810 [Buckinghamshire Archives, D-RA]; Titchfield deeds, manorial records and estate papers, 13th-18th cents [Hampshire Archives & Local Studies, 5M53]; St Marylebone estate papers, 1765-1882 [City of Westminster Archives BRA1208, D/Wh, Acc 2273, HDW]; Ayrshire estate papers, 1736-20th cent. [Ayrshire Archives, ATD1, ATD13]
Cavendish-Bentinck, Margaret (1715-85), 2nd Duchess of Portland: correspondence and papers, c.1712-81 [Longleat House Archives, PO]

Coat of arms

Quarterly: 1st and 4th, Azure a cross moline Argent (Bentinck); 2nd and 3rd, Sable three stags' heads cabossed Argent attired Or, a crescent for difference (Cavendish)

Can you help?

  • Can anyone supply a good photograph of Welbeck Woodhouse?
  • Can anyone provide photographs or portraits of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 5 February 2024 and updated 7 February 2024 and 13 July 2025. I am grateful for the assistance of Pete Smith, Alex Bond and Gregor Matheson Pierrepont with preparing the articles on this family, to Dart Montgomery for suggesting improvements, and to James Hargrave for a correction.