Showing posts with label Aberdeenshire. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Aberdeenshire. Show all posts

Friday, 3 July 2026

(639) Bisset of Lessendrum

Bisset of Lessendrum
The Bissets are a very ancient Scottish family, who are said to have acquired Lessendrum in 1252. They built a tower house on the estate in the late 15th century, and this in turn was replaced by an L-plan mansion in the 17th century. The estate was forfeited after the death in battle of Patrick Bisset in 1562, and was out of the family until 1611, when George Bisset (c.1550-1623), 'the restorer' recovered possession. The genealogy below begins with him. The family were at this time staunch Roman Catholics, and George's son Robert Bisset (d. 1646) and the latter's daughter Isobel were both arraigned before the Turriff Presbytery for failure to sign the Solemn League and Covenant and excommunicated, while one of his younger sons was a Catholic priest. In the late 1640s, Robert's son and heir, Alexander Bisset (d. 1693) was also in trouble with the Presbytery and with the Scottish Privy Council, although he seems to have avoided excommunication. Subsequent generations appear to have conformed to the established church. Alexander's eldest son, Robert Bisset (d. 1651) married a daughter of Sir Alexander Abercromby of Birkenbog and had several children, but only one surviving son. This was James Bisset (1682?-1747), who had a large family but only two sons, one of whom died in his lifetime. His heir was therefore his younger son, Alexander Bisset (1734-95), who was unmarried and settled the estate on his surviving sisters for life, with remainder to his cousin, Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821). Maurice was descended from Major William Bisset (1661?-1727), the second son of Alexander Bisset (d. 1693), who became an officer in the army and settled first in Westminster and later in Southampton (Hants).

In 1741, Major Bisset's daughter, Sophia (b. 1711), became the second wife of Maj-Gen. Maurice Bocland (c.1695-1765) of Knighton House (Isle of Wight), and ten years later Sophia's brother, the Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82), married the General's daughter (by his first marriage), Jane. Alexander was ordained in the Church of England but after five years in a country parish in Northamptonshire, found preferment in the Church of Ireland, where he quickly rose to become Archdeacon of Connor and eventually Chancellor of Armagh Cathedral. Although senior Church of Ireland clergy were quite often non-resident at this time, Alexander does seem to have lived in Ireland, and his second son, the Rt Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834), had a similarly illustrious clerical career and ended his days as Bishop of Raphoe. It is said that he was invited in his last years to became Archbishop of Dublin, but declined due to his age and increasing infirmity.

Gillray cartoon of Sir Richard Worsley assisting his friend
 Maurice Bisset to watch Lady Worsley bathing. 
Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) was the eldest son of the Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset, and inherited Knighton House from his maternal grandfather in 1765. After coming of age in 1778 he seems to have moved to the Isle of Wight, where he soon began a scandalous affair with Lady Worsley, the wife of his neighbour, Sir Richard Worsley of Appledurcombe, which resulted in the birth of a child, who died in infancy. Although Worsley appears to have been not only tolerant of, but also complicit in, his wife's affairs, he eventually brought an action for 'criminal conversation' (adultery) against Bisset. The jury convicted Bisset but awarded damages of a derisory shilling, as the evidence given at the trial demonstrated that Sir Richard knew Lady Worsley had been serially unfaithful and that her husband had invited his friends to admire her charms while she was naked in her bath. Whether the scandal affected Maurice Bisset's eligibility is unclear, but when he married in 1787 it was to an illegitimate daughter of the Earl of Peterborough; they had two daughters, Jane Harriott Bisset (1789-1866) and Ann Bisset (1798-1879), who sold the Knighton estate in 1823.

In 1815, Maurice George Bisset inherited the Lessendrum estate on the death of his kinswoman, Mary Abel, the last surviving sister of Alexander Bisset (1734-95). When he died in 1821, this property passed to his next brother, the Rt. Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834), under the entail established by Alexander Bisset. Since the bishop lived in Ireland he seems to have let the house at Lessendrum, although he did occasionally visit it for holidays, and it was on one such holiday that he died in 1834. Under the entail, the estate then passed to his nephew, William Bisset (1797-1858), who probably found the house in poor repair after nearly half a century when it had been mostly let. In 1837 he employed Archibald Simpson to undertake a major campaign of repairs and enlargement, but although it became his principal residence he seems also to rented a succession of properties in England where he spent a good deal of his time. William and his wife had only one child, a daughter, Jane Frances Bisset (1832-91), who was twice married and lived in Devon. She was excluded from succession to Lessendrum by the operation of the entail, which instead dictated that on the extinction of male heirs of the Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82), the property should pass to the eldest daughter of the senior line of his descendants. This was Jane Harriot Bisset (1789-1866), the elder daughter of Maurice George Bisset of Knighton House.

Jane Harriot Bisset had inherited Dauntsey House (Wilts) from her uncle, the 5th and last Earl of Peterborough, in 1814, and in 1824 married her cousin, the Rev. Maurice George Fenwick (1797-1879), who began life as an officer in the King's Dragoon Guards but later took holy orders and was rector of Drumholm (Co. Donegal) and from 1846-51, archdeacon of Raphoe. She handed over the Dauntsey estate to their son around 1840, and it is unclear where they lived after her husband resigned the archdeaconry in 1851 until in 1858 she inherited Lessendrum under the entail. She and her husband took the surname Fenwick-Bisset soon afterwards and they moved to Scotland. Their son, Mordaunt Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset) (1825-84) sold Dauntsey House in 1853 and rented Pixton Park (Somerset), which was ideally located for the indulgence of his passion for stag hunting. In 1851 he married Susan Popham and they inherited Bagborough House (Somerset) from her family. He also acquired Lessendrum on the death of his mother in 1866, although it continued to be occupied by his father until 1879. When he died without issue in 1884, Bagborough reverted to the Pophams and Lessendrum passed to his sister, Janet (1826-1905), the widow of Dr Joseph Favière Elrington, an Irish lawyer. She took the name Elrington-Bisset after inheriting Lessendrum, and left the estate to her eldest surviving son, Maj. Maurice Elrington-Bisset (1854-1909), who served with the Royal Engineers and the Ordnance Survey. He and his wife had one son and one daughter, who succeeded in turn to the Lessendrum estate. His son, Walter Favière Elrington-Bisset (1889-1915) was killed in action at the Battle of Loos during the First World War, whereupon the estate devolved on his sister, Janet (1886-1953) later the wife of Lt-Col. William Turner Murray (1889-1949). They took the name Murray-Bisset, and had one son and two daughters, but Lessendrum was burned down in 1928 and never repaired or rebuilt. They retained the estate but lived at Mayen, Rothiemay (Banffs.) and later in a dower house at Lessendrum. The estate descended to their son, John Mordaunt Murray-Bisset (1926-90), who built a new farmhouse on the estate in the 1970s but subsequently sold the estate in 1981.

Lessendrum House, Drumblade, Aberdeenshire

The Bissets are said to have built a tower house here in about 1470, which was in turn replaced by a L-plan house in the 17th century. In the early 19th century, this building was developed into a courtyard house with additions and alterations in 1816 and 1837. The latter works largely produced the house that was recorded later, and were designed by Archibald Simpson for William Bisset (1797-1858) on a bold scale, with a series of large reception rooms with big windows set above a much lower ground floor containing service accommodation. The main (north-west) front is all Simpson's work, and has a gabled bay and tower at the north end balanced by a larger canted bay gable with octagonal buttresses at the south end. The house is built of rubble stone, originally harled, and has diagonally-shafted chimneystacks of Tudor inspiration.

Lessendrum House: the older part of the house before the fire of 1928.

Lessendrum House: the wing added by Archibald Simpson in 1837, before the fire.
Regrettably, the house was completely gutted by a fire on 12 January 1928, which is understood to have started in the furnace room where the central heating boiler was kept. A shortage of equipment prevented the Huntly fire brigade from bringing the fire under control, and although the most important paintings and some furniture and personal possessions were rescued before the fire became too intense, the majority of the family's belongings were destroyed, including a valuable library and the family muniments. 

Lessendrum House: the ruins in 2015. Image: Anne Burgess. Some rights reserved.
In the end only the external walls were left standing, and parts of those have since collapsed: the house has remained a ruin ever since, slowly disintegrating and being swallowed by ivy. The family retained the estate after the fire, but lived elsewhere until 1958, when they returned to live on the estate, and in 1972 a new farmhouse was built as a replacement for the old mansion. The estate was finally sold in 1981.

Descent: Patrick Bisset (d. 1562); to son, George Bisset (c.1550-1623); to son, Robert Bisset (d. 1646); to son, Alexander Bisset (d. 1693); to son, Robert Bisset (b. 1651); to son, James Bisset (1682?-1747); to son, Alexander Bisset (1734-95), who settled the property on his sisters for life with remainder to his cousin, Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821); to brother, Rt Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834), bishop of Raphoe; to nephew, William Bisset (1797-1858); to cousin, Jane Harriot Bisset (1789-1866), wife of Ven. Maurice George Bisset (1797-1879); to son, Mordaunt Fenwick Bisset (1825-84); to sister, Janet (1826-1905), wife of Dr Joseph Faviere Elrington (1823-83); to son, Maj. Maurice Elrington (later Elrington-Bisset) (1854-1909); to son, Walter Faviere Elrington-Bisset (1889-1915); to sister, Janet Kathleen (1886-1953), wife of Lt-Col. William Turner Murray (later Murray-Bisset) (1889-1949), during whose ownership the house was destroyed by fire; to son, John Mordaunt Murray-Bisset (1926-90), who sold 1981...

Knighton House (aka Knighton Gorges), Newchurch, Isle of Wight

The house was described by Sir Henry Englefield in his Description of the principal picturesque beauties, antiquities etc. of the isle of Wight in 1816 as 'by far the most considerable and beautiful of the ancient mansions of the island'. The irregular plan and elevations revealed by surviving drawings and engravings suggest that it was a substantial medieval house to which piecemeal later alterations and additions were made. 

Knighton Gorges House: the mansion in 1781 from Worsley's History of the Isle of Wight.

Knighton Gorges House: the mansion in 1816, from Englefield's Description.. of the Isle of Wight.
Most of the identifiable features at the time it was recorded seem to have been 16th or early 17th century. Englefield's description is worth quoting in full:
The principal front to the north is of the age of Elizabeth, irregular and broken by projections. The windows are large, divided by stone mullions, square headed and without any smaller arches in the angles of the lights. The general form very good, and the stone of which the whole house, except the chimneys, is built , is of an extremely fine grey tint. The west end of the house is enveloped in ivy which winds lightly round a tall stack of clustered chimneys, and embroiders with its deep green shoots the glowing yellow of the ancient mossy-tiled roof. This has been closely trimmed, injuring its beauty and giving a rather formal appearance. At the north-east angle of the house is a plain square tower of great strength and antiquity, in whose foundations there is a dungeon of considerable depth. Near this tower part of a very handsome pointed window, similar to windows in Arreton church and the chapel at Swainston. This has been partly obliterated by the insertion of a window of the same date as the north front. The south front has been modernised by sash windows, but the colour is good and two great gables remain uninjured.

The house contains several large and convenient rooms. Some have a handsome wainscot, probably contemporary with the north front. The drawing room on the first floor is spacious and handsome. A long gallery, low and ill-lighted, extends through the centre of the house, under the roof. No painted glass remains in the windows, except one coat with the arms of Isabella de Fortibus, but this appears to be of date much later than her time.

Englefield's description is all we have to go on, for the house was completely demolished soon afterwards. It is often said that Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) objected so strongly to his elder daughter's marriage to her cousin, the Rev. Maurice George Fenwick, that when they disregarded his wishes and married anyway, he pulled down the house to ensure that his oath that they would never set foot in Knighton Gorges again was realised. This is just a fairy story, however, for the marriage did not take place until three years after his death and his will left generous provision for his wife and both daughters. The Victoria County History records that in fact the house was demolished in 1820 after a serious fire. The gardens west and south-west of the house site have been the subject of archaeological investigation, and continued to be maintained for some time after the house was pulled down. They comprised a series of compartments surrounded by 18th century banks and brick walls, and in the east wall there is still an alcove with an arched entrance. The only other survival is a pair of 18th century gatepiers south of the house site. Of the ancient chapel on the edge of the lake mentioned in Worsley's History of the Isle of Wight (1781) and Englefield, no trace remains.

Descent: sold 1563 to Anthony Dillington; to son, Sir Robert Dillington (d. 1604); to nephew, Sir Robert Dillington (d. 1664), 1st bt; to son, Sir Robert Dillington (c.1634-87), 2nd bt.; to son, Sir Robert Dillington (c.1664-89), 3rd bt.; to son, Sir John Dillington (d. 1706), 4th bt.; to half-uncle, Sir Tristram Dillington (c.1678-1721), 5th bt.; to sisters, Mary and Hannah Dillington; to nephew, Gen. Maurice Bocland (d. 1765); to grandson, Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821), who pulled the house down after a fire; estate sold 1823 to Sir Samuel Spicer...


Bisset family of Lessendrum


Bisset, George (c.1550-1623). Son of Patrick Bisset (d. 1562) and his wife, born about 1550. He married and had issue, probably among others:
(1) Robert Bisset (d. 1646) (q.v.);
(2) Fr. George Bisset, a Roman Catholic priest.
In 1611 he recovered the Lessendrum estate, which had been forfeited after his father was killed in rebellion at the Battle of Corrichie in 1562.
He died 25 January 1623 and was buried at Drumblade (Aberdeens.), where he is commemorated by a monument. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, Robert (d. 1646). Elder recorded son of George Bisset (c.1550-1623) and his wife. He was a Roman Catholic in religion and was excommunicated by the established church for refusing to attend the kirk of Turriff or to sign the Solemn League and Covenant. He married, [forename unknown], second daughter 0f George Gordon of Cocklarachie, and had issue including:
(1) Alexander Bisset (d. 1693) (q.v.);
(2) Jean Bisset; married, 1633/4, James Gordon (d. 1643), and had issue at least one son;
(3) Isobel Bisset; a Roman Catholic in religion, she was excommunicated by the Presbytery of Turriff for refusing to attend the kirk or sign the Solemn League and Covenant; died unmarried;
(4) Helen Bisset; married 1st, Robert Crichton of Bainshole and Drumdollo, and 2nd, Alexander Gordon of Birkenburn and had issue three sons.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father in 1623, and was probably responsible for replacing the castle with an L-plan house.
He died in 1646. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, Alexander (d. 1693). Son of Robert Bisset (d. 1646) and his wife [forename unknown], second daughter of George Gordon of Cocklarachie, born before 1632. A Roman Catholic in religion, like his father, he was denounced as a rebel by the Privy Council, and was repeatedly hauled before the Presbytery of Turriff, who ordered him to sign the Solemn League and Covenant and then to confess to other sins and do penance on his knees before the congregation. He married, 1650, Anne (d. 1714), daughter of Robert Gordon of Straloch, and had issue including:
(1) Robert Bisset (b. 1651) (q.v.);
(2) Maj. William Bisset (b. 1661?) (q.v.);
(3) George Bisset (fl. 1742);
(4) Charles Bisset (d. 1742);
(5) Lewis Bisset;
(6) Alexander Bisset.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father in 1646, but was not served heir until 1652.
He died in 1693. His widow died in 1714.

Bisset, Robert (b. 1651). Eldest son of Alexander Bisset (d. 1693) and his wife Anne, daughter of Robert Gordon of Straloch, born 1651. He married, 1681 (contract 6 June), Agnes (b. 1663), eldest daughter of Sir Alexander Abercromby (1608-84), 1st bt., of Birkenbog, and his second wife, Jean Sutherland of Kinminity, and had issue:
(1) James Bisset (1682?-1747);
(2) Alexander Bisset; accidentally drowned;
(3) Jane Bisset; married, 1730, James Gordon (d. 1771), of Cocklarachie, and had issue two sons and two daughters;
(4) Margaret Bisset;
(5) Ann Bisset; married, 1706, Peter Gordon (d. 1762) of Ardmeallie (who m2, Mary, eldest daughter of James Duff of Crombie, and had further issue two sons and two daughters), and had issue three children, who all died young.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father in 1693.
His date of death is unknown. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, James (1682?-1747). Elder son of Robert Bisset (b. 1651) and his wife Agnes, daughter of Sir Alexander Abercromby, 1st bt., of Birkenbog, born after 1681. He married, 1722, Anne (1706-82), daughter of Alexander Dun of Tarty, and had issue, perhaps among others:
(1) Robert Bisset (b. 1723), baptised at Drumblade, 14 October 1723; died in the lifetime of his father;
(2) Anne Bisset (fl. 1795); she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs; died unmarried;
(3) Agnes Bisset (b. 1726), baptised at Drumblade, 22 November 1726; she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs; died unmarried;
(4) Mary Bisset (d. 1815); married, 25 April 1769 at Drumblade, Rev. George Abel (c.1737-94) of Drumblade (Aberdeens.); she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs, of whom she was the last survivor; died in Aberdeen, 6 December 1815;
(5) Jean Bisset (b. 1728), baptised at Drumblade, 12 April 1728;
(6) Margaret Bisset (b. 1730), baptised at Drumblade, 24 December 1730; she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs;
(7) Elizabeth Bisset (b. 1732), baptised at Drumblade, 22 June 1732; she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs;
(8) Alexander Bisset (1734-95) (q.v.);
(9) Catherine Bisset; probably died young.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father. At his death the estate passed to his son Alexander and then to his daughters as co-heirs.
He died in 1747; his will was confirmed 18 June 1747. His widow died in 1782.

Bisset, Alexander (1734-95). Second, but only surviving, son of James Bisset (d. 1747) and his wife Anne, daughter of Alexander Dun of Tarty, baptised at Drumblade, 27 January 1734. He was unmarried and without issue.
He inherited the Lessendrum estate from his father in 1748 and came of age in 1755. He later settled the estate on his sisters for life with remainder to his cousin, Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) (q.v.).
He died in London, 1 August 1795; his will was confirmed in Edinburgh, 6 November 1795.

Bisset, Maj. William (1661?-1727). Second son of Alexander Bisset (d. 1693) and his wife Anne, daughter of Robert Gordon of Straloch, said to have been born in 1661. An officer in the army (Capt. 1695; Maj., 1711; still serving in 1717). He married, 1 September 1698 at All Hallows the Great, London, Mary, daughter of Thomas Sutton of Kensington (Middx), and had issue:
(1) Mary Bisset (c.1700-61?), born about 1700; married, 8 December 1718* at St Edmund King & Martyr, Lombard St., London, William Trelawny (b. 1696), army officer (Capt.), son of Brig-Gen. Henry Trelawny MP, and had issue four sons (including Capt. Sir William Trelawny RN, 6th bt., Governor of Jamaica); said to have died in 1761;
(2) William Bisset (1703-17), born 7 November and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 18 November 1703; said to have died young at Southampton (Hants) in 1717, and is not mentioned in his father's will;
(3) Martha Bisset (b. 1705), born 27 July and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 31 July 1705; probably the woman of this name who married, 6 August 1726 at St Clement Danes, Westminster (Middx), Arthur Pye; death not traced;
(4) Ann Bisset (1708-15); died young and was buried at Holy Rood, Southampton, 27 July 1715;
(5) Sophia Bisset (b. 1711); married, 4 November 1741 at Bristol Cathedral (Glos), as his second wife, Lt-Gen. Maurice Bocland (c.1695-1765) of Knighton House, Newchurch (IoW), MP for Yarmouth (IoW), 1733-34, Lymington (Hants), 1734-41, Yarmouth, 1741-47 and Newtown (IoW), 1747-54, but had no issue; death not traced;
(6) Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82) (q.v.).
He lived in Westminster (Middx) and probably later at Southampton.
He is said to have died in Southampton, 18 July 1727; his will was proved 10 November 1727. His wife predeceased him, and is said to have died in Southampton in 1722.
* The parish register gives her name as Ann Bisset, but her father's will makes it clear that it was Mary who married William Trelawny.

Bisset, Rev. Dr. Alexander (c.1714-82). Second son of Maj. William Bisset and his wife, born about 1714. Educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1734; BA 1738; MA 1741; BD and DD 1753). Ordained deacon, 1742, and priest, 1742. Rector of Ravensthorpe (Northants), 1742-47, Ballinderry and Tamlaght (Co. Armagh), 1751-57, and Carrick (Co. Louth), 1757-65; Chancellor of Down Cathedral, 1748-59; prebendary of Armagh Cathedral, 1757-65; archdeacon of Connor, 1759-82; Chancellor of Armagh Cathedral, 1765-82. He married, 14 October 1752 at Charlton Mackrell (Som.), Jane, daughter of General Bocland alias Buckland (1695-1765) of Knighton House, Newchurch (IoW), and had issue:
(1) Elizabeth Bisset (c.1755-1846), born about 1755; married, 4 August 1786 at Conway in Clynnog Fawr (Caernarvons.), William Fenwick (1750-1825) of Dublin and later Beaumaris (Anglesey), an official of the Customs House in Dublin, son of Robert Fenwick (1717-1802) of Lemmington (Northbld.), and had issue five sons (including the Ven. Maurice George Fenwick (later Bisset), who married his cousin, Jane Harriot Bisset (1789-1866) (q.v.)) and one daughter; died 2 October 1846 and was buried in the Cathedral churchyard at Raphoe;
(2) Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) (q.v.);
(3) Rt. Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834) (q.v.);
(4) Alexander Bisset (b. 1761) (q.v.);
(5) Jane Bisset (1762-71), born 11 May 1762; died young, 12 February 1771 and was buried at Kilmore (Co. Armagh), where she is commemorated by a monument;
(6) Henry Bisset (1764-80), born about 1764; died at sea, off Ushant, 10 August 1780;
(7) Rev. Dr. George Bisset (c.1765-1828); educated at Westminster School and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1783; BA 1787; MA 1790); ordained deacon, 1793, and priest, 1793; vicar of Malmesbury, 1793-1828 and rector of Dauntsey, 1800-28; chaplain to Charles Henry Mordaunt, 5th Earl of Peterborough, 1800-14; curate of Stratton (Glos), 1823; married, 2 September 1820 at Westport St Mary (Wilts), Lady Catherine (1775-1850), daughter of John Howard (1739-1820), 15th Earl of Suffolk and 8th Earl of Berkshire, but had no issue; buried at Dauntsey, 29 November 1828; administration of goods with will annexed granted in the PCC, 23 December 1828;
(8) Sophia Bisset (c.1767-1837), born about 1767; married, 27 June 1810 at Hampstead Norris (Berks), Gen. Sir Robert Brownrigg (1758-1833), 1st bt., Governor of Ceylon, 1813-19, but had no issue; died 25 April 1837; will proved 29 June 1837.
His date of death is unknown; his will was proved in the PCC, 14 March 1782. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, Maurice George (1757-1821). Eldest son of Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82) and his wife Jane, daughter of Lt-Gen. Maurice Bocland of Knighton (IoW), born 1757. Educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1775) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1779). An officer in the South Hampshire Militia; JP for Hampshire. In 1781-82 he had a scandalous affair with Lady Worsley, the wife of his neighbour, Sir Richard Worsley of Appledurcombe (IoW), and she bore him an illegitimate daughter, whose paternity was accepted by Sir Richard to avoid scandal. Lady Worsley had at least half a dozen known lovers (some accounts say there were dozens), and when her marriage broke down she eloped with Maurice Bisset, bringing charges of 'criminal conversation' on him from Sir Richard, who sought £20,000 in damages; he was found guilty but nominal damages of one shilling were awarded, as there was evidence that Sir Richard had not only been aware of his wife's affairs but had encouraged them. He subsequently married, 14 October 1787 at All Saints, Southampton (Hants), Harriet (1752-1833), illegitimate daughter of Charles Mordaunt (c.1710-79), 4th Earl of Peterborough (by his mistress and subsequently second wife, Robiniana), and had issue:
(1) Jane Harriot Bisset (1789-1866) (q.v.);
(2) Ann Bisset (1798-1879), baptised at Newchurch (IoW), 19 September 1798; lived latterly at Forest Cottage, Binfield (Berks); died unmarried, 16 June, and was buried at Binfield, 21 June 1879; will proved 18 July 1879 (effects under £12,000).
His daughter by Lady Worsley was:
(X1) Jane Seymour Worsley (1781-82), baptised at St Marylebone (Middx), 25 August 1781; died in infancy and was buried at St James, Paddington (Middx), 10 February 1782.
He inherited Knighton House from his maternal grandfather in 1765 and came of age in 1778. He inherited Lessendrum in 1816 under the settlement made by Alexander Bisset (1734-95) on the death of the latter's sister, Mary Abel.
He died at Lessendrum, 16 December 1821 and was buried at Drumblade; his will was proved in the PCC, 25 May 1822. His widow died in 1833; her will was proved in the PCC, 31 December 1833.

Rt. Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834) 
Bisset, Rt. Rev. William (1758-1834).
Second 
son of Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82) and his wife Jane, daughter of Lt-Gen. Maurice Bocland of Knighton (IoW), born 27 October 1758. Educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1775; BA 1779; MA 1782); incorporated at Trinity College, Dublin (BA 1804). Ordained deacon, 1782, and priest, 1782. Perpetual curate of Dunbin and Ballymakenny, 1785-91; prebendary of Loughgall in diocese of Armagh, 1791-1807; rector of Clonmore, 1794-1807, Donoughmore, 1807-12 and  Loughgilly, 1812-17; Archdeacon of Ross, 1804-22; Chancellor of Armagh Cathedral, 1817-22; Bishop of Raphoe, 1822-34, where he built several churches in the diocese and improved the bishop's palace. He was the author of The Complete History of our Lord Jesus Christ, 1807. He married, 14 May 1789 at St Thomas, Salisbury (Wilts), Jane (1762-1823), daughter of Walter Earle of Blandford Forum (Dorset), but had no issue.
He inherited Lessendrum from his brother in 1821, but did not occupy it; it was mostly let to tenants.
He died while on holiday at Lessendrum, 4 September 1834, and was buried there; a tablet to his memory was erected at Raphoe. His wife died 20 March 1823 and was buried in the Cathedral churchyard at Raphoe.

Bisset, Alexander (b. 1761). Third son of Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82) and his wife Jane, daughter of Lt-Gen. Maurice Bocland of Knighton (IoW), baptised at Newchurch (IoW), 23 February 1761. Educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1777). An officer in the army (Lt., 1781; retired 1783) and later in the Hampshire Volunteer Cavalry (Maj. by 1800); he needs to be distinguished from the man of the same name who ran a crammer at Croydon (Surrey) and died in 1821. He married, 26 August 1783, at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), reputedly without her father's knowledge or consent*, Catherine, daughter of Beauchamp Bagenal (c.1735-1802) of London and Dunleckney Manor (Co. Carlow), and had issue:
(1) Mary Bisset (b. 1784), baptised at All Saints, Southampton, 14 October 1784; mentioned in her maternal grandfather's will written in 1797;
(2) Jane Bisset (b. 1785), baptised at Fordingbridge, 26 November 1785; died young before 1795;
(3) Catherine Bisset (fl. 1797); mentioned in her maternal grandfather's will written in 1797;
(4) Eliza Bisset (fl. 1797); mentioned in her maternal grandfather's will written in 1797;
(5) Jane Robiniana Bisset, baptised at St Mary, Southampton, 20 January 1795; mentioned in her maternal grandfather's will written in 1797;
(6) William Bisset (1797-1858) (q.v.).
He appears to have lived in or around Southampton.
He died before 1834 or he would have succeeded his elder brother at Lessendrum under the entail. His wife's date of death is unknown.
* Although how that could be achieved in such a public setting as St George's is hard to understand!

Bisset, William (1797-1858). Only son of Maj. Alexander Bisset and his wife Catherine Bagenal, born 1797. He married, 11 May 1830 at Swords (Co. Dublin), Lady Alicia (d. 1836), fourth daughter of William Howard, 3rd Earl of Wicklow, and 2nd, 7 April 1840 at Cheltenham (Glos), Harriet Florence, daughter of Henry Bill and widow of [forename unknown] Caulfeild, and had issue:
(1.1) Jane Frances Bisset (1832-91), born 23 November 1832 and baptised at Swords, 5 February 1833; married 1st, 11 September 1856 at Berry Pomeroy (Devon), William Gillard (1808-78), surgeon, and 2nd, 12 July 1881 at West Bagborough (Som.), Rev. Robert Bisset Fenwick Elrington (c.1822-97), vicar of Lower Brixham (Devon); died 27 November 1891 and was buried at Milverton Cemetery, Leamington Spa (Warks).
He inherited Lessendrum from his uncle, the bishop of Raphoe, in 1834, and remodelled the house to the designs of Archibald Simpson in 1837, but he seems to have spent a good deal of his time at addresses in England.
He died in Islington, 7 January, and was buried at Islington & St Pancras Cemetery, 13 January 1858; his will was proved 22 January 1858 (effects under £3,000). His first wife died in 1836. His second wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, Jane Harriot (1789-1866). Elder daughter of Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) and his wife Harriet Mordaunt, born 13 November and baptised at St Marylebone (Middx), 10 December 1789. She and her husband adopted the additional name Bisset in about 1853. She married, 11 March 1824 at Stratton (Glos), her cousin, the Ven. Maurice George Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset) (1797-1879), rector of Drumholm (Co. Donegal), 1828-46 and archdeacon of Raphoe (Co. Donegal), 1846-51, son of William Fenwick of Lemmington Hall (Northbld.), and had issue:
(1) Mordaunt Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset) (1825-84) (q.v.);
(2) Janet Fenwick (1826-1905) (q.v.);
(3) Harriot Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset) (c.1828-93), born about 1828; died unmarried at Old Machar (Aberdeens.), 19 November 1893; will confirmed at Aberdeen, 16 January 1894 (estate £31,895).
She inherited Dauntsey House (Wilts) from her uncle, the 5th and last Earl of Peterborough, in 1814 but had made it over to her son by 1840. She inherited Lessendrum in 1858 from her cousin, William Bisset (1797-1858).
She died 2 May 1866 and was buried at Drumblade. Her husband died 6 August 1879 and was buried at Drumblade; his will was confirmed 9 October 1879 (effects £6,132).

Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset), Mordaunt Fenwick (1825-84). Only son of the Ven. Maurice George Fenwick (later Bisset) (1797-1879) and his wife Jane Harriot, elder daughter of Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821), born 27 February 1825. Educated at Trinity College, Cambridge (matriculated 1843). An officer in the army (Cornet, 1844; Lt., 1848; retired 1850). JP for Somerset. High Sheriff of Somerset, 1872-73; MP for West Somerset, 1880-83. He was Master of Devon & Somerset Staghounds, 1855-81, building new hunt kennels, and reviving the native population of red deer on Exmoor; his thirteen volumes of hunting diaries formed the basis of the Hon. John Fortescue's Record of staghunting on Exmoor (1887). He adopted the additional name Bisset in 1853. He married, 17 July 1851 at West Bagborough (Som.), Susan (1826-1903), daughter and heir of Francis Popham of Bagborough (Som.), but had no issue.
He was given Dauntsey House (Wilts) by his mother by 1840 and came of age in 1846, but sold the estate in 1853. He inherited Bagborough House (Som.) in right of his wife and Lessendrum on the death of his mother in 1866. He rented Pixton Park (Som.) as a residence because of its central location in the stag hunting country.
He died 7 July and was buried at West Bagborough, 11 July 1884; his will was proved 24 November 1884 (effects £83,648). His widow died 8 May and was buried at West Bagborough, 12 May 1903; her will was proved 12 October 1903 (estate £21,193).

Fenwick, Janet (1826-1905). Elder daughter of the Ven. Maurice George Fenwick (later Bisset) (c.1798-1879) and his wife Jane Harriot, elder daughter of Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821), born 31 May 1826. She assumed the name of Bisset as an additional surname on inheriting the Lessendrum estate, 1884. She married, 28 August 1849 at Dauntsey (Wilts), Dr. Joseph Favière Elrington (1823-83), of Carrickbrennan, Monkstown (Co. Dublin), barrister-at-law (QC) and recorder of Londonderry, son of Rev. Prof. Charles Richard Elrington, rector of Armagh and regius professor of divinity at Trinity College, Dublin, and had issue:
(1) Rev. Charles Elrington (later Elrington-Bisset) (1850-88), born 20 September 1850; educated at Trinity College, Dublin (MA 1884); vicar of Newbarns, Barrow-in-Furness (Lancs); took the additional name of Bisset in 1884; married, 30 July 1880 at Crofton (Yorks WR), Edith Emily Helena (1850-1901), daughter of Rev. Josiah Samuel Moore, rector of Crofton, but had no issue; died of a brain tumour, 12 December 1888 and was buried at Drumblade; administration of his goods was granted 12 March 1889 (effects £1,087);
(2) Isabella Elrington (1852-1925), born 16 June 1852; married, 28 December 1871, Sir Robert William Arbuthnot Holmes KCB (1843-1910), Treasury Remembrancer for Ireland, and had issue two sons and six daughters; lived latterly at Bemerton House (Wilts); died 3 March and was buried at Bemerton, 5 March 1925; will proved 8 September 1925 (estate £14,370);
(3) Maj. Maurice Elrington (later Elrington-Bisset) (1854-1909) (q.v.);
(4) Rev. Mordaunt Elrington (later Bisset) (1859-1927), born 8 December 1859 and baptised at Wrington (Som.), 12 February 1860; educated at Cheltenham College and Pembroke College, Cambridge (matriculated 1878; BA 1882; MA 1886); ordained deacon, 1884, and priest, 1885l rector of Bangor-on-Dee (Flints.), 1896-1909; served in First World War as a chaplain, 1914-19 and was awarded MBE; married 1st, 27 October 1896 at St Michael, Chester Sq., Westminster (Middx), Florence Isabella Maud (d. 1909), youngest daughter of Col. Charles John Tottenham of Woodstock (Co. Wicklow) and 2nd, 29 April 1911, Amabel Mary (1859-1916), daughter of Maj. G. Cumberland; died 23 October 1927; will proved 23 December 1927 (estate £16,154).
She inherited Lessendrum on the death of her brother in 1884.
She died at Marlay Grange, Rathfarnham (Co. Dublin), 21 March 1905; will proved in Dublin, 5 September 1905 (estate £16,749). Her husband died 3 September 1883 and was buried at Deansgrange Cemetery, Dublin; his will was proved 16 November 1883 (effects £7,247).

Elrington (later Elrington-Bisset), Maj. Maurice (1854-1909). Second son of Dr. Joseph Favière Elrington LLD QC (d. 1883), of Carrickbrennan, Monkstown (Co. Dublin) and his wife Janet, elder daughter of the Ven. Maurice George Bisset of Lessendrum, born 12 June 1854. Educated at Royal Military Academy. An officer in the Royal Engineers (Lt., 1874; Capt., 1885; retired, 1889; returned to colours, 1900; promoted Maj., and finally retired 1902), attached to the Ordnance Survey, 1883-89. JP for Aberdeenshire. He took the additional surname of Bisset in 1884. He married, 3 December 1884 at Bath Abbey (Som.), Anna Isabella (1857-1930), second daughter of Capt. Walter Stephens Brinkley (1826-84) of Knockmaroon House, Castleknock (Co. Dublin), and had issue:
(1) Janet Kathleen Elrington-Bisset (1886-1953) (q.v.);
(2) Walter Favière Elrington-Bisset (1889-1915) (q.v.).
He inherited Lessendrum from his mother in 1905.
He died at Carlsbad (Germany), 15 June 1909 and was buried at Drumblade; his will was confirmed 30 August 1909 (estate £59,214). His widow died 20 July 1930 and was also buried at Drumblade; her will was confirmed 13 December 1930 (estate £2,477).

Elrington-Bisset, Walter Favière (1889-1915). Only son of Maj. Maurice Elrington Bisset (1854-1909) and his wife Anna Isabella, second daughter of Capt. Walter Stephens Brinkley of Knockmaroon House (Co. Dublin), born 21 February 1889. Educated at Repton and Pembroke College, Cambridge (BA 1910). A patron of the Drumblade Curling Club, 1912. He served in the Gordon Highlanders in the First World War (2nd Lt.), 1914-15. He was unmarried and without issue.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father in 1909 and came of age the following year.
He was killed in action at the battle of Loos, 25 September 1915; his will was confirmed at Aberdeen, 15 September 1919 (estate £35,795).

Elrington-Bisset, Janet Kathleen (1886-1953). Only daughter of Maj. Maurice Elrington-Bisset (1854-1909) and his wife Anna Isabella, second daughter of Capt. Walter Stephens Brinkley of Knockmaroon House (Co. Dublin), born 14 June 1886. She and her husband took the name Murray-Bisset in 1919. She married, 13 March 1917 at St Paul, Portman Sq., St Marylebone (Middx), Lt-Col. William Turner Murray (1889-1949), son of Rev. Thomas Murray, and had issue:
(1) Kathleen Helen Murray-Bisset (1918-97), of Mayen, Rothiemay, born 25 August 1918; married 1st, 27 July 1939 at Drumblade (Aberdeens.), Ian Caldwell Perston Sloan (d. 1940), son of William H.P. Sloan of Dalmore, Helensburgh (Dunbartons.), and had issue one daughter; married 2nd, 15 March 1945, Maj. Wilfrid Harold Kerton Baker (1920-2000), Tory MP for Banffshire, 1964-74, son of W.H. Baker of Weymouth (Dorset), and had further issue one son and one daughter; died December 1987 and was buried at Drumblade;
(2) Jean Marion Murray-Bisset (1920-2004), born 4 April 1920; served in Second World War with Women's Army Corps; married, 30 April 1946 at Drumblade, Lt. Charles Edson Ennis (c.1920-95), son of Charles Taft Ennis of Richmond Hill, Lyons, New York State (USA), and had issue two sons and two daughters; died at Clifton Springs, New York, 5 June 2004;
(3) Sheelah Rachel Murray-Bisset (1923-2003), born 18 July 1923; married, 3 May 1947 at Drumblade, Lt-Col. Anthony Wynter Lister (1917-2002) of Winson Manor (Glos) and later of Milford (Surrey), elder son of Edmund Algernon Coryton Lister (1870-1936), and had issue three daughters; died 12 July 2003; will proved 4 June 2004;
(4) John Maurdant Murray-Bisset (1926-90) (q.v.).
She inherited Lessendrum when her brother was killed in the First World War. The house was destroyed by fire in 1928, but she retained the estate. She lived subsequently at Mayen, Rothiemay, and later in a dower house at Lessendrum.
She died 18 May 1953 and was buried at Drumblade. Her husband died 4 April 1949 and was buried at Drumblade.

Murray-Bisset, John Mordaunt (1926-90). Only son of Lt-Col. William Turner Murray (later Murray-Bisset) (1889-1949) and his wife Janet Kathleen, only daughter of Maj. Maurice Elrington Bisset (1854-1909) , born 19 September 1926. He married, 16 March 1957 at St Paul, Portman Sq., St Marylebone (Middx), Patricia Edith Baggs (1929-2017) of Taunton (Som.).
He inherited the Lessendrum estate from his mother in 1949, and built a new house on the estate in 1972, but sold the estate in 1981.
He died in 1990 at was buried at Durras (Co. Cork). His widow died in 2017.

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1952, p. 192; Rev. W. Temple, The Thanage of Fermartyn, 1894, pp. 244-56; VCH Hampshire, vol. 5, 1912, pp. 177-87; C.W.R. Winter, The manor houses of the Isle of Wight, 1984, pp. 92-97; D. Miller, Archibald Simpson, architect, 2006, pp. 217-18; D.W. Lloyd & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: Isle of Wight, 2006, p. 170; J. Sharples, D.W. Walker & M. Woodworth, The buildings of Scotland: Aberdeenshire - south and Aberdeen, 2015, p. 454.


Location of archives

Most of the family archives are said to have been destroyed in the fire at Lessendrum in 1928.

Coat of arms

Azure, a bend argent.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone provide portraits or photographs of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 3 July 2026.

Wednesday, 6 February 2019

(363) Bannerman of Elsick and Crimonmogate, baronets

Bannerman of Elsick
According to tradition, this family derived their name from the hereditary office of being standard-bearers to the Kings of Scotland, an office which they lost after being accused of cowardice on the battlefield by King Malcolm III (or King Alexander I - versions of the story vary) in the 11th century. However this sounds like a story based on the associations suggested by the name which both imparts a desirable antiquity to the lineage and explains away the awkward fact that another family - the Scrymgeours - held the office of standard-bearer from at least 1384. The first Bannerman of whom any authentic historical record is known was in fact Donald Bannerman, one of the King David II's doctors in 1364, who had a grant of lands at Waterton (Aberdeens.) and elsewhere in 1368. His son, Alexander Bannerman (fl. 1387), had a charter of Elsick (Kincardines.) in 1387, and thereafter his descendants held both estates until Alexander Bannerman (d. c.1638), with whom the genealogy below begins, sold Waterton to the family of his first wife in 1611. Thereafter, the Bannermans were settled at Elsick only. 

Alexander Bannerman (d. c.1638) was succeeded by his son Alexander Bannerman (d. c.1666), who was a constant supporter of the Royalist cause during the Civil War, and whose estates were sequestrated until 1652. Little is known about his part in the war, but his sufferings were sufficiently remembered for Charles II to grant his son, Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1711), a baronetcy in 1682. Sir Alexander's brother, George Bannerman (d. 1691) was an advocate, and was also rewarded by being made one of two solicitors to the King in 1683. The family were thus closely identified with the Stuart cause, and seem to have found it difficult to reconcile themselves to the removal of King James II and his replacement by King William III and Queen Mary II in 1688-89. Another brother, the Rev. Robert Bannerman (d. 1719), who was minister of Newton and Woomet, was swiftly deprived for refusing to pray for the new king, and was obliged to take up a new career as a merchant in Edinburgh. There seems little doubt that Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1742), 2nd bt. had Jacobite sympathies, but I have not found clear evidence that he took up arms during the 1715 rebellion. His brother Patrick Bannerman (1678-1733) was, however, more actively involved, being appointed Provost of Aberdeen in 1714 as part of a Jacobite putsch of the city council. In 1715 he welcomed the Pretender to Scotland and was knighted on that occasion, although his knighthood was not recognised outside Jacobite circles. Following the failure of the rebellion, he was removed from office in Aberdeen, but he seems to have continued to operate as a merchant in the city and it is not clear that he suffered any further penalty.

Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1747), 3rd bt., was active in the 1745 rebellion, when he raised around 160 men for the Jacobite army and fought at Culloden. He is said to have fled from the battle to Elsick, where he was surprised and nearly captured by Hanoverian troops sent to arrest him, but he managed to hide from them and escape to France, where he died the following year.
Harlsey Hall, East Harlsey, recorded by Samuel Buck, c.1720.
In his absence, Sir Alexander was named in a bill of attainder, but he died before his estates could be seized. His property and his debts devolved upon his teenage son, Sir Alexander Bannerman (c.1731-73), 4th bt., who was eventually pressured into selling Elsick in about 1754, retreating to his mother's estate at East Harlsey in the North Riding of Yorkshire, where he died without surviving sons in 1773. His title then passed to his brother, Sir Edward Trotter Bannerman (d. 1796), 5th bt., who was a Major in the army until his retirement in 1780, and who was unmarried and without issue.


On the death of Sir Edward in 1796, the baronetcy passed to his kinsman, Professor Sir Alexander Bannerman (1741-1813), 6th bt. who was a grandson of Patrick Bannerman, the Jacobite Provost of Aberdeen and thus a great-grandson of the 1st baronet. The 6th baronet was a doctor in Aberdeen, and from 1793 professor of medicine at the University there, but his father and grandfather had been prosperous wine merchants in the city. He came into modest landed property at Kirkhill through his mother's family in 1777, and for a time took the name Burnett in recognition of this inheritance, but he reverted to Bannerman on inheriting the baronetcy. His eldest son, Thomas Bannerman, went to work for a London merchant house trading with China and India, and died in China at the age of 21, so when the Professor died in 1813 his property devolved on his oldest surviving son, Sir Alexander Bannerman (1769-1840), 7th bt., who may have been a merchant in Aberdeen. He left a substantial estate, but had no children, and when he died he left a complex and unusual will dividing his property among his relatives, the interpretation of which occupied the lawyers for four years before a final decision was made by the Court of Session in 1844.

The heir to the 7th baronet's title was his younger brother, Sir Charles Bannerman (1782-1851), 8th bt., who was explicitly excluded from the 7th baronet's will on the grounds that he was already much richer than his brother. This seems to have been less the result of his mysterious early career as a 'manufacturer' in Aberdeen, than of his inheritance in 1820 of the Crimonmogate estate and personal property of his cousin Patrick Milne. At the time of his inheritance, Milne had recently commissioned plans from the leading local architect, Archibald Simpson, for the erection of a new house at Crimonmogate, and Bannerman decided to proceed with the scheme, building the house which exists in altered form today. His son, Sir Archibald Bannerman (1823-77), 9th bt. inherited the house and enlarged it by building an attic storey concealed within a mansard roof. He also bought back part of the Elsick estate in Kincardineshire, sold by the 4th baronet in 1754, and enlarged this house too. Ironically, Sir Archibald had no son to succeed him, so on his death the baronetcy and the estates were again separated - the title passing to his cousin, Sir George Bannerman (1827-1901), 10th bt., while the estate passed to his daughter, later the Countess of Southesk. Her descendant, the 4th Duke of Fife, owns Elsick today, but Crimonmogate was sold out of the family in 1996. The Bannerman baronetcy still exists, being now held by a descendant of the youngest brother of the 6th baronet.



Elsick House, Kincardineshire


Elsick House: the rear (south elevation) contains walling from the house of the Bannermans.
Image: Anne Burgess. Some rights reserved.

The site of a fortified house built for Bannermans after they acquired the land in 1387, and perhaps altered or rebuilt after this became their sole estate in 1611. Only the thick masonry of the south wall and a resited 17th century doorway survive from this building, which was otherwise entirely rebuilt after a fire in 1754. The present house is a long low two-storeyed building consisting of the house of 1754 and a late 19th century cross-wing with single-storey canted bays and dormer windows breaking through the eaves line. The pedimented porch was built by Walker & Duncan in 1937. The house was restored and extended to the west by Thomson, Taylor, Craig and Donald in 1968-74, and is now marketed as a wedding venue. 


Elsick House: the house as rebuilt in 1754, with the porch added in 1937 and the late 19th century east wing on the left. Image: Elsick House.

Descent: Alexander Bannerman (d. c.1638); to son, Alexander Bannerman (d. c.1666); to son, Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1711), 1st bt; to son, Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1742), 2nd bt.; to Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1747), 3rd bt.; to son, Sir Alexander Bannerman (c.1731-73), 4th bt. who sold 1754 to Master & Brethren of Aberdeen Guild Hospital...James Monson, who sold 1775... sold to Sir Alexander Bannerman (1823-77), 9th bt.; to daughter, Ethel Mary Elizabeth (d. 1947), wife of Charles Noel Carnegie (1854-1941), 10th Earl of Southesk; to son, Charles Alexander Carnegie (1893-1992), 11th Earl of Southesk; to son, James George Alexander Bannerman Carnegie (1929-2015), 3rd Duke of Fife; to son, David Charles Carnegie, 4th Duke of Fife.


Crimonmogate House, Lonmay, Aberdeenshire


A Greek Revival house designed by Archibald Simpson for Patrick Milne (d. 1820), who made a fortune as a merchant trading with India and China, but Milne died before work began and it was built for his heir, Sir Charles Bannerman, 8th bt. It replaced an earlier three bay, three storey house of c.1760, parts of which are perhaps incorporated at the rear of the building. 


Crimonmogate House: an early photograph by Sir Alexander Bannerman, showing the house as first built.

The south-facing entrance front consists of a massive Greek Doric hexastyle portico projecting between two-storey end bays, executed in Kemnay granite. The hardness of this stone encouraged the architect to rely for his effect on the proportions of the design and the boldness of the forms, for there is almost no superficial decoration: the columns are unfluted, the entablature has no ornament, and the pediment has no sculpture. Under the portico, the central doorway and flanking windows have no architraves. The source of the design is thought to be Sir Robert Smirke's County Buildings, Perth, built in 1815-19, where there is a similar portico, originally carved for Broomhall (Fife). The six bay side elevations of the house are even plainer than the entrance front: the east side, behind which lie the principal reception rooms, is enlivened by a central bow, but the west side has a less successful two-bay projecting centre rising to a blank panel above the parapet. At the rear, there is an open service court. 


Crimonmogate House: the entrance front as altered in 1864. Photographed in 2013 by Sagaciousphil. Some rights reserved.

The roofs were originally shallow-pitched with low coped chimneystacks, but were replaced in 1864 with mansard roofs with richly detailed round-headed dormers that are uncomfortably juxtaposed with the spareness and horizontality of the original design. At the same time as the roofs were altered, the house was extended to the north to provide space for a new dining room-cum-ballroom and additional service accommodation.

Inside, the planning of the house is elegantly simple. The portico leads into a grand double-height entrance hall in the form of a cube, with the walls articulated by fluted pilasters that have only vestigial capitals, and a coffered ceiling with a shallow central cupola. This opens on the east and west sides into corridors which provide access respectively to the principal reception rooms and the private apartments. The reception rooms were originally a drawing room, morning room (behind the bow) and dining room, but after the additions of 1864 the original dining room was refurnished as a library. A large billiard room lay immediately behind the hall. The main stair, which is squeezed into a modest space, has very fine cast iron balusters.

The building programme continued after 1825 with the estate buildings. The octagonal dovecote, and the seven bay, one and a half storey stable block to the west, are survivals from the mid 18th century house, but the stables were remodelled and extended to the east by Simpson, c.1825. One of the first things to be built was the chunky obelisk east of the house, which commemorates Patrick Milne and was designed c.1821. Also by Simpson are the game larder, laundry, octagonal dairy, corn mill (and mill house), a bridge over the Logie Burn, and the two gate lodges, to the west and south-east of the house. The walled garden, south-west of the house, was not completed until about 1840.

The house fell into decay during the 20th century and was restored for Christopher Monckton after he bought it in 1996, with further work being done by the current owners. The house was operated for some years as a wedding and events venue, but this use has now ceased. It appears that some of the estate buildings are being converted into an hotel and restaurant.

Descent: John Hay (d. 1704), 12th Earl of Erroll; to son, Charles Hay (d. 1717), 13th Earl of Erroll; to sister, Mary Hay, 14th Countess of Erroll, who sold in 1730s to Abernethy family; sold to Alexander Milne, Aberdeen merchant; to son, Patrick Milne (d. 1820); to first cousin once removed, Sir Charles Bannerman (1782-1851), 8th bt.; to son, Sir Alexander Bannerman (1823-77), 9th bt.; to daughter, Ethel Mary Elizabeth (c.1869-1947), later the wife of Charles Noel Carnegie (1854-1941), 10th Earl of Southesk; to younger son, Cmdr. the Hon. Alexander Carnegie (1894-1989); to son, Maj. Raymond Alexander Carnegie (1920-99), second husband of Diana Hay (1926-78), 23rd Countess of Erroll; gifted to sonthe Hon. Jocelyn Jacek Alexander Bannerman Carnegie (b. 1966), who sold 1996 to Christopher Monckton; sold 2001 to William Stanhope (b. 1967), Viscount Petersham and his wife, Candida Bond.


Bannerman family of Elsick, baronets



Bannerman, Alexander (d. by 1638). Only recorded son of George Bannerman (d. c.1608) of Waterton and his wife Elizabeth, apparently the daughter of John Johnstone of Caskieben. He married 1st, Margaret, daughter of William Forbes of Tolquhoun and 2nd, Marjory*, daughter of Sir John Leslie of Wardis, 2nd bt., and had issue:
(1.1) Alexander Bannerman (d. c.1666) (q.v.).
He inherited the Elsick estate from his father c.1608. In 1611 he was styled 'late of Wattertoun and now of Elsick'.
He died in or before 1638. His first wife's date of death is unknown. His widow married 2nd, Sir John Fletcher, advocate of New Cranston; her date of death is unknown.
*Some accounts give her name as Elizabeth.

Bannerman, Alexander (d. c.1666). Only recorded child of Alexander Bannerman and his first wife, Margaret, daughter of William Forbes of Tolquhon. He fought a duel with, and wounded, his cousin Sir John Gordon of Haddo in 1644. His estates were sequestrated following the Civil War but the sequestration was discharged in 1652. He married, May 1633, Marion, eldest daughter of Alexander Hamilton of East Binning (West Lothian) and had issue:
(1) Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1711), 1st bt. (q.v.);
(2) Rev. Robert Bannerman (d. 1719); educated at Edinburgh University (MA 1675); minister of Newton and Woomet (deprived for refusing to pray for King William and Queen Mary, 1689); afterwards a merchant in Edinburgh by 1694; burgess of Edinburgh in right of his wife, 1697; married Margaret (d. 1725), daughter of Sir Mark Carse of Cockpen, and had issue five sons and one daughter; died 24 January 1719;
(2) George Bannerman (d. 1691), of Dunboig (which he acquired in 1687); educated at Marischal College, Aberdeen (MA 1659); admitted advocate, 1671 and re-admitted 1676; chamberlain of Fife, 1682-91; solicitor to King Charles II, 1683-85; married Elizabeth, daughter of Laurence Oliphant of Bachilton (Perths.) (who m2, Henry Balfour of Dunboig), but had no issue; buried at Greyfriars, Edinburgh, 20 March 1690/1;
(4) William Bannerman (fl. 1661); apprenticed to George Jaffray of Edinburgh, merchant, 1661;
(5) John Bannerman (fl. 1715); apprenticed to William Patton of Edinburgh, merchant, 10 March 1669, but was afterwards an officer in the Earl of Orkney's royal regiment of foot (Capt.);
(6) Mary Bannerman; married George Leslie (fl. 1666) of Findrassie, but had no issue;
(7) Margaret Bannerman; married Sir Alexander Keith (d. c.1680), 2nd bt., of Ludquhairn, and had issue one son and one daughter;
(8) Elizabeth Bannerman; married, 11 September 1670 at Edinburgh, James Reid of Northbrae, son of William Reid, bailie of Edinburgh, and had issue.
He inherited the Elsick estate from his father and had a charter of Pitmedden (Kincardines.) in 1641. His estates were sequestrated following the Civil War but the sequestration was discharged in 1652.
He died about 1666. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bannerman, Sir Alexander (d. 1711), 1st bt. Eldest son of Alexander Bannerman (d. c.1666) and his wife Marion, eldest daughter of Alexander Hamilton of East Binning (West Lothian). He registered his coat of arms with Lord Lyon about 1672, and added supporters in 1692, having been created a baronet, 28 December 1682, in recognition of "his constant loyalty during the rebellion and the heavy calamities he [but really his father] suffered on that account". He married, 1670 (contract 15 February), Margaret, second daughter of Patrick Scott of Thirlestaine (Selkirks.), and had issue:
(1) Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1742), 2nd bt. (q.v.);
(2) George Bannerman (fl. 1692); attended Marischal College, Aberdeen, 1688-92; died unmarried;
(3) Sir Patrick Bannerman (1678-1733), kt. (q.v.);
(4) Isabella Bannerman (fl. 1692); married, 1692 (contract 3 November), John Scott MP (1671-1732) of Logie and Castlested (Angus), son of James Scott of Logie, and had issue three sons and six daughters.
He inherited the Elsick estate from his father in about 1666 and Dunboig from his younger brother in 1691. He sold Dunboig to Maj. Henry Balfour of Starr, 1694.
He died 11 April 1711. His wife was living in 1691.

Bannerman, Sir Alexander (d. 1742), 2nd bt. Eldest son of Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1711), 1st bt., and his wife Margaret, second daughter of Patrick Scott of Thirlestaine, born c.1670-75. Educated at Marischal College, Aberdeen, 1688-92. He succeeded his father as 2nd bt., 11 April 1711, but accumulated enormous debts (totalling £35,413 by 1737). He married, 1699, Isabella (d. 1743), daughter of Sir Donald Macdonald of Sleat, 3rd bt. and had issue:
(1) Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1747), 3rd bt.;
(2) Isabel Bannerman (d. 1777); married John Hope (1707-80) of Edinburgh, merchant, second son of Sir Thomas Hope, 8th bt. of Craighall, and had issue five sons and three daughters; died 24 April 1777;
(3) Margaret Bannerman; married, before 1737, Peter? Turnbull of Stracathro (Angus);
(4) A daughter.
He inherited the Elsick estate from his father in 1711. 
He died 31 January 1742. His widow died 31 August 1743.

Bannerman, Sir Alexander (d. 1747), 3rd bt. Only son of Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1742), 2nd bt., and his wife Isabella, daughter of Sir Donald Macdonald of Sleat, 3rd bt, born c.1700-05.  He succeeded his father as 3rd bt., 31 January 1742. He pledged his support for the 1745 uprising soon after the battle of Prestonpans, and was appointed Lord Lieutenant of the Mearns, 1745-46; he then led a small regiment of 160 men to join the Jacobite army at Stirling, and fought in the second line of battle at Culloden, 1746, after which he fled to France; he was one of the forty-four Jacobite commanders named in a bill of attainder, 1746. He married, 5 September 1728 at Kirby Sigston (Yorks NR), Elizabeth Trotter (d. 1746?), heiress of the Trotter family of East Harlsey (Yorks NR), and had issue:
(1) Alexander Bannerman (b. & d. 1729), baptised at East Harlsey, 19 August 1729; died in infancy and was buried at East Harlsey, 19 December 1729;
(2) Eleanor Bannerman (b. 1730), baptised at Northallerton, 2 August 1730; died in infancy and was buried at Kirby Sigston, August 1730;
(3) Sir Alexander Bannerman (c.1731-73), 4th bt. (q.v.);
(4) Isabella Bannerman (b. 1732), baptised at Kinnell (Angus), 9 January 1732/3; mentioned in the will of her grandmother, Eleanor Trotter, in 1759;
(5) Sir Edward Trotter Bannerman (d. 1796), 5th bt. (q.v.).

He inherited the Elsick estate from his father in 1742, and the East Harlsey estate in right of his wife.
He died in Paris in about June 1747. His wife was probably the woman of this name buried at Northallerton, 13 February 1745/6.

Bannerman, Sir Alexander (c.1731-73), 4th bt. Elder son of Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1747), 3rd bt. and his wife Isabella, heiress of the Trotter family of East Harlsey (Yorks NR), born about 1731. He succeeded his father as 4th baronet, about June 1747. He married, 8 May 1764 at Brompton by Northallerton (Yorks NR), Elizabeth (1740-1812), daughter of Marmaduke Sedgewick, and had issue:
(1) Alexander Bannerman (b. & d. 1765), baptised at East Harlsey, 24 May 1765; died in infancy and was buried at East Harlsey, 27 May 1765;
(2) Elizabeth Bannerman (1766-1844), of Strachan, born 7 April and baptised at East Harlsey, 24 April 1766; inherited the East Harlsey estate from her uncle in 1796; married, 8 October 1782 at East Harlsey, Sir Alexander Burnett (later Ramsay) (1757-1810) of Balmain, 1st bt., advocate, son of Sir Thomas Burnett of Leys, 6th bt., and had issue nine sons and two daughters; died at Edinburgh, 11 December 1844;
(3) Mary Bannerman (1767-1838), born 30 August and baptised at East Harlsey, 1 September 1767; married, 27 January 1784 at Edinburgh, Francis Russell (d. 1806) of Blackhall (Kincardines.), advocate, and had issue one daughter; died at Finzean (the seat of her son-in-law), Kincardine O'Neil (Aberdeens.), 1 February 1838.
He inherited the Elsick and East Harlsey estates from his father in 1747, but after being involved in lawsuits and threatened  with forfeiture following the 1745 rebellion, he sold Elsick to Aberdeen Corporation.
He died 13 June, and was buried at East Harlsey near Northallerton (Yorks NR), 17 June 1773. His widow died at Montrose, 16 May 1812.

Bannerman, Sir Edward Trotter (d. 1796), 5th bt. Younger son of Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1747), 3rd bt. and his wife Isabella, heiress of the Trotter family of East Harlsey (Yorks NR). An officer in the army (Capt-Lt.; Capt., 1764; Major 1778; retired 1780). He succeeded his brother as 5th baronet, 13 June 1773. He was unmarried and without issue.
He inherited the East Harlsey estate from his elder brother in 1773. At his death, it passed to his niece and her husband, who appear to have been living there by 1789.
He died at Kincardine Lodge, 1 October 1796, when the baronetcy passed to his second cousin, Sir Alexander Bannerman, 6th bt; his will was confirmed 28 January 1797. 

Bannerman, (Sir) Patrick (1678-1733), kt. Third son of Sir Alexander Bannerman (d. 1711), 1st bt., and his wife Margaret, second daughter of Patrick Scott of Thirlestaine, born 23 February 1678. Apprenticed to John Hay of Edinburgh, merchant, 31 January 1694. Merchant in Aberdeen; Provost of Aberdeen, 1714-15. A Jacobite in politics, he welcomed the Old Pretender on his landing in Scotland and was knighted by him. He was subsequently arrested by the Hanoverian authorities and imprisoned at Carlisle, but escaped to France, although he seems to have returned within a few months. He married, 18 April 1714 at Edinburgh, Margaret (1683-1750), daughter of Sir Charles Maitland of Pitrichie (Aberdeens.), and had issue:
(1) Alexander Bannerman (1715-82) (q.v.);

(2) Jean Bannerman (1718-88?), baptised at Aberdeen, 19 March 1718; declared to have been insane since 1746 and placed in the care of her elder brother, 3 July 1755; probably the lady of this name buried at New Machar, 6 May 1788;
(3) Charles Bannerman (1719-46), baptised at Aberdeen, 10 October 1719; apprenticed to George Chalmers WS; admitted to Society of Writers to the Signet, 5 July 1742; died unmarried and without issue at Edinburgh, 6 February 1746; will confirmed 17 July 1750;
(4) Clementina Bannerman (1721-87), baptised at Aberdeen, 5 September 1721; died unmarried, June 1787, and was buried at St Nicholas, Aberdeen;
(5) Margaret Bannerman (1723-88), baptised at Aberdeen, 24 August 1723; married, 1752 (contract 7 July) Alexander Milne of Aberdeen, merchant, and had issue (including Patrick Milne (d. c.1820), who bequeathed Crimonmogate to Sir Charles Bannerman, 8th bt.); died April 1788 and was buried at St Nicholas, Aberdeen.
He lived in Aberdeen.
He died 4 June 1733. His widow died at Aberdeen, 31 October 1750 and was buried at St Nicholas, Aberdeen.

Bannerman, Alexander (1715-82). Elder son of (Sir) Patrick Bannerman (d. 1733) and his wife Margaret, daughter of Sir Charles Maitland of Pitrichie, baptised at Aberdeen, 13 September 1715. A wine and spirit merchant in Aberdeen. He married, 1737, Margaret (1719-96), eldest daughter and heir of Thomas Burnett of Kirkhill, and had issue:
(1) Patrick Bannerman (b. 1739), baptised at Aberdeen, 9 April 1739; probably died young;
(2) Sir Alexander Bannerman (later Burnett then Bannerman) (1741-1813), 6th bt. (q.v.);
(3) Thomas Bannerman (1743-1820), baptised at Aberdeen, 19 May 1743; successful wine merchant in Aberdeen; a director of the Aberdeen Banking Company; married, 29 April 1779 at Aberdeen, Jean (1753-1817), daughter of George Simpson of Hazelhead and had issue five sons (from whom descended the 10th and 11th baronets) and one daughter; died 4 January 1820; will confirmed 8 February 1821;
(4) Mordaunt Bannerman (1746-66?), baptised at Aberdeen, 1 May 1746; possibly the person of this name who was buried at Minster (Kent), 9 October 1766;
(5) Anne Bannerman (1747-72), born 14 November and baptised at Aberdeen, 23 November 1747; married, 1767, Alexander Garioch (1742-1802) of Aberdeen and had issue one son and one daughter; died August 1772;
(6) Charles Bannerman (1750-1813), baptised at Aberdeen, 7 June 1850; educated at Marischal College, Aberdeen (MA 1767); apprenticed to William Thom; admitted advocate, 1776; practiced in Aberdeen in partnership with James Blaikie (Bannerman & Blaikie); joint Commissary Depute; director of Aberdeen Banking Company; guild burgess of Aberdeen from 1788; one of the assessors to the Rector of King's College, Aberdeen, 1798-1806; an officer in Royal Aberdeen Volunteers (Maj., 1806); a member of the Society of Advocates in Aberdeen, 1776-1813 (Treasurer, 1784-86; President, 1798-1800); married, 6 January 1785 at Aberdeen, Margaret (d. 1836), daughter of Patrick Wilson, formerly collector of customs on the island of St. Kitts, and had issue six sons (from whom descend the 12th and later baronets) and six daughters; died at Aberdeen, 24 September 1813.
He lived at Frendraught and later in Aberdeen. In 1748 he inherited part of the considerable property of Dr Charles Maitland of Aberdeen, physician.
He died in Aberdeeen, 27 June 1782. His widow died 31 August 1796.

Bannerman (later Burnett then Bannerman), Sir Alexander (1741-1813), 6th bt. Eldest son of Alexander Bannerman (1715-82) and his wife Margaret, daughter of Thomas Burnett of Kirkhill, baptised at Aberdeen, 22 December 1741. Educated at Aberdeen University (MD). A well-known physician in Aberdeen; Professor of Medicine at the University of Aberdeen, 1793-1813 (jointly with his third son from 1797). He took the name Burnett in lieu of Bannerman on inheriting the property of his mother's family at Kirkhill in 1777, but reverted to Bannerman in 1796 on inheriting the family baronetcy from his second cousin, 1 October 1796. He married, 25 January 1768 at Aberdeen, Mary, daughter of James Gordon of Banchory and sister and heir of Thomas Gordon of Heathcot, and had issue including:
(1) Thomas Bannerman (1768-89), baptised at Aberdeen, 19 November 1768; merchant in China; died unmarried in China in or about December 1789; will proved in PCC, 27 February 1793;
(2) Sir Alexander Bannerman (1769-1840), 7th bt. (q.v.);
(3) Maria Bannerman (1771-1826), baptised at Aberdeen, 18 March 1771; married, 18 June 1793 at Aberdeen, William Keith-Falconer (1766-1812), 6th Earl of Kintore, and had issue two sons and one daughter; died in Bath (Somerset), 30 June 1826 and was buried in Bath Abbey, 13 July 1826;
(4) Ann (aka Margaret?) Bannerman (b. 1773), baptised at Aberdeen, 15 January 1773; no marriage or burial for an Ann Bannerman can be found, but a list of children living in 1794 includes a Margaret but no Ann, and she may therefore possibly be the 'Margaret, daughter of Dr Bannerman' buried at Aberdeen 10 May 1795;
(5) Prof. James Bannerman (1774-1838), baptised at Aberdeen, 5 October 1774; professor of medicine at King's College, Aberdeen, 1797-1838 (jointly with his father until 1813); married, 26 April 1805, Helen (c.1784-1864), eldest daughter of Alexander Burnett of Kemnay, but had no issue; died at Balgowie Cottage, Aberdeen, 17 February 1838;
(6) George Bannerman (1776-before 1840), baptised at Aberdeen, 18 December 1776; died unmarried and without issue before 1840;
(7) Sir Charles Bannerman (1782-1851), 8th bt. (q.v.);
(8) Edward John Bannerman (1786-1818), baptised at Aberdeen, 1 January 1786; served in the 6th Native Cavalry; died at Nagpur County (India), of a fever, November 1818.
He inherited the property of the Burnett family at Kirkhill in 1777, but lived in Aberdeen throughout his life.
He died at his house in Marischal Street, Aberdeen, 29 December 1813. His widow died in Aberdeen, 23 November 1820.

Bannerman, Sir Alexander (1769-1840), 7th bt. Elder surviving son of Sir Alexander Bannerman, 6th bt. and his wife Mary, daughter of James Gordon of Banchory, born 19 December 1769. He succeeded his father as 7th baronet, 29 December 1813. A Whig in politics, 'but thoroughly independent, and as willing to censure the shortcomings of his own party as to blame the misdeeds of their opponents'. His diary for the years 1826-39 is in the National Library of Scotland. He married, 15 November 1800, Rachel (1779-1847), younger daughter of John Irvine of Aberdeen, a Gothenburg merchant, but had no issue.
He presumably inherited his father's property at Kirkhill.
He died 31 May 1840; he left an unusual and complex will which resulted in litigation over several years, finally determined by a ruling of the Court of Session in 1844. His widow died 13 November 1847 and was buried in Greyfriars kirkyard, Edinburgh, where she is commemorated by a monument.

Bannerman, Sir Charles (1782-1851), 8th bt. Fifth son of Sir Alexander Bannerman, 6th bt. and his wife Mary, daughter of James Gordon of Banchory, born 18 August and baptised at Aberdeen, 22 August 1782. Manufacturer in Aberdeen. He succeeded his brother as 8th baronet, 31 May 1840. A Conservative in politics. He married, 11 August 1821 at Old Machar (Aberdeens.), his cousin Anne (1791-1838), third daughter of Charles Bannerman (youngest brother of the 6th bt.), and had issue:
(1) Sir Alexander Bannerman (1823-77), 9th bt. (q.v.);
(2) Margaret Bannerman (1828-33); died young, 2 May 1833;
(3) Mary Elizabeth Bannerman (1830-38); died of scarlet fever at Crimonmogate, 30 August 1838.
(4) Anne Catherine Bannerman (1832-47), baptised at Lonmay (Aberdeens.), 25 February 1832; died young at Crimonmogate, 26 February 1847.
He also had issue an illegitimate son:
(X1) Charles Bannerman (fl. 1872?); living in Bombay (India), 1844, when he was mentioned in his father's will, and perhaps to be identified with the assistant chief engineer and inspector of machinery at HM Dockyard there, who retired to England; married and had issue; living in 1872.
He perhaps inherited the Kirkhill property from his brother in 1840. He inherited the Crimonmogate estate from Patrick Milne in 1820, and rebuilt the house there to the designs of Archibald Simpson.
He died in London, 18 June 1851 and was buried at Crimond, where he is commemorated by a monument; his will was proved 27 August 1851. His wife died of scarlet fever at Crimmondgate, 2 September 1838.


Sir Alexander Bannerman, 9th bt.
Bannerman, Sir Alexander (1823-77), 9th bt. Only son of Sir Charles Bannerman (1782-1851), 8th bt., and his wife Anne, daughter of Charles Bannerman, born 6 April and baptised at Old Machar (Aberdeens.), 9 April 1823. Educated at Trinity College, Cambridge (matriculated 1841). Joined the diplomatic service and was attached to the Legation at Florence, 1844-47, when he resigned. He succeeded his father as 9th baronet, 18 June 1851. DL for Aberdeenshire, 1849 and for Kincardineshire, 1856, and acted as Vice-Lord Lieutenant for his cousin, Lord Kintore. He was a Whig in politics, and stood unsuccessfully for Parliament in Aberdeenshire in 1842 (when he was defeated) and 1860 (when he withdrew). He took a keen interest in the management of his estates, doing personally much of the work normally delegated to a factor, and undertaking several building projects, which included the restoration of the old parish church at Crimond as well as remodelling Crimonmogate and Elsick. He was also a keen amateur photographer and kept a before-and-after record of his changes to the buildings on the Crimonmogate estate. He married 1st, 26 September 1860 at Withyham (Sussex), Lady Arabella Diana Sackville West (1835-69), daughter of 5th Earl de la Warre, and 2nd, 20 January 1874 at St Peter, Eaton Sq., London, Lady Katherine (1841-85), eldest daughter of Bertram Ashburnham, 4th Earl of Ashburnham, and had issue:
(1.1) Ethel Mary Elizabeth Bannerman (c.1869-1947), born 9 February 1869; married, 1 August 1891 at St Peter, Eaton Sq., London, Charles Noel Carnegie (1854-1941), 7th bt. (later 10th* Earl of Southesk), and had issue three sons and two daughters; died 10 December 1947.
He inherited Crimonmogate from his father in 1851 and remodelled it c.1864. He also repurchased part of the Elsick estate, including Elsick House. In 1883 his daughter's estate consisted of 7,660 acres in Aberdeenshire and 500 acres in Kincardineshire. The Kincardineshire property has passed by descent to his daughter's descendant, the 4th Duke of Fife. He also had a house in Grosvenor Place, London.
He died in London, 21 April 1877, when the baronetcy passed to his cousin, Sir George Bannerman (1827-1901), 10th bt, and was buried at Lonmay (Aberdeens.), 27 April 1877; his will was confirmed in Scotland, 4 February 1878 and sealed in London, 28 February 1878 (estate £32,784). His first wife died in childbirth in London, 9 February 1869, and was buried at Lonmay. His widow died at Eastbourne (Sussex), 30 September 1885, and was buried at Crimonmogate; her will was proved 18 December 1885.
* 7th Earl by some reckonings.


Sources

Burke's Peerage and Baronetage, 2003, pp. 246-47; C. McKean, Banff and Buchan: an illustrated architectural guide, 1990, pp. 143-44; J. Sharples, D.W. Walker & M. Woodworth, The buildings of Scotland: Aberdeenshire - North and Moray, 2015, pp. 139-41; D.W. Walker & M. Woodworth, The buildings of Scotland: Aberdeenshire - South and Aberdeen, 2015, pp. 480-81; G. MacGregor, The Red Book of Scotland, 2nd edn, 2018, vol. 1, pp. 389-409.


Location of archives


Bannerman family of Elsick, baronets: deeds, estate and family papers, 16th-19th cents. [Private collection; enquiries to National Register of Archives for Scotland, though some or all of this collection seems to have been sold in 2006.]


Coat of arms


Gules, a banner displayed argent, thereon a canton azure charged with St Andrew's Cross of the second (the badge of Scotland).


Can you help?


  • Can anyone provide further information about the ownership of Elsick House between its sale by the 4th baronet in 1754 and its repurchase by the 9th baronet in the 19th century?
  • The parish registers of Fetteresso parish, in which Elsick lay, are sadly lost for most of the period when the Bannerman family were resident there, so the genealogical part of this account is sadly deficient. If any reader has access to other records which would supply any of the missing information, such as family wills, marriage settlements or genealogies, I should be very pleased to hear from them. I would also be very pleased to receive additional information about the careers of the earlier generations of the family.
  • I should also be most grateful if anyone can provide photographs or portraits of people whose names appear in bold above, and who are not already illustrated. 
  • As always, any additions or corrections to the account given above will be gratefully received and incorporated.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 6 February 2019 and updated 27 August and 21 November 2021. I am grateful to Simon Barnard and Fiona Ligonnet for corrections and additional information and pictures.