Showing posts with label Ancient families. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Ancient families. Show all posts

Friday, 3 July 2026

(639) Bisset of Lessendrum

Bisset of Lessendrum
The Bissets are a very ancient Scottish family, who are said to have acquired Lessendrum in 1252. They built a tower house on the estate in the late 15th century, and this in turn was replaced by an L-plan mansion in the 17th century. The estate was forfeited after the death in battle of Patrick Bisset in 1562, and was out of the family until 1611, when George Bisset (c.1550-1623), 'the restorer' recovered possession. The genealogy below begins with him. The family were at this time staunch Roman Catholics, and George's son Robert Bisset (d. 1646) and the latter's daughter Isobel were both arraigned before the Turriff Presbytery for failure to sign the Solemn League and Covenant and excommunicated, while one of his younger sons was a Catholic priest. In the late 1640s, Robert's son and heir, Alexander Bisset (d. 1693) was also in trouble with the Presbytery and with the Scottish Privy Council, although he seems to have avoided excommunication. Subsequent generations appear to have conformed to the established church. Alexander's eldest son, Robert Bisset (d. 1651) married a daughter of Sir Alexander Abercromby of Birkenbog and had several children, but only one surviving son. This was James Bisset (1682?-1747), who had a large family but only two sons, one of whom died in his lifetime. His heir was therefore his younger son, Alexander Bisset (1734-95), who was unmarried and settled the estate on his surviving sisters for life, with remainder to his cousin, Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821). Maurice was descended from Major William Bisset (1661?-1727), the second son of Alexander Bisset (d. 1693), who became an officer in the army and settled first in Westminster and later in Southampton (Hants).

In 1741, Major Bisset's daughter, Sophia (b. 1711), became the second wife of Maj-Gen. Maurice Bocland (c.1695-1765) of Knighton House (Isle of Wight), and ten years later Sophia's brother, the Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82), married the General's daughter (by his first marriage), Jane. Alexander was ordained in the Church of England but after five years in a country parish in Northamptonshire, found preferment in the Church of Ireland, where he quickly rose to become Archdeacon of Connor and eventually Chancellor of Armagh Cathedral. Although senior Church of Ireland clergy were quite often non-resident at this time, Alexander does seem to have lived in Ireland, and his second son, the Rt Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834), had a similarly illustrious clerical career and ended his days as Bishop of Raphoe. It is said that he was invited in his last years to became Archbishop of Dublin, but declined due to his age and increasing infirmity.

Gillray cartoon of Sir Richard Worsley assisting his friend
 Maurice Bisset to watch Lady Worsley bathing. 
Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) was the eldest son of the Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset, and inherited Knighton House from his maternal grandfather in 1765. After coming of age in 1778 he seems to have moved to the Isle of Wight, where he soon began a scandalous affair with Lady Worsley, the wife of his neighbour, Sir Richard Worsley of Appledurcombe, which resulted in the birth of a child, who died in infancy. Although Worsley appears to have been not only tolerant of, but also complicit in, his wife's affairs, he eventually brought an action for 'criminal conversation' (adultery) against Bisset. The jury convicted Bisset but awarded damages of a derisory shilling, as the evidence given at the trial demonstrated that Sir Richard knew Lady Worsley had been serially unfaithful and that her husband had invited his friends to admire her charms while she was naked in her bath. Whether the scandal affected Maurice Bisset's eligibility is unclear, but when he married in 1787 it was to an illegitimate daughter of the Earl of Peterborough; they had two daughters, Jane Harriott Bisset (1789-1866) and Ann Bisset (1798-1879), who sold the Knighton estate in 1823.

In 1815, Maurice George Bisset inherited the Lessendrum estate on the death of his kinswoman, Mary Abel, the last surviving sister of Alexander Bisset (1734-95). When he died in 1821, this property passed to his next brother, the Rt. Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834), under the entail established by Alexander Bisset. Since the bishop lived in Ireland he seems to have let the house at Lessendrum, although he did occasionally visit it for holidays, and it was on one such holiday that he died in 1834. Under the entail, the estate then passed to his nephew, William Bisset (1797-1858), who probably found the house in poor repair after nearly half a century when it had been mostly let. In 1837 he employed Archibald Simpson to undertake a major campaign of repairs and enlargement, but although it became his principal residence he seems also to rented a succession of properties in England where he spent a good deal of his time. William and his wife had only one child, a daughter, Jane Frances Bisset (1832-91), who was twice married and lived in Devon. She was excluded from succession to Lessendrum by the operation of the entail, which instead dictated that on the extinction of male heirs of the Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82), the property should pass to the eldest daughter of the senior line of his descendants. This was Jane Harriot Bisset (1789-1866), the elder daughter of Maurice George Bisset of Knighton House.

Jane Harriot Bisset had inherited Dauntsey House (Wilts) from her uncle, the 5th and last Earl of Peterborough, in 1814, and in 1824 married her cousin, the Rev. Maurice George Fenwick (1797-1879), who began life as an officer in the King's Dragoon Guards but later took holy orders and was rector of Drumholm (Co. Donegal) and from 1846-51, archdeacon of Raphoe. She handed over the Dauntsey estate to their son around 1840, and it is unclear where they lived after her husband resigned the archdeaconry in 1851 until in 1858 she inherited Lessendrum under the entail. She and her husband took the surname Fenwick-Bisset soon afterwards and they moved to Scotland. Their son, Mordaunt Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset) (1825-84) sold Dauntsey House in 1853 and rented Pixton Park (Somerset), which was ideally located for the indulgence of his passion for stag hunting. In 1851 he married Susan Popham and they inherited Bagborough House (Somerset) from her family. He also acquired Lessendrum on the death of his mother in 1866, although it continued to be occupied by his father until 1879. When he died without issue in 1884, Bagborough reverted to the Pophams and Lessendrum passed to his sister, Janet (1826-1905), the widow of Dr Joseph Favière Elrington, an Irish lawyer. She took the name Elrington-Bisset after inheriting Lessendrum, and left the estate to her eldest surviving son, Maj. Maurice Elrington-Bisset (1854-1909), who served with the Royal Engineers and the Ordnance Survey. He and his wife had one son and one daughter, who succeeded in turn to the Lessendrum estate. His son, Walter Favière Elrington-Bisset (1889-1915) was killed in action at the Battle of Loos during the First World War, whereupon the estate devolved on his sister, Janet (1886-1953) later the wife of Lt-Col. William Turner Murray (1889-1949). They took the name Murray-Bisset, and had one son and two daughters, but Lessendrum was burned down in 1928 and never repaired or rebuilt. They retained the estate but lived at Mayen, Rothiemay (Banffs.) and later in a dower house at Lessendrum. The estate descended to their son, John Mordaunt Murray-Bisset (1926-90), who built a new farmhouse on the estate in the 1970s but subsequently sold the estate in 1981.

Lessendrum House, Drumblade, Aberdeenshire

The Bissets are said to have built a tower house here in about 1470, which was in turn replaced by a L-plan house in the 17th century. In the early 19th century, this building was developed into a courtyard house with additions and alterations in 1816 and 1837. The latter works largely produced the house that was recorded later, and were designed by Archibald Simpson for William Bisset (1797-1858) on a bold scale, with a series of large reception rooms with big windows set above a much lower ground floor containing service accommodation. The main (north-west) front is all Simpson's work, and has a gabled bay and tower at the north end balanced by a larger canted bay gable with octagonal buttresses at the south end. The house is built of rubble stone, originally harled, and has diagonally-shafted chimneystacks of Tudor inspiration.

Lessendrum House: the older part of the house before the fire of 1928.

Lessendrum House: the wing added by Archibald Simpson in 1837, before the fire.
Regrettably, the house was completely gutted by a fire on 12 January 1928, which is understood to have started in the furnace room where the central heating boiler was kept. A shortage of equipment prevented the Huntly fire brigade from bringing the fire under control, and although the most important paintings and some furniture and personal possessions were rescued before the fire became too intense, the majority of the family's belongings were destroyed, including a valuable library and the family muniments. 

Lessendrum House: the ruins in 2015. Image: Anne Burgess. Some rights reserved.
In the end only the external walls were left standing, and parts of those have since collapsed: the house has remained a ruin ever since, slowly disintegrating and being swallowed by ivy. The family retained the estate after the fire, but lived elsewhere until 1958, when they returned to live on the estate, and in 1972 a new farmhouse was built as a replacement for the old mansion. The estate was finally sold in 1981.

Descent: Patrick Bisset (d. 1562); to son, George Bisset (c.1550-1623); to son, Robert Bisset (d. 1646); to son, Alexander Bisset (d. 1693); to son, Robert Bisset (b. 1651); to son, James Bisset (1682?-1747); to son, Alexander Bisset (1734-95), who settled the property on his sisters for life with remainder to his cousin, Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821); to brother, Rt Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834), bishop of Raphoe; to nephew, William Bisset (1797-1858); to cousin, Jane Harriot Bisset (1789-1866), wife of Ven. Maurice George Bisset (1797-1879); to son, Mordaunt Fenwick Bisset (1825-84); to sister, Janet (1826-1905), wife of Dr Joseph Faviere Elrington (1823-83); to son, Maj. Maurice Elrington (later Elrington-Bisset) (1854-1909); to son, Walter Faviere Elrington-Bisset (1889-1915); to sister, Janet Kathleen (1886-1953), wife of Lt-Col. William Turner Murray (later Murray-Bisset) (1889-1949), during whose ownership the house was destroyed by fire; to son, John Mordaunt Murray-Bisset (1926-90), who sold 1981...

Knighton House (aka Knighton Gorges), Newchurch, Isle of Wight

The house was described by Sir Henry Englefield in his Description of the principal picturesque beauties, antiquities etc. of the isle of Wight in 1816 as 'by far the most considerable and beautiful of the ancient mansions of the island'. The irregular plan and elevations revealed by surviving drawings and engravings suggest that it was a substantial medieval house to which piecemeal later alterations and additions were made. 

Knighton Gorges House: the mansion in 1781 from Worsley's History of the Isle of Wight.

Knighton Gorges House: the mansion in 1816, from Englefield's Description.. of the Isle of Wight.
Most of the identifiable features at the time it was recorded seem to have been 16th or early 17th century. Englefield's description is worth quoting in full:
The principal front to the north is of the age of Elizabeth, irregular and broken by projections. The windows are large, divided by stone mullions, square headed and without any smaller arches in the angles of the lights. The general form very good, and the stone of which the whole house, except the chimneys, is built , is of an extremely fine grey tint. The west end of the house is enveloped in ivy which winds lightly round a tall stack of clustered chimneys, and embroiders with its deep green shoots the glowing yellow of the ancient mossy-tiled roof. This has been closely trimmed, injuring its beauty and giving a rather formal appearance. At the north-east angle of the house is a plain square tower of great strength and antiquity, in whose foundations there is a dungeon of considerable depth. Near this tower part of a very handsome pointed window, similar to windows in Arreton church and the chapel at Swainston. This has been partly obliterated by the insertion of a window of the same date as the north front. The south front has been modernised by sash windows, but the colour is good and two great gables remain uninjured.

The house contains several large and convenient rooms. Some have a handsome wainscot, probably contemporary with the north front. The drawing room on the first floor is spacious and handsome. A long gallery, low and ill-lighted, extends through the centre of the house, under the roof. No painted glass remains in the windows, except one coat with the arms of Isabella de Fortibus, but this appears to be of date much later than her time.

Englefield's description is all we have to go on, for the house was completely demolished soon afterwards. It is often said that Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) objected so strongly to his elder daughter's marriage to her cousin, the Rev. Maurice George Fenwick, that when they disregarded his wishes and married anyway, he pulled down the house to ensure that his oath that they would never set foot in Knighton Gorges again was realised. This is just a fairy story, however, for the marriage did not take place until three years after his death and his will left generous provision for his wife and both daughters. The Victoria County History records that in fact the house was demolished in 1820 after a serious fire. The gardens west and south-west of the house site have been the subject of archaeological investigation, and continued to be maintained for some time after the house was pulled down. They comprised a series of compartments surrounded by 18th century banks and brick walls, and in the east wall there is still an alcove with an arched entrance. The only other survival is a pair of 18th century gatepiers south of the house site. Of the ancient chapel on the edge of the lake mentioned in Worsley's History of the Isle of Wight (1781) and Englefield, no trace remains.

Descent: sold 1563 to Anthony Dillington; to son, Sir Robert Dillington (d. 1604); to nephew, Sir Robert Dillington (d. 1664), 1st bt; to son, Sir Robert Dillington (c.1634-87), 2nd bt.; to son, Sir Robert Dillington (c.1664-89), 3rd bt.; to son, Sir John Dillington (d. 1706), 4th bt.; to half-uncle, Sir Tristram Dillington (c.1678-1721), 5th bt.; to sisters, Mary and Hannah Dillington; to nephew, Gen. Maurice Bocland (d. 1765); to grandson, Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821), who pulled the house down after a fire; estate sold 1823 to Sir Samuel Spicer...


Bisset family of Lessendrum


Bisset, George (c.1550-1623). Son of Patrick Bisset (d. 1562) and his wife, born about 1550. He married and had issue, probably among others:
(1) Robert Bisset (d. 1646) (q.v.);
(2) Fr. George Bisset, a Roman Catholic priest.
In 1611 he recovered the Lessendrum estate, which had been forfeited after his father was killed in rebellion at the Battle of Corrichie in 1562.
He died 25 January 1623 and was buried at Drumblade (Aberdeens.), where he is commemorated by a monument. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, Robert (d. 1646). Elder recorded son of George Bisset (c.1550-1623) and his wife. He was a Roman Catholic in religion and was excommunicated by the established church for refusing to attend the kirk of Turriff or to sign the Solemn League and Covenant. He married, [forename unknown], second daughter 0f George Gordon of Cocklarachie, and had issue including:
(1) Alexander Bisset (d. 1693) (q.v.);
(2) Jean Bisset; married, 1633/4, James Gordon (d. 1643), and had issue at least one son;
(3) Isobel Bisset; a Roman Catholic in religion, she was excommunicated by the Presbytery of Turriff for refusing to attend the kirk or sign the Solemn League and Covenant; died unmarried;
(4) Helen Bisset; married 1st, Robert Crichton of Bainshole and Drumdollo, and 2nd, Alexander Gordon of Birkenburn and had issue three sons.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father in 1623, and was probably responsible for replacing the castle with an L-plan house.
He died in 1646. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, Alexander (d. 1693). Son of Robert Bisset (d. 1646) and his wife [forename unknown], second daughter of George Gordon of Cocklarachie, born before 1632. A Roman Catholic in religion, like his father, he was denounced as a rebel by the Privy Council, and was repeatedly hauled before the Presbytery of Turriff, who ordered him to sign the Solemn League and Covenant and then to confess to other sins and do penance on his knees before the congregation. He married, 1650, Anne (d. 1714), daughter of Robert Gordon of Straloch, and had issue including:
(1) Robert Bisset (b. 1651) (q.v.);
(2) Maj. William Bisset (b. 1661?) (q.v.);
(3) George Bisset (fl. 1742);
(4) Charles Bisset (d. 1742);
(5) Lewis Bisset;
(6) Alexander Bisset.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father in 1646, but was not served heir until 1652.
He died in 1693. His widow died in 1714.

Bisset, Robert (b. 1651). Eldest son of Alexander Bisset (d. 1693) and his wife Anne, daughter of Robert Gordon of Straloch, born 1651. He married, 1681 (contract 6 June), Agnes (b. 1663), eldest daughter of Sir Alexander Abercromby (1608-84), 1st bt., of Birkenbog, and his second wife, Jean Sutherland of Kinminity, and had issue:
(1) James Bisset (1682?-1747);
(2) Alexander Bisset; accidentally drowned;
(3) Jane Bisset; married, 1730, James Gordon (d. 1771), of Cocklarachie, and had issue two sons and two daughters;
(4) Margaret Bisset;
(5) Ann Bisset; married, 1706, Peter Gordon (d. 1762) of Ardmeallie (who m2, Mary, eldest daughter of James Duff of Crombie, and had further issue two sons and two daughters), and had issue three children, who all died young.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father in 1693.
His date of death is unknown. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, James (1682?-1747). Elder son of Robert Bisset (b. 1651) and his wife Agnes, daughter of Sir Alexander Abercromby, 1st bt., of Birkenbog, born after 1681. He married, 1722, Anne (1706-82), daughter of Alexander Dun of Tarty, and had issue, perhaps among others:
(1) Robert Bisset (b. 1723), baptised at Drumblade, 14 October 1723; died in the lifetime of his father;
(2) Anne Bisset (fl. 1795); she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs; died unmarried;
(3) Agnes Bisset (b. 1726), baptised at Drumblade, 22 November 1726; she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs; died unmarried;
(4) Mary Bisset (d. 1815); married, 25 April 1769 at Drumblade, Rev. George Abel (c.1737-94) of Drumblade (Aberdeens.); she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs, of whom she was the last survivor; died in Aberdeen, 6 December 1815;
(5) Jean Bisset (b. 1728), baptised at Drumblade, 12 April 1728;
(6) Margaret Bisset (b. 1730), baptised at Drumblade, 24 December 1730; she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs;
(7) Elizabeth Bisset (b. 1732), baptised at Drumblade, 22 June 1732; she and her sisters inherited the Lessendrum estate from her brother in 1795 as co-heirs;
(8) Alexander Bisset (1734-95) (q.v.);
(9) Catherine Bisset; probably died young.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father. At his death the estate passed to his son Alexander and then to his daughters as co-heirs.
He died in 1747; his will was confirmed 18 June 1747. His widow died in 1782.

Bisset, Alexander (1734-95). Second, but only surviving, son of James Bisset (d. 1747) and his wife Anne, daughter of Alexander Dun of Tarty, baptised at Drumblade, 27 January 1734. He was unmarried and without issue.
He inherited the Lessendrum estate from his father in 1748 and came of age in 1755. He later settled the estate on his sisters for life with remainder to his cousin, Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) (q.v.).
He died in London, 1 August 1795; his will was confirmed in Edinburgh, 6 November 1795.

Bisset, Maj. William (1661?-1727). Second son of Alexander Bisset (d. 1693) and his wife Anne, daughter of Robert Gordon of Straloch, said to have been born in 1661. An officer in the army (Capt. 1695; Maj., 1711; still serving in 1717). He married, 1 September 1698 at All Hallows the Great, London, Mary, daughter of Thomas Sutton of Kensington (Middx), and had issue:
(1) Mary Bisset (c.1700-61?), born about 1700; married, 8 December 1718* at St Edmund King & Martyr, Lombard St., London, William Trelawny (b. 1696), army officer (Capt.), son of Brig-Gen. Henry Trelawny MP, and had issue four sons (including Capt. Sir William Trelawny RN, 6th bt., Governor of Jamaica); said to have died in 1761;
(2) William Bisset (1703-17), born 7 November and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), 18 November 1703; said to have died young at Southampton (Hants) in 1717, and is not mentioned in his father's will;
(3) Martha Bisset (b. 1705), born 27 July and baptised at St James, Piccadilly, 31 July 1705; probably the woman of this name who married, 6 August 1726 at St Clement Danes, Westminster (Middx), Arthur Pye; death not traced;
(4) Ann Bisset (1708-15); died young and was buried at Holy Rood, Southampton, 27 July 1715;
(5) Sophia Bisset (b. 1711); married, 4 November 1741 at Bristol Cathedral (Glos), as his second wife, Lt-Gen. Maurice Bocland (c.1695-1765) of Knighton House, Newchurch (IoW), MP for Yarmouth (IoW), 1733-34, Lymington (Hants), 1734-41, Yarmouth, 1741-47 and Newtown (IoW), 1747-54, but had no issue; death not traced;
(6) Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82) (q.v.).
He lived in Westminster (Middx) and probably later at Southampton.
He is said to have died in Southampton, 18 July 1727; his will was proved 10 November 1727. His wife predeceased him, and is said to have died in Southampton in 1722.
* The parish register gives her name as Ann Bisset, but her father's will makes it clear that it was Mary who married William Trelawny.

Bisset, Rev. Dr. Alexander (c.1714-82). Second son of Maj. William Bisset and his wife, born about 1714. Educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1734; BA 1738; MA 1741; BD and DD 1753). Ordained deacon, 1742, and priest, 1742. Rector of Ravensthorpe (Northants), 1742-47, Ballinderry and Tamlaght (Co. Armagh), 1751-57, and Carrick (Co. Louth), 1757-65; Chancellor of Down Cathedral, 1748-59; prebendary of Armagh Cathedral, 1757-65; archdeacon of Connor, 1759-82; Chancellor of Armagh Cathedral, 1765-82. He married, 14 October 1752 at Charlton Mackrell (Som.), Jane, daughter of General Bocland alias Buckland (1695-1765) of Knighton House, Newchurch (IoW), and had issue:
(1) Elizabeth Bisset (c.1755-1846), born about 1755; married, 4 August 1786 at Conway in Clynnog Fawr (Caernarvons.), William Fenwick (1750-1825) of Dublin and later Beaumaris (Anglesey), an official of the Customs House in Dublin, son of Robert Fenwick (1717-1802) of Lemmington (Northbld.), and had issue five sons (including the Ven. Maurice George Fenwick (later Bisset), who married his cousin, Jane Harriot Bisset (1789-1866) (q.v.)) and one daughter; died 2 October 1846 and was buried in the Cathedral churchyard at Raphoe;
(2) Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) (q.v.);
(3) Rt. Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834) (q.v.);
(4) Alexander Bisset (b. 1761) (q.v.);
(5) Jane Bisset (1762-71), born 11 May 1762; died young, 12 February 1771 and was buried at Kilmore (Co. Armagh), where she is commemorated by a monument;
(6) Henry Bisset (1764-80), born about 1764; died at sea, off Ushant, 10 August 1780;
(7) Rev. Dr. George Bisset (c.1765-1828); educated at Westminster School and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1783; BA 1787; MA 1790); ordained deacon, 1793, and priest, 1793; vicar of Malmesbury, 1793-1828 and rector of Dauntsey, 1800-28; chaplain to Charles Henry Mordaunt, 5th Earl of Peterborough, 1800-14; curate of Stratton (Glos), 1823; married, 2 September 1820 at Westport St Mary (Wilts), Lady Catherine (1775-1850), daughter of John Howard (1739-1820), 15th Earl of Suffolk and 8th Earl of Berkshire, but had no issue; buried at Dauntsey, 29 November 1828; administration of goods with will annexed granted in the PCC, 23 December 1828;
(8) Sophia Bisset (c.1767-1837), born about 1767; married, 27 June 1810 at Hampstead Norris (Berks), Gen. Sir Robert Brownrigg (1758-1833), 1st bt., Governor of Ceylon, 1813-19, but had no issue; died 25 April 1837; will proved 29 June 1837.
His date of death is unknown; his will was proved in the PCC, 14 March 1782. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, Maurice George (1757-1821). Eldest son of Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82) and his wife Jane, daughter of Lt-Gen. Maurice Bocland of Knighton (IoW), born 1757. Educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1775) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1779). An officer in the South Hampshire Militia; JP for Hampshire. In 1781-82 he had a scandalous affair with Lady Worsley, the wife of his neighbour, Sir Richard Worsley of Appledurcombe (IoW), and she bore him an illegitimate daughter, whose paternity was accepted by Sir Richard to avoid scandal. Lady Worsley had at least half a dozen known lovers (some accounts say there were dozens), and when her marriage broke down she eloped with Maurice Bisset, bringing charges of 'criminal conversation' on him from Sir Richard, who sought £20,000 in damages; he was found guilty but nominal damages of one shilling were awarded, as there was evidence that Sir Richard had not only been aware of his wife's affairs but had encouraged them. He subsequently married, 14 October 1787 at All Saints, Southampton (Hants), Harriet (1752-1833), illegitimate daughter of Charles Mordaunt (c.1710-79), 4th Earl of Peterborough (by his mistress and subsequently second wife, Robiniana), and had issue:
(1) Jane Harriot Bisset (1789-1866) (q.v.);
(2) Ann Bisset (1798-1879), baptised at Newchurch (IoW), 19 September 1798; lived latterly at Forest Cottage, Binfield (Berks); died unmarried, 16 June, and was buried at Binfield, 21 June 1879; will proved 18 July 1879 (effects under £12,000).
His daughter by Lady Worsley was:
(X1) Jane Seymour Worsley (1781-82), baptised at St Marylebone (Middx), 25 August 1781; died in infancy and was buried at St James, Paddington (Middx), 10 February 1782.
He inherited Knighton House from his maternal grandfather in 1765 and came of age in 1778. He inherited Lessendrum in 1816 under the settlement made by Alexander Bisset (1734-95) on the death of the latter's sister, Mary Abel.
He died at Lessendrum, 16 December 1821 and was buried at Drumblade; his will was proved in the PCC, 25 May 1822. His widow died in 1833; her will was proved in the PCC, 31 December 1833.

Rt. Rev. William Bisset (1758-1834) 
Bisset, Rt. Rev. William (1758-1834).
Second 
son of Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82) and his wife Jane, daughter of Lt-Gen. Maurice Bocland of Knighton (IoW), born 27 October 1758. Educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1775; BA 1779; MA 1782); incorporated at Trinity College, Dublin (BA 1804). Ordained deacon, 1782, and priest, 1782. Perpetual curate of Dunbin and Ballymakenny, 1785-91; prebendary of Loughgall in diocese of Armagh, 1791-1807; rector of Clonmore, 1794-1807, Donoughmore, 1807-12 and  Loughgilly, 1812-17; Archdeacon of Ross, 1804-22; Chancellor of Armagh Cathedral, 1817-22; Bishop of Raphoe, 1822-34, where he built several churches in the diocese and improved the bishop's palace. He was the author of The Complete History of our Lord Jesus Christ, 1807. He married, 14 May 1789 at St Thomas, Salisbury (Wilts), Jane (1762-1823), daughter of Walter Earle of Blandford Forum (Dorset), but had no issue.
He inherited Lessendrum from his brother in 1821, but did not occupy it; it was mostly let to tenants.
He died while on holiday at Lessendrum, 4 September 1834, and was buried there; a tablet to his memory was erected at Raphoe. His wife died 20 March 1823 and was buried in the Cathedral churchyard at Raphoe.

Bisset, Alexander (b. 1761). Third son of Rev. Dr. Alexander Bisset (c.1714-82) and his wife Jane, daughter of Lt-Gen. Maurice Bocland of Knighton (IoW), baptised at Newchurch (IoW), 23 February 1761. Educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1777). An officer in the army (Lt., 1781; retired 1783) and later in the Hampshire Volunteer Cavalry (Maj. by 1800); he needs to be distinguished from the man of the same name who ran a crammer at Croydon (Surrey) and died in 1821. He married, 26 August 1783, at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), reputedly without her father's knowledge or consent*, Catherine, daughter of Beauchamp Bagenal (c.1735-1802) of London and Dunleckney Manor (Co. Carlow), and had issue:
(1) Mary Bisset (b. 1784), baptised at All Saints, Southampton, 14 October 1784; mentioned in her maternal grandfather's will written in 1797;
(2) Jane Bisset (b. 1785), baptised at Fordingbridge, 26 November 1785; died young before 1795;
(3) Catherine Bisset (fl. 1797); mentioned in her maternal grandfather's will written in 1797;
(4) Eliza Bisset (fl. 1797); mentioned in her maternal grandfather's will written in 1797;
(5) Jane Robiniana Bisset, baptised at St Mary, Southampton, 20 January 1795; mentioned in her maternal grandfather's will written in 1797;
(6) William Bisset (1797-1858) (q.v.).
He appears to have lived in or around Southampton.
He died before 1834 or he would have succeeded his elder brother at Lessendrum under the entail. His wife's date of death is unknown.
* Although how that could be achieved in such a public setting as St George's is hard to understand!

Bisset, William (1797-1858). Only son of Maj. Alexander Bisset and his wife Catherine Bagenal, born 1797. He married, 11 May 1830 at Swords (Co. Dublin), Lady Alicia (d. 1836), fourth daughter of William Howard, 3rd Earl of Wicklow, and 2nd, 7 April 1840 at Cheltenham (Glos), Harriet Florence, daughter of Henry Bill and widow of [forename unknown] Caulfeild, and had issue:
(1.1) Jane Frances Bisset (1832-91), born 23 November 1832 and baptised at Swords, 5 February 1833; married 1st, 11 September 1856 at Berry Pomeroy (Devon), William Gillard (1808-78), surgeon, and 2nd, 12 July 1881 at West Bagborough (Som.), Rev. Robert Bisset Fenwick Elrington (c.1822-97), vicar of Lower Brixham (Devon); died 27 November 1891 and was buried at Milverton Cemetery, Leamington Spa (Warks).
He inherited Lessendrum from his uncle, the bishop of Raphoe, in 1834, and remodelled the house to the designs of Archibald Simpson in 1837, but he seems to have spent a good deal of his time at addresses in England.
He died in Islington, 7 January, and was buried at Islington & St Pancras Cemetery, 13 January 1858; his will was proved 22 January 1858 (effects under £3,000). His first wife died in 1836. His second wife's date of death is unknown.

Bisset, Jane Harriot (1789-1866). Elder daughter of Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821) and his wife Harriet Mordaunt, born 13 November and baptised at St Marylebone (Middx), 10 December 1789. She and her husband adopted the additional name Bisset in about 1853. She married, 11 March 1824 at Stratton (Glos), her cousin, the Ven. Maurice George Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset) (1797-1879), rector of Drumholm (Co. Donegal), 1828-46 and archdeacon of Raphoe (Co. Donegal), 1846-51, son of William Fenwick of Lemmington Hall (Northbld.), and had issue:
(1) Mordaunt Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset) (1825-84) (q.v.);
(2) Janet Fenwick (1826-1905) (q.v.);
(3) Harriot Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset) (c.1828-93), born about 1828; died unmarried at Old Machar (Aberdeens.), 19 November 1893; will confirmed at Aberdeen, 16 January 1894 (estate £31,895).
She inherited Dauntsey House (Wilts) from her uncle, the 5th and last Earl of Peterborough, in 1814 but had made it over to her son by 1840. She inherited Lessendrum in 1858 from her cousin, William Bisset (1797-1858).
She died 2 May 1866 and was buried at Drumblade. Her husband died 6 August 1879 and was buried at Drumblade; his will was confirmed 9 October 1879 (effects £6,132).

Fenwick (later Fenwick-Bisset), Mordaunt Fenwick (1825-84). Only son of the Ven. Maurice George Fenwick (later Bisset) (1797-1879) and his wife Jane Harriot, elder daughter of Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821), born 27 February 1825. Educated at Trinity College, Cambridge (matriculated 1843). An officer in the army (Cornet, 1844; Lt., 1848; retired 1850). JP for Somerset. High Sheriff of Somerset, 1872-73; MP for West Somerset, 1880-83. He was Master of Devon & Somerset Staghounds, 1855-81, building new hunt kennels, and reviving the native population of red deer on Exmoor; his thirteen volumes of hunting diaries formed the basis of the Hon. John Fortescue's Record of staghunting on Exmoor (1887). He adopted the additional name Bisset in 1853. He married, 17 July 1851 at West Bagborough (Som.), Susan (1826-1903), daughter and heir of Francis Popham of Bagborough (Som.), but had no issue.
He was given Dauntsey House (Wilts) by his mother by 1840 and came of age in 1846, but sold the estate in 1853. He inherited Bagborough House (Som.) in right of his wife and Lessendrum on the death of his mother in 1866. He rented Pixton Park (Som.) as a residence because of its central location in the stag hunting country.
He died 7 July and was buried at West Bagborough, 11 July 1884; his will was proved 24 November 1884 (effects £83,648). His widow died 8 May and was buried at West Bagborough, 12 May 1903; her will was proved 12 October 1903 (estate £21,193).

Fenwick, Janet (1826-1905). Elder daughter of the Ven. Maurice George Fenwick (later Bisset) (c.1798-1879) and his wife Jane Harriot, elder daughter of Maurice George Bisset (1757-1821), born 31 May 1826. She assumed the name of Bisset as an additional surname on inheriting the Lessendrum estate, 1884. She married, 28 August 1849 at Dauntsey (Wilts), Dr. Joseph Favière Elrington (1823-83), of Carrickbrennan, Monkstown (Co. Dublin), barrister-at-law (QC) and recorder of Londonderry, son of Rev. Prof. Charles Richard Elrington, rector of Armagh and regius professor of divinity at Trinity College, Dublin, and had issue:
(1) Rev. Charles Elrington (later Elrington-Bisset) (1850-88), born 20 September 1850; educated at Trinity College, Dublin (MA 1884); vicar of Newbarns, Barrow-in-Furness (Lancs); took the additional name of Bisset in 1884; married, 30 July 1880 at Crofton (Yorks WR), Edith Emily Helena (1850-1901), daughter of Rev. Josiah Samuel Moore, rector of Crofton, but had no issue; died of a brain tumour, 12 December 1888 and was buried at Drumblade; administration of his goods was granted 12 March 1889 (effects £1,087);
(2) Isabella Elrington (1852-1925), born 16 June 1852; married, 28 December 1871, Sir Robert William Arbuthnot Holmes KCB (1843-1910), Treasury Remembrancer for Ireland, and had issue two sons and six daughters; lived latterly at Bemerton House (Wilts); died 3 March and was buried at Bemerton, 5 March 1925; will proved 8 September 1925 (estate £14,370);
(3) Maj. Maurice Elrington (later Elrington-Bisset) (1854-1909) (q.v.);
(4) Rev. Mordaunt Elrington (later Bisset) (1859-1927), born 8 December 1859 and baptised at Wrington (Som.), 12 February 1860; educated at Cheltenham College and Pembroke College, Cambridge (matriculated 1878; BA 1882; MA 1886); ordained deacon, 1884, and priest, 1885l rector of Bangor-on-Dee (Flints.), 1896-1909; served in First World War as a chaplain, 1914-19 and was awarded MBE; married 1st, 27 October 1896 at St Michael, Chester Sq., Westminster (Middx), Florence Isabella Maud (d. 1909), youngest daughter of Col. Charles John Tottenham of Woodstock (Co. Wicklow) and 2nd, 29 April 1911, Amabel Mary (1859-1916), daughter of Maj. G. Cumberland; died 23 October 1927; will proved 23 December 1927 (estate £16,154).
She inherited Lessendrum on the death of her brother in 1884.
She died at Marlay Grange, Rathfarnham (Co. Dublin), 21 March 1905; will proved in Dublin, 5 September 1905 (estate £16,749). Her husband died 3 September 1883 and was buried at Deansgrange Cemetery, Dublin; his will was proved 16 November 1883 (effects £7,247).

Elrington (later Elrington-Bisset), Maj. Maurice (1854-1909). Second son of Dr. Joseph Favière Elrington LLD QC (d. 1883), of Carrickbrennan, Monkstown (Co. Dublin) and his wife Janet, elder daughter of the Ven. Maurice George Bisset of Lessendrum, born 12 June 1854. Educated at Royal Military Academy. An officer in the Royal Engineers (Lt., 1874; Capt., 1885; retired, 1889; returned to colours, 1900; promoted Maj., and finally retired 1902), attached to the Ordnance Survey, 1883-89. JP for Aberdeenshire. He took the additional surname of Bisset in 1884. He married, 3 December 1884 at Bath Abbey (Som.), Anna Isabella (1857-1930), second daughter of Capt. Walter Stephens Brinkley (1826-84) of Knockmaroon House, Castleknock (Co. Dublin), and had issue:
(1) Janet Kathleen Elrington-Bisset (1886-1953) (q.v.);
(2) Walter Favière Elrington-Bisset (1889-1915) (q.v.).
He inherited Lessendrum from his mother in 1905.
He died at Carlsbad (Germany), 15 June 1909 and was buried at Drumblade; his will was confirmed 30 August 1909 (estate £59,214). His widow died 20 July 1930 and was also buried at Drumblade; her will was confirmed 13 December 1930 (estate £2,477).

Elrington-Bisset, Walter Favière (1889-1915). Only son of Maj. Maurice Elrington Bisset (1854-1909) and his wife Anna Isabella, second daughter of Capt. Walter Stephens Brinkley of Knockmaroon House (Co. Dublin), born 21 February 1889. Educated at Repton and Pembroke College, Cambridge (BA 1910). A patron of the Drumblade Curling Club, 1912. He served in the Gordon Highlanders in the First World War (2nd Lt.), 1914-15. He was unmarried and without issue.
He inherited Lessendrum from his father in 1909 and came of age the following year.
He was killed in action at the battle of Loos, 25 September 1915; his will was confirmed at Aberdeen, 15 September 1919 (estate £35,795).

Elrington-Bisset, Janet Kathleen (1886-1953). Only daughter of Maj. Maurice Elrington-Bisset (1854-1909) and his wife Anna Isabella, second daughter of Capt. Walter Stephens Brinkley of Knockmaroon House (Co. Dublin), born 14 June 1886. She and her husband took the name Murray-Bisset in 1919. She married, 13 March 1917 at St Paul, Portman Sq., St Marylebone (Middx), Lt-Col. William Turner Murray (1889-1949), son of Rev. Thomas Murray, and had issue:
(1) Kathleen Helen Murray-Bisset (1918-97), of Mayen, Rothiemay, born 25 August 1918; married 1st, 27 July 1939 at Drumblade (Aberdeens.), Ian Caldwell Perston Sloan (d. 1940), son of William H.P. Sloan of Dalmore, Helensburgh (Dunbartons.), and had issue one daughter; married 2nd, 15 March 1945, Maj. Wilfrid Harold Kerton Baker (1920-2000), Tory MP for Banffshire, 1964-74, son of W.H. Baker of Weymouth (Dorset), and had further issue one son and one daughter; died December 1987 and was buried at Drumblade;
(2) Jean Marion Murray-Bisset (1920-2004), born 4 April 1920; served in Second World War with Women's Army Corps; married, 30 April 1946 at Drumblade, Lt. Charles Edson Ennis (c.1920-95), son of Charles Taft Ennis of Richmond Hill, Lyons, New York State (USA), and had issue two sons and two daughters; died at Clifton Springs, New York, 5 June 2004;
(3) Sheelah Rachel Murray-Bisset (1923-2003), born 18 July 1923; married, 3 May 1947 at Drumblade, Lt-Col. Anthony Wynter Lister (1917-2002) of Winson Manor (Glos) and later of Milford (Surrey), elder son of Edmund Algernon Coryton Lister (1870-1936), and had issue three daughters; died 12 July 2003; will proved 4 June 2004;
(4) John Maurdant Murray-Bisset (1926-90) (q.v.).
She inherited Lessendrum when her brother was killed in the First World War. The house was destroyed by fire in 1928, but she retained the estate. She lived subsequently at Mayen, Rothiemay, and later in a dower house at Lessendrum.
She died 18 May 1953 and was buried at Drumblade. Her husband died 4 April 1949 and was buried at Drumblade.

Murray-Bisset, John Mordaunt (1926-90). Only son of Lt-Col. William Turner Murray (later Murray-Bisset) (1889-1949) and his wife Janet Kathleen, only daughter of Maj. Maurice Elrington Bisset (1854-1909) , born 19 September 1926. He married, 16 March 1957 at St Paul, Portman Sq., St Marylebone (Middx), Patricia Edith Baggs (1929-2017) of Taunton (Som.).
He inherited the Lessendrum estate from his mother in 1949, and built a new house on the estate in 1972, but sold the estate in 1981.
He died in 1990 at was buried at Durras (Co. Cork). His widow died in 2017.

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1952, p. 192; Rev. W. Temple, The Thanage of Fermartyn, 1894, pp. 244-56; VCH Hampshire, vol. 5, 1912, pp. 177-87; C.W.R. Winter, The manor houses of the Isle of Wight, 1984, pp. 92-97; D. Miller, Archibald Simpson, architect, 2006, pp. 217-18; D.W. Lloyd & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: Isle of Wight, 2006, p. 170; J. Sharples, D.W. Walker & M. Woodworth, The buildings of Scotland: Aberdeenshire - south and Aberdeen, 2015, p. 454.


Location of archives

Most of the family archives are said to have been destroyed in the fire at Lessendrum in 1928.

Coat of arms

Azure, a bend argent.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone provide portraits or photographs of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 3 July 2026.

Tuesday, 17 March 2026

(629) Bingham of Bingham's Melcombe

Bingham of Bingham's Melcombe 

The Bingham family are thought to have originated at Bingham in Nottinghamshire, and to have come to Dorset by way of Sutton Bingham in Somerset. Robert de Bingham (d. 1246), Bishop of Salisbury, was one of the family. They acquired the Bingham's Melcombe estate through the marriage of Robert de Bingham (d. 1295) to Lucy, daughter and heiress of Sir Robert Turberville of Melcombe in the mid 13th century, and remained settled in this quiet valley in the Dorset uplands for more than six hundred years. The medieval generations of the family did little to attract the attention of the historian, and the most prominent was probably Sir John Bingham, a Yorkist who was knighted by Edward IV after the Battle of Tewkesbury in 1471. The earliest part of the present Bingham's Melcombe house, the gatehouse, may date from his time, but the majority of the building dates from the time of his nephew, Robert Bingham (d. 1524) - with whom the genealogy below begins - and the latter's son, also Robert Bingham (d. 1561), although it was much altered by later generations of the family. The second Robert Bingham had a large family, with eight sons, at least four of whom took to a military life and saw service under Queen Elizabeth I in Ireland. Sir Richard Bingham (c.1528-99), the most senior of them, who was Governor of Connaught for the last fifteen years of his life, was an effective military commander who largely succeeded in keeping the rebellious Burkes in check, through a brutality little tempered by justice or mercy. His younger brother, Sir George Bingham (d. 1599) was the founder of the Irish branches of the Bingham family, later baronets and Earls of Lucan, who will be the subject of future posts.

The Bingham's Melcombe estate passed on the death of Robert Bingham in 1561 to his eldest son, Robert Bingham (d. 1593), who like his brothers spent some time as a soldier in Ireland, although little seems to be known about his career there. He married a daughter of Robert Williams of Herringston near Dorchester and had seven children. His eldest son, Robert Bingham (d. 1587), who predeceased him, married Anne Chaldecott, who brought him Quarleston Hall in Winterbourne Strickland, where they settled, and had an only child, Richard Bingham (c.1586-1656), before Robert's untimely death. Young Richard thus inherited both Quarleston and Bingham's Melcombe before he came of age in about 1607, but he was raised at Quarleston and seems to have made it his principal residence in preference to Bingham's Melcombe. In about 1608, Richard made a socially advantageous marriage to Jane, daughter of Sir Arthur Hopton, kt., of Witham Friary (Som.), and together the couple had at least fourteen children, only one of whom is known to have died young. In 1638-39, he was the first of the family to serve the office of High Sheriff of Dorset, at a time when resistance to the collection of 'ship money' by those opposed to King Charles I's personal rule was making life difficult for the sheriffs responsible for its collection. Richard himself was probably politically in agreement with the ship money objectors, for when the Civil War broke out he seems to have sided with the Parliamentarians. It was left to his eldest son and heir, John Bingham (1610-75), to take an active and prominent part in the revolution, however, as both a military commander in 1642-46 and as a member of successive parliaments thereafter. He was in charge of the Parliamentary force which laid siege to Corfe Castle and plotted to capture it by subterfuge, and he carried away goods (allegedly to the value of £1,000) after it was taken, although he was obliged to return them to the Bankes family after the Restoration. In 1651 he was appointed Governor of Guernsey, and although he did not spent a great deal of time on the island, he was assiduous in bringing the islanders concerns to the attention of the Commonwealth authorities. John must have greeted the Restoration with deep disappointment and resignation. He was abruptly dismissed from all the offices he had held under the Commonwealth, and spent the rest of his life in quiet retirement at Quarleston. Only in 1674 did he return to the public stage, being pricked as High Sheriff for 1674-75, and he died soon after completing his term.

John Bingham left Quarleston to his daughter Grace, but Bingham's Melcombe, which was entailed, passed to his nephew, Richard Bingham (1667-1736), the only son of his younger brother, Strode Bingham (1622-73) of Henstridge (Som.). Richard, who was sent to Oxford University, came of age in 1688 and soon afterwards became an officer in the Dorset militia. He married, in 1695, Philadelphia Potenger, the daughter of a lawyer and Treasury official who was also known as an author and poet, and together they produced thirteen children. He was a Tory in politics, and became an MP, at first for Bridport and later for the county, but neither of his stints in parliament lasted terribly long, and with the eclipse of the Tories after 1714 he did not stand for parliament again. He carried out repairs and improvements at Bingham's Melcombe, which had been neglected for much of the 17th century, and in the 1730s, he was named as one of the commissioners for the rebuilding of Blandford Forum after the devastating fire there.

Richard Bingham's eldest son and heir, Richard Bingham (1698-1755) was educated as a lawyer and was active in his profession, becoming a bencher of the Middle Temple shortly before his death, and being a leading and respected figure among the Dorset justices of the peace. He and his wife had three sons, of whom the youngest is said to have died in India at the age of fourteen, though that seems improbable. His second son, the Ven. William Bingham (1743-1819) of Gaddesden Cottage, entered the church and became vicar of Great Gaddesden (Herts) and Archdeacon of London, 1789-1813; he was succeeded in the former post by his son, Rev. Robert Batt Bingham, who held it until his death in 1872. However, the eldest son and heir to Bingham's Melcombe was Col. Richard Bingham (1741-1824), who became the commanding officer of the Dorset militia. With him, the military tradition of the family was revived, and by his two wives he produced five sons, four of whom pursued careers in the regular army or the Royal Navy. His eldest son, Lt-Gen. Richard Bingham (1768-1829) was married but had no children, so on his death the estate passed to his nephew, the Rev. George Bingham (1803-38), who seems to have given up a career in the church on inheriting Bingham's Melcombe. He was married but his only child died in infancy, so at his untimely death in 1838 the estate passed to his brother, Richard Hippisley Bingham (1804-91). He left the army on inheriting the estate, although he subsequently played a leading role in the Dorset militia, ending up as its honorary colonel. He was married but had no issue, so on his death the estate came to his first cousin once removed, Richard Charles William Bingham (1845-1902), who was the last of the family to own Bingham's Melcombe. He seems to have found the house in poor condition, and between 1891 and 1895 he repaired and remodelled it, reputedly at a cost of £3,000. He found, however, that he could not afford to live in it, and in 1895 he sold the house and surrounding land for £4,200. By 1898 he was bankrupt, and he moved, with his large but young family to a cottage at Appledore (Devon). His last years were oppressed by money worries, and he experienced increasing heart trouble, which he unwisely concealed, leading to his sudden death from a heart attack in 1902.

Bingham's Melcombe, Melcombe Horsey, Dorset

A compellingly attractive manor house in the heart of rural Dorset, which belonged to the Bingham family from around 1250 until 1895. The house consists of a completely irregular series of ranges surrounding three sides of a courtyard, with the fourth side closed by a wall, and close scrutiny of the plan and fabric reveals a complex story of development over some six hundred years, although some parts cannot be accurately dated.

Bingham's Melcombe: an early photograph of the house from the south, taken by John Pouncy in 1857.

Bingham's Melcombe: the gatehouse range in 1947. Image: Country Life.
The earliest section seems to be the gatehouse at the south-east corner of the courtyard. This stands at an angle to the rest of the south range, but is now thought to be roughly contemporary with it. Smoke blackening on the roof timbers west of the gatehouse suggests that this may have been the site of an earlier open hall, perhaps with lofted areas at either end. This part has been dated to the 15th century, and the bold triangular-headed entrance arches of the gatehouse would fit reasonably well with that. The windows of the gatehouse block were all altered to sashes set in architraves with keystones in the early 18th century, no doubt at the same time as alterations were made to the hall range in the 1730s.

Bingham's Melcombe: phased plan of the house, c.1970. The western section of the south range is now also believed to be late medieval in origin.
Crown Copyright.

Bingham's Melcombe: the north (hall) range from the courtyard in 2024. 
The hall range, which forms the northern side of the courtyard and stands on a slightly raised terrace, is the part of the house which has been altered the most. Its core seems to date from the early 16th century, when Robert Bingham (d. 1524) may have had a little more money to spend on building than most of his predecessors, but it was probably unfinished when he died. As first built, it may have been open to the roof, but later alterations have made this uncertain. It may also have been an example of an 'end hall' plan with no parlours beyond the dais end of the hall. If so, this soon changed. Robert Bingham (d. 1561), who inherited in 1524, was financially stretched by the scale of his father's legacies and funeral costs, but he later married well and by the 1550s was able to complete work on the hall range and build, or rebuild, most of the west range. An inventory of the house taken after his death in 1561 gives a very clear idea of its layout at this time. The porch, which was cheaply made up from earlier material, led into the low end of the hall, with the kitchen and service rooms to its right, at the east end of the range. 

Bingham's Melcombe: the hall bay in 1977. Image: Nick Kingsley. Some rights reserved.
From the hall opened a large bay, almost a separate room, added in the 1550s when the parlours and newel staircase to its west were also built. The hall bay (often referred to in the literature as an oriel) is the most architecturally distinguished part of the house. It is closely related stylistically to Sir John Horsey's work at Clifton Maybank (some parts of which are preserved at Montacute House (Som.) and elsewhere), and also to work of similar date at Athelhampton Hall and Sandford Orcas Manor House. The whole group is built using Ham Hill stone (here mixed with a silvery grey limestone ashlar) and was no doubt designed by a mason associated with the quarries there. Stained glass in the window of the hall bay at Bingham's Melcombe incorporating the arms of Philip & Mary allows the work here to be closely dated to c.1554-58. The carved details are all executed in the fine Ham Hill stone, and incorporate precocious Renaissance motifs: the coat of arms forming an apron below the first floor window is held by vigorous putti, and its surround involves scrolls, acanthus leaves and voluted corbels and finials to the side-shafts. The side-shafts are carried up, framing the window above, to project higher than the gable, and are echoed by the octagonal angle-shafts at the outer edges of the bay. The shafts have volutes and leaf-bulbs, and the shafts themselves change their section at every stage, a conceit which is also found at Clifton Maybank. Curiously, the decoration is focused on the upper window of the bay, although this now serves only a small chamber of no particular importance. 

Bingham's Melcombe: the overmantel in the gatehouse chamber, photographed in 1947. Image: Country Life.
The next phase of improvements can probably be dated to the time of Richard Bingham (d. 1656), great-grandson of the builder of the hall bay. He was no doubt responsible for the series of Jacobean overmantels around the house, including that in the room over the gatehouse. His most important change was to move the kitchen from its position east of the hall to the south-west corner of the courtyard, and to convert the buildings between the kitchen and the gatehouse into a service range. A little later again, perhaps in the time of his son, John Bingham (1610-75), a small alleyway between the kitchen and the main west range was filled in, and a covered way built along the inner face of the west range to directly link the kitchen and the hall, where meals were evidently still being taken at this time. 

Bingham's Melcombe: the library created in the early 18th century out of the former service rooms in the east range.
In the 18th century, Richard Bingham (1667-1736) converted the former service rooms at the east end of the hall into a smart new bolection-panelled library, added a new staircase hall to the north side of the hall range to provide polite access to the first-floor drawing room, rebuilt the hall porch and installed sash windows in his new rooms and the gatehouse. Richard's son, another Richard Bingham (1698-1755), created a new dining room west of the hall with Rococo plasterwork decoration and a marble fireplace, although since he installed a Jacobean overmantel (perhaps from elsewhere in the house) over the fireplace, his sophisticated room retained a rustic edge.

Bingham's Melcombe: the fireplace wall of the  dining room created in the mid 18th century. Image: Historic England.

Bingham's Melcombe: the window wall of the dining room. Image: Historic England.
In the later 19th century, the Bingham family let the house to tenants, and it may have been showing its age as a result. When Richard Charles William Bingham (1845-1902) inherited the house in 1891, he commissioned a thorough programme of repairs and modernisation from the architect Evelyn Hellicar (1862-1929), which is said to have cost £3,000. His work including rebuilding the north wall of the hall range and completely remodelling the hall. His is the moulded arch separating the hall and hall bay, supported on moulded shafts and foliate capitals which are imitated from the external details of the bay. Since then, the house has seen only minor changes, including the addition of a north porch, incorporating a pedimented Classical doorway dated 1583 from Tyneham House (Dorset), installed here c.1967, and the raising of the east courtyard wall.

Bingham's Melcombe: the hall, as remodelled by Evelyn Hellicar in c.1893. Image: Country Life.

Bingham's Melcombe: the interior of the hall bay, seen from the hall, in 1912. Image: Country Life.

The gardens are a rare survival of a mid 16th century garden layout, and they consist of a series of garden compartments with different themes and purposes. North of the house is a flower garden or 'ladies' garden', where rectangular borders are edged with box, while to the west of the house was a bowling green - now just a lawn - for the men of the house. The bowling green is backed by a massive ancient yew hedge which the Dorset historian Hutchins already called 'stupendous' in the 1770s, and at the far end there is a semicircular brick alcove dated 1748, which has a basket arch and an original curved fitted seat. The circular dovecote, built of rubble stone, seems to date from the late 17th century. The gardens were restored for Lady Grogan in the 1930s by Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe, who called them the best surviving example of the 'Stonehenge of English gardening'. He introduced a new garden of three compartments parallel to and below the bowling green and also bounded by yew hedges.


Descent: Sir Robert Turberville; to daughter Lucy, wife of Richard de Bingham (d. 1295); to son, Robert de Bingham (d. 1304); to son, Richard de Bingham (d. 1317); to son, Richard de Bingham; to son, Richard de Bingham (d. by 1408); to son, Robert de Bingham (d. 1431); to son, Sir John Bingham (d. 1471), kt.; to brother, Richard Bingham (d. 1480); to son, Robert Bingham (d. 1524); to son, Robert Bingham (d. 1561); to son, Robert Bingham (d. 1593); to grandson, Richard Bingham (c.1586-1656); to son, John Bingham (1610-75); to nephew, Richard Bingham (1667-1736); to son, Richard Bingham (1698-1755); to son, Col. Richard Bingham (1741-1824); to son, Lt-Gen. Richard Bingham (1768-1829); to nephew, Rev. George Bingham (1803-38); to brother, Richard Hippisley Bingham (1804-91); to cousin, Richard Charles William Bingham (1845-1902), who sold 1895 to Reginald Bosworth Smith (1839-1908); to widow, Flora (d. 1927); to daughter, Ellinor Flora Bosworth (1867-1948), wife of Sir Edward Grogan (1873-1927), 2nd bt.; sold 1948 to Hon. Francis Hopwood (1897-1982), later 3rd Baron Southborough; sold 1980 to Mr. & Mrs John Langham; sold 2024.

Bingham family of Bingham's Melcombe


Bingham, Robert (d. 1524). Son of Richard Bingham (d. 1480) and his first wife Margaret, daughter of Henry Marbyn. Bailiff of Royal Demesnes of Canford, 1520-24. He married Joan, daughter of John De La Lynde, of Winterbourne Clenston (Dorset), and had issue:
(1) Robert Bingham (d. 1561) (q.v.);
(2) William Bingham;
(3) Katherine Bingham; married William Canterton;
(4) Anne Bingham; married Mark Hayes;
(5) Alice Bingham.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his father in 1480.
He died in 1524, and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, where his tomb is in the Bingham aisle. His wife's date of death is unknown, but she was buried at Melcombe Horsey.

Bingham, Robert (d. 1561). Elder son of Robert Bingham (d. 1524) and his wife Joan, daughter of John De La Lynde, of Winterbourne Clenston (Dorset). He married Alice, daughter of Thomas Coker of Mappowder (Dorset), and had issue:
(1) Robert Bingham (d. 1593) (q.v.);
(2) Christopher Bingham (fl. 1565);
(3) Sir Richard Bingham (c.1528-99), born about 1528; soldier who fought in Scotland and in Spanish service before being sent to Ireland in 1579; knighted 1584; Governor of Connaught, 1584-99, where he exercised a brutal authority with little justice or mercy in the face of almost continuous rebellion; married, 11 January 1587/8, Sarah (1565-1634) (who m2, Edward Waldegrave of Lawford (Essex)), daughter of John Heigham of Gifford's Hall, Wickhambrook (Suffk), and had issue one daughter; died in Dublin, 19 January 1599, but was buried at Westminster Abbey, where a monument to his memory was erected by his former servant, Sir John Bingley (d. 1638), kt.; will proved in the PCC, 12 June 1599;
(4) Sir George Bingham (d. 1599), a soldier in Ireland who went to Connaught after his brother's appointment as Governor in 1584; sheriff of Clare, 1584-85; acting Governor of Connaught in his brother's absence, 1587-88; knight marshal in Ireland; married, 1569, Cecily (d. 1598), daughter of Robert Martyn of Athelhampton (Dorset), and had issue two sons (including Henry (b. 1573)) [for whom see my forthcoming post on the Binghams of Castlebar House and Laleham House, baronets and Earls of Lucan]; died in Dublin and was buried in Christ Church Cathedral there, 1599;
(5) Roger Bingham (fl. 1565); died without issue;
(6) Sir John Bingham (fl. 1609); served in Ireland with his brothers; obtained a grant of Castlebar (Co. Mayo) and in 1609 had a licence for a weekly market and annual fair there; married Alice Mills, but had no issue; at his death his property passed to his nephew, Sir Henry Bingham (1573-1659), 1st bt.;
(7) Thomas Bingham (fl. 1565);
(8) Rev? Charles Bingham (fl. 1565); possibly the man of this name who was educated at Corpus Christi College, Oxford (BA 1570; MA 1573) and became vicar of Croft (Lincs), 1576;
(9) Mary Bingham (fl. 1565);
(10) Joan Bingham (fl. 1565); according to some sources she married 1st, John Willoughby and 2nd John Goldesborough, but the latter marriage took place in 1625 so both events probably relate to a Joan Bingham of a later generation;
(11) Cecily Bingham (fl. 1565); married 1st, Christopher Martyn of Athelhampton (Dorset) and 2nd, Sir George Paulet.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his father in 1524 and made significant additions to it in the 1550s.
He died in 1561. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bingham, Robert (d. 1593). Eldest son of Robert Bingham (d. 1561) and his wife Alice, daughter of Thomas Coker of Mappowder (Dorset). He served in the wars in Ireland with his brother George. He married Jane, eldest daughter of Robert Williams of Herringston (Dorset), and had issue including:
(1) Robert Bingham (d. 1587) (q.v.);
(2) Gyles Bingham (fl. 1565); named as second son at the heralds' visitation of 1565 but probably died before 1588 as he is not mentioned in his brother's will;
(3) Rev.? John Bingham (fl. 1588); possibly the man of this name who was licenced as a curate in 1590;
(4) Thomas Bingham (fl. 1599); probably the nephew of this name mentioned in his uncle Sir Richard's will in 1599, who inherited Connaught Tower at Athlone from him;
(5) Francis Bingham (fl. 1588);
(6) Anne Bingham (fl. 1588); married, before 1588, [forename unknown] Jones.
(7) Mary Bingham (fl. 1565);
(8) Joan Bingham, probably born after 1565 as she is not named in the herald's visitation of that year;
(9) Cecily Bingham, probably born after 1565 as she is not named in the herald's visitation of that year.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his father in 1561.
He died in 1593 and was succeeded by his grandson. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bingham, Robert (d. 1587). Eldest son of Robert Bingham (d. 1593) and his wife Jane, daughter of Robert Williams of Herringston (Dorset), born before 1560. He married, c.1585, Anne (d. 1621), daughter and heiress of William Chaldecott of Quarleston in Winterbourne Strickland (Dorset), and had issue:
(1) Richard Bingham (c.1586-1656) (q.v.).
He inherited Quarleston Hall in Winterbourne Strickland in right of his wife.
He died in the lifetime of his father, in November 1587; his will was proved in the PCC, 27 November 1588. His widow married 2nd, 1590, as his first wife, Sir John Strode (c.1561-1642), kt., of Parnham House, Beaminster (Dorset), but had no further issue; she died 8 August 1621.

Bingham, Richard (c.1586-1656). Only child of Robert Bingham (d. 1587) and his wife Anne, daughter and heiress of William Chaldecott of Quarlestone in Winterbourne Strickland (Dorset), born about 1586. High Sheriff of Dorset, 1638-39. He married, c.1608, Jane (d. 1635), seventh daughter of Sir Arthur Hopton (c.1540-1607), kt., of Witham Friary (Som.), and had issue*:
(1) John Bingham (1610-75) (q.v.);
(2) Richard Bingham (1611-1659); buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 22 June 1659; 
(3) Robert Bingham (b. 1612); living in 1623;
(4) Arthur Bingham (b. 1613); living in 1623;
(5) Dorothy Bingham (1614-62); married De La Lynde Hussey (b. c.1610) of Winterbourne Tomson (Dorset), son of Thomas Hussey (d. 1657) of Shapwick (Som.) and Winterbourne Tomson; buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 1662;
(6) Rachel Bingham (b. 1615); married, 7 June 1636 at Winterbourne Strickland, William Shergall, gent.;
(7) Christopher Bingham (1616-79) of Houghton; apprenticed to a London skinner, 1637/8; died without issue and was buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 1679;
(8) Anne Bingham (b. 1617); married, 1643 (settlement 3 October), Rev. Roger Clarke, rector of Todber (Dorset) and perhaps the man of this name who was rector of Ashmore (Dorset) in 1662;
(9) Elizabeth Bingham (b. 1618); married, 4 July 1637 at Winterbourne Strickland, Thomas Bennett of Shaftesbury (Dorset);
(10) Henry Bingham (b. 1620); living in 1623;
(11) Strode Bingham (1622-73) (q.v.);
(12) Francis Bingham (b. 1625);
(13) An unnamed son (b. & d. 1626), baptised at Winterbourne Strickland, 11 July 1626; died in infancy and was buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 10 August 1626**;
(14) Jane Bingham (1627-77), baptised 18 November 1627; married, 16 October 1657, Christopher Twininhoe (d. 1676) of Turnworth (Dorset), and had issue at least two sons and one daughter; said to have died in 1677.
He inherited Quarleston Hall from his father in 1588 and Bingham's Melcombe from his grandfather in 1593, where he made further alterations to the house. 
He was buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 29 August 1656; his will was proved in the Principal Probate Registry, 28 June 1658. His wife was buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 23 February 1635/6.
* Dates of birth are calculated from the ages of the children reported at the herald's visitation in 1623.
** Curiously, a blank space is left for the forename in both the baptism and burial entries in the register.

Bingham, John (1610-75). Eldest son of Richard Bingham (c.1586-1656) and his wife Jane, daughter of Sir Arthur Hopton, kt., of Witham Friary (Som.), born 1610. Educated at Brasenose College, Oxford (matriculated 1631) and Middle Temple (admitted 1633). A leading Dorset Parliamentarian, he was Col. of a regiment of foot, 1641-46?; Governor of Poole, 1643-?; and commander of parliamentary forces involved in the siege and slighting of Corfe Castle (Dorset), from which he looted goods worth £1,000, which he was obliged to return to the Bankes family after the Restoration in 1660. He was a member of the Dorset sequestration committee, 1643 and of the County Committee, 1644-50; MP for Shaftesbury, 1645-53 and for Dorset, 1653-60; a Counsellor of State, 1653; one of the Commissioners for the security of the Protector, 1656-58 and Governor of Guernsey, 1651-60. JP for Dorset, 1642-60; DL for Dorset, 1642-47; Colonel of Dorset militia, 1659-60; High Sheriff of Dorset, 1674-75. A Puritan in religion. He married 1st, c.1639, Frances (1617-58), daughter and co-heir of John Trenchard (d. 1662) of Warmwell House (Dorset), and 2nd, Jane (1616-80), daughter of Henry Norwood of Leckhampton Court (Glos), and had issue:
(1.1) Elizabeth Bingham (d. 1673); died unmarried and was buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 1673;
(1.2) Jane Bingham (d. 1680); buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 30 August 1680;
(1.3) Penelope Bingham (d. 1684); married John Mitchell (c.1642-1717) of Kingston Russell (Dorset), and had issue one son and four daughters; buried at Long Bredy (Dorset), 5 June 1684;
(1.4) Frances Bingham (d. 1681); lived at Dorchester; died unmarried and was buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 27 March 1681; administration of goods granted to her sister Penelope, 25 April 1683;
(1.5) Grace Bingham (d. 1691); inherited Quarleston Hall from her father in 1675; married, after 1680, Thomas Skinner (1662-1732) of Dewlish (Dorset), MP for Wareham, 1689-90 and High Sheriff of Dorset, 1703-04, and had issue three sons and one daughter; buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 13 November 1691;
(1.6) An unnamed daughter (b. & d. 1659); buried at Winterbourne Strickland (Dorset), 23 January 1658/9.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe and Quarleston from his father in 1656 and evidently lived chiefly at the latter. At his death his property was divided: Quarleston passing to his youngest daughter and Bingham's Melcombe, which was entailed, to his nephew, Richard Bingham.
He died between June and December 1675; his will was proved 2 December 1675. His first wife died in childbirth and was buried at Winterbourne Strickland (Dorset), 9 January 1658. His widow was buried at Winterbourne Strickland, 30 August 1680; her will was proved in the PCC, 2 November 1680.

Bingham, Strode (1622-73). Seventh son of Richard Bingham (c.1586-1656) and his wife Jane, daughter of Sir Arthur Hopton, kt., of Witham Abbey (Som.), born 21/24 February 1621/2. An officer in the Commonwealth army (Capt., by 1654). He married, c.1660, Cecily (1628?-1725?), daughter of Thomas Chapman of Henstridge (Som.) and had issue:
(1) Jane Bingham (b. 1662), baptised at Henstridge, 19 January 1661/2; married [forename unknown] Boucher;
(2) Dorothy Bingham (1664-1746), baptised at Henstridge, 19 July 1664; married, 14 February 1690/1 at Winterbourne St Martin (Dorset), as his second wife, Thomas Chaldecott (d. 1745), tanner, and had issue six or seven sons; buried at Morden (Dorset), 29 February 1745/6;
(3) Richard Bingham (1667-1736) (q.v.);
(4) Rachel Bingham (1670*-1726); married, 18 May 1695 at St Benet Fink, London, Dr George Mullens MD (c.1664-1738), of Salisbury, and had issue one surviving daughter; died 31 November [sic] 1726 and was buried in Salisbury Cathedral, where she is commemorated by a floor slab.
He lived at Henstridge.
He was buried at Henstridge, 19 December 1673. His widow is said to have died aged 97 in 1725, but no burial has been traced.
* Rachel's age at death on her gravestone makes it clear she was born in or about 1670, but she is probably not to be identified with the Rachel Bingham baptised at Henstridge in that year, whose parents' names are given as George and Ann.

Bingham, Richard (1667-1736). Only son of Strode Bingham (1622-73) of Henstridge and his wife Cecily, daughter of Thomas Chapman of Henstridge, baptised at Henstridge, 8? September 1667. Educated at Exeter College, Oxford (matriculated 1683). An officer in the Dorset militia (Capt., c.1689). Tory MP for Bridport, 1702-05 and for Dorset, 1711-13. JP for Dorset. In 1732 he was appointed one of the commissioners for the rebuilding of Blandford Forum after the town was destroyed by fire. He married, 26 December 1695 at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), Philadelphia (d. 1757), daughter and heiress of John Potenger (c.1646-1733)* of the Inner Temple, comptroller of the pipe, author and poet, and had issue:
(1) Philadephia Bingham (1696-1754), born 5 November and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 19 November 1696; married, 12 September 1749 at Sixpenny Handley (Dorset), as his second wife, George Borlase of Penzance (Cornw.), but had no issue; buried at Madron (Cornw.), 22 May 1754;
(2) Rachel Bingham (1697-1740), born 13 October and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 2 November 1697; died unmarried and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 28 May 1740;
(3) Richard Bingham (1698-1755) (q.v.);
(4) Annabella Bingham (b. 1701), born 17 February and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 13 March 1700/1; married Robert Hann of Corfe Castle (Dorset); living in 1746 but death not traced;
(5) Susanna Bingham (1707-86), born 29 March and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 24 April 1707; died unmarried and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 25 January 1786;
(6) twin, Elizabeth Bingham (1708-51), born 17 December 1708 and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 14 January 1708/9; died unmarried and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 26 February 1750/1;
(7) twin, Rev. John Bingham (1708-35), born 17 December 1708 and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 14 January 1708/9; educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1725; BA 1729; MA 1732); Student (i.e. Fellow) of Christ Church, Oxford, noted for being the first to coin the term 'Methodists' for the new sect or 'Holy Club' formed in Oxford by Charles Wesley, 1732; ordained deacon c.1730; died in Oxford, 17 August 1735 and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 25 August 1735, where he is commemorated by a monument with a long and erudite Latin inscription, transcribed in Hutchins' History of Dorset;
(8) Thomas Bingham (1710-11), born 13 November and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 7 December 1710; died in infancy, 26 June 1711, and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, where he is commemorated by a monument;
(9) Robert Bingham (1712-13), born 28 June and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 24 July 1712; died in infancy, 18 April 1713 and was buried at Melcombe Horsey;
(10) William Bingham (b. & d. 1713), born 31 October and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 20 November 1713; died in infancy, 24 December 1713 and was buried at Melcombe Horsey;
(11) George Bingham (1715-1800), born 27 October and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 25 November 1715; educated at Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1732; BA 1736); Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford (MA 1739; BD 1748); rector of Pimperne (Dorset), 1748-1800 and of More Crichel, 1755-1800; proctor in convocation for the diocese of Salisbury on several occasions; a good Hebrew scholar, respected divine and amateur archaeologist; he assisted Hutchins with his History of Dorset, in the second edition of which a lengthy account of his life is given; married, 1748 (licence 12 November), Sarah Beale (d. 1756) of Worcester, and had issue two sons and one daughter; died 11 October, and was buried at Pimperne, 17 October 1800, where he is commemorated by a monument;
(12) Leonora Bingham (b. 1718), born 17 May and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 19 June 1718; after her father's death lived at Serjeant's Inn, London; married, 'with a fortune of £5,000', 20 January 1741, in the precincts of the Fleet Prison, John Wheeler of Bridport (Dorset) and Chelsea (Middx), apothecary, and had issue two sons and one daughter; death not traced;
(13) Mary Bingham (1719-42), born 28 November 1719 and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 1 January 1719/20; died unmarried, 31 May, and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 14 June 1742.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his uncle in 1673, and came of age in 1688.
He was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 26 March 1736, where he is commemorated by a monument designed by Peter Scheemakers, erected in 1750. His widow died 8 September 1757 and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, where she is commemorated by a tomb in the churchyard; her will was proved in the PCC, 8 September 1757.
* John Potenger is said to have lived much of his long life at Bingham's Melcombe with his daughter and son-in-law, but he was buried at Highworth (Wilts).

Bingham, Richard (1698-1755). Eldest son of Richard Bingham (d. 1735) and his wife Philadelphia, daughter and heiress of John Potenger, born 4 November and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 12 December 1698. Educated at Middle Temple (admitted 1718; called 1723, Bencher, 1755) and New Inn Hall, Oxford (matriculated 1719). Barrister-at-law; JP for Dorset. He married, 9 July 1740 at Stratford Tony (Wilts), Martha (1721-65), daughter of William Batt of Salisbury, and had issue:
(1) Col. Richard Bingham (1741-1824) (q.v.);
(2) The Ven. William Bingham (1743-1819), born 10 February and baptised at Melcombe Bingham, 15 March 1743; educated at Brasenose College, Oxford (matriculated 1761; BA 1765; MA 1769; BD & DD, 1790); ordained deacon, 1767, and priest, 1768; vicar of Stebbing (Essex), 1768-78 and Upminster (Essex), 1770-78; vicar of Great Gaddesden (Herts), 1777-1820 and Hemel Hempstead, 1778-1820; Archdeacon of London, 1789-1813; honorary chaplain to King George III, 1792-1819; married, 16 November 1775 at West Ham (Essex), Agnes (c.1747-1827), daughter of Liebert Dorrien of London, merchant, and had issue three sons and two daughters; died 31 December 1819 and was buried at Great Gaddesden; will proved in the PCC, 26 May 1820;
(3) John Bingham (1746-60), born 1 June and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 7 July 1746; said to have died at Calcutta (India), 1760.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his father in 1735.
He died 30 December 1755 and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 6 January 1756. His widow married 2nd, 3 January 1759 at Winkfield (Berks), Pery Buckley (1701-70) of Winkfield Place, and had further issue one son; she was buried at Nunton (Wilts), 24 February 1765.

Col. Richard Bingham (1741-1824)
Image: National Portrait Gallery 
Bingham, Col. Richard (1741-1824).
Eldest son of Richard Bingham (1698-1755) and his wife Martha, daughter of William Batt of Salisbury, born 14 December 1741 and baptised at Melcombe Horsey the following day. An officer in the Dorset militia (Lt-Col., 1778; Col., 1799). He was pricked as High Sheriff of Dorset for 1777-78 but substituted before his term of office began, for unknown reasons. He married 1st, 2 April 1766 at St Clement Danes, London, Sophia (1744-73), daughter of Charles Halsey of Great Gaddesden (Herts), and 2nd, 26 October 1775 at Witchampton (Dorset), Elizabeth (1753-1813), daughter of John Rideout of Dean's Lease (Dorset), and had issue:
(1.1) Sophia Bingham (1767-1841), baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 17 March 1767; married, 30 March 1797 at Melcombe Horsey, William Richards (later Clavell) (1755-1817) of Smedmore (Dorset), son of William Richards of Warmwell (Dorset), but had no issue; died 12 February 1841 and was buried at Kimmeridge (Dorset); her will was proved in the PCC, 31 March 1841;
(1.2) Lt-Gen. Richard Bingham (1768-1829) (q.v.);
(1.3) Martha Bingham (b. & d. 1770), baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 5 February 1770; died in infancy and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 4 March 1770;
(1.4) Rev. William Bingham (1771-1810) (q.v.); 
(1.5) Col. Charles Cox Bingham (1772-1835) (q.v.); 
(2.1) Maj-Gen. Sir George Ridout Bingham (1777-1833), born 21 July and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 18 August 1777; an officer in the army (Ensign, 1793; Lt., 1795; Capt., 1796; Maj., 1801; Lt-Col., 1805; Col., 1813; Brig-Gen., 1815; Maj-Gen., 1819); Colonel Commandant of a brigade of the Rifle Corps, 1831-32; he had the distinction of being the senior military officer on St. Helena when Napoleon Bonaparte was imprisoned there, 1815; knighted (KBE), 1815; married, 1 September 1814 at Winterbourne Whitechurch (Dorset), Emma Septima (1794-1874), youngest daughter of Edmund Morton Pleydell (1756-1835) of Whatcombe House (Dorset), but had no issue; died in London, 3 January 1833; will proved in the PCC, April 1833, and further grants of administration made 1 July 1864 (effects under £20,000) and April 1874;
(2.2) Mary Bingham (1778-1870), born 30 September and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 30 December 1778; married, 11 December 1804 at St Anne, Soho, Westminster (Middx), Maj. Nathaniel Tryon Still (1782-1862), militia officer, and had issue one son and one daughter; died aged 92 and was buried at Beer (Devon), 15 October 1870;
(2.3) Leonora Bingham (1780-1844), baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 7 February 1780; married 1st, 12 January 1815 at Melcombe Horsey, Capt. William Birchall RN (c.1769-1817) and 2nd, 28 October 1819 at St Paul, Covent Garden, Westminster (Middx), George Emery (1784-1852) of Banwell (Som.), millowner and Chief Constable of Somerset, 1830, but had no issue; buried at Banwell, 2 April 1844; will proved in the PCC, 4 December 1844;
(2.4) John Bingham (1785-1863), born 18 March and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 28 June 1785; joined the Royal Navy in 1798 (Lt., 1806; Cdr. on retired list, 1839); he was captured by the French in 1807 and held prisoner at Verdun (France) until 1814; he never held naval command again; married, 22 December 1824 at St Stephen, Exeter (Devon), Frances Eleanora (alias Norah) (1795-1871), daughter of Rev. William Woollcombe, rector of East Worlington (Devon), and had issue two sons and one daughter; died 25 June 1863.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his father in 1755 and came of age in 1762.
He was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 12 April 1824, where he and his two wives are commemorated by a monument; his will was proved in the PCC, 30 June 1824. His first wife died at Paris on 12 February 1773, while on a journey to the south of France. His second wife died 30 December 1813, and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 7 January 1814; she is also commemorated by a monument at Witchampton.

Bingham, Lt-Gen. Richard (1768-1829). Eldest son of Col. Richard Bingham (1741-1824) and his first wife, Sophia, daughter of Charles Halsey of Great Gaddesden (Herts), baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 8 April 1768. An officer in the army (Ensign, 1787; Lt., 1790; Capt., 1793; Maj., 1795; Lt-Col., 1795; Col., 1804; Maj-Gen., 1810; Lt-Gen., 1814). He married, 17 April 1793 at St Canice, Kilkenny (Co. Kilkenny), Priscilla (1770-1848), daughter of Paul Carden, but had no issue.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his father in 1824. At his death it passed to his widow for life and then to his nephew, Rev. George Bingham (1803-38), but his widow seems to have given the house up and moved to Cheltenham (Glos).
He died in London, 18 November, and was buried at St Mary Abbots, Kensington, 27 November 1829; his will was proved in the PCC, 13 January 1830. His widow died 1 February and was buried at St Philip & St James, Leckhampton (Glos), 4 February 1848; her will was proved in the PCC, 10 February 1848.

Bingham, Rev. William (1771-1810). Second son of Col. Richard Bingham (1741-1824) and his first wife, Sophia, daughter of Charles Halsey of Great Gaddesden (Herts), baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 15 April 1771. Educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1788; BA 1792; MA 1796; Fellow). Ordained deacon, 1794 and priest, 1795. Rector of Cameley (Som.) and Melbury Bubb (Dorset), 1796-1810. He married, 20 April 1797 at Hampstead Norris (Berks), Sarah Emily (1771-1852), daughter of Gen. William Wynyard, and had issue*:
(1) William Wynyard Bingham (1798-1821), born 18 January and baptised at St Mary Abbots, Kensington (Middx), 18 March 1798**; educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1816; BA 1820; Fellow); died unmarried 28 June 1821 and was buried at Sidmouth (Devon), 3 July 1821, but is commemorated by a monument at Melcombe Horsey
(2) Emily Georgina Bingham (1799-1823), born 6 March and baptised at Cameley, 20 April 1799; died unmarried and was buried at Hinton Blewitt (Som.), 30 October 1823;
(3) Richard Bingham (b. & d. 1800); died in infancy and was buried at Cameley, 29 January 1800;
(4) Sophia Matilda Bingham (1801-85), born 25 January and baptised at Cameley, 10 March 1801; married, 3 August 1826 at Hinton Blewitt (Som.), her step-brother, Robert Francis Wright (1798-1884), attorney, of Hinton Blewitt, and had issue two sons and one daughter; buried at Hinton Blewitt, 15 January 1885;
(5) Rev. George Bingham (1803-38) (q.v.);
(6) Richard Hippisley Bingham (1804-91) (q.v.);
(7) Henry Edward Bingham (1807-13), born and privately baptised at Cameley, 13 December 1807; died young and was buried at Fordington (Dorset), 21 June 1813;
(8) Caroline Leonora Bingham (b. & d. 1809); died in infancy and was buried at Cameley, 5 April 1809;
(9) Canon Charles William Bingham (1810-81), born 28 September 1810 and privately baptised, but received into the church at Melcombe Horsey, 20 January 1811; educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1828; BA 1833; Fellow; MA 1836); ordained deacon, 1835 and priest, 1836; vicar of Sydling St Nicholas, 1838-46; rector of Melcombe Horsey (Dorset), 1842-81; rural dean, 1868; honorary canon of Salisbury Cathedral, 1876-81; JP for Dorset; author of religious works published by the Calvin Society; married 1st, 28 May 1839 at West Rounton (Yorks NR), his cousin, Caroline Damer (1810-52), second daughter of Rev. Montague John Wynyard, and 2nd, 31 July 1855 at Fordington (Dorset), Mary (1816-91), daughter of Rev. Daniel Campbell, rector of Crowcombe (Som.), but had no issue; died 1 December 1881; will proved 13 April 1882 (effects £4,856).
He died at Kensington (Middx), 27 May 1810; his will was proved at Bath, 12 November 1810. His widow married 2nd, 1 May 1820 at Fordington (Dorset), Francis Bowcher Wright (1771-1840) of Hinton Blewitt; she died at Dorchester, 14 June, and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 18 June 1852; her will was proved in the PCC, 27 July 1852.
* Some internet sources add another son (Francis Buckley Bingham (b. & d. 1806), who is said to have been buried at Cameley, but who does not appear in the baptism or burial registers.
** When his father's address was given as Kensington Palace; perhaps because he was staying with his uncle and namesake, who was a royal chaplain. The baptism was also noted in the Cameley register as having taken place at Kensington.

Bingham, Rev. George (1803-38). Second son of Rev. William Bingham (1771-1810) and his wife Sarah Emily, daughter of Gen. William Wynyard, born 4 June and baptised at Cameley (Som.), 19 July 1803. Educated at Worcester College, Oxford (matriculated 1823; BA 1828). Ordained deacon, 1828. Curate of Kingston Seymour (Som.), 1828-30. He may never have taken priest's orders and seems not to have sought preferment after inheriting Bingham's Melcombe. He married, 5 July 1836 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Frances Margaret Anna Byam (1809-49), only daughter of Anthony Blagrave (d. 1860) of Barrow House, Barrow Gurney (Som.), and had issue:
(1) George Henry Bingham (b. & d. 1837), born 25 May and privately baptised at Bingham's Melcombe by his father, 6 June 1837; died in infancy and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 10 June 1837.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his uncle in 1829. At his death it passed to his younger brother. His widow lived latterly at Ilsington House, Puddletown (Dorset).
He died 5 May 1838 and was buried at Melcombe Horsey. His widow married 2nd, 2 July 1840 at East Harptree (Som.), as his second wife, Charles Wriothesley Digby (1802-73), eldest son of Rev. Charles Digby, canon of Windsor and rector of Bishops Caundle (Som.); she died in Paris (France), 22 August 1849; administration of her goods was granted 5 August 1858 (effects under £8,000).

Bingham, Richard Hippisley (1804-91). Third son of Rev. William Bingham (1771-1810) and his wife Sarah Emily, daughter of Gen. William Wynyard, born 1 October and baptised at Cameley (Som.), 26 November 1804. An officer in the Indian army (Cadet, 1820; Ensign, 1821; Lt., 1824; Capt., 1835; retired c.1839) and later in the Dorset Militia (Col., 1852; retired 1873 and was subsequently Hon. Col.). JP and DL (from 1852) for Dorset. He married, 6 April 1836 at West Rounton (Yorks NR), Harriet Georgina (1810-81), a temperance campaigner, third daughter of his maternal uncle, Rev. Montagu John Wynyard, rector of West Rounton, but had no issue.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his elder brother in 1838. At his death it passed to his first cousin once removed, Richard Charles William Bingham (1845-1902).
He died 10 March and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 17 March 1891, where he is commemorated by a monument; his will was proved 28 October 1893 (effects £15). His wife died 27 March and was buried at Melcombe Horsey, 31 March 1881.

Bingham, Col. Charles Cox (1772-1835).  Third son of Col. Richard Bingham (1741-1824) and his first wife, Sophia, daughter of Charles Halsey of Great Gaddesden (Herts), baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 30 September 1772. An officer in the Royal Artillery (2nd Lt., 1793; Lt., 1794; Capt-Lt., 1803; Capt., 1810; Maj., 1812; Lt-Col., 1814; Col., 1825), who lost an arm while on active service. He married, 3 September 1798 at Stoke Damerel (Devon), Sarah Osmond (1777-1862), daughter of Samuel Hayter of Wareham (Dorset), and had issue:
(1) George William Bingham (1801-50), born 15 September and baptised at Falmouth (Cornw.), 28 September 1801; an officer in the Dorset Militia (Ensign, 1814) and later the Royal Artillery (2nd Lt., 1824; Lt., 1827; 2nd Capt., 1840; Capt., 1845); died unmarried at Colombo (Ceylon, now Sri Lanka), 10 November 1850;
(2) Sarah Bingham (b. 1802), born 10 November and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 3 December 1802; presumably died in infancy;
(3) Mary Frances Bingham (1805-54), baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 29 September 1805; married, 10 September 1833 at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), Rev. Henry Stevens (1808-77), vicar of Wateringbury (Kent), eldest son of Very Rev. Robert Stevens, Dean of Rochester Cathedral, and had issue four sons and two daughters; died 6 July, and was buried at Wateringbury, 12 July 1854;
(4) Sarah Bingham (1807-08), born 11 February and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 7 March 1807; died in infancy and was buried at Plumstead (Kent), 4 April 1808;
(5) Elizabeth Ann Bingham (b. 1808), born 11 December and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 30 December 1808; presumably died in infancy;
(6) Elizabeth Ann Bingham (b. & d. 1809), baptised at Marlborough (Wilts), 29 September 1809 but died in infancy and was buried at Marlborough on the same day;
(7) Richard Clavell Bingham (1810-41), born 10 May and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 29 May 1810; an officer in the infantry (2nd Lt., 1828; Lt, 1832; retired 1838); probably emigrated to Cape Colony, and died unmarried at Graaf Reinet, Cape of Good Hope (South Africa), 1 May 1841;
(8) Col. Charles Bingham (1815-64) (q.v.);
(9) Emma Bingham (1816-74), born 18 November and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 10 December 1816; married, 19 May 1846 at St Margaret, Rochester (Kent), as his second wife, Thomas Hermitage Day (1802-69), of Frindsbury (Kent), banker, and had issue one son and three daughters; died 26 February and was buried at Frindsbury, 4 March 1874; administration of goods granted to her daughter, 20 March 1874 (effects under £1,500);
(10) Sophia Bingham (1818-81), born 2 May and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 22 May 1818; married, 8 May 1845 at St Margaret, Rochester (Kent), as his first wife, her kinsman, Maj-Gen. George William Powlett Bingham CB (1817-99), son of Capt. Arthur Batt Bingham RN, and had issue four daughters; died at The Vines, Rochester (Kent), 3 December, and was buried at St Margaret, Rochester, 7 December 1881;
(11) Edmund Hayter Bingham (1820-56), born 18 January and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 10 February 1820; an officer in 1st West India Regt. (Ensign, 1837; Lt., 1839; Capt., 1848); married, about April 1845 at Demerera (Georgetown) Cathedral (Guyana), Cecilia Lewis Pauline (d. 1889) (who m2, 22 May 1860 at Shinfield (Berks), Dr Henry Hutson MD of Georgetown, Demerera, and had issue), third daughter of William Bertie Wolseley, but had no issue; died at Woolwich (Kent), 9 October, and was buried at Plumstead, 13 October 1856.
He died 4 June and was buried at St Nicholas, Deptford (Kent), 11 June 1835; his will was proved in the PCC, 22 June 1835. His widow died 5 April 1862.

Bingham, Col. Charles (1815-64). Third son of Charles Cox Bingham (1772-1835) and his wife Sarah Osmond, daughter of Samuel Hayter, born 1 June and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich (Kent), 20 June 1815. Educated at Royal Military Academy, Woolwich. An officer in the Royal Artillery (2nd Lt., 1832; Lt., 1834; 2nd Capt., 1843; Capt., 1848; Maj., 1854; Lt-Col., 1854; Col., 1857; and Deputy Adjutant-General, 1858-64). He married, 17 March 1841 at Duddingston, Edinburgh (Midl.), Williamina Henrietta (1815-89), daughter of John Mackintosh MD, and had issue:
(1) Justina Jane Bingham (1842-53), born 28 April 1842 at Portobello, Dublin; died young, 20 April, and was buried at Plumstead (Kent), 23 April 1853;
(2) Mary Frances Alice Bingham (1844-1921), born 31 March and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 1 May 1844; married, 29 August 1872 at St George's (Garrison) Church Woolwich, George William Lowther (1837-90), eldest son of Sir Charles Hugh Lowther (1803-94), 3rd bt., of Swillington House (Yorks WR), and had issue two sons and four daughters; died 2 December and was buried at Swillington, 6 December 1921; will proved 19 June 1922 (estate £1,091);
(3) Richard Charles William Bingham (1845-1902) (q.v.);
(4) Emma Sophia Caroline Bingham (1847-1928), born 3 April and baptised at Trinity church, Rathmines, Dublin, 11 May 1847; married, 10 June 1886 at St John, Woolwich (Kent), Lt-Col. Francis Arthur Whinyates (1836-1906), but had no issue; died 1 June 1928; will proved 18 August 1928 (estate £8,290);
(5) Brig-Gen. Edmund George Henry Bingham (1848-1904), born 26 November 1848 and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 11 April 1849; an officer in the Royal Artillery (Lt., 1869; Capt., 1879; Maj., 1885; Lt-Col., 1892; Col., 1901; Brig-Gen., 1901), who served on the General Staff continuously from 1875; married, 14 October 1886 at Prahan, Victoria (Australia), Beatrice Helen (1861-1949) (who m2, 27 March 1905 at Holy Trinity, Chelsea (Middx), Maj-Gen. Hugh Palliser Hickman CB (1856-1930)), daughter of Francis Sydney Stephen of Melbourne, New South Wales (Australia), and had issue three daughters; died in Brussels (Belgium), 24 January 1904; will proved 22 March 1904 (estate £1,220);
(6) Sarah Ida Henrietta Bingham (1851-91), born 27 November 1851 and baptised at St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich, 14 January 1852; lived at Chaddesden Moor (Staffs); died unmarried, 23 June 1891 and was buried at Chaddesden; will proved 8 December 1891 (effects £1,004).
He died in Brighton (Sussex), 6 April and was buried at Plumstead (Kent), 12 April 1864; administration of his goods was granted to his widow, 14 July 1864 (estate under £4,000), and a further grant was made 28 October 1893 (effects £4,550). His widow was awarded a civil list pension of £150 a year in recognition of her husband's service and her straightened circumstances, and died 29 December 1889; her will was proved 19 February 1890 (effects £8,212).

Bingham, Richard Charles William (1845-1902). Elder son of Col. Charles Bingham (1815-64) and his wife Williamina Henrietta, daughter of John Mackintosh MD, born 17 June and baptised at Trinity church, Rathmines (Co. Dublin), 17 September 1845. An officer in the Dorset Militia (later the 3rd battalion, Dorset Regiment) (Lt., 1867; Capt., 1869; Maj., 1881; hon. Lt-Col., 1887; retired 1897); JP and DL for Dorset. He was declared bankrupt in 1898. He married, 9 August 1888 at Charlton Musgrove (Som.), Georgina (1871-1940), youngest daughter of Capt. William Stuckey Wood, banker, of Charlton House, Charlton Musgrove, and had issue:
(1) Richard Charles Otto Bingham (1889-1958), born 24 August and baptised at Charlton Musgrove, 13 October 1889; educated at Clifton College; emigrated to Canada and lived there 1906-11 and later in Ceylon, 1911-14; served in First and Second World Wars with Royal Canadian Army Service Corps (Maj.); in 1920s lived in Ceylon, Kenya and USA before returning to Canada in 1930; a Roman Catholic in religion, and a freemason from 1915; married, 21/24 March 1913 at St Paul, Kandy (Ceylon), Ethel Norah (d. 1963), daughter of William Andrew Fausset of Sidmouth (Devon), and had issue two sons and one daughter; died 23 August 1958 and was buried at Mont-Real Cemetery, Montreal (Canada);
(2) Doris Mary Bingham (1891-1958), born 6 July and baptised at Charlton Musgrove, 23 August 1891; served with Auxiliary Fire Service in Derby, 1939-40; married, 19 April 1923 at St Andrew, Fulham (Middx), Ernest Gabriel Boissier DSC (1886-1976), of Derby, chartered engineer, son of Rev. Frederick Scobell Boissier, and had issue three sons; died 2 March 1958; will proved 8 May 1958 (estate £6,310);
(3) John Richard Bingham (1892-1957), born 4 October and baptised at Charlton Musgrove, 30 October 1892; educated at King's School, Worcester; served in Royal Air Force in First World War (2nd Lt., 1915; Lt. by 1918; Capt., 1918; retired 1919; mentioned in despatches); lived for a time in Ceylon; married, 12 July 1948, Catherine Mabel (1899-1986), second daughter of George Frederick Moore, excise officer, and formerly wife of Pierce William Crosbie (1901-72), but had no issue; died 22 August 1957; administration of goods granted to his widow, 3 February 1958 (estate £4,689);
(4) Charles Jeffrey Slade Bingham (1893-1915), born 12 December 1893 and baptised at Melcombe Horsey, 11 February 1894; educated at Clifton College; emigrated to Canada, 1910; served with 10th Canadian Expeditionary Force in First World War (Private); died unmarried of meningitis at Plymouth (Devon), 6 January 1915, and was buried in Plymouth Corporation Cemetery, Egg Buckland (Devon); administration of his goods granted to his mother, 26 June 1915 (estate £424);
(5) Richard Humphrey Bingham (1895-1929), born 15 September and baptised at Charlton Musgrove, 20 October 1895; educated at Clifton College; an officer in the Royal Field Artillery (2nd Lt., 1916; Lt., 1916; twice mentioned in despatches; awarded MC, 1916; retired as Capt., 1921); suffered from partial paralysis as a result of war wounds; died unmarried at St Mary's Hospital, Roehampton (Surrey), 25 January 1929, and was buried at Putney Vale Cemetery; administration of goods granted to his mother, 22 March 1929 (estate £397);
(6) Victor Paul Bingham (1897-98), born 22 June  and baptised at St Saviour, Bath, 9 July 1897; died in infancy, 23 July, and was buried at Locksbrook Cemetery, Bath, 27 July 1898;
(7) William Philip Bingham (1898-1964), born 4 August and baptised at St Cross & St Faith, Winchester, 11 September 1898; educated at King's School, Worcester; served in Royal Air Force in First and Second World Wars and was awarded Croix de Guerre with palms; employed by Standard Motor Car Co.; lived at Richmond (Surrey); married 1st, 3 November 1921 at St Peter, Ealing (Middx) (div. 1929 on the grounds of his adultery), Olga Horatia (b c.1898), daughter of Horace Bremner of Ealing, bank manager, and had issue one son and one daughter; married 2nd, 11 December 1929 (div. 1946), Constance Audrey (1903-70), fourth daughter of William Burdett Irvin of Ormskirk (Lancs), timber merchant and bobbin mfr, and had issue two sons and one daughter; married 3rd, Apr-Jun 1952, Agnes Cooper Crabbe, an officer in the Women's Auxiliary Air Force; died 19 April 1964; will proved 21 August 1964 (estate £2,286);
(8) Christopher Bingham (1899-1963), born 13 August and baptised at Charlton Musgrove, 10 September 1899; educated at King's School, Worcester; served in First World War with Royal Field Artillery and Royal Air Force from 1916, but later became a professional ballroom dancer and host at the Savoy Hotel, London; married 1st, 18 April 1927 at St Stephen, Kensington (Middx) (div. 1932 on the grounds of her adultery with William McElroy, coal merchant), Kathryn Lilian (b. 1905), professional ballroom dancer, daughter of Henry Burgess, and 2nd, 3 April 1947, Doris Catherine (1916-78), daughter of Frederick William Cameron and widow of Laurance Thomas Titchener (1910-44), and had issue one daughter; died 21 January 1963; administration of goods granted to widow, 3 April 1963 (estate £3,152);
(9) Ruth Bingham (1901-83), born 9 November 1901 and baptised at Appledore (Devon), 26 January 1902; married, 8 June 1927 at Queens, New York (USA), Lewis Henry Albert of New York, clerk in an investment house, and had issue one son and one daughter; died at Citrus, Florida (USA), 17 February 1983.
He inherited Bingham's Melcombe from his first cousin once removed in 1891, repaired and remodelled the house (reputedly at a cost of £3,000), and sold it in 1895 for £4,200. He lived latterly at Cliff Cottage, Appledore.
He died suddenly following a heart attack outside his house in Appledore, 23 June, and was buried at Appledore, 25 June 1902; administration of his goods was granted to his widow, 17 November 1902. His widow died in Chelsea (Middx), 25 June 1940, and was buried at Appledore; her will was proved 9 August 1940 (estate £1,205).

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1969, pp. 47-48; F. Hutchins et al., The history and antiquities of Dorset, 2nd edn., vol. 1, pp. 198-202 and v0l. 4, pp. 198-207; R.E. McCalmont, Memoirs of the Binghams, 1915,  M.J. Hill, West Dorset Country Houses, 2014, pp. 96-101; M.J. Hill, J. Newman & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: Dorset, 2nd edn., 2018, pp. 397-99; ODNB entry for Sir Robert Bingham (d. 1599) and Dictionary of Irish Biographu entries for Sir Robert and Sir George Bingham (d. 1599).

Location of archives

Bingham of Bingham's Melcombe: a small group of deeds and family papers, 1631-1825 [Dorset History Centre, D-335].

Coat of arms

Bingham of Melcombe Bingham: Azure, a bend cottised between six crosses formée or.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone provide portraits of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 17 March 2026 and was updated 28 March 2026.