Showing posts with label Squarsons. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Squarsons. Show all posts

Tuesday, 30 September 2025

(613) Bickford and Coham (later Dickinson) of Dunsland House and Coham House

Coham of Coham
Bickford of Dunsland
This post tells the stories of two ancient Devon families, who were linked by marriage and by their successive possession of the Dunsland estate near Great Torrington: the Bickfords and the Cohams.

Dunsland had been a seat of the Arscott family from the 16th century, but on the death of Arthur Arscott in 1662 it passed to his daughter Grace, the widow of William Bickford (d. 1659) of Plympton (Devon) and St Keverne (Cornwall), with whom the genealogy below begins. Grace survived her husband until 1687, when the Dunsland estate passed to their son, Arscott Bickford (c.1636-93), who at once put in hand a major remodelling and enlargement of the house, which seems to have been completed by the time of his death six years later. Arscott married three times, but his only surviving sons were the children of his third marriage and were still minors when he died. The elder son was William Bickford (1684-1740), who again married three times and left four sons by his two later marriages. William does not seem to have altered the house at Dunsland, but his heir, Arscott Bickford (1713-71), may have acquired a very richly carved chimneypiece from Stowe House, Kilkhampton (Cornw.), when that house was dismantled in 1739 and installed it in the drawing room at Dunsland. Arscott died unmarried, having outlived his brothers, and so on his death Dunsland passed to his half-brother, George Bickford (1735-95) of Okehampton (Devon). George and his wife had one son and three daughters, and Dunsland passed in the normal way to his son, Arscott Bickford (c.1769-1817), who pursued a career in the regular army, at first in the infantry and later in the cavalry, retiring as a captain in about 1805. He was active in managing his estate, but he remained unmarried, and so at his death the estate devolved upon his sister Mary (d. 1839) and her husband, the Rev. William Holland Coham (1763-1825) of Coham House.

Burke's Landed Gentry in 1898 said ot the Cohams of Coham House in Black Torrington (Devon) that 'it is not known when its possessors did not dwell there, they having possessed it from time immemorial". Certainly it is true that many families who took their surnames from their estates did so at a fairly early date, but in the case of the Cohams there seems to be no actual proof of their association with the property before the mid 16th century, partly because a devastating fire at Coham in the early 18th century is said to have destroyed many of the family muniments. However long the family's roots in the rich Devon soil are, however, they were not regarded as county gentry until at least the 17th century, and are ignored in the herald's visitations of 1531, 1564 and 1620. I have chosen to begin the genealogy below with Lewis Coham (1632-91?), who like William Bickford (d. 1659), married into the Arscott family, as it may have been this marriage which raised the social status of the family significantly. Lewis and his wife had a large family of ten children, among whom the heir was their eldest son, Stephen Coham (1676-1756?). At some point in his tenure, probably around 1716, the house at Coham was largely destroyed by fire, and was not immediately rebuilt, as by his marriage of 1706 Stephen had come into possession of a farmhouse at Upcott Avenel in Sheepwash (Devon), to which he removed. It was left to his eldest son, Lewis Coham (1706-78), who spent most of his life as a mercer in Great Torrington, to rebuild the family seat at Coham, which was still unfinished when he died. Lewis and his wife were childless, and his heir was his nephew, Stephen Coham (1751-86), who completed his uncle's house and moved in about 1779. He died unmarried just a few years later, when the estate passed to his younger brother, the Rev. William Holland Coham (1763-1825), whose wife was, as we have seen, the heiress of the Bickfords of Dunsland.

The integration of the estates at Dunsland, Coham, Upcott Avenel, and Warleggan (Cornwall) made the Cohams more prosperous than before, and their status was also strengthened by three successive generations being 'squarsons': clergymen with benefices in the same area as their landholdings. William Holland Coham was succeeded by his eldest son, the Rev. William Bickford Coham (1792-1843), who further strengthened the family's connections by marrying the eldest daughter of Joseph Davie Bassett of Heanton Court and Watermouth Castle, the chairman of Devon Quarter Sessions. Their eldest son and heir, William Holland Bickford Coham (1828-80) did not enter the church but was active in public affairs in the county, including twenty-five years as a member of the North Devon Yeomanry Cavalry. In 1872 he built a new front block to the house at Coham, which he seems to have preferred to the grander house at Dunsland. His wife came from an Anglo-Irish family (how they met seems not to be recorded), but they had no sons and only one daughter. As a result, the estates were divided on William's death in 1880, with Coham passing to his daughter, Elinor (1861-1938), while Dunsland went to his sister, Augusta (1831-1901) under a settlement of 1839. In 1883, Elinor married John Blyth Fleming (1860-1921), who took the name Coham-Fleming on their marriage, and on her death the Coham estate descended to her grandson, William Holland Bickford Coham-Fleming (1912-2008). After military use in the Second World War, he converted the house into an hotel, and later bed-and-breakfast accommodation, and it is now available for short-term lets. The family continue to farm the Coham estate.

Augusta Christiana Davie Dickinson (1831-1901), who inherited Dunsland in 1880, was a widow with a son and twin daughters. Her son, Arscott William Harvey Dickinson (1859-1952) was educated at Oxford and the Inner Temple, and became a barrister. His professional activities being focused in London, he made a new home at Sydenham (Kent) and later retired to Bude on the Cornish coast. Dunsland fell into disrepair, and in 1947 he sold it. In the 1950s its future seemed promising, as it came into the hands of the architect, Philip Tilden, who began repairs, and then passed to the National Trust, which instituted a thorough programme of repairs before opening the house to the public. Unfortunately, in 1967, when work had recently been completed and the house had just been furnished, it was gutted by fire, and the shell being deemed unsafe was too quickly pulled down.


Dunsland House, Bradford (Devon)

An account of this house was given in a previous post.

Coham House, Black Torrington (Devon)

The Cohams have been at Coham House since at least the 16th century, and possibly much longer, but their ancient home was destroyed by fire in about 1716 and the site was abandoned for half a century, with the family moving to Upcott Avenel in Sheepwash parish (Devon). 

Coham House: what is now the rear wing represents the new house built for Lewis Coham in the 1770s. Image: Chris Andrews. Some rights reserved.
Only in the 1770s did Lewis Coham (1706-78) build a new house at Coham, and this remained a modest two-storey affair, more like a farmhouse than a country house, but no doubt adequate for the needs of a childless couple. The surviving elements of it are two parallel ranges, which may incorporate some fabric from the earlier house. In the 19th century some of the original rooms were subdivided when the two ranges were partly converted into service wings, but they still contain a library lit by a later canted bay window and an open-well staircase with turned balusters. The staircase hall has a Venetian window partly glazed with stained glass, and is hung with five funeral hatchments displaying in heraldic form the extensive connections of the family.

Coham House, Black Torrington: the new front block added in 1872.
In 1872, William Holland Bickford Coham (1828-80) built a new main block at right-angles to the existing 18th century wings. This is again of two storeys but on a grander scale, with a symmetrical front in a rather severe Tudor style, with bargeboarded gables, a slate roof, and mullioned casement windows under drip moulds. In the centre is a projecting two-storey porch with a castellated oriel above the doorway and an heraldic datestone in the gable, and the end bays are also stepped slightly forward. The ground floor of the new range is largely occupied by an entrance hall with an immense Tudor-style chimneypiece supporting an heraldic overmantel, and a drawing room and dining room placed to either side of it.

The house was requisitioned for military use in the Second World War, and in the 1950s it was converted into an hotel. More recently it has been used as bed-and-breakfast accommodation, and it is currently available for self-catering holidays, but the heirs of W.H.B. Coham-Fleming continue to farm the estate.

Descent: Lewis Coham (1636-91); to son, Stephen Coham (1676-1756?); to son, Lewis Coham (1706-78); to nephew, Stephen Coham (1751-86); to brother, Rev. William Holland Coham (1763-1825); to son, Rev. William Bickford Coham (1792-1843); to son, William Holland Bickford Coham (1828-80); to daughter, Eleanor Mary Bickford Coham (1861-1938), later wife of John Blyth Fleming (later Coham-Fleming) (1860-1921); to grandson, William Holland Bickford Coham-Fleming (1912-2008).

Bickford family of Dunsland


Bickford, William (1605-59). Probably the son of John Bickford of Bickfords Town, Plympton St Mary, baptised at Plympton, 18 October 1605. He married, 9 December 1634 at Bradford (Devon), Grace (c.1601/2-87), second but only surviving daughter and heiress of Arthur Arscott (c.1581-1662) of Dunsland House, and had issue:
(1) Mary Bickford (1634-36), baptised at Plympton St Mary, 10 October 1634; died in infancy, 29 March 1635/6;
(2) Arscott Bickford (c.1636-93) (q.v.);
(3) Frances Bickford (1637-47), baptised at Bradford, 29 November 1637; died young, 2 May, and was buried at Plympton St Mary, 7 May 1647;
(4) Elizabeth Bickford (1639-75), baptised at Bradford, 26 June 1639; married, 24 August 1658 at Bradford, Henry Rowland (d. 1691); buried at Holsworthy, 28 September 1675.
He lived at Bickford Town (Devon) and St. Keverne (Cornw.). His widow inherited Dunsland from her father in 1662.
He was buried at Bradford, 3 November 1659; his will was proved in the PCC, 5 December 1660. His widow was buried at Bradford, 13 January 1686/7; her will was proved at Exeter, 1688.

Bickford, Arscott (c.1636-93). Only son of William Bickford (1605-59) and his wife Grace, daughter and heiress of Arthur Arscott (c.1582-1662) of Dunsland House, born about 1636. Educated at New Inn Hall, Oxford (matriculated 1658). He married 1st, 27 January 1660 at Plympton (Devon), Mary (d. 1675), daughter of Edmund Parker of Boringdon (Devon); 2nd, 24 April 1677 at St Mary, Truro (Cornw.), Honor (1645-81/2), daughter of John Prideaux, and 3rd, 8 July 1683 at Padstow (Cornw.), Bridget (1660-1712), daughter of Edmund Prideaux of Prideaux Place, Padstow (Cornw.), and had issue:
(1.1) Edmund Bickford (d. 1677); died young and was buried at Bradford, 30 September 1677;
(2.1) Honor Bickford (1679-1735), baptised at Bradford, 14 November 1679; married, 12 February 1699/1700 at Bradford, William Harris (b. 1674) of Pickwell Manor, Georgeham (Devon), son of John Harris of Wortham (Devon), and had issue at least two sons and three daughters; buried at Holsworthy (Devon), 14 July 1735;
(3.1) William Bickford (1684-1740) (q.v.);
(3.2) Edmund Bickford (1685-1732), baptised at Bradford, 21 October 1685; educated at St Edmund Hall, Oxford (matriculated 1703) and Inner Temple (admitted 1703; called 1710); barrister-at-law; probably died unmarried; buried in Temple churchyard, London, 5 June 1732;
(3.3) Arscott Bickford (d. 1689); died young and was buried at Bradford, 22 May 1689;
(3.4) Nicholas Bickford (1689-90), baptised 23 October 1689; died in infancy and was buried 31 July 1690;
(3.5) Bridget Bickford (1691-93), baptised 13 February 1690/1; died young and was buried at Bradford, 1 January 1693/4; 
(3.6) Arscott Bickford (d. 1696); died young and was buried 19 February 1695/6.
He inherited the Dunsland House estate from his mother in 1687 and undertook a major remodelling and enlargement of the house before his death.
He was buried at Bradford, 19 June 1693; his will was proved at Exeter, 1694. His first wife was buried at Plympton, 1 September 1675. His second wife is said to have been buried 6 April 1682. His widow was buried at Bradford, 18 June 1712.

Bickford, William (1684-1740). Eldest son of Arscott Bickford (c.1636-93) and his third wife, Bridget, daughter of Edmund Prideaux of Place (Cornw.), baptised 2 September 1684. Educated at St Edmund Hall, Oxford (matriculated 1702). High Sheriff of Devon, 1719-20. He married 1st, 12 November 1707 at Maristow (Devon), Bridget (1684-1709), daughter of Edmund Tremayne of Sydenham (Devon); 2nd, 14 May 1712 at Egloshayle (Cornw.), Damaris (1683-1729), daughter of Edward Hoblyn of Nanswhyddon (Cornw.); and 3rd, 7 November 1733, Elizabeth (d. 1767), daughter of Rev. John Richards, rector of Bradford, and had issue:
(2.1) Arscott Bickford (1713-71) (q.v.)
(2.2) Edward Bickford (1715-16), baptised at Bradford, 25 January 1714/5; died in infancy and was buried at Bradford, 21 January 1715/6;
(2.3) Damaris Bickford (1716-17), baptised at Bradford, 23 May 1716; died in infancy and was buried at Bradford, 22 May 1717;
(2.4) Rev. William Bickford (1717-45), baptised at Bradford, 12 June 1717; educated at Exeter College, Oxford (matriculated 1737; SCL, 1740); ordained deacon, 1740; buried at Bradford, 30 May 1745;
(2.5) Edward Bickford (1718-43), baptised at Bradford, 25 August 1718; died unmarried and was buried at Bradford, 12 July 1743;
(3.1) George Bickford (1735-95) (q.v.).
He inherited the Dunsland estate from his father in 1693 and came of age in 1705.
He was buried at Bradford, 26 February 1740/1. His first wife died without issue and was buried at Bradford, 11 February 1708/9. His second wife was buried at Bradford, 25 July 1729. His widow lived latterly at Okehampton and was buried at Bradford, 22 June 1767.

Bickford, Arscott (1713-71). Eldest son of William Bickford (1684-1740) and his second wife, Damaris, daughter of Edward Hoblyn of Nanswhyddon (Cornw.), baptised at Bradford, 5 February 1712/3. High Sheriff of Devon, 1760. JP for Cornwall. He was unmarried and without issue.
He inherited the Dunsland estate from his father in 1741. At his death it passed to his half-brother, George Bickford (d. 1795).
He was buried at Bradford, 26 April 1771.

Bickford, George (1735-95). Only child of William Bickford (1684-1740) and his third wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. John Richards, rector of Bradford, baptised at Cookbury, 11 April 1735. JP for Devon and Cornwall. He married, 17 December 1762 at Dulverton (Som.), Mary (1734-1803), daughter of John Palfreyman of Molland (Devon), and had issue:
(1) Bridget Bickford (1763-1804), baptised at Okehampton (Devon), 9 December 1763; married, 21 December 1802 at Bradford (Devon), Philip Furse (1761-1847), but had no issue; died 9 January and was buried in the chancel of St Stephen, Bristol, 12 January 1804;
(2) Mary Bickford (1767-1839), baptised at Okehampton, 2 May 1767; married, 29 November 1790, Rev. William Holland Coham (1763-1825) [for whom see below] and had issue four sons and three daughters; died at Dunsland, 4 February 1839;
(3) Arscott Bickford (c.1769-1817) (q.v.);
(4) Elizabeth Bickford (1773-1820), baptised at Cookbury (Devon), 14 October 1773; died unmarried and was buried at Bradford, 21 January 1820.
He lived at Okehampton until he inherited the Dunsland estate from his half-brother in 1771.
He died in May 1795. His widow was buried at Bradford, 10 November 1803.

Bickford, Arscott (c.1769-1817). Son of George Bickford (d. 1795) and his wife Mary, daughter of John Palfreyman of Molland (Devon), baptised at Okehampton (Devon), 16 January 1770. An officer in the army (Ensign, 1788; Lt., 1792; Capt., 1795; retired c.1805). He was unmarried and without issue.
He inherited the Dunsland estate from his father in 1795. At his death he was succeeded by his sister Mary.
He died at Exmouth (Devon) and was buried at Bradford (Devon), 25 July 1817; his will was proved in the PCC, 23 September 1817.

Coham of Coham and Dunsland


Coham, Lewis (1632-91?). Son of Stephen Coham of Coham, baptised at Black Torrington, 15 March 1632. He married, 22 December 1669 at Black Torrington, Mary (1645-1722), daughter of John Arscott (1613-75) of Tetcott (Devon), and had issue:
(1) Mary Coham (b. 1672), baptised at Black Torrington, 7 May 1672; married 1st, 29 June 1704 at Black Torrington, Benony Bampfylde (d. 1721) of Black Torrington (Devon), and 2nd, 11 April 1722 at Black Torrington, William Battishall; death not traced;
(2) Susanna Coham (b. 1673), baptised at Black Torrington, 2 September 1673; married, 22 December 1703 at Black Torrington, as his second wife, Clement Gay (b. 1675), who is said to have been related to the poet and dramatist, John Gay (1685-1732), who was born in Barnstaple;
(3) Gertrude Coham (b. 1675), baptised at Black Torrington, 23 February 1674/5
(4) Stephen Coham (1676-1756) (q.v.);
(5) John Coham (1678-1736?), of Bovacott in Bradford (Devon), baptised at Black Torrington, 3 April 1678; married, 23 May 1712, probably at Shebbear (Devon), Margaret, second daughter and co-heiress of William Holland of Upcott Avenel, Sheepwash (Devon), and Thorne (Devon), and had issue three sons (including Rev. Arthur Coham, later Archdeacon of Wiltshire); probably the man of this name buried at Black Torrington, 6 March 1735/6;
(6) Grace Coham (b. 1681), baptised at Black Torrington, 2 February 1680/1; married, 8 January 1709/10, Humphry Braund (d. 1720); buried at Black Torrington, 13 February 1727/8;
(7) Elizabeth Coham (b. 1682), baptised at Black Torrington, 6 December 1682;
(8) Lewis Coham (b. 1684), baptised at Black Torrington, 26 August 1684
(9) Arscott Coham (1686-1760), baptised at Black Torrington, 12 November 1686; buried at Black Torrington, 2 August 1760;
(10) Arthur Coham (1691-1725?), baptised at Black Torrington, 15 March 1690/1; married, 4 July 1715, Elizabeth Burdon (b. 1693) of Burdon in Highampton, and settled at Holsworthy (Devon); possibly the man of this name buried at Black Torrington, 2 April 1725.
He inherited the Coham estate from his father.
He may be the person of this name buried at Black Torrington, 1 September 1691, although that entry could refer to his son and namesake. His widow was buried at Black Torrington, 1 June 1722.

Coham, Stephen (1676-1756). Eldest son of Lewis Coham (1632-91?) and his wife Mary, daughter of John Arscott of Tetcott (Devon), baptised at Black Torrington, 3 October 1676. He married, 9 May 1706 at Black Torrington, Mary (1683-1725), daughter and co-heiress of William Holland of Upcott Avenel, Sheepwash (Devon), and had issue:
(1) Lewis Coham (1706-78) (q.v.);
(2) William Coham (1708-53), baptised at Black Torrington, 16 December 1708; lived at Bideford (Devon); married, 20 November 1745 at Bideford, Jane Kelly (d. 1780); buried at Black Torrington, 9 April 1753;
(3) John Coham (1711-25), baptised at Black Torrington, 1 February 1710/11; died young and was buried at Black Torrington, 24 April 1725;
(4) Mary Coham (1713-92?), baptised at Black Torrington, 22 April 1713; married, 8 May 1745 at Highampton (Devon), Edmund Herring (d. 1771), and had issue two sons and one daughter; probably the woman of this name buried at Hatherleigh (Devon), 4 December 1792;
(5) Stephen Coham (1715-57?), baptised at Black Torrington, 10 May 1715; mercer in Great Torrington; probably died unmarried and may be the man of this name buried at Black Torrington, 24 August 1757;
(6) Susan Coham (b. & d. 1717), baptised at Sheepwash, 3 May 1717; died in infancy and was buried at Black Torrington, 26 December 1717;
(7) Gertrude Coham (1718-65), baptised at Buckland Filleigh, 30 December 1718; married, 21 August 1744 at Black Torrington, John Bradford (d. 1785) of Sheepwash, and had issue five sons and six daughters; buried at Sheepwash, 4 July 1765;
(8) Rev. Holland Coham (1720-77) (q.v.);
(9) Susanna Coham (1722-1813), baptised at Sheepwash, 7 October 1722; married, 11 February 1751/2 at Buckland Filleigh (Devon), John Silke (1725-94?), and had issue two daughters; died aged 91 and was buried at Buckland Filleigh, 24 November 1813.
He inherited the Coham estate from his father, and Upcott Avenel in Sheepwash in right of his wife; after the fire at Coham, c.1716, he lived at Upcott Avenel.
He was buried at Black Torrington, 27 October 1756. His wife was buried at Black Torrington, 14 April 1725.

Coham, Lewis (1706-78). Eldest son of Stephen Coham (1676-1756) of Coham and his wife Mary, daughter and co-heiress of William Holland of Upcott Avenell, baptised at Black Torrington, 19 March 1706. Mercer in Great Torrington (Devon). He married, 18 December 1744 at East Putford (Devon), Lucretia (1703-87), daughter of Abra[ha]m Barnfield of Mambury and Great Torrington (Devon), but had no issue.
He inherited the Coham and Upcott Avenel estates from his father, and built a new house at Coham, which was unfinished at his death, when the property passed to his nephew, Stephen Coham (1751-86).
He was buried at Sheepwash, 20 July 1778; his will was proved in Exeter, 1778. His widow was buried at Sheepwash, 19 September 1787.

Coham, Rev. Holland (1720-77). Fifth and youngest son of Stephen Coham (1676-1756) of Coham and Upcott Avenel (Devon) and his wife Mary, daughter and co-heiress of William Holland of Upcott Avenel, baptised at Sheepwash (Devon), 7 September 1720. Educated at Exeter College, Oxford (matriculated 1739; BA 1742; MA 1745). Rector of Northlew (Devon), 1750-77. He married, 10 July 1750 at Buckland Filleigh (Devon), Christian (b. 1720), daughter of Rev. James Silke of Northlew and Bedminster (Som.), and had issue:
(1) Stephen Coham (1751-86), baptised at Buckland Filleigh (Devon), 5 September 1751; inherited the Coham estate from his uncle in 1778, completed the house and moved there about 1779, but died unmarried, 22 May, and was buried at Black Torrington, 30 May 1786; his will was proved at Exeter, 1786;
(2) Christian Coham (1753-87), baptised at Northlew, 20 September 1753; married, 14 July 1776 at Buckland Filleigh, Richard Wivell, and had issue one daughter; buried at Northlew, 7 July 1787;
(3) William Coham (1755-59), baptised at Northlew, 21 August 1755; died young and was buried at Northlew, 29 March 1759;
(4) John Coham (1757-62), baptised at Northlew, 29 March 1757; died young and was buried at Northlew, 27 August 1762;
(5) Lucretia Coham (b. & d. 1761), baptised at Northlew, 14 August 1761; died in infancy and was buried at Northlew, 20 October 1761;
(6) Rev. William Holland Coham (1763-1825) (q.v.).
He lived at Northlew.
He was buried at Northlew, 23 April 1777; his will was proved at Exeter, 1777. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Coham, Rev. William Holland (1763-1825). Fourth and youngest son of Rev. Holland Coham (1720-77), rector of Northlew (Devon), and his wife Christian, daughter of Rev. James Silke of Northlew (Devon) and Bedminster (Som.), born 23 August and baptised at Northlew (Devon), 28 August 1763. Educated at Exeter College, Oxford (matriculated 1781; BA 1785; MA 1792). Ordained deacon, 1786 and priest, 1788. Curate of Whitstone, 1786-90; rector of Halwill and curate of Black Torrington, 1790-1825; he acted as a surrogate for the issue of marriage licences from 1800. As an estate owner, he was noted as 'a spirited improver'. He married, 29 November 1790, Mary (1767-1839), daughter of George Bickford (d. 1795) of Dunsland [for whom see above], and had issue:
(1) Rev. William Bickford Coham (1792-1843) (q.v.);
(2) Mary Anne Coham (1793-1875), said to have been born 20 April 1793 and was baptised at Black Torrington, 7 May 1795; lived with her sister Christiana at The Tower, Compton Gifford, Plymouth (Devon); died unmarried, 3 January, and was buried at Black Torrington, 8 January 1875; will proved 27 January 1875 (effects under £8,000);
(3) Christiana Coham (1795-1864), baptised at Black Torrington, 24 August 1795; married, 29 June 1837 at Bradford (Devon), George Boughton Kingdon (1775-1857) of Launcells House (Cornw.), but had no issue; as a widow lived at The Tower, Compton Gifford; died 28 December 1864;
(4) Stephen Coham (c.1798-1819), born about 1798 and baptised at Black Torrington, 14 January 1800; a midshipman in the Royal Navy; admitted to St Catherine's College, Cambridge, 1819, but did not go into residence because of his untimely death; died unmarried, when a boat he was commanding was upset near Deal (Kent), 23 October 1819; commemorated on his father's monument at Black Torrington; will proved in the PCC, 24 November 1819;
(5) George Lewis Coham (1802-1878), of Upcott Avenel (Devon), baptised at Black Torrington, 17 March 1802; educated at Exeter College, Oxford (matriculated 1819; BA 1823); farmer; JP and DL for Devon; Vice-Chairman of Holsworthy Board of Guardians, 1837; married, 29 July 1841 at Belstone (Devon), Elizabeth Ann (d. 1855), daughter of Rev. John Hole of Belstone, but had no issue; died 1 January 1878; administration of goods granted 14 February 1878 (effects under £1,500);
(6) Rev. Holland Coham (c.1804-67), born about 1804 but baptised at Black Torrington, 20 August 1807; educated at Blundells School, Eton, and Trinity College, Cambridge (matriculated 1825; BA 1829); JP for Devon; lived with his sisters at The Tower, Compton Gifford, Plymouth (Devon); died 26 March and was buried at Black Torrington, 2 April 1867; will proved 1 May 1867 (effects under £450);
(7) Ellen Coham (b. & d. 1808), baptised at Black Torrington, 8 February 1808; died in infancy and was buried at Black Torrington, 26 April 1808.
He inherited Coham House from his elder brother in 1786, and his wife inherited the Dunsland estate from her brother in 1817.
He died 15 March 1825 and was buried at Black Torrington, where he is commemorated by a monument; his will was proved in the PCC, 17 June 1825. His widow died at Dunsland, 4 February 1839.

Coham, Rev. William Bickford (1792-1843). Eldest son of Rev. William Holland Coham (1763-1825) and his wife Mary, daughter of George Bickford of Dunsland (Devon), born 6 April 1792 and baptised at Black Torrington (Devon), 14 March 1793. Educated at Blundells School and St Catherine's College, Cambridge (matriculated 1811; LLB, 1819). Ordained priest, 1816. Curate of Black Torrington and Beaworthy, 1816, and of Highampton, 1818. He married, 17 April 1827 at Berrynarbour (Devon), Augusta Mary Davie (1802-68), eldest daughter of Joseph Davie Bassett of Heanton Court and Watermouth Castle (Devon), and had issue:
(1) William Holland Bickford Coham (1828-80) (q.v.);
(2) Mary Bassett Eleanor Coham (1829-75), baptised at Black Torrington, about September 1829*; married, 17 August 1852 at St Peter, Parkstone (Dorset), William Parr (1826-63) of Fernside, Parkstone (Dorset) and The Tower, Compton Gifford (Devon), but had no issue; died 2 March and was buried at Pennycross (Devon), 6 March 1875; will proved 1 October 1875 (effects under £7,000);
(3) Augusta Christiana Davie Coham (1831-1901) (q.v.);
(4) Arscott Bickford Courtenay Coham (1832-73), born 29 April and baptised at Black Torrington (Devon), 25 May 1832; solicitor in Holsworthy (Devon); died unmarried, 1 July 1873; will proved 22 August 1873 (effects under £800);
(5) Reginald Stephen Coham (b. & d. 1835), baptised at Black Torrington, 10 January 1835; died in infancy, 14 March 1835.
He inherited the Coham and Dunsland estates from his parents.
He died 2 July and was buried at Black Torrington, 11 July 1843; his will was proved in the PCC, 6 February 1844. His widow died 8 October 1868, and was buried at Black Torrington.
* Date missing in parish register.

Coham, William Holland Bickford (1828-80). Eldest son of Rev. William Bickford Coham (1792-1843) and his wife Augusta Mary, eldest daughter of Joseph Davie Bassett of Heanton Court and Watermouth Castle (Devon), baptised at Black Torrington (Devon), 28 July 1828. Educated at St John's College, Cambridge (matriculated 1847). An officer in the North Devon Yeomanry Cavalry (Cornet, 1851; Lt., 1855; Capt., 1867; retired 1875); JP and DL (from 1860) for Devon; Chairman of Holsworthy Board of Guardians. 'His amiability of character made him universally beloved'. He married, 3 September 1857 at Lucan (Co. Dublin), Dora Elizabeth Louisa, youngest daughter of Gen. Sir Hopton Stratford Scott KCB of Woodville (Co. Dublin), and had issue:
(1) Elinor Mary Bickford Coham (1861-1938) (q.v.).
He inherited the Coham and Dunsland estates in Devon and Trevedoe Manor, Warleggan (Cornw.) from his father in 1843 and came of age in 1849. In 1873 his estates comprised 3,744 acres in Devon and 221 acres in Cornwall. He constructed a new main block to the house at Coham, which passed at his death to his daughter, while Dunsland went to his sister Augusta, under a settlement of 1839.
He died 22 September 1880 and was buried at Black Torrington (Devon); will proved 25 October 1880 (effects under £3,000). His widow died 19 June 1922; her will was proved 10 January 1923 (estate £15,833).

Coham, Elinor Mary Bickford (1861-1938). Only child of William Holland Bickford Coham (1828-80) and his wife, Dora Elizabeth Louisa, youngest daughter of Gen. Sir Hopton Stratford Scott KCB, born about 1862. She married, 5 June 1883 at St Martin-in-the-Fields, Westminster (Middx), John Blyth Fleming (subsequently Coham-Fleming) (1860-1921), High Sheriff of Devon, 1887, eldest son of John Fleming of Bigadon (Devon) and Clayquhat (Perths.), and had issue:
(1) Blyth Bickford Coham-Fleming (1884-1929) (q.v.).
She inherited Coham House from her father in 1880.
She died 29 March 1938; administration of her goods was granted 15 June 1938 and 22 November 1938 (estate £30,182). Her husband died 18 May 1921; his will was proved 10 November 1921 (estate £10,236).

Coham-Fleming, Blyth Bickford (1884-1929). Only child of John Blyth Fleming (later Coham-Fleming (1860-1921) and his wife Elinor Mary Bickford, daughter of William Holland Bickford Coham of Coham House (Devon), born 5/6 September and baptised at St James, Paddington (Middx), 3 October 1884. An officer in the army during the First World War (2nd Lt., 1917; Lt., 1919; retired 1920) He married, 19 March 1910 at Cofton (Devon), Lilian Alice Sarah (1889-1939), daughter of Charles Francis Reed of Bradford House (Devon), and had issue:
(1) Daphne Lilian Dora Coham-Fleming (1911-89), born 15 July and baptised at Black Torrington, 6 August 1911; nurse and lecturer in nursing at St Thomas' Hospital, London who served in Second World War with Princess Mary's RAF Nursing Service Reserve (Sister; invalided out, 1946); died unmarried, 15 March 1989, and was buried at Black Torrington;
(2) William Holland Bickford Coham-Fleming (1912-2008) (q.v.);
(3) Brian Jack Avenal Coham-Fleming (1914-98), born 11 July and baptised at Black Torrington, 9 August 1914; served in the army from 1938; married, 30 January 1946 at St Mark, Marylebone (Middx), Elizabeth Primrose (1918-99), nurse, elder daughter of Maurice Bernheim (d. 1922), and had issue one son and one daughter; died 21 January 1998.
He died 10 August, and was buried at Black Torrington, 13 August 1929; his will was proved 5 November and 25 January 1930 (estate £34,969). His widow died 10 December 1939; her will was proved 12 January and 22 November 1940 (estate £21,223).

Coham-Fleming, William Holland Bickford (1912-2008). Elder son of Blyth Bickford Coham-Fleming (1884-1929) and his wife Lilian Alice Sarah, daughter of Charles Francis Reed of Bradford House (Devon), born 2 November and baptised at Black Torrington, 15 December 1912. He was employed by the Indian Forestry Service before the Second World War, and was later an officer in the Indian army (2nd Lt., 1941; Lt.; Capt.; Maj. by 1946, when he was mentioned in despatches) and a farmer in Devon. He married, Apr-June 1979, Caroline Sophia (1915-2012), daughter of Thomas Beamish of Clooneen, Midleton (Co. Cork), and widow of Allan Stewart Maclaren (d. 1971) of Glasgow, son of John Maclaren of Fort Augustus (Inverness), but had no issue.
He inherited Coham House from his grandmother in 1938. After the war he converted the house into an hotel and moved into the former stables.
He died aged 95 on 2 May 2008 and was buried at Black Torrington (Devon); his will was proved 8 September 2008. His widow died 31 March 2012; her will was proved 8 October 2012.

Coham, Augusta Christiana Davie (c.1831-1901). Second daughter of Rev. William Bickford Coham (1792-1843) and his wife Augusta Mary, eldest daughter of Joseph Davie Bassett of Heanton Court and Watermouth Castle (Devon), born about 1831. She married, 29 April 1858 at St Peter, Parkstone (Dorset), Maj. Harvey George Dickinson (1830-66), son of John Dickinson, gent., and had issue:
(1) Arscott William Harvey Dickinson (1859-1952) (q.v.);
(2) twin, Augusta Frances Courtenay Dickinson (1863-92), born 25 April and baptised at Quilon, Madras (India), 18 October 1863; married, 3 November 1883 at Compton Gifford (Devon), Adm. Henry Morton Tudor-Jones (later Tudor Tudor) RN (1855-1926), and had issue two sons and one daughter; died 14 October 1892 and was buried at Ford Park Cemetery, Plymouth (Devon);
(3) twin, Elinor Mary Coham Dickinson (1863-1923), born 25 April and baptised at Quilon, Madras (India), 18 October 1863; married, 14 April 1884 at Buckland Monarchorum (Devon), Vice-Adm. William McCoy Fitzgerald Castle RN (c.1843-1916), son of Vice-Adm. William Langford Castle (1800-74) of New Lodge, Lymington (Hants), and had issue one son and one daughter; died at Herrison Mental Home, Charminster (Dorset), 17 December 1923; administration of her goods granted to her son, 18 February 1924 (estate £3,515).
She inherited the Dunsland estate from her brother in 1880, under a settlement of 1839.
She died 13 July and was buried at Bradford (Devon), 17 July 1901; her will was proved 30 November 1901 (estate £8,945). Her husband died at sea while being invalided home from India, 27 November 1866; his will was proved 16 April 1867 (effects under £100).

Dickinson, Arscott William Harvey (1859-1952). Only son of Maj. Harvey George Dickinson (1830-66) and his wife, Augusta Christiana Davie, younger daughter of Rev. William Bickford Coham of Dunsland (Devon), born 23 April and baptised at Quilon, Madras (India), 29 May 1859. Educated at Lincoln College, Oxford (matriculated 1879; BA 1884; MA 1886) and Inner Temple (admitted 1884; called 1888). Barrister-at-law. JP for Cornwall (from 1898) and Devon (from 1904). He married, 11 January 1893 at Lew Trenchard (Devon), Mary (1869-1945), eldest daughter of Rev. Sabine Baring-Gould of Lew Trenchard Manor, and had issue:
(1) Arscott Sabine Harvey Dickinson (1893-1979), born 28 November and baptised at Lew Trenchard, 31 December 1893; educated at Dulwich College and Worcester College, Oxford (matriculated 1913; BA); served in First World War with Royal North Devon Yeomanry (Lt., 1916); schoolmaster at St Lawrence College, Ramsgate (Kent), 1919-23 and Langport (Som.) Grammar School, 1923; librarian of the Jersey Library, 1934-50; a Fellow of the Library Association; lived at St Clement (Jersey); married, 23 April 1924 at Holy Trinity, Ramsgate (Kent), Eva Louise Mace Sankey (d. 1979); died 24 August 1979 and was buried at St Clement; administration of goods with will annexed granted 30 January 1980 (estate £20,255);
(2) Edward Dabernon Dickinson (1895-1961), born 27 June 1895; educated at Dulwich College and Keble College, Oxford; served in First World War with Liverpool Regiment (2nd Lt., 1917; Lt., 1919); export and office manager for a company manufacturing toilet cleaning products; married, 17 October 1921 in Canada, Frances Anne (1899-1960), daughter of Col. George Arnold Brinton of Indian Head, Saskatchewan (Canada), and had issue two sons; died 19 September 1961; will proved 13 October 1961 (estate £14,950);
(3) Rev. Bickford Holland Coham Dickinson (1900-75), born 16 July 1900; educated at St Paul's School, London; JP for Devon (from 1943); schoolmaster at Shebbear School, 1945-57; a mature entrant to the church, who trained at Ripon Hall, Oxford; ordained deacon, 1959, and priest, 1960; curate of Holsworthy (Devon), 1959-61; rector of Lew Trenchard, 1961-72?; a keen cricketer (who played for Devon) and lepidopterist in his youth, he was also the author of a biography of his grandfather and predecessor, Sabine Baring-Gould (1970) and other local history works; married, 1947 at Shebbear (Devon), Marjorie Mona Clark (1905-94); died 23 July 1975 and was buried at Bradford (Devon); will proved 14 August 1975 (estate £15,740).
He inherited the Dunsland estate from his mother in 1901, but sold it in 1947. He lived chiefly in Sydenham (Kent) while working as a barrister, and later at Bude (Cornwall).
He died at Bude, 21 January 1952, and was buried at Bradford (Devon); his will was proved 14 March 1952 (estate £31,967). His wife died 31 January 1945; administration of her goods was granted 2 March 1945 (estate £3,530).

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1898, vol. 1, p. 404, 524; H. Meller, The country houses of Devon, 2015, pp. 269-70.

Location of archives

Bickford and Coham of Dunsland and Coham: deeds, family and estate papers, 1494-1876 [Devon Archives & Local Studies, 178B M/E 1-13, M/F 1-3; 2569B Boxes DD, EE, FF, K, L and M]

Coat of arms

Bickford of Dunsland: Argent a chevron engrailed sable between three martlets of the second.
Coham of Coham: Per chevron, engrailed, gules and ermine; in chief, five fleurs-de-lis, three and two; and in base, a lion, rampant, or.

Can you help?
  • Can anyone provide photographs or portraits of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements
This post was first published 30 September 2025 and was updated 15 April 2026.

Friday, 16 August 2024

(581) Berkeley of Cotheridge Court

Berkeley of Cotheridge
This family are a cadet branch of the Berkeleys of Spetchley (who will be the subject of a future post), who were in a turn a cadet branch of the Berkeleys of Berkeley Castle. This branch begins with William Berkeley (1583-1658),
son of Rowland Berkeley of Worcester and Spetchley, a wealthy clothier. William purchased the Cotheridge estate near Worcester in 1615, and settled it on his only son, Sir Rowland Berkeley (1613-96), kt., on the latter's marriage in 1635. He served as High Sheriff of Worcestershire in 1617-18, a clear mark of his newly-minted landed status, but his marriage was to Margaret Chettle, the daughter of another Worcester citizen, who served as mayor and MP for the city.

Sir Rowland Berkeley was educated at Oxford and the Middle Temple, and was knighted in 1641. By 1643 he was a justice of the peace and was evidently managing the estate at Cotheridge. He was an active Royalist in the Civil War (being a Commissioner of Array and also High Sheriff in 1644-45), but after the siege of Worcester in 1646 he compounded for his delinquency and took an oath not to take up arms against Parliament again. This oath he seems to have taken seriously, for he took considerable risks to avoid involvement in the Battle of Worcester in 1651. His resolution does not seem to have cost him royal favour, however, for his name was on the list of men to be included in Charles II's proposed Order of the Royal Oak in 1660, and he was restored to the magistracy and lieutenancy in the same year. He had married, in 1635, Dorothy Cave (1619-77), the teenage daughter of Sir Thomas Cave of Stanford Hall (Northants), and probably had a large family, but our knowledge of his children is probably incomplete as the Cotheridge parish registers do not survive before 1653. We do know, however, that he had only one son who survived to adulthood, Thomas Berkeley (c.1639-69), who died while travelling in south-east Europe, long before his father's death. Sir Rowland therefore adopted as his heir Rowland, the second son of his eldest daughter, Elizabeth Green (c.1645-c.1688), on condition that he took the name Berkeley in lieu of Green.

Rowland Green (later Berkeley) (1680-1731) came of age in 1701 and was High Sheriff of Worcestershire in 1711-12. He and his wife, Mary Bohun, had a large family, although several of his children died young. His heir was Rowland Berkeley (1705-59), who married Lucy Lechmere from Severn End (Worcs) a few months after his father's death and produced an even larger family (nine sons and five daughters) than his father, although once again, several of them died young. Rowland seems to have played little part in public affairs, and he thus lacked other sources of income to supplement the resources of the estate, making it difficult for him to provide for his younger sons and daughters, several of whom remained unmarried. His eldest son and heir, Rowland Berkeley (1732-1805) inherited the Cotheridge estate and made major changes to the house there in about 1770, which were perhaps financed by his marriage in 1768 to the daughter of a London merchant. They had no children, however, so at his death the estate passed to his younger brother, the Rev. Henry Rowland Berkeley (1740-1832), who had none either, having married only in middle age to a woman already past childbearing age. Henry was the last survivor of his father's large family, and on his death Cotheridge passed to his nephew, the Rev. Richard Tomkyns (1768-1840), once more on the condition that the heir took the name Berkeley, which he had royal licence to do in 1832.

The Rev. Richard Tomkyns (later Berkeley) also made a very late marriage, and at his death left only a daughter, Louisa Anne (1823-90), who could not inherit Cotheridge as the estate was entailed on the male line. It passed instead to Richard's second cousin, the Rev. John Rowland Berkeley (1781-1850), who descended from a younger son of Rowland Berkeley (1680-1731). This branch of the family had been clergymen through several generations, and John was vicar of Much Cowarne (Herefs). He never married, so at his death Cotheridge passed to his younger brother William Berkeley (1784-1869), who spent most of his life in Essex and London. His eldest son was the Rev. William Comyns Berkeley (1810-85), who was appointed as rector of Cotheridge in 1850 and after his father's death became a classic Victorian squarson, combining the roles of squire and parson until his death in 1885. Comyns Berkeley, as he seems to have been known, married a daughter of the famous early 19th century antiquary, John Bowyer Nichols (1779-1863), and the couple had four sons, of whom the eldest, and the heir to Cotheridge, was Rowland Comyns Berkeley (1845-1925). It was in this generation that the combined effect of the Agricultural Depression and progressive taxation first made it impossible for small estates like Cotheridge to continue to support a gentry family in a leisured existence, and his sons all went into careers in engineering or colonial planting. Their careers were, of course, interrupted by the First World War, and the eldest son, Rowland Broughton Berkeley (1883-1957) served at different times in the army, the navy, and the air force. He inherited Cotheridge in 1925, but sold most of the land in 1932 and eventually parted with the house in 1949, after which it was converted into flats. He had no children, and his siblings left no surviving issue either, so he was the last of the Berkeleys of Cotheridge.

Cotheridge Court, Worcestershire

The house is essentially a late 16th century timber-framed house of two storeys and attics, which was much altered in 1770. The plan consists of a central block containing the entrance hall and principal staircases, with the kitchen and offices at the rear, a shallow L-shaped wing on the north, and a longer wing on the south, both wings projecting symmetrically on the east front.  As a result of the changes of 1770, the original building is now only apparent from the west, where the Tudor close studding and carved bargeboards are visible. However, in the early 20th century the Berkeley family retained a drawing showing the house in its original form, with the east front crowned by four gables - one on each wing and two over the recessed centre - while a small porch with a gabled room over it stood in the centre of the range. 

Cotheridge Court: the rear of the house from the north-west in 1932, prior to the removal of  lime render. Image: R.J. Collins/Historic England 

Cotheridge Court: recent aerial view of the house from the south-west, showing the semi-timbered range
More survives inside of the Tudor house, including the principal staircase, north of the hall, which rises in three flights to the first floor round a square (but probably reduced) well, and has massive newels crowned by moulded finials, and heavily moulded handrails, supported by square raking balusters joined at their heads by small semicircular arches.
Cotheridge Court: the Tudor staircase, c.1920
Image: Victoria County History/University of London
In the early 20th century, t
he dining room, at the east end of the north wing, had Elizabethan panelling, while the room to the west of it, known as the 'brown parlour', had a plaster ceiling of the same date with a rose in the centre, and contemporary panelling, although an earlier painted panel behind this indicated that this part of the house may contain some fragments of the previous house on the site. To the north of the dining room is a small panelled room, traditionally called 'the sot's hole,' which is rather quaintly said to have been where drunk and disorderly prisoners brought before the Berkeleys in their capacity as magistrates, were locked up until they had sobered up! It seems more likely that this was a small parlour, and the room above has good late 16th century plasterwork.

Cotheridge Court: the house from the south-east soon
after re-fronting c.1770.


In 1770, a new red brick entrance front was created as a thin skin over the timber-framed house; the recessed five-bay centre was given sash windows and a new classical doorcase in place of the Tudor porch; the south wing was rebuilt in brick and both wings were given Venetian windows on the ground floor; and the gabled attics were concealed by a solid brick wall with blind glazed windows and a plain parapet. The entrance doorway has a moulded architrave and consoles supporting a pediment containing a shield with the Berkeley arms. Inside, the hall, apparently always a single-storey space, was divided to enable the creation of a new staircase at its southern end, and a new drawing room was created at the eastern end of the south wing, which has a plaster ceiling, doorcases, and wooden chimneypiece in the Adam style.

Cotheridge Court: watercolour view from north-east by E. Doe, 1847. Image: William Drummond/Historic England

Cotheridge Court: east front c.1920. Image: Victoria County History/University of London
Further changes were made to the house in the mid 19th century, probably in the early 1870s. At this time, a balustrade with vases was added to the parapet of the entrance front, and the stepped tripartite windows on the first floor of the wings were inserted in place of earlier semi-circular tripartite ones. 

Cotheridge Court: renovation and partial demolition works in progress in 1950. Image: H.E. Sergeant/Historic England
After selling much of the estate in 1932, the Berkeleys finally sold the house in 1949 to an Irish entrepreneur, who felled the timber in the park, and divided the house into two dwellings and three smaller flats. During the renovation works the timber-framing on the west front, which had been plastered over, was exposed, a gabled range of outbuildings, perhaps including a brewhouse, which stood behind the south range, was largely demolished, and many old oak beams from the interior were removed and sold. The house was formerly approached along a noted avenue of lime trees, which were felled in 1961 when they were deemed to be unsafe.

Descent: Thomas Vaux (1510-56), 2nd Baron Vaux of Harrowden, sold 1534 to Sir Robert Acton (d. 1558), kt., to younger son Charles Acton; to son, Sir John Acton (d. 1621), kt.; sold 1615 to William Berkeley (1583-1658); handed on in his lifetime to Sir Rowland Berkeley (1613-96), kt.; to grandson, Rowland Green (later Berkeley (1680-1731); to son, Rowland Berkeley (1705-59); to son, Rowland Berkeley (1732-1805); to brother, Rev. Dr. Henry Rowland Berkeley (1740-1832); to nephew, Rev. Richard Rowland Tomkyns (later Berkeley) (1768-1840); to second cousin, Rev. John Rowland Berkeley (1781-1850); to brother, William Berkeley (1784-1869); to son, Rev. William Comys Berkeley (1810-85); to son, Rowland Comyns Berkeley (1845-1925); to son, Rowland Broughton Berkeley (1883-1957), who sold 1949 to Charles Lewsey, who converted the house into two dwellings and three flats.

Berkeley family of Cotheridge Court


Berkeley, William (1583-1658). Eldest son of Rowland Berkeley (1548-1611) of Worcester and Spetchley and his wife Catherine, daughter of Thomas Heywood, baptised at St Martin, Worcester, 30 July 1583. High Sheriff of Worcestershire, 1617-18. He married, about 1607, Margaret (1586-1649), daughter of Thomas Chettle (c.1552-c.1640) of Worcester, MP for Worcester in 1614, and had issue:
(1) Katherine Berkeley (c.1608-55), elder daughter, born about 1608; married, 12 July 1632 at St Saviour, Southwark (Surrey), John Verney (d. 1680) of Compton Murdock alias Compton Verney (Warks), probably the younger son of Sir Richard Verney (1563-1630), kt.; buried at Chesterton (Warks), 28 June 1655;
(2) Jane Berkeley (c.1611-65), born about 1611; married, before 1635, as his second wife, William Jeffreys (c.1595-1658) of Ham or Homme Castle, Clifton-upon-Teme (Worcs), and had issue five sons and four daughters; died 8 March and was buried at Clifton-upon-Teme, 10 March 1664/5;
(3) Sir Rowland Berkeley (1613-96), kt. (q.v.).
He inherited the manors of Cowleigh (in Mathon (Worcs)) and Acton Beauchamp from his father in 1611 and purchased the manor of Cotheridge from Sir John Acton (d. 1621) in 1615. He sold Cowleigh in 1624 and the remainder of the estate was settled on his son on the latter's marriage in 1635.
He died 4 December 1658; his will was proved in the PCC, 1 January 1658/9. His wife died 29 September 1649.

Berkeley, Sir Rowland (1613-96), kt. Only son of William Berkeley (1583-1658) and his wife Margaret, daughter of Thomas Chettle of Worcestershire, born in 1613. Educated at the Middle Temple (admitted 1627) and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1632). Knighted, 30 June 1641. JP for Worcestershire, 1643-46, 1660-80, for Worcester City, 1660-80, and for Worcester and Worcestershire, 1689-96. High Sheriff of Worcestershire, 1644-45. DL for Worcestershire, 1660-88. During the Civil War he was an active Royalist, but at the surrender of Worcester on 23 July 1646 he obtained a written pass to return home in return for taking an oath not to bear arms against Parliament again, and he compounded for delinquency the following month and paid a fine of £2,030 (about four times the annual value of the estate). He evidently regarded himself as still bound by his oath in 1651 for he left an account of his conduct during the Battle of Worcester in that year, when he was 'brought to Worcester, much against his will, from Cotheridge, where he had this time remained at home 'resolved not to meddle.' He wrote to his father-in-law, Sir Thomas Cave, that he was fetched to the King from Cotheridge by a major with a party of horse. Having learnt that a commission had been issued to him and other gentlemen of the county to assist Major-General Massey, then governor of Worcester, and 'not liking the employment,' he, while waiting for audience with the king, got to his horse and fled home with what speed he could, the battle being already hot on both sides of the town. He got in about nine that night, after an exciting ride through the army, being captured once by the Scots, and escaping from them again. The next morning by sunrise a party of the Parliamentary horse rode to Cotheridge and told Sir Rowland he must come with them to their general. They carried him off and took his dun colt with them, but by the time they reached St. John's he found they had no order for what they did, and again escaped home. He was one of the gentlemen chosen by King Charles in 1660 to be invested with the order of the Royal Oak, but the order was never set up. MP for the City of Worcester, 1661. He married, 26 November 1635, Dorothy (1619-77), daughter of Sir Thomas Cave, kt., of Stanford Hall (Northants), and had issue, probably among others:
(1) Thomas Berkeley (c.1639-69), born about 1639; who 'out of a generous curiosity to see foreign countries, went with... Sir Daniel Harvey, ambassador extraordinary... to Sultan Mahomet Kan, emperor of the Turks, and travelling with [him] from Constantinople towards Thessalonika, where the ambassador was to receive his audience from the emporor, fell sick by the way' and died unmarried aged 30 at Megara (Greece), 25 October 1669, where he was buried among the Greek Christians; commemorated by a monument at Cotheridge;
(2) Elizabeth Berkeley (c.1645-c.1688) (q.v.);
(3) Anne Berkeley (c.1648-77), born before 1653; died unmarried and was buried at Cotheridge, 23 October 1677;
(4) Penelope Berkeley (c.1650-96), born about 1650; married, 23 September 1686 at Cotheridge, as his second wife, Sir Thomas Street (1625-96), kt., a justice of common pleas and MP for Worcester, 1659-79, son of George Street (1594-1643), mayor of Worcester, but had no issue; buried at Cotheridge, 25 April 1696;
(5) Mary Berkeley (c.1653-1707); married, 6 October 1675 at Cotheridge, Richard Nash junior (c.1653-96) of Droitwich, and had issue at least one son* and two daughters; buried at Droitwich, 11 June 1707, where she is commemorated on the monument to her husband and father-in-law;
(6) Dorothy Berkeley (b. 1654), baptised at Cotheridge, 15 May 1654; probably died young but death not traced;
(7) Margaret Berkeley (1657-1707), baptised at Cotheridge, 9 March 1657; married, 1675 (licence 25 April), William Bromley (1656-1707) of Holt Castle (Worcs), MP for Worcester, 1685-1700 and for Worcestershire, 1701-02, 1705-07, eldest surviving son of Henry Bromley (1632-70), and had issue three daughters; died on 23 August 1707 at Horseheath Hall (Cambs), evidently of an infectious disease which also killed her husband and one of her daughters, and was buried with them at Holt, 25 August 1707;
(8) Rebecca Berkeley (1659-89?), baptised at Cotheridge, 25 October 1659; married, 24 November 1686 at Cotheridge, as his second wife, Henry Townshend (c.1653-1707) of Elmley Lovett (who m3, 24 November 1690 at Ombersley (Worcs), Penelope (c.1657-99), daughter of Samuel  Sandys of Ombersley), but had no issue; possibly the woman of this name buried at St Margaret, Westminster (Middx), 3 March 1688/9.
He had taken over the management of the Cotheridge estate by 1646. 
He was buried at Cotheridge, 7 April 1696; his will was proved 11 April 1696. His wife was buried at Cotheridge, 4 May 1677.
* The Worcestershire historian, Dr. Treadway Russell Nash, was the grandson of Richard and Mary Nash.

Berkeley, Elizabeth (c.1645-c.1688). Eldest recorded daughter of Sir Rowland Berkeley (1613-96), kt., and his wife Dorothy, daughter of Sir Thomas Cave, kt., of Stanford Hall (Northants), probably born about 1645. She married, 1668 (licence), Henry Green (1640-94) of Wyken (Warks), a trustee of Rugby School from 1687, and had issue:
(1) Henry Green (1669-1744), baptised at Wyken, 9 March 1669; inherited the Wyken estate from his father in 1694; married, 26 October 1697 at St Paul, Covent Garden, Westminster (Middx) Margaret (1664-1724), eldest daughter of Sir William Craven (1638-95) of Benham Valence (Berks) and Coombe Abbey (Warks), and had issue at least one son and one daughter (who died young); died without surviving issue and was buried at Wyken, 23 June 1744;
(2) Dorothy Green (b. 1671), baptised at Wyken, 5 October 1671; living in 1691 and probably the woman of this name who married, 29 December 1697 at St Michael, Coventry, Thomas Burgh*, and had issue at least one son and two daughters; death not traced;
(3) Penelope Green (b. 1672), baptised at Wyken, 10 October 1672; married, 10 August 1696 at Cotheridge, Benjamin Jeffries (1649-c.1708) of Clifton-upon-Teme (Worcs), but had no issue; 
(4) Elizabeth Green (b. 1673), baptised at Wyken, 6 November 1673; married, 1703 (licence 11 September), Henry Green (b. c.1663) of Ashley (Northants), son of Henry Green of Rolleston (Leics), and had issue at least one son;
(5) Mary Green (1674-1744), baptised at Wyken, 13 October 1674; died unmarried at Wyken; will proved 12 October 1744;
(6) Anne Green (1675-1710), baptised at Wyken, 4 December 1675; died unmarried and was buried at Wyken, 6 November 1710;
(7) Maria Rebecca Green (1677-1729), baptised at Wyken, 24 May 1677; married, 6 December 1704 at Clifton-upon-Teme (Worcs), Hon. John Craven (1673-1726) of Whitley (Warks), and had issue four sons** and two daughters; buried in Binley (Warks), 16 August 1729;
(8) Margaret Green (b. 1678), baptised at Wyken, 9 September 1678; living in 1691;
(9) Jane Green (b. 1679; fl. 1740), baptised at Wyken, 2 October 1679; living unmarried in 1740 but death not traced;
(10) Rowland Green (later Berkeley) (1680-1731) (q.v.);
(11) Bridget Green (1683-99), baptised at Wyken, 3 April 1683; died unmarried and was buried at Wyken, 15 September 1699.
She died between 1683 and 1691. Her husband was buried at Wyken, 3 May 1694, but his will was not proved in the PCC until 21 May 1697.
* Entered in the parish register as Birgg. Many other variations of the name seem to be recorded, including Burr and Baugh.
** Their son William succeeded to the barony of Craven as 5th Baron in 1764.

Green (later Berkeley), Rowland (1680-1731). Second son of Henry Green (1640-94) of Wyken (Warks) and his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Rowland Berkeley (1613-96), kt., of Cotheridge (Worcs), baptised at Wyken, 19 January 1680/1. He was adopted by his maternal grandfather and brought up as heir to the Cotheridge estate. He took the name Berkeley on succeeding to the estate in 1696, but was sometimes referred to as 'Mr Berkeley Green'. High Sheriff of Worcestershire, 1711-12. He married, 1700 (licence 10 August), Mary (d. 1731), daughter and co-heir of George Bohun of Newhouse and Coundon (Warks), and had issue:
(1) George Berkeley (b. 1701), baptised at St Michael, Coventry, 22 April 1701; predeceased his father and probably died young;
(2) Mary Berkeley (b. 1701), baptised at St Michael, Coventry, 26 December 1701; died in infancy;
(3) Mary Berkeley (b. 1702), baptised at St Michael, Coventry, 30 November 1702;
(4) Dorothy Berkeley (1704-77), baptised at St Michael, Coventry, 3 March 1704; married, 16 June 1725 at Cotheridge, William Calcott (d. 1738) of Berwick (Shrops.), and had issue three sons and three daughters; buried at Atcham (Shrops.), 11 June 1777;
(5) Rowland Berkeley (1705-59) (q.v.);
(6) Elizabeth Berkeley (1707-49), baptised at St Michael, Coventry, 28 May 1707; died unmarried and was buried at Cotheridge, 3 December 1749;
(7) Susanna Berkeley (1709-20), born 2 March and baptised at Cotheridge, 9 March 1708/9; died young and was buried at Cotheridge, 12 June 1720;
(8) Margaret Berkeley (1710-80), born 15 November and baptised at Cotheridge, 17 November 1710; married, 21 August 1740 at Atcham (Shrops.), Scarlett Lloyd of Harlescott, Shrewsbury (Shrops.) and was buried at St Mary, Shrewsbury, 30 April 1780;
(9) Penelope Berkeley (1712-90?), born 30 May and baptised at Cotheridge, 8 June 1712; married, 21 July 1731 at Doddenham (Worcs), John Green; married 2nd, 9 March 1742/3, George Watts (d. 1795) of Frolesworth (Leics), and had issue two sons and four daughters; buried at Frolesworth, 28 July 1790;
(10) Rev. Lucy Berkeley (1713-93) (q.v.);
(11) Jane Berkeley (1715-91), born 25 September and baptised at Cotheridge, 2 October 1715; married, 27 April 1749, William Craven (1705-69), 5th Baron Craven of Coombe Abbey (Warks), MP for Warwickshire, 1746-64, but had no issue; died October 1791; will proved in the PCC, 23 November 1791;
(12) Catherine Berkeley (1717-69), born 14 September and baptised at Cotheridge, 17 September 1717; married, 22 December 1747, as his second wife, Thomas Leigh (1713-49), 4th Baron Leigh, of Stoneleigh Abbey (Warks), and had issue one daughter; buried at Stoneleigh, 12 April 1769; will proved at Lichfield, 1769.
He inherited the Cotheridge estate from his grandfather in 1696.
He was buried at Cotheridge, 17 July 1731. His wife was buried at Cotheridge, 27 April 1731.

Berkeley, Rowland (1705-59). Second, but eldest surviving son of Rowland Green (later Berkeley) (1680-1731) and his wife Mary, daughter and co-heir of George Bohun of Newhouse and Coundon (Warks), baptised at St Michael, Coventry (Warks), 9 October 1705. He married, 2 December 1731 at Hill Croome (Worcs), Lucy (d. 1769), daughter of Anthony Lechmere of Severn End (Worcs), and had issue:
(1) Rowland Berkeley (1732-1805) (q.v.);
(2) Anne Berkeley (1734-72?) (q.v.);
(3) Edmund Berkeley (1735-37), born 21 June and baptised at Cotheridge, 3 July 1735; died in infancy and was buried at Cotheridge, 2 April 1737;
(4) Lucy Berkeley (1736-1812), born 27 August and baptised at Cotheridge, 24 September 1736; died unmarried and was buried at Cotheridge, 9 March 1812;
(5) Thomas Berkeley (1737-38), born 7 December and baptised at Cotheridge, 9 December 1737; died in infancy and was buried at Cotheridge, 6 March 1738;
(6) William Rowland Berkeley (b. & d. 1739), baptised at Cotheridge, 9 February 1738/9; died in infancy and was buried at Cotheridge, 26 February 1738/9;
(7) Rev. Henry Rowland Berkeley (1740-1832) (q.v.);
(8) Rev. Thomas Rowland Berkeley (1741-1825), born and baptised at Cotheridge, 23 December 1741; educated at New College, Oxford (MA 1769; BD and DD, 1786); Fellow of New College; ordained deacon, 1765, and priest, 1766; rector of Rugby (Warks), 1767-1825 and Wootton (Oxon), 1786-1825; domestic chaplain to his aunt, Lady Craven, 1769; died unmarried, 1 February, and was buried at Wootton, 9 February 1825; administration of his goods granted to his brother Henry, 1826;
(9) Dorothy Berkeley (b. & d. 1744), baptised at Cotheridge, 30 March 1744; died in infancy and was buried at Cotheridge, 8 May 1744;
(10) Mary Berkeley (1745-1833?); baptised at Cotheridge, 9 August 1745; married, 12 August 1773 at Hallow (Worcs), Joseph Severne (d. 1805) of Mundersfield House, Bromyard (Herefs), and had issue; probably the woman of this name whose will was proved in the PCC, 5 August 1833;
(11) Margaret Berkeley (1746-87), born and baptised at Cotheridge, 6 January 1746/7; married, 10 November 1778 at Cotheridge, William Yeomans of Worcester; buried at All Saints, Worcester, 24 January 1787;
(12) Anthony Rowland Berkeley (b. & d. 1748), born 10 March and baptised at Cotheridge, 13 March 1747/8; buried at Cotheridge, 9 April 1748;
(13) William Rowland Berkeley (1750-75), baptised at Cotheridge, 18 November 1750; died unmarried and was buried at Cotheridge, 19 May 1775;
(14) Robert Rowland Berkeley (1754-1808), baptised at Cotheridge, 5 February 1754; attorney in Worcester (bankrupt, 1799); died unmarried and was buried at Cotheridge, 15 January 1808.
He inherited the Cotheridge estate fom his father in 1731.
He was buried at Cotheridge, 26 April 1759; his will was proved at Worcester, 12 July 1759. His widow was buried at Cotheridge, 13 June 1769; her will was proved in the PCC, 4 July 1769.

Berkeley, Rowland (1732-1805). Eldest son of Rowland Berkeley (1705-59) and his wife Lucy, daughter of Anthony Lechmere of Severn End (Worcs), born 12 November and baptised at Cotheridge, 14 November 1732. Educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1750). Bailiff of Droitwich, 1756. High Sheriff of Worcestershire, 1764-65; MP for Droitwich for a few weeks in 1774. He married, 28 June 1768, Sarah (1733-95), probably the daughter of William Carbonell of Hampstead, but had no issue.
He inherited the Cotheridge estate from his father in 1759.
He was buried at Cotheridge, 13 April 1805; his will was proved in the PCC, 25 June 1805. His wife was buried at Cotheridge, 17 April 1795.

Berkeley, Rev. Henry Rowland (1740-1832). Fifth son of Rowland Berkeley (1705-59) and his wife Lucy, daughter of Anthony Lechmere of Severn End (Worcs), born 21 April and baptised at Cotheridge, 22 April 1740. Educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated, 1759; BCL 1766; DCL, 1782); Fellow of New College, Oxford. Ordained deacon, 1763 and priest, 1765. Rector of Onibury (Shrops.), 1765-1832, Shelsley Beauchamp (Worcs), 1783-1832 and Acton Beauchamp (Worcs), to 1820; perpetual curate of Cotheridge, 1808-32. He married, 22 November 1794 at Woodstock (Oxon), Mary (1751-1816), daughter of David Jones of New Woodstock (Oxon), but had no issue.
He inherited the Cotheridge estate from his brother in 1805, and at his death it passed to his nephew, Rev. Richard Tomkyns (later Berkeley).
He died aged 92 on 17 September, and was buried at Cotheridge, 25 September 1832; his will was proved in the PCC, 18 March 1833. His wife was buried at Cotheridge, 26 February 1816.

Berkeley, Anne (1734-72?). Eldest daughter of Rowland Berkeley (1705-59) and his wife Lucy, daughter of Anthony Lechmere of Severn End (Worcs), born 10 March and baptised at Cotheridge, 4 April 1734. She married, 18 July 1765 at Cotheridge, Rev. Richard Tomkyns (1721-89) of Henwick House (Worcs), vicar of Whitsbury (Wilts), 1748-77, youngest son of Packington Tomkyns of Bromyard (Herefs), and had issue:
(1) Rev. Richard Tomkyns (later Berkeley) (1768-1840) (q.v.).
She was living in 1769, and may be the woman of this name buried at Martin (Hants), 23 August 1772. Her husband died 'after an illness of about ten years', 29 July, and was buried at Cotheridge, 5 August 1789.

Tomkyns (later Berkeley), Rev. Richard (1768-1840). Only recorded son of Rev. Richard Tomkyns (1721-89) of Henwick House (Worcs) and his wife Anne, eldest daughter of Rowland Berkeley (d. 1759), baptised at Claines (Worcs), 2 May 1768. Educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1787; BA 1791; MA 1797). Fellow of New College, Oxford. Rector of Great Horwood (Bucks), 1816-40. He took the name Berkeley in lieu of Tomkyns by royal licence on succeeding his maternal uncle in the Cotheridge estate in 1832. He married, 1822, Louisa (1788-1872), daughter of Rev. James Preedy of Winslow (Bucks), and had issue:
(1) Louisa Anne Tomkyns (1823-90), baptised at Great Horwood, 31 March 1823; married, 13 September 1849 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Edward Russell Ingram (1819-56), tenant of Waresley House, Hartlebury (Worcs), and had issue two sons and two daughters; died at Tenby (Pembs), 14 January 1890; will proved 15 April 1890 (effects £3,382);
(2) Rowland Berkeley Tomkyns (b. & d. 1826), born 25 August and baptised at Great Horwood, 26 August 1826; died in infancy and was buried at Great Horwood, 8 September 1826.
He inherited the Cotheridge estate from his uncle, Rev. Henry Rowland Berkeley, in 1832. At his death it passed to his kinsman, the Rev. John Rowland Berkeley (1781-1850).
He died 2 January and was buried at Cotheridge, 10 January 1840; his will was proved in the PCC, 24 February 1840. His widow died 13 April 1872; her will was proved 19 August 1872 (effects under £450).

Berkeley, Rev. Lucy (1713-93). Third son of Rowland Green (later Berkeley) (1680-1731) and his wife Mary, daughter and co-heir of George Bohun of Newhouse and Coundon (Warks), born 21 November and baptised at Cotheridge, 8 December 1713. Educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1733; BA 1737; MA 1741). Ordained deacon, 1739 and priest, 1740. Rector of Great Witley, 1741-93, Acton Beauchamp (Worcs) and Allington (Wilts), 1774-93; also domestic chaplain to Baroness Leigh, 1765 and Baroness Craven, 1769. He married, 18 November 1741 at Lincoln's Inn Chapel, Jane (1710-69), daughter of Robert Coxe of London, and had issue:
(1) Rowland Berkeley (1742-1814) (q.v.);
(2) Jane Berkeley (1749-1826), baptised at Great Witley, 9 October 1749; married, 18 December 1783 at Worcester, Rev. William Calcott (1757-c.1820) of Caynham Court (Shrops.); buried at Atcham (Shrops.), 29 August 1826.
He was buried at Cotheridge, 18 July 1793; his will was proved in the PCC, 27 July 1793. His wife was buried at Cotheridge, 3 March 1769.

Berkeley, Rev. Rowland (1742-1814). Only recorded son of Rev. Lucy Berkeley (1713-93), rector of Great Witley and Acton Beauchamp (Worcs), and his wife Jane, daughter of Robert Coxe of London, baptised at Great Witley (Worcs), 15 August 1742. Educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1759; BCL, 1765; LLD, 1775). Fellow of New College, Oxford. Ordained deacon, 1765, and priest, c.1767. Curate of Clifton-on-Teme (Worcs), 1766-70; and Stockton-on-Teme (Worcs), 1777-79; rector of Allington (Wilts), 1767-74; vicar of Writtle and rector of Rochford (Essex), 1775-1814. He married Elizabeth (1752-1827), daughter of John Wathen of Clapham (Surrey), and had issue:
(1) Rev. John Rowland Berkeley (1781-1850) (q.v.);
(2) Lucy Berkeley (1783-1851), baptised at Writtle, 11 February 1783; married, 5 December 1811 at Writtle, Dr Clement Hue MD FRCP (1779-1861), physician to the Foundling Hospital, St. Bartholomew's Hospital and Christ's Hospital, son of Jean Hue of Jersey, and had issue two sons; died 8 March 1851 and was buried at the Foundling Hospital, London;
(3) William Berkeley (1784-1869) (q.v.);
(4) Henry Comyns Berkeley (1785-1846), baptised at Writtle, 13 August 1785; articled to Hanson & Birch of Chancery Lane, 1802; solicitor in private practice in partnership with his brother Charles (partnership dissolved, 1836), after which he appears to have gone to live abroad in Bruges (Belgium); married, 29 May 1810 at Rochford (Essex), Charlotte Matilda (1789-1848), daughter of Thomas Swaine of Rochford, and had issue several children; died intestate, 6 May 1846 and was buried at Dusseldorf (Germany), where he is commemorated by a monument;
(5) George Berkeley (b. 1786), baptised at Writtle, 15 December 1786; living in 1814 but death not traced;
(6) Thomas Berkeley (1788-1819), baptised at Writtle, 19 February 1788; lived in London; buried at Writtle, 22 January 1819;
(7) Mary Anne Berkeley (1789-1871), baptised at Writtle, 5 December 1789; married, 18 November 1830 at St George, Bloomsbury (Middx), Capt. Thomas Kersteman (1789-1853) of Canewdon (Essex), son of Jeremiah Kersteman of Prittlewell (Essex), but had no issue; died 6 January 1871; will proved 27 January 1871 (effects under £3,000);
(8) Emily Berkeley (1791-1837), baptised at Writtle, 19 June 1791; married, 25 September 1821 at St George, Bloomsbury, James Bishop, and had issue; probably the woman of this name buried at St Marylebone (Middx), 22 May 1837;
(9) Charles Berkeley (1794-1869), baptised at Writtle, 20 May 1794; solicitor in practice with his elder brother, Henry, until 1836; married, 13 October 1829, Susan (1806-88), daughter of Thomas Clarke, and had issue three sons and two daughters; died 8 February and was buried at St James, Swains Lane, St. Pancras, 15 February 1869; will proved 4 March 1869 (effects under £12,000).
He lived at Writtle (Essex).
He was buried at Writtle, 1 July 1814; his will was proved in the PCC, 20 July 1814. His widow was buried at Writtle, 6 March 1827.

Berkeley, Rev. John Rowland (1781-1850). Eldest son of Rev. Rowland Berkeley (1742-1814) and his wife Elizabeth, daughter of John Wathen of Clapham (Surrey), baptised at Writtle (Essex), 22 December 1781. An officer in the Writtle Volunteers (Capt., 1803; Capt.-Commandant, 1804). Educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1800; BA 1805; MA 1808). Fellow of New College, Oxford. Ordained deacon, 1806 and priest, 1807. Rector of Acton Beauchamp, 1807-20; vicar of Much Cowarne (Herefs), 1813-50 and perpetual curate of Cotheridge, 1841-50. He was unmarried and without issue.
He inherited the Cotheridge estate from his kinsman, Rev. Richard Tomkyns (later Berkeley) in 1840.
He died 1 April 1850; his will was proved in the PCC, 22 April 1850.

Berkeley, William (1784-1869). Second son of Rev. Rowland Berkeley (1742-1814) and his wife Elizabeth, daughter of John Wathen of Clapham (Surrey), baptised at Writtle, 18 June 1784. He married, 12 April 1809 at St Pancras (Middx), Lucy Frederica (1784-1878), third daughter and co-heir of John Richard Comyns of Hylands (Essex), and had issue:
(1) Rev. William Comyns Berkeley (1810-85) (q.v.);
(2) Comyns Rowland Berkeley (1811-1904), born 4 March 1811; solicitor; married, 18 December 1845 at St John, Notting Hill (Middx), Mary Ann (1826-1905), daughter of Rev. Frederick James Lateward, rector of Perivale (Middx), and had issue six sons and one daughter; died aged 93 on 9 August 1904; will proved 22 September 1904 (estate £135);
(3) Charles Clement Berkeley (1812-92), born 16 July and baptised at High Ongar, 18 August 1812; educated at Jesus College, Cambridge (matriculated 1831; BA 1835) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1831; called 1836); barrister-at-law, equity draughtsman and conveyancer; he was unmarried but had issue by his housekeeper, Susannah E. Fowler*, at least two sons and one daughter; died 18 January 1892; will proved 12 February 1892 (effects £2,153);
(4) Frederica Comyns Berkeley (1813-16), baptised at High Ongar (Essex), 27 October 1813 and again 26 July 1815; died young and was buried at Writtle, 23 February 1816;
(5) George Brackenbury Berkeley (1815-89), baptised at High Ongar, 26 July 1815; clerk to an attorney at Clement's Inn, London and later farmer, grocer and wine merchant; married, 26 August 1839 at Hornsey (Middx), Jane Abigail (1816-99), only daughter of Samuel Chymish of Abridge (Essex), shopkeeper, and had issue seven sons and five daughters; died 18 October 1889; administration of goods granted to his widow, 3 February 1890 (effects £75);
(6) Emily Comyns Berkeley (1818-92), born 5 September and baptised at Stanford Rivers, 30 October 1818; died unmarried at Isleworth (Middx), 25 August 1892;
(7) John Berkeley (1819-37), baptised at Stanford Rivers, 28 October 1819; died unmarried and was buried at Writtle, 23 December 1837;
(8) Julia Berkeley (1820-50), baptised at Stanford Rivers (Essex), 6 October 1820; died unmarried and was buried at Writtle, 2 March 1850;
(9) Augustus Berkeley (1821-1901), baptised at Stanford Rivers, 17 November 1821; coal merchant and farmer; married, 5 October 1847 at Holy Trinity, Mile End, Stepney (Middx), Matilda Joan, daughter of Henry Owen, of White Hall, Abridge (Essex), and had issue two sons and three daughters; died 25 October and was buried at Stanford Rivers, 31 October 1901;
(10) Henry Leeds Berkeley (1824-27), born 25 January and baptised at Theydon Garnon, 17 July 1824; died young and was buried at Writtle, 5 December 1827;
(11) Thomas Algernon Berkeley (1825-43), born 5 April and baptised at Theydon Garnon (Essex), 17 August 1825; died young and was buried at Writtle, 13 January 1843.
He lived at Coopersale Hall (Essex) and later in London before inheriting the Cotheridge estate from his elder brother in 1850.
He died 13 November and was buried at Cotheridge, 20 November 1869; his will was proved 1 December 1869 (effects under £5,000). His widow died aged 94 on 12 December 1878; her will was proved 15 January 1879 (effects under £450).
* The 1891 census gives her name as Berkeley and states she was married to C.C. Berkeley, but I can find no evidence of a marriage.

Berkeley, Rev. William Comyns (1810-85). Eldest son of William Berkeley (1784-1869) and his wife Lucy Frederica, third daughter and co-heir of John Richard Comyns of Hylands (Essex), born 24 February and baptised at Writtle (Essex), 6 March 1810. Educated at Woodford Grammar School and Jesus College, Cambridge (matriculated 1831; BA 1835). Ordained deacon, 1837 and priest, 1839. Curate of Great Stainton (Co. Durham), 1837; rector of Cotheridge, 1850-73. He married, 26 June 1844 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Harriet Elizabeth (1819-75), daughter of John Bowyer Nichols FSA, the eminent antiquary, of Hanger Hill, Ealing (Middx), and had issue:
(1) Rowland Comyns Berkeley (1845-1925) (q.v.);
(2) Rev. William Nichols Berkeley (1846-1938), born 25 October and baptised at Harlington, 4 December 1846; educated at Brighton College and Jesus College, Cambridge (matriculated 1867; BA 1871); ordained deacon, 1870 and priest, 1871; curate of Holt (Worcs), 1870-73; vicar of Cotheridge, 1873-91; retired to Charlton Lawn, Charlton Kings (Glos); married, 30 April 1878 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, Janet Berkeley Calcott, daughter of Rev. John Gaskin, rector of St Cuthbert, Bedford, and had issue two daughters; died aged 91 on 4 June 1938; will proved 2 August 1938 (estate £8,497); 
(3) Edmund Robert Berkeley (1848-1906), born 28 August and baptised at Harlington (Middx), 24 September 1848; an officer in the army (Ensign, 1867; Lt., 1870; Capt., 1877; retired 1878) and the East Yorkshire militia (Capt., 1878; Maj., 1885; hon. Lt-Col., 1887; retired 1888); a freemason from 1878; in retirement lived at Netherley (Kincardines.) and later at Chittenden, Edenbridge (Kent); died unmarried, 16 April 1906; will proved 13 August 1906 (estate £1,387);
(4) Herbert Bowyer Berkeley (1851-90), born 26 March and baptised at Cotheridge, 17 August 1851; chemical manufacturer; lived at Glengowan, Shortlands (Kent); died unmarried, after a long illness, at Birmandreis, Algiers (Algeria), 26 May 1890; will proved 11 July 1890 (effects £12,221).
He inherited the Cotheridge estate from his father in 1869.
He died 7 August and was buried at Cotheridge, 14 August 1885; his will was proved 22 October 1885 (effects £9,631). His wife was buried at Cotheridge, 23 September 1875.

Berkeley, Rowland Comyns (1845-1925). Eldest son of Rev. William Comyns (1810-85) and his wife Harriet Elizabeth, daughter of John Bowyer Nichols FSA of Hanger Hill, Ealing (Middx), born 8 June and baptised at Harlington (Middx), 17 July 1845. Educated at Marlborough College, Christ's College, Cambridge (matriculated 1865; BA 1869) and the Middle Temple (admitted 1869). He married, 1 January 1880 at Holt (Worcs), Mildred Caroline (1857-1944), an antiquarian* and opponent of blood sports, third daughter of Rev. Archibald Paris, rector of Ludgvan (Cornw.), and had issue:
(1) Evelyn Mary Berkeley (1880-1953), born at Broadwas (Worcs), 11 October and baptised at Cotheridge, 23 November 1880; emigrated to Canada, 1913, after her engagement to a clergyman was broken off, and married, 6 October 1914 at Mission City, British Columbia (Canada), Wyndham Russell Saker (d. 1930), son of William Saker of Assam (India), and had issue one son (who died on active service in 1944); returned to England in 1932; died 27 January 1953 and was buried at Cotheridge; will proved 19 March 1953 (estate £13,934);
(2) Mildred Sybil Berkeley (1882-1955), born 21 February 1882; died unmarried, 25 May 1955; will proved 7 July 1955 (estate £29,409);
(3) Rowland Broughton Berkeley (1883-1957) (q.v.);
(4) Harold Sale Berkeley (1886-1919), baptised at Cotheridge, 30 July 1886; died unmarried, 4 May 1914;
(5) Egbert Paris Berkeley (1888-1957), baptised at Cotheridge, 8 November 1888; planter in Surinam; died unmarried at Paramaribo (Surinam), 6 May 1957; administration granted to his younger brother, 25 June 1957 (estate £7,314);
(6) Wilfrid Nichols Berkeley (1889-1964), born 26 November 1889 and baptised at Cotheridge, 16 January 1890; apprenticed to Alday & Onions of Birmingham, motor engineers; served in First World War with Australian Imperial Force; farmer at Cotheridge and later at Great Malvern (Worcs); married, 7 September 1921, Helen Mary (1897-1984), only daughter of Arthur John Lucy of Cotheridge, engineer; died 9 April 1964; will proved 14 July 1964 (estate £16,450).
He inherited the Cotheridge estate from his father in 1885.
He died 4 May 1925; his will was proved 25 September 1925 (estate £24,287). His widow died 19 May 1944; her will was proved 8 July 1944 (estate £986).
* She published several papers in the Transactions of the Worcestershire Archaeological Society.

Berkeley, Rowland Broughton (1883-1957). Eldest son of Rowland Comyns Berkeley (1845-1925) and his wife Mildred Caroline, third daughter of Rev. Archibald Paris, rector of Ludgvan (Cornw.), born 29 June and baptised at Cotheridge, 2 August 1883. Educated at Shrewsbury School and apprenticed at LNWR Locomotive Works, 1902-05. Automobile engineer. He served in the First World War with the Warwickshire Regt., 1914-15; the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve (Lt., 1915; Lt-Cdr., 1918); and the Royal Air Force (Maj., 1918; retired 1919) and in the Second World War as Billeting Officer for Martley Rural District. He married, 16 December 1911 at Wistaston (Ches.), Ada Constance (1888-1975), daughter of Henry Fairhead of Little Hayward (Staffs), but had no issue.
He inherited the Cotheridge estate from his father in 1925, but sold much of the land in 1932 and the house itself in 1949. He lived latterly at Shanklin (IoW).
He died at Shanklin, 31 August 1957; his will was proved 17 October 1957 (estate £29,298). His widow died 15 May 1975; her will was proved 29 August 1975 (estate £44,229).

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1952, pp. 164-65; T.R. Nash, Collections for the history of Worcestershire, 1781, pp. 257-59; VCH Worcestershire, vol. 4, pp. 255-60; A. Brooks & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: Worcestershire, 2nd edn., 2007, pp. 241-42;

Location of archives

Berkeley family of Cotheridge Court: deeds, manorial records, estate and household papers, 1463-1927 [Worcestershire Archive & Archaeology Service, 705:93]

Coat of arms

Quarterly, 1st and 4th, Vert, three bucks trippant within a bordure or (for Green); 2nd and 3rd, Gules, a chevron argent between ten crosses pattée, of the second (for Berkeley).

Can you help?

  • Does anyone know who now owns the drawing of Cotheridge Court before the 18th century alterations?
  • Can anyone provide photographs or portraits of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 16 August 2024 and was updated 26 August 2024 and 28 September 2025. I am grateful to Carol Cook for additional information.