Showing posts with label Berkshire. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Berkshire. Show all posts

Saturday, 27 December 2025

(621) Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) of Haines Hill, Chilton House, Wymering Manor and Manydown Park

Bigg of Haines Hill etc. 
This family came from minor gentry stock in Kent, where William Bigg (fl. 1540) was settled at Benenden in the 16th century. Over several centuries they acquired extensive estates in Berkshire, Wiltshire and Hampshire, which saw a complex pattern of occupation, tenancy and disposal. William Bigg's second son, John Bigg, married a woman from Oxfordshire and established himself at Crowmarsh Gifford (Oxon). He may have owned the Bell Inn at Wallingford (Berks) which later belonged to his youngest son, Richard Bigg (d. 1632), with whom the genealogy below begins. Richard was probably apprenticed to a merchant taylor in London, and was living in the parish of St Giles-in-the-Fields, Holborn (Middx) by 1614. He was Warden of the Merchant Taylors Company in 1623, but declined the Mastership in 1626. He seems to have held Puritan views, but was related by marriage to William Juxon, the bishop of London who attended King Charles I on the scaffold and was made Archbishop of Canterbury at the Restoration in 1660. Richard was prosperous but not seriously rich, and had five sons and at least three daughters to provide for. His eldest son was Richard Bigg (c.1613-70), who probably succeeded to his father's business, but who seems also to have been involved in efforts to suppress tobacco production in England in the 1630s, from which he will have derived a share of the fines levied. He seems to have been richer than his father, and was able to buy the Haines Hill (Berks) estate from the Commonwealth authorities in about 1650, and to secure a confirmation of this purchase from Charles II after the Restoration. The estate came with a substantial and almost new country house, built in the 1630s. Richard (d. 1670) was married twice, his first wife being Lady Phoebe Ley, daughter of the 1st Earl of Marlborough, who was Lord High Treasurer, 1624-28. Their eldest son, John Bigg (c.1645-1714) was educated at Lincolns Inn, succeeded to Haines Hill in 1670 and sealed the family's transition to the landed gentry when he was appointed High Sheriff of Berkshire in 1698-99. His eldest surviving son, also John Bigg (1674-1723) inherited the Haines Hill estate and married, but had no issue. He then had a younger brother living (William Bigg (1679-1740), of Sonning (Berks)), who was High Sheriff of the county in 1726, but William seems not to have to have inherited the estate, which passed instead to John's half-uncle, Lovelace Bigg (1661-1725).

Lovelace Bigg was the eldest surviving son of Richard Bigg (c.1613-70) by his second wife, and was educated for a career in the law. In 1684 he married Dorothy (1661-1717), the daughter of William Wither of Manydown Park (Hants), and by 1689 he was in a position - through some combination of earnings, inheritance, and her marriage portion - to buy the Chilton House estate at Chilton Foliat (Wilts), where he seems to have become resident. Lovelace and Dorothy had a large family of twelve children, almost all of whom survived to adulthood although several of them died relatively young. In 1723, shortly before his own death, Lovelace inherited Haines Hill from his half-nephew, John Bigg (1674-1723). When he died in 1725, his estates at Chilton House and Haines Hill passed to his eldest surviving son, the Rev. Henry Bigg (1690-1740), who was Warden of New College, Oxford and later of Winchester College. He was married but had no children, and sold Haines Hill in 1736. His widow remarried soon after his death, and Chilton House passed to his younger brother, Thomas Bigg (1698-1761), a London surgeon, who added an estate at Woolstone in the parish of Uffington (Berks) to his lands in 1754.  

Thomas rebuilt the house at Chilton in the 1750s, but although he married twice he had no children to succeed him, so at his death in 1761 his property passed to another brother, the Rev. Walter Bigg (1701-72), who was rector of Worting and Baughurst (Hants). In 1734, he had married Jane Harris, through whom their only child, Lovelace Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1741-1813) inherited Wymering Manor, Portsmouth, in 1768. Lovelace was one of those fortunate people, who in an age of primogeniture and strict settlements, accumulated property by virtue of being the nearest living male relative of several people. Not only did he inherit Chilton House and Woolstone from his father, and Wymering Manor from his uncle; but in 1789 he came into the Wither family seat at Manydown Park on the death of his cousin, William Wither, and at once refronted and remodelled it. He sold the Chilton House estate in 1792 and also a property at Pangbourne, and expanded the Manydown estate. In later life he may have handed over Manydown to his eldest son, Harris Bigg-Wither (1781-1833), as he seems to have lived chiefly at Wymering Manor. Lovelace's daughters, Catherine and Alethea, were friends of the novelist, Jane Austen, whose home at Steventon was close to Manydown, and in 1802 Harris proposed to Jane. After initially accepting him, she changed her mind and remained single for the rest of her life, producing novels rather than babies. Harris soon found another wife, by whom he bore ten children. He inherited Wymering Manor, Manydown Park and Woolstone from his father, but sold Woolstone in 1828 and took a lease on Tangier Park - which adjoined Manydown - and to which he removed. Of his five sons, four took holy orders, and his heir was the Rev. Lovelace Francis Bigg-Wither (1805-74), who sold Wymering Manor in 1835 and bought the freehold of Tangier Park instead. After nearly two centuries of scattered landholdings across three counties, the family at last had a compact, ring-fenced estate, comprising Manydown and Tangier Park, but it was not to last: in 1871 Lovelace moved to Brighton - probably for health reasons - and at his death three years later the combined estate was sold and the proceeds divided among his widow and ten surviving children.

Haines Hill, St Nicholas Hurst, Berkshire

A remarkably little-known and substantial Carolean country house, built in c.1630-35 for Sir Francis Windebank, one of Charles I's Secretaries of State. The early form of the house is recorded in a 17th century bird's eye sketch in the Panshanger archive at Hertfordshire Archives & Local Studies, which shows the house from the south-west. It depicts a three-storey house with gabled attics, a semi-circular porch of two storeys on the west side, cross-windows and shaped gables on the outer faces of the south side. The house probably began as an H-shaped building, with projecting wings flanking courtyards to east and west, but the drawing does not actually show a wing on the north side of the east front. The east front, which faces the public road, was evidently the entrance side, and presumably had a porch which is invisible in the view from the south-west. The drawing does, however, show a straight approach from the road, down a ride bisecting an area of woodland, and leading to a large forecourt enclosed by walls and tall gatepiers. A 'green walk' through the woodland either side of the drive terminates at the south end in a little pyramid-roofed summerhouse, which has long since disappeared.

Haines Hill: 17th century sketch showing the house from the south-west. Image: Hertfordshire Archives & Local Studies DE/P P18
The west front of the house survives largely in the form shown in the drawing, although the cross-windows were replaced by sash windows in the 18th century; probably in 1716, when the house was altered for Lovelace Bigg (1661-1725). There may have been earlier alterations too, as Richard Bigg (d. 1670) mentions 'all my building timber, plancks, boards, bricks, tyles and other such like materials for building in and about my mansion house' in his will. Photographs show additional details of the design, including the rusticated brick quoins at the angles of the wings. The house was said in 1924 to preserve a 17th century long gallery, but most of the internal decoration of the western half of the house now dates from the refit of 1716.

Haines Hill: the house from the south-west in 1960. Image: Peter Reid/Historic England.

Haines Hill: the entrance front in 1960. Image: Peter Reid/Historic England.
In 1760, the east side of the house was rebuilt for James Edward Colleton, who replaced the projecting wing or wings with a plain two-storey pedimented brick range of nine by three bays, entered through a porch of Doric columns. The junction between the old and new work is abrupt and unconcealed, and it seems possible that it was intended to remodel the western side of the house too, but that this was never done. The only alteration made to the west side at this time was to replace the original porch with a much larger structure supporting a semicircular bow to the first floor room, under a triangular pediment. The new block of the 18th century is said to have contemporary interiors.

Haines Hill: gate lodge of c.1840, photographed in 1897. Image: Sporting & Dramatic News
In about 1825 Thomas Garth added a service wing to the house (demolished in 1963 and replaced by a long but inconspicuous flat-roofed wing) and employed Charles Fowler to build a stable block and coach house in 1838. Fowler was presumably also responsible for the pretty Gothick gate lodge with two tall chimneystacks and roof covered in fish-scale tiles. The original formal layout of the gardens shown in the 17th century view was altered in the 18th century, when a series of avenues aligned on the house were laid out, perhaps around the time of the 1716 refit. Later in the 18th or early 19th century this layout was softened by the removal of some of the avenue trees and the landscaping of the parkland between them, but the avenues are still apparent in aerial views of the estate.

For much of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the house was occupied by bachelor owners who devoted their time and money to fox-hunting, and the estate fell into considerable neglect. This was compounded by the evacuation of Eaton House Prep School to the building during the Second World War, and the limited maintenance that was possible then. After Alan Godsal recovered possession of the house, he restored the building and brought in a series of well-known interior decorators, including Prue Lane-Fox, Jean Munroe and David Mlinaric, to refresh the interior decoration. Neither the house nor the gardens are ever open to the public, and as far as I can establish, no illustration of the interior has ever been published.

Descent: sold to Sir Thomas Windebank (d. 1607); to son, Sir Francis Windebank (d. 1646), whose estates were seized by Parliament and sold to Richard Bigg (1613-70); to son, John Bigg (c.1645-1714); to son, John Bigg (1674-1723); to half-uncle, Lovelace Bigg (1661-1725); to son, Rev. Henry Bigg DD (1690-1740); who sold 1736 to James Edward Colleton (d. 1787); to cousin?, Charles Garth (later Colleton); to brother, Thomas Garth (d. 1841); to son, Thomas Colleton Garth (d. 1907); to sister, Mrs. Louisa Anne Shifner (d. 1910); to nephew, Capt. William Charles Godsal (1861-1938); to great-nephew, Alan Anthony Colleton Godsal (1926-2011); to widow, Lady Elizabeth Cameron Godsal (b. 1939), who handed the house over her daughter, Lucy Violet (b. 1964), wife of Christopher Zeal.

Chilton House, Chilton Foliat, Wiltshire


An estate consisting of the medieval manor house of Chilton Foliat, or its site, and its former park was the nucleus of the Chilton House estate. The manor house mentioned in 1546 probably stood immediately west of the church. It was almost certainly the house lived in by Thomas Bigg which he had recently pulled down preparatory to rebuilding when he wrote his will in 1755. 

Chilton House, Chilton Foliat: the house when advertised for sale in 1964, shortly before demolition.
The later Chilton House was built, evidently between 1755 and 1758 and probably immediately north of the old house's site. It was a large three-storeyed red-brick building with an entrance through a canted bay at the south-west corner, behind which lay an octagonal entrance hall. The principal front was to the south, and was of five bays and two-and-a-half storeys, with an attic above the cornice and a solid parapet supporting ball finials. On the north side, there were lower service wings. North of these again there stood a large farm courtyard, some buildings of which were converted to residential use after the main house was pulled down in 1965. A kitchen garden walled in red brick lay further east.

Descent: Sir Francis Walsingham; sold 1590 to his secretary, Francis Mylles (d. 1618); to daughter, Philippa, wife of John Packer (d. 1649); to son, John Packer, who sold 1689 to Lovelace Bigg (d. 1725); to son, Henry Bigg (d. 1740); to brother, Thomas Bigg (d. 1761); to brother, Rev. Walter Bigg (1701-72); to son, Lovelace Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1741-1813), who sold 1792 to Rev. John Craven (d. 1804);to son, Fulwar Craven, who sold 1834 to General Edward William Leyborne-Popham (d. 1843) of Littlecote House; to son, Francis Leyborne-Popham (d. 1880); to son, Francis William Leyborne-Popham (d. 1907); to brother, Hugh Francis Arthur Leyborne-Popham, who sold 1929 to Sir Ernest Salter Wills (d. 1958); to son, G.S. Wills (d. 1979), who demolished it in 1965.

Wymering Manor, Portsmouth, Hampshire

Wymering is thought to be the oldest manorial site in Portsmouth, and there was probably a manor house on this site from early medieval times. The present building is fundamentally a U-shaped house built in the 1580s for Eleanor Bruning, who inherited the property from her father, William Wayte, in 1561. The walls of close-studded timber framing (for which dendrochronology gives felling dates of 1581-82) are now largely concealed by later brick and stucco. The large external hall chimney, though probably of the same date as the house, was built of flint with a stone plinth and dressings.

Wymering Manor: entrance front in the mid 20th century.
Wymering Manor: rear elevation, showing the Georgian bow window and the mid-19th century single-storey great room.

The house has a complicated history of later changes, not yet fully understood. The space between the wings on the entrance front had been filled in by the mid 19th century, and a big two-storey brick bow was added to the north-west corner room in the late Georgian period. In the mid 19th century a long single-storey bow-ended room was built onto the south-west corner of the house, perhaps by Father George Nugee, who occupied the house as the vicarage but also accommodated a monastic community in the house.

Wymering Manor: the drawing room behind the bow in the early 20th century. Image: Wymering Manor Trust.
The house has many 18th and 19th century decorative features, but most of these seem to have been imported later, either by Nugee or by T. Knowlys Parr, who is known to have acquired fireplaces for the house (removed again after the Second World War) at the demolition of Bold Hall (Lancs) in 1900. The hall, which runs through the depth of the house and thus incorporates the once-open space between the wings, has 18th century panels with pilasters of two different patterns, and there is more such panelling in the rooms above. The hall also has a screen with an arch framed by fluted pilasters, and either side of this are two curving staircases with twisted balusters leading to a first-floor gallery. In their present form the stairs must be part of Knowlys Parr's work, but the design is copied from the upper flights, which seem to be genuine late 17th or early 18th century work, though they cannot be in their original position, and may have been imported from elsewhere.

The house was requisitioned for military use in the Second World War, and much of its land was developed for housing in the 1950s and later. After being at risk of demolition in 1959-60, the house was rescued following a vigorous local campaign, and was converted into a Youth Hostel. The hostel closed c.2006 and the house was eventually acquired from the City Council by the Wymering Manor Preservation Trust in 2013, which is continuing efforts to raise the money necessary to restore the house.

Descent: William Wayte (d. 1561); to daughter, Eleanor Bruning (d. 1593); to son, Francis Bruning; to son, Richard Bruning (d. 1612); to son, Anthony Bruning (fl. 1646); to Edmund Bruning (c.1609-1707)... Rev. Richard Harris (d. 1768); to nephew, Lovelace Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1741-1813); to son, Harris Bigg-Wither (1781-1833); to son, Rev. Lovelace Francis Bigg-Wither (1805-74), who sold 1835 to the tenant, John Martin; sold 1858 to Rev. George Nugee and Thomas Thistlethwayte... sold 1898 to Thomas Knowlys-Parr (d. 1938); requisitioned by HM Government, 1938-46; sold 1946 to P.J.A. & G.A. Day, house builders; sold c.1949 to Leonard Metcalfe (d. 1958); sold 1960 to Portsmouth City Council, which eventually gave it in 2013 to Wymering Manor Preservation Trust.


Manydown Park, Wootton St Lawrence, Hampshire

An account of this house has been given in a previous post.


Bigg family of Haines Hill, Chilton House, Wymering Manor and Manydown Park


Bigg, Richard (d. 1632). Third and youngest son of John Bigg of Crowmarsh Gifford (Oxon) and his wife Margaret, daughter of J. Prevost of Oxfordshire. Citizen and merchant taylor of London; Warden of the Merchant Taylors' Company, 1623 and was nominated as Master in 1626 but declined the honour. In some sources he is recorded as an Alderman of the City of London, but this appears to be incorrect. He was a Puritan in religion. He married Anne (d. 1646), daughter of John Juxon and stepdaughter of Matthew Shepard, and had issue:
(1) Richard Bigg (c.1613-70) (q.v.);
(2) Robert Bigg (c.1614-47); educated at Magdalen Hall and Magdalen College, Oxford (matriculated 1632: BA 1636; MA 1638); Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford, 1637-47; died without issue, 1647; will proved in the PCC, 15 May 1647; 
(3) Francis Bigg (fl. 1664); living in 1664 but died without issue; 
(4) Matthew Bigg (c.1620-62), born about 1620; educated at Grays Inn (admitted 1638); probably the man of this name who married, September 1651 at St Mary Abchurch, London, Mary Stapleton, but had no surviving issue; will proved in the PCC, 17 June 1662; 
(5) Edward Bigg (fl. 1664); merchant in London; married Frances [surname unknown] and had issue; living in 1664 but death not traced;
(6) Margaret Bigg; married 1st, 7 April 1635 at St Giles-in-the-Fields, Holborn (Middx), Christopher Nicolson (d. 1649) of London, and had issue one son; married 2nd, [forename unknown] Cornbey;
(7) Anne Bigg; married, 23 July 1633 at St Giles-in-the-Fields, Holborn, as his first wife, Tessilio Yale (d. 1668) of St Giles in the Fields, Holborn, vintner, and had issue at least one son and two daughters; living in 1646 but death not traced;
(8) Catherine Bigg (d. 1667); died unmarried and was buried at St Botolph, Aldersgate, London, 9 February 1666/7.
He was living in the parish of St Giles in the Fields, Holborn (Middx) by 1614, but none of his children seem to be baptised there.
He was buried at St Giles in the Fields in April 1632; his will was proved in the PCC, 1 May 1632. His widow was buried at St Giles in the Fields, 21 May 1646; her will was proved in the PCC, 16 May 1646.

Bigg, Richard (c.1613-70). Eldest son of Richard Bigg (d. 1632) and his wife Anne, daughter of Alderman Richard Juxon of London, born in the parish of St Giles in the Fields, Holborn, c.1613. He may be the man of this name who was appointed to prosecute breaches of the proclamation against growing tobacco in England, 1635. He married 1st, 21 April 1642 at St Olave, Old Jewry, London, Lady Phoebe (d. 1654), youngest daughter of James Ley, Earl of Marlborough, Lord High Treasurer, and 2nd, 26 September 1654 at St Bartholomew the Great, London, Mary (1627-1701), daughter and sole heiress of Timothy Wade of London, merchant, and widow of Dr. Edward Cooke MD, and had issue:
(1.1) James Bigg (b. 1642; d. by 1665), baptised at St Giles in the Fields, Holborn (Middx), 24 December 1642;
(1.2) John Bigg (c.1645-1714) (q.v.);
(1.3) Richard Bigg (1650-77); educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1671); died 31 July and was buried at Hurst, 3 August 1677; by his will he founded a bread charity at Hurst;
(1.4) Daniel Bigg (d. by 1665);
(2.1) Samuel Bigg (1657-59), baptised at Hurst, 25 June 1657; died in infancy and was buried at Hurst, 26 March 1659;
(2.2) Nathaniel Bigg (1658-76), baptised at Hurst, 11 January 1658/9; educated at Eton; died young and was buried in Eton College chapel, 31 March 1676;
(2.3) Lovelace Bigg (1661-1725) (q.v.);
(2.4) Mary Bigg (1663-65), baptised at Hurst, 27 April 1663; buried at Hurst, 1664/5.
He purchased Haines Hill from the Commonwealth authorities c.1650, and had a confirmation from King Charles II after the Restoration.
He was buried at Hurst, 6 October 1670; his will was proved in the PCC, 14 November 1670. His first wife died 13 February and was buried at Hurst, 17 February 1653/4. His widow died in 1701.

Bigg, John (c.1645-1714). Second, but eldest surviving, son of Richard Bigg (c.1613-70) and his first wife, Lady Phoebe, youngest daughter of James Ley, Earl of Marlborough, Lord High Treasurer, born about 1645*. Educated at Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1663). High Sheriff of Berkshire, 1698-99. He married, 26 October 1668 at St Giles-in-the-Fields, Holborn (Middx), Catherine (c.1651-83), daughter of Anne Martin of Chelsea (Middx), widow, and had issue:
(1) Richard Bigg (b. & d. 1670), baptised at Hurst, 21 February 1669/70; died in infancy and was buried at Hurst on the same day;
(2) Katherine Bigg (1671-75), baptised at Hurst, 26 December 1671; died young and was buried at Hurst, 20 November 1675;
(3) Anne Bigg (1672-1708), baptised at Hurst, 15 December 1672; died unmarried and was buried at Hurst, 4 March 1707/8;
(4) John Bigg (1674-1723), baptised at Hurst, 23 February 1673/4; married 1st, 18 April 1699 at Wargrave (Berks), Ann Webb (d. 1702) and 2nd, 13 May 1708 in St Paul's Cathedral, London, Sarah Leversedge of Frome (Som.), but had no issue; buried at Hurst, 18 June 1723; will proved in the PCC, 14 January 1723/4;
(5) Katherine Bigg (b. 1676), baptised at Hurst, 18 August 1676; death not traced;
(6) William Bigg (1679-1740), baptised at Hurst, 29 July 1679; executor of his father's will and and sole legatee of his personal estate; High Sheriff of Berkshire, 1726; lived at Stanford in Sonning (Berks); married, 1 November 1720 in St Paul's Cathedral, London, Henrietta Maria Maynard (d. 1755) of Sonning, but died without issue; buried at Sonning, 9 May 1740; will was proved in the PCC, 28 July 1740;
(7) James Bigg (b. 1680), baptised at Hurst, 20 June 1680; died without issue;
(8) Ley Bigg (b. & d. 1682), baptised at Hurst, 20 November 1682; died in infancy and was buried at Hurst, 5 December 1682;
(9) Ley Bigg (1683-84), baptised at Hurst, 23 November 1683; died in infancy and was buried at Hurst, 23 May 1684.
He inherited Haines Hill from his father in 1670. At his death it passed first to his elder surviving son, John Bigg (d. 1723) and then to his half-brother, Lovelace Bigg (1661-1725).
He was buried at Hurst (Berks), 5 December 1714; his will was proved in the PCC, 4 December 1714. His wife died, probably following childbirth, and was buried at Hurst, 10 November 1683.
* He is usually said to have been born about 1652, but the form of his father's will makes it almost certain that he was the eldest surviving son; he is mentioned in the will of his grandmother in 1646; and his marriage licence states that he was 23 in 1668.

Bigg, Lovelace (1661-1725). Third, but eldest surviving, son of Richard Bigg (c.1613-70) and his second wife, Mary, daughter and sole heiress of Timothy Wade of London, merchant, and widow of Edward Cooke, born 8 October and baptised at Hurst (Berks), 31 October 1661. Educated at St Edmund Hall, Oxford (matriculated 1679) and Lincolns Inn (admitted 1680). Barrister at law with chambers in Lincoln's Inn. He married 1st, 11 November 1684*, Dorothy (1661-1717), daughter of William Wither of Manydown Park (Hants), and 2nd, 7 April 1719 at Coleshill (Berks), Rachael (1677-1759), daughter of Thomas Fettiplace of Fersham, and had issue:
(1.1) Robert Bigg (1685-86), born 26 August and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 27 August 1685; died in infancy and was buried at Wootton St Lawrence, 15 May 1686;
(1.2) Mary Bigg (1687-1736), born 4 May and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 8 May 1687; married, 11 November 1718 at Chilton Foliat, Charles Blackstone (d. 1722) of Cheapside, London, silkman, who left her with considerable debts, and had issue three sons (the eldest of whom was the eminent legal commentator, Sir William Blackstone); buried at St Michael-le-Querne, London, 11 January 1735/6; administration of goods (with will annexed) granted in PCC, 14 January 1735/6 and under the terms of her will she established a bread charity at Crowmarsh Gifford (Oxon);
(1.3) William Bigg (1688-1716), said to have been born at Manydown Park, 24 May 1688; educated at Balliol College, Oxford (matriculated 1706; BA 1709; MA 1712; MB 1715); died unmarried at Oxford of smallpox, and was buried at Chilton Foliat, 18 January 1715/6;
(1.4) Dorothy Bigg (1689-1723?), baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 20 September 1689; married, 19 August 1718 at Chilton Foliat, Thomas Bethell (d. 1728?) of London, and had issue one son and two daughters; probably the woman of this name buried at St Mary Somerset, London, 1 September 1723;
(1.5) Rev. Henry Bigg (1690-1740), born 20 February and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 2 March 1690/1; educated at New College, Oxford (matriculated 1710; BA 1714; MA 1718; BD 1725; DD 1727); Fellow of New College, 1710-21; Warden of New College, Oxford, 1724-30; Fellow and Warden of Winchester College, 1730-40; rector of Worting (Hants), 1724-40 and Farnborough (Hants), 1733-40; inherited Chilton House and Haines Hill from his father in 1725, but sold the latter in 1736; married, 24 May 1723 at Peasemore (Berks), Catherine (1704-74), (who m2, 10 August 1742 at St James Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), Rev. Philip Barton (1694-1765), canon of Christ Church, Oxford), daughter of Roger Garnham of Priors Court, Chieveley (Berks), but had no issue; died between 25 July and 2 August 1740; will proved in the PCC, 8 August 1740;
(1.6) Alethea Bigg (1692-1723), born 11 February 1691/2; married, 8 September 1719 at Chilton Foliat, Seymour Richmond (1691-1784), recorder of Wallingford (Berks) (who m2, 18 November 1727 at Camberwell (Surrey), Margaret Hunsdon), and had issue one son and two daughters; buried at St Peter, Wallingford, 18 October 1723;
(1.7) Elizabeth Bigg (1694-1768), born 11 July and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 19 July 1694; lived at Chilton Foliat; died unmarried and was buried at Chilton Foliat, 12 March 1768;
(1.8) Sarah Bigg (1696-1716), baptised at Chilton Foliat, 21 June 1696; died unmarried and was buried at Chilton Foliat, [date illegible] November 1716;
(1.9) Thomas Bigg (1698-1761), born 4 June and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 7 June 1698; surgeon in London; a member of the Barber Surgeons Company; made free of the city of London, 1722; lived in Lincoln's Inn Fields, Holborn (Middx) and at Wallingford (Berks) until he inherited Chilton House from his elder brother in 1740; purchased the Woolstone (Berks) estate in 1754; rebuilt Chilton House c.1755-58; married 1st, 25 March 1728 at Hayes (Middx), Dorothy Jenyns (d. 1729?) of Hayes (Middx), and second, 26 December 1751 at Chilton Foliat, Hannah Alexander (c.1712-90), but had no issue; died 16 February 1761; will proved in the PCC, 6 April 1761;
(1.10) Rev. Walter Bigg (1701-72) (q.v.);
(1.11) Richard Bigg (1703-28), born 2 April and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 9 April 1703; said to have died unmarried in London, and was probably the man of this name buried at St Michael le Querne, London, 19 July 1728;
(1.12) Anne Bigg (1706-65), baptised at Chilton Foliat, 15 August 1706; married, 17 July 1731 at St Pancras (Middx), Richard Banister (d. 1801) of Heckfield (Hants) and the Inner Temple, and had issue one daughter; buried at Heckfield, 4 February 1765.
He bought the Chilton House estate (Wilts) in 1689 and inherited Haines Hill from his half-nephew, John Bigg, in 1723.
He was buried at Chilton Foliat, 10 February 1724/5; his will was proved in the PCC, 26 April 1725. His first wife was buried at Chilton Foliat, 16 May 1717. His second wife was buried at Chilton Foliat, 1 March 1759.
* The marriage did not take place at Chilton Foliat as is frequently stated, and has not been traced; however, its date can be inferred from two settlements dated 10 and 12 November 1684, in the second of which Lovelace is married and while in the first he is not.

Bigg, Rev. Walter (1701-72). Fifth son of Lovelace Bigg (1661-1725) and his first wife, Dorothy, daughter of William Wither of Manydown Park (Hants), born 28 August and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 10 September 1701. Educated at Winchester (scholar, 1715) and New College, Oxford (matriculated 1719; BCL 1727; Fellow 1720-30). Ordained deacon, 1727 and priest, 1728. Rector of Worting (Hants), 1731-72 and Baughurst (Hants), 1745-69; Fellow of Winchester College, 1730-72. He married, 1734 (licence 8 April), Jane (1705-59), eldest daughter and eventual heiress of Rev. John Harris DD, rector of Chiddingfold and Ash (Surrey), and had issue:
(1) Rev. Lovelace Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1741-1813) (q.v.).
He inherited the Chilton House and Woolstone estates from his elder brother in 1761.
He died 18 June and was buried at Worting, 25 June 1772; administration of his goods was granted to his son, 1772. His wife was buried at Chilton Foliat, 5 January 1760.

Lovelace Bigg-Wither (1741-1813) 
Bigg (later Bigg-Wither), Lovelace (1741-1813).
Only child of Rev. Walter Bigg (1701-72) and his wife Jane, eldest daughter of Rev. John Harris DD, born 4 August and privately baptised by his father 'in the house of Thomas Bigg, surgeon, in Lincoln's Inn Fields', Holborn (Middx), 14 August 1741. Educated at Winchester, Queen's College and New College, Oxford (matriculated 1758; BA 1763), and Middle Temple (admitted 1759; called 1765). Barrister-at-law. JP for Wiltshire (Chairman of Quarter Sessions
, c.1784-88) and for Hampshire (Chairman of Quarter Sessions in 1790s); DL for Wiltshire (from 1770), Berkshire (from 1785) and Hampshire (from 1793). He took the additional name and arms of Wither on inheriting the Manydown Park estate in 1789. He married 1st, 20 September 1764 at Ealing (Middx), Rachel (1736-65), second surviving daughter of James Clitherow of New Grove, Ealing, and 2nd, 21 August 1766, Margaret (1739-84), second daughter of Bridges Blackford esq. of Osborne (IoW), and had issue:
(2.1) Margaret Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1768-1842), baptised at St Clement Danes, London, 12 November 1768; married, 3 December 1792 at Wootton St Lawrence (Hants), Rev. Charles Blackstone (1759-1801), fellow of Winchester College and vicar of Milborne Port (Dorset), 1788-89 and Andover (Hants), 1789-1801, son of Rev. Charles Blackstone (d. 1804), and had issue one son and one daughter; will proved in the PCC, 12 July 1842;
(2.2) Jane Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1770-1846), baptised at Chilton Foliat, 5 June 1770; married, 15 January 1795 at Wootton St Lawremce (Hants), John Awdry (1766-1844) of Notton (Wilts), and had issue five sons and five daughters; died at Bath (Somerset), 14 April 1846; her will was proved in the PCC, 5 June 1846;
(2.3) Dorothy Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1771-93), baptised at Chilton Foliat, 8 October 1771; died unmarried and was buried at Wootton St Lawrence, 6 December 1793;
(2.4) Elizabeth Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1773-1855), born 21 August and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 6 October 1773; married, 11 January 1797 at Wootton St Lawrence (Hants), Rev. William Heathcote (1772-1802), rector of Worting, second son of Sir William Heathcote of Hursley Park (Hants), and had issue one son (who subsequently inherited the Heathcote family baronetcy) and one daughter; died at Hursley Park, 23 March, and was buried at Hursley, 29 March 1855, where she is commemorated by a monument;
(2.5) Catherine Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1775-1848), baptised at Chilton Foliat, 10 May 1775; a friend of the novelist, Jane Austen; married, 25 October 1808 at Wootton St Lawrence, Rev. Herbert Hill (1749-1828) of Staunton-on-Wye (Herefs), Chancellor of Hereford Cathedral and rector of Streatham (Surrey), and had issue five sons and one daughter; buried at Worting (Hants), 4 March 1848; will proved 4 April 1848;
(2.6) Alethea Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1777-1847), born 6 October and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 30 November 1777; a friend of the novelist, Jane Austen; died unmarried, 6 January and was buried at Hursley, 13 January 1847; will proved in the PCC, 27 February 1847;
(2.7) Lovelace Wither Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1780-94), born 25 January and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 25 July 1780; educated at Winchester College, where he died in the lifetime of his father, 3 March, and was buried at Wootton St Lawrence, 8 March 1794;
(2.8) Harris Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) (1781-1833) (q.v.);
(2.9) Mary Anne Bigg (1782-83), born 16 October 1782 and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 1 January 1783; died in infancy and was buried at Chilton Foliat, 15 June 1783.
He inherited Wymering Manor, Portsmouth (Hants) from Rev. Richard Harris in 1768; Chilton House and Woolstone from his father in 1772; and Manydown Park from his kinsman, William Wither, in 1789. He sold a house and land at Pangbourne (Berks) in 1791 and Chilton House in 1792, and expanded the Manydown Park estate. In later life lived chiefly at Wymering Manor.
He died 24 February 1813 and was buried at Wootton St Lawrence, where he is commemorated by a monument; his will was proved 1 December 1813 (effects under £35,000). His first wife died 22 July and was buried at Chilton Foliat, 27 July 1765. His second wife died 27 December 1784.

Harris Bigg-Wither (1781-1833) 
Bigg (later Bigg-Wither), Harris (1781-1833).
Only surviving son of Lovelace Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) and his second wife, Margaret, 
second daughter of Bridges Blackford esq. of Osborne (IoW), born 18 May and baptised at Chilton Foliat, 27 August 1781. Educated at Worcester College, Oxford (matriculated 1801). He took the additional surname and arms of Wither in 1789. His sisters were friends of the novelist, Jane Austen, to whom he proposed in 1802; after initially accepting him, she changed her mind overnight. An officer in the North Hampshire Militia (Capt., 1803; retired 1806); JP for Hampshire. He suffered from a stammer, which made him awkward in company, and was described by Caroline Austen as ‘very plain in person, awkward and even uncouth in manner’. He married, 2 November 1804 at East Dean (Sussex), Anne Howe (1782-1866), only daughter of Lt-Col. Bedingfield Bramley Frith, and had issue:
(1) Rev. Lovelace Francis Bigg-Wither (1805-74) (q.v.);
(2) Rev. Harris Jervoise Bigg-Wither (1806-87), born 31 October 1806 and baptised at Wymering (Hants), 7 July 1807; educated at Oriel College, Oxford (matriculated 1825; BA 1829; MA 1831); ordained deacon, 1831, and priest, 1832; rector of Worting (Hants), 1832-79; married 1st, 13 October 1834 at Basingstoke (Hants), Eliza Harriet (1811-38), daughter of William Apletree, and had issue one daughter; married 2nd, 8 March 1839 at Dummer (Hants), Elizabeth Maria (1817-65), daughter of Edward Walter Blunt (1780-1860) of Kempshott Park (Hants), and had issue one son and eight daughters; died at Cookham (Berks), 1 December and was buried at Worting, 5 December 1887;
(3) Margaret Elizabeth Anne Bigg-Wither (1808-83), baptised at Wymering (Hants), 7 October 1808; died unmarried, 25 March and was buried at Wootton St Lawrence, 30 March 1883; will proved 27 April 1883 (effects £8,608);
(4) Rev. William Henry Walter Bigg-Wither (1809-99), born 9 November 1809; educated at Winchester and New College, Oxford (matriculated 1828; BCL 1835; MA 1856); ordained deacon, 1832 and priest, 1833; curate of Otterbourne (Hants), 1833-70; Fellow of New College, Oxford, 1828-71 (dean of canon law, 1835; dean of civil law, 1853; bursar, 1859; dean, 1860); rector of Hardwick near Aylesbury (Bucks), 1870-99; died unmarried, 13 April 1899 and was buried at Hardwick; will proved 17 June 1899 (estate £985);
(5) Rev. Walter John Perceval Bigg-Wither (1811-76), born 15 February 1811 and baptised at Wymering, 21 October 1812; educated at St Bees College; ordained deacon, 1834, and priest, 1835; vicar of Herriard (Hants), 1835-76 and of Wootton St Lawrence, 1841-76; married, 5 October 1847 at Wootton St Lawrence, Sophia Dixon (c.1812-92), daughter of Richard Stubbs esq., but had no issue; died 17 March 1876; will proved 22 April 1876 (effects under £1,500);
(6) Jane Dorothy Bigg-Wither (1813-55), born 20 January and baptised at Wymering, 9 September 1813; died unmarried and was buried at Worting, 24 January 1855; will proved in the PCC, 9 February 1855;
(7) Anne Frances Bigg-Wither (1814-74), baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 27 August 1814; died unmarried, 12 December 1874; will proved 14 January 1875 (effects under £3,000);
(8) Elizabeth Mary Bramston Bigg-Wither (1817-79), baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 4 November 1817; died unmarried at Winchester, 18 August 1879; will proved 20 September 1879 (effects under £4,000);
(9) Marianne Bigg-Wither (1819-1900), baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 13 August 1819; died unmarried, 21 June, and was buried at Wootton St Lawrence, 26 June 1900; will proved 28 August 1900 (estate £9,815);
(10) Charles Bigg-Wither (1822-94), born and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 27 April 1822; educated at Winchester and Edinburgh University; emigrated to New Zealand, 1843, and became a runholder with farms near Blenheim and Richmond; a founding trustee of Nelson College; briefly a member of the New Zealand Legislative Council, 1863; married, 1849 in New Zealand, Eleanor (1831-1911), daughter of Daniel Burn, and had issue five sons and six daughters; died at Wensley Hill, Richmond, 28 June, and was buried in Richmond Cemetery, 30 June 1894.
He inherited Wymering Manor, Manydown Park and Woolstone from his father in 1813. He sold Woolstone in 1828. He lived at Manydown until 1831, when he leased Tangier Park. After his death, his widow lived with her daughters at Farnham (Surrey) and later at Winchester (Hants). 
He died of a stroke at Tangier Park, 23 March, and was buried at Wootton St Lawrence, 30 March 1833, where he is commemorated by a monument; his will was proved in the PCC, 27 June 1833. His widow died 13 November and was buried at Wootton St Lawrence, 20 November 1866; her will was proved 31 December 1866 (effects under £3,000).

Bigg-Wither, Rev. Lovelace Francis (1805-74). Eldest son of Harris Bigg (later Bigg-Wither) of Manydown Park, and his wife Anne Howe, only daughter of Lt-Col. Bedingfield Bramley Frith, born 17 September 1805. Educated at Oriel College, Oxford (matriculated 1823; BA 1826; MA 1829). Ordained deacon, 1829 and priest, 1830. Curate of Worting. JP for Hampshire. In 1869 he published a truly dreadful translation of Homer's Odyssey and the Iliad in what he called 'accentuated dramatic verse'. He married, 23 July 1829 at Winslade (Hants), Emma Jemima (1810-1901), fourth daughter of Rev. John Orde, and had issue:
(1) Frances Anne Maria Carleton Bigg-Wither (1831-1911), born 16 July and baptised at Winslade (Hants), 3 September 1831; lived in Brighton with her mother and sisters; died unmarried, 28 January 1911; administration of goods granted 1 March 1911 (estate £4,106);
(2) George Howard Bigg-Wither (1832-72), baptised at Hackwood Park (Hants), 25 August 1832; married, 28 February 1865 at St John, Penge, Georgiana Augusta Frances (1841-1909), daughter of William Richard Edwards of Sydenham (Kent), civil servant, and had issue two daughters; died 24 January and was buried at Norwood Cemetery (Surrey), 31 January 1872; administration of goods granted to his widow, 5 March 1889 (effects £60);
(3) Rosamond Purefoy Bigg-Wither (1833-1914), born 3 October and baptised at Winslade, 4 November 1833; lived in Brighton with her mother and sisters; died unmarried, 22 May, and was buried at Worting, 27 May 1914; will proved 18 June 1914 (estate £5,822);
(4) Arthur Fitzwalter Bigg-Wither (1835-87), born 14 May and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 18 June 1835; educated at Marlborough College; an officer in the militia (Ensign, 1852; Lt., 1853) and later the army (Ensign, 1855; Lt., 1856; retired 1859); lived in Portsea (Hants); married 1st, 28 October 1859 at St Bridget, Chester (Ches.), Mary (1841-72), daughter of Thomas Welsby of Chester, wine merchant, and had issue one son and one daughter; married 2nd, 28 May 1874 at Weston Patrick (Hants), Melita Maria (1832-1901), daughter of Robert Terry, and had further issue one son; died 10 August 1887; will proved 24 February 1888 (effects £1,433);
(5) Guy Carleton Bigg-Wither (1836-60), born 22 May and privately baptised at Wootton St Lawrence (Hants), 22 June 1836; educated at Marlborough College; an officer in the Royal Navy (Mate, 1856; Lt., 1859); died at sea in the loss of HMS Camilla in a typhoon off Japan, September 1860; administration of goods granted 5 June 1902 (estate £773);
(6) Edward Julian Bigg-Wither (1837-1909), born 7 September and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 5 November 1837; educated at Balliol College, Oxford (matriculated 1856); an officer in the militia (2nd Lt., 1860) and later the army (Ensign, 1861; Lt., 1867; Capt. 1874; retired 1880); adjutant of Royal North Gloucestershire Militia, 1875-80; a freemason from 1876; married, 10 October 1878 at Cheltenham (Glos), Charlotte Laura (1861-1954), youngest daughter of Capt. William Probyn Hunt; died 16 April 1909;
(7) Francis Orde Bigg-Wither (1838-70), born 5 September and baptised at Winslade (Hants), 1 November 1838; assistant surgeon in the Indian Medical Service (MRCS 1859; LSA 1860); married, 17 December 1861 at Bangalore (India), Harriet Kate (c.1841-1918), daughter of Samuel Walker Bayley, and had issue one son; died 22 March and was buried at Secunderabad (India), 23 March 1870; administration of goods granted to his widow, 30 October 1894 (effects £5);
(8) Lancelot Frith Bigg-Wither (1839-90), born 16 October and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 28 November 1839; merchant in India; married, 24 September 1868 at Tranquebar (India), Fredricka Sophia (d. 1881), daughter of Dr. van Teylingen, and had issue two sons and one daughter; died 19 September 1890 and was buried at Berhampur (India) the same day;
(9) Emma Sophia Bigg-Wither (1840-1929), born 30 November 1840 and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 4 January 1841; lived in Brighton with her mother and sisters; died unmarried, 27 November 1929; will proved 28 December 1929 (estate £11,787);
(10) Rev. Reginald Fitzhugh Bigg-Wither (1842-1929), born 9 January and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 24 February 1842; educated at Pembroke College, Oxford (matriculated 1860; BA 1863; MA 1867); ordained deacon, 1871 and priest, 1872; curate of West Cheam (Surrey), 1871-74 and Reigate (Surrey), 1875-78; Warden of St Thomas' Diocesan Home (the Winchester Diocesan Penitentiary for Friendless and Fallen Women), 1878-98; rector of Worting, 1879-98; rural dean of Basingstoke (Hants), 1890-93; rector of Wonston (Hants), 1898-1911; author of A history...of St Thomas' Home (1887) and Materials for a history of the Wither family (1907); married, 11 August 1887 at St Paul, Knightsbridge (Middx), Mabel Frederica (1863-1948), daughter of Sir Arthur Townley Watson (1830-1907), 2nd bt., barrister-at-law, and had issue one son and three daughters, as well as two further children who died in infancy; died 7 November 1929; will proved 25 October 1930 (estate £25);
(11) Ferdinand Courtenay Bigg-Wither (1843-61), born 19 April and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 18 May 1843; a clerk in the Royal Navy serving aboard HMS Topaz; died unmarried of a fever on Vancouver Island, British Columbia (Canada), 12 November 1861;
(12) Archibald Cuthbert Bigg-Wither (1844-1913), born 25 September and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 6 November 1844; an officer in the Indian Army (Lt-Col.); lived latterly at Godalming (Surrey); married, 7 November 1871 at Lezayre (IoM), Caroline Maria (1850-1943), daughter of William Thomas Kidman Ralston of Ramsay (IoM) and had issue three sons and one daughter; died at Peel (IoM), 23 September and was buried at Lezayre, 25 September 1913;
(13) Thomas Plantagenet Bigg-Wither (1845-90), born 8 October and baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 28 November 1845; civil engineer (MICE, 1872); participated in an expedition in Paraná region of Brazil, 1871-74, and wrote an account of it as Pioneering in Southern Brazil (1878); later was a resident engineer on Bengal & North-Western Railway, India; married, 15 August 1875 at Buckland (Surrey), Mary Grace (1852-1939), daughter of Rev. George Stephen Woodgate, vicar of Pembury (Kent), and had issue three sons and one daughter; died while returning to England, 19 July 1890, and was buried at sea; will proved 22 September 1890 (effects £644);
(14) Henry St. John Bigg-Wither (1851-1931), baptised at Wootton St Lawrence, 6 November 1851; organist; lived with his mother and sisters at Brighton; died unmarried, 21 August 1931; will proved 24 October 1931 (estate £2,098).
He inherited Manydown Park and Wymering Manor from his father in 1833 and bought the adjoining Tangier Park estate the same year. In 1835 he sold Wymering Manor, Portsmouth (Hants), although he retained part of the estate until 1858. He remodelled Tangier Park, where he lived in preference to Manydown until 1871, when he moved to Brighton. The combined estate was sold after his death.
He died in Brighton (Sussex), 6 February, and was buried at Worting (Hants), 12 February 1874; his will was proved 28 February 1874 (effects under £16,000). His widow died in Brighton, 21 August 1901; her will was proved 14 September 1901 (estate £1,442).

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1833-37, vol. 2, pp. 397-403; VCH Hampshire, vol. 3, 1908, pp. 165-70; VCH Berkshire, vol. 3, 1923, pp. 247-60; VCH Wiltshire, vol. 16, 1999, pp. 88-109; G. Tyack, S. Bradley & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: Berkshire, 2nd edn., 2010, p. 337; C. O'Brien, B. Bailey, Sir N. Pevsner & D.W. Lloyd, The buildings of England: Hampshire - South, 2018, pp. 548-49; J. Orbach, Sir N. Pevsner & B. Cherry, The buildings of England: Wiltshire, 3rd edn., 2021, p. 217; 

Location of archives

Bigg family of Chilton House:  deeds and papers, 17th-18th cents. [Somerset Heritage Centre, DD/PO/5]
Wither and Bigg-Wither of Manydown Park: deeds and papers, 16th-19th cents [Hampshire Archives 21M58]; deeds, manorial, estate and family papers, 1600-1900 [Hampshire Archives 102A17].

Coat of arms

Bigg: Per pale ermine and azure, a lion passant gules ducally crowned or within a bordure engrailed gules, charged with eight fleurs-de-lys or.
Bigg-Wither: Quarterly, first and fourth, argent, a chevron gules between three crescents sable; second and third, per pale ermine and azure, a lion passant gules ducally crowned or within a bordure engrailed gules, charged with eight fleurs-de-lys or.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone provide any interior views of Haines Hill, either for publication or to inform a proper description of the interior?
  • Can anyone provide photographs or portraits of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 27 December 2025 and updated 31 December 2025.

Saturday, 3 May 2025

(601) Best of Donnington Grove

Best of Elmswell and Donnington Grove 
This family originated in the North Riding of Yorkshire, where the Rev. Christopher Best was a chantry priest at Wath in 1546. Robert Best (whose relation to Christopher is unclear) obtained a lease of Jervaulx Abbey's grange at Middleton Quernhow (in the parish of Wath) in 1555, and by the death of Henry Best in 1630 the family owned both the grange and manor of Middleton Quernhow. That estate was sold in 1661, but the family retained the manor of Elmswell (Yorks ER), which Henry Best had purchased in 1597 and sold the following year to his brother, James Best (d. 1617). James' eldest son, Paul Best, was an officer in the Swedish army and later in Lord Fairfax's Parliamentarian forces, and being out of England he sold Elmswell to his brother, Henry Best (d. 1645), who is remembered today for his 'farming book' of detailed notes on contemporary agricultural practice, which was published by the Surtees Society in 1857.
Elmswell Hall, before it fell into disuse and dereliction
It was Henry who, about 1634, built a new manor house at Elmswell, some remains of which survive today (and have become a conservation cause célèbre). The house at Elmswell was never a country house in the terms of this project, and later generations seem to have gravitated to urban centres and to have let the property to farmers. It descended from Henry Best to his eldest son, John Best (1621-69), who became a Quaker, and thence to Charles Best (1656-1719) of Pocklington (Yorks ER) and his son Francis Best (1699-1779) of Beverley (Yorks ER), who was a collector of customs for the port of Hull. Francis and his wife produced five sons (two of whom died young) and one daughter, but his eldest son, the Rev. Francis Best (1728-71), who was a Fellow of Peterhouse, Cambridge and later vicar of South Dalton (Yorks ER) died during his father's lifetime, and the Elmswell estate thus descended in 1779 to Francis' eldest grandson, the Rev. Francis Best (1775-1844), who also succeeded his father as vicar of South Dalton; it was sold after his death. Francis (d. 1844) had a younger brother, Dr. Charles Best (1779-1817), who became physician to the York Lunatic Asylum, where the treatment of the inmates was repeatedly a matter of controversy. Dr. Best had two daughters, of whom the younger was the artist, Mary Ellen Best (1809-91), whose accomplished watercolours provide an intimate window into 19th century domestic life.

Elmswell Hall: watercolour of the kitchen by Mary Ellen Best, 1834. Image: Victoria & Albert Museum P.11-1983.
This was the background of the family which is the subject of this post. The genealogy below begins with Charles Best (1732-1813), who was the youngest son of Francis Best (1699-1779). He settled in London, but he was neither a clergyman nor a barrister, and there is no evidence that he was apprenticed to a trade, so what took him to the city and how he supported himself is something of a mystery. In 1764 he married the daughter and heiress of a Dorset gentleman farmer, William Light of Baglake Manor, Litton Cheney. The coupled lived at first in Bromley (Kent), but later in Bath, and had three sons and one daughter, although there may have been other children whose baptism records have not been traced. The eldest son died young, but the other two both took holy orders, although the elder, the Rev. Charles Best, may have remained in deacon's orders and never been priested. In 1804, the Rev. Charles married Mary Elizabeth Race Godfrey, the daughter of a local clergyman, and they had one son (who emigrated to the United States of America) and one surviving daughter. She married the author and Catholic convert, John Richard Digby-Beste (1806-85), who between 1833 and 1860 owned Botleigh Grange (Hants), which they largely rebuilt c.1838, although they spent much time travelling in Europe and America.

Botleigh Grange, c.1900, from the Charles Hind Postcard Collection. Some rights reserved.
Charles Best's younger son, the Rev. James Wilkes Best (1777-1852), served various Berkshire curacies in the early 19th century before settling in Bath with his wife, Eliza Head Pottinger (1787-1863), the daughter of the vicar of Compton (Berks). They had one child, Head Pottinger Best (1808-87), who was educated at Oxford and then lived for some years at Farthinghoe Lodge (Northants), which he probably rented because of its location in prime hunting country. After his first marriage in 1839 to Maria Duffield, the daughter of the MP for Abingdon, he moved back to Berkshire, where he first rented and later purchased the Donnington Grove estate, which became the family seat for several generations. He also purchased the manors of Alton Priors (Wilts) and Bagnor (Berks), so he evidently had access to plenty of capital, but there is a mystery about the source of his wealth. Head and Maria had two daughters (one of whom died in infancy) before Maria died in 1845, and the following year Head married again, this time to Jane Stratton, the daughter of an Indian civil servant. She provided her husband with an heir, Marmaduke Head Best (1847-1912), who inherited the Donnington Grove estate at his father's death. Marmaduke was married to Mary Leigh Bennett (1851-1926), the daughter of a Surrey squarson, but they had no children. At his death in 1912, therefore, he bequeathed the estate to his widow absolutely, and it subsequently passed to her nephew, Henry Wolley Leigh-Bennett (1880-1951), who sold it in 1936.

Donnington Grove, Berkshire

An account of this house was given in a previous post.

Best of Donnington Grove


Best, Charles (1732-1813). Fifth and youngest son of Francis Best (1699-1779) of Elmswell Hall (Yorks ER), and his wife Rosamond (1701-87), daughter of Yarburgh Constable of Wassand (Yorks ER), baptised at St Mary & St Nicholas, Beverley (Yorks ER), 1 July 1732. He married, 7 April 1764 at St Paul, Covent Garden, Westminster (Middx), Henrietta Harriet (1743-1816), daughter of William Light of Baglake Manor (Dorset), and had issue:
(1) Francis Best (1765-82), baptised at St George, Bloomsbury (Middx), 17 June 1765; said to have died unmarried, 1782;
(2) Catherine Best (b. 1766; fl. 1813), born 21 June and baptised at St Katherine Coleman, London, 21 July 1766; living, unmarried, in 1813;
(3) Rev. Charles Best (1773-1819), born 1773; educated at Winchester, Peterhouse and Emmanuel College, Cambridge (matriculated 1793; SCL); ordained deacon, 1802; curate of East Shefford (Berks), 1802; married, 4 February 1804 at St Swithin, Walcot, Bath, Mary Elizabeth Race (1784-1837) (who m2, 29 November 1826 at St John, Clerkenwell (Middx), James Collins), daughter of Rev. Dr. Race Godfrey DD of Bath, and had issue one son and two daughters; died at Constance (Switzerland), 7 June 1819;
(4) Rev. James Wilkes Best (1777-1852) (q.v.).
He inherited Baglake Manor (Dorset) in right of his wife, but they evidently lived in Bromley (Kent) and later at Bath.
He died at Bath (Som.), 13 May and was buried at St Swithin, Walcot, Bath, 2 June 1813; his will was proved in the PCC, 12 June 1813. His widow died 5 May and was buried at St Swithin, Walcot, Bath, 10 May 1816; her will was proved in the PCC, 12 June 1816.

Best, Rev. James Wilkes (1777-1852). Third son of Charles Best (1732-1813) of Baglake Manor (Dorset) and his wife Henrietta Harriet, daughter of William Light of Baglake Manor, born 7 March and baptised at Bromley (Kent), 10 May 1777. Educated at Trinity College, Oxford (matriculated 1795; BA 1798; MA 1801). Ordained deacon, 1800, and priest, 1801. Curate of Chieveley (Berks), 1801, Compton (Berks), 1818 and Peasemore (Berks), 1819. He married, 30 July 1807 at Compton, Eliza Head (1787-1863), daughter and sole heir of Rev. Head Pottinger (d. 1829), vicar of Compton (Berks), and had issue:
(1) Head Pottinger Best (1808-87) (q.v.).
He lived at Chieveley (Berks) and later in Bath (Som.).
He died at Bath (Som.), 21 July 1852; his will was proved in the PCC, 3 September 1852. His widow died 14 November 1863.

Best, Head Pottinger (1808-87). Only son of Rev. James Wilkes Best (1777-1852) and his wife Eliza Head, daughter and sole heir of Rev. Head Pottinger of Compton (Berks), born 18 July and baptised at Compton, 29 September 1808. Educated at University College, Oxford (matriculated 1826; BA 1830). An officer in the Bloxham & Banbury Troop of Yeomanry Cavalry (Cornet, 1830) and later in the Berkshire Yeomanry Cavalry (2nd Lt., 1831). JP (from 1841) and DL (from 1852) for Berkshire; High Sheriff of Berkshire, 1853-54; Chairman of the Hampshire and Berkshire Railway. Master of the Craven Hounds, 1851-56. He married 1st, 11 June 1839 at St Marylebone (Middx), Maria (1817-45), second daughter of Thomas Duffield of Marcham Park (Berks), MP for Abingdon, and 2nd, 22 September 1846 at Ryde (IoW), Jane (1818-85), eldest daughter of George Stratton HEICS of Madras (India), and had issue:
(1.1) Caroline Eliza Best (b. & d. 1840), born prematurely and baptised at Farthinghoe (Northants), 10 January 1840; died in infancy and was buried at Farthinghoe, 23 January 1840;
(1.2) Rosamond Head Best (1844-77), born 12 May 1844; married, 15 April 1869 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Lt-Col. William Lewis Stucley (1836-1911) (who m2, 5 February 1879 at Fulbeck (Lincs), Marion Elizabeth (1851-1934), daughter of Henry Edward Hamlyn-Fane of Clovelly Court (Devon)), eldest son of Sir George Stucley, 1st bt., of Affeton Castle (Devon), but had no issue; died 29 September 1877, leaving her estate to her husband for life and then to her half-brother;
(2.1) Marmaduke Head Best (1847-1912) (q.v.).
He lived at Farthinghoe Lodge (Northants) until about 1840. He then leased the Donnington Grove (Berks) estate, and in 1850 purchased the manor of Alton Priors, Overton (Wilts) and the Donnington Grove (Berks) estate. From 1861 he leased the manor house of Bagnor and in 1871 he bought the freehold of Bagnor Manor. He settled Alton Priors on his daughter and her husband, and at his death left Donnington and Bagnor to his son.
He died 14 December 1887; his will was proved 7 February 1888 (effects £39,667). His first wife died at Torquay (Devon), 5/6 January 1845; administration of her goods (with will annexed) was granted to her husband in the PCC, 20 February 1845. His second wife died 1 October 1885; her will was proved 3 November 1885 (effects £6,726).

Best, Marmaduke Head (1847-1912). Only son of Head Pottinger Best (1808-87) and his second wife, Jane, eldest daughter of George Stratton, born 27 June 1847. Educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1865). An officer in the Berkshire Yeomanry Cavalry (Lt., by 1872). JP for Berkshire (from 1871; Chairman of Newbury Petty Sessions); County Alderman for Berkshire. President of the South Berkshire Conservative Association. A trustee of Donnington Hospital from 1900. He pursued a legal dispute with the Wawanda Paper Mill at Bagnor near Newbury about the pollution of the section of the River Lambourn passing through his land, which led to the closure of the mill. He married, 1 August 1877 at Thorpe (Surrey), Mary Leigh (1851-1926), daughter of Rev. Henry Leigh Bennett (1795-1880) of Thorpe Place, but had no issue.
He inherited Donnington Grove from his father in 1887 and the Alton Priors estate on the death of his brother-in-law in 1911. At his death they passed to his widow absolutely. She sold Alton Priors to New College, Oxford in 1912, while Donnington Grove passed to her nephew, Henry Wolley Leigh-Bennett (1880-1951).
He died 3 January 1912; his will was proved 20 March and 21 May 1912 (estate £106,362). His widow died 11 April 1926; her will was proved 6 July 1926 (estate £157,508).


Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1914, p. 146; J. Foster, Yorkshire pedigrees: vol. 3 - the North and East Ridings, 1874, 4th pedigree (Best of Elmswell & Middleton Quernhow); VCH Wiltshire, xi, pp. 181-203.

Location of archives

Head, Best and Pottinger families of Compton and Donnington Grove: deeds and papers, 1652-1938 [Royal Berkshire Archives, D/EZ198]

Coat of arms

Best of Donnington Grove: Gules, a Saracen's head couped at the neck proper navally crowned or, between eight lions' gambs chevronways in pairs paws inwards of the second.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone explain what took Charles Best (1732-1813) to London, or where the money came from that enabled Head Pottinger Best (1808-87) to buy three estates in the mid 19th century?
  • Can anyone provide photographs or portraits of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 3 May 2025.

Sunday, 30 March 2025

(598) Norreys and Bertie of Rycote and Wytham Abbey, Barons Norreys and Earls of Abingdon - part 2

This post has been divided into two parts. Part 1 consists of my introduction to the family and its property, and a description of the houses they owned. This second part gives the biographical and genealogical details of the family. 

Norreys family of Rycote and Wytham, Barons Norreys


Henry Norreys (c.1525-1601), 1st Baron Norreys 
Norreys, Henry (c.1525-1601), 1st Baron Norreys. 
Only son of Sir Henry Norreys (d. 1536) and his wife Mary, daughter of Thomas Fiennes, 8th Baron Dacre of the South, born about 1525. His father had been accused of adultery with Queen Anne Boleyn, summarily executed, and posthumously attainted, but in 1539 an Act of Parliament restored him in blood and returned such of the family's property as had not been forfeited to the Crown. He was
 an official of the royal stables by 1546; gentleman of the privy chamber by 1547; and butler of the port of Poole, 1553. His career accelerated after the accession of Queen Elizabeth I, who honoured his father for his defence of her mother's honour. He was JP for Berkshire from 1558 and for Oxfordshire, 1561-91; High Sheriff of Berkshire and Oxfordshire, 1562-3; MP for Berkshire, 1547-52 and for Oxfordshire, 1571-72; Ambassador to France, 1566-70; Porter of the Outer Gate and Keeper of the Armoury at Windsor Castle from about 1580; an officer in the Queen's bodyguard (Capt., 1588) and Lord Lieutenant of Berkshire and Oxfordshire, 1587-99. He was knighted in 1566, raised to the peerage as Baron Norreys by writ of summons, 6 May 1572, and fully restored in blood by a second Act of Parliament in 1575/6. He married, by 1544, the Hon. Margaret (1521-99), daughter and co-heiress of Sir  John Williams (d. 1559), 1st Baron Williams of Thame, and had issue:
(1) Hon. Sir William Norreys (c.1545-79) (q.v.);
(2) Hon. & Rt. Hon. Sir John Norreys (1547-97), born 1547; the most acclaimed English soldier of his day, participating in the Wars of Religion in France, in Flanders during the Eighty Years' War of Dutch liberation from Spain, in the Anglo-Spanish War, and above all in the Tudor conquest of Ireland, where he became infamous for the massacre of women and children on the island of Rathlin in 1575; MP for County Cork, 1585 and for Oxfordshire, 1589; a member of the Privy Council of Ireland; died of gangrene at the house of his brother, Sir Thomas, in Mallow (Co. Cork), 3 Jul 1597 and was buried at Yattendon (Berks); administration of his goods was granted in October 1597;
(3) Hon, Sir Edward Norreys (c.1550-1603), born about 1550; MP for Oxford, 1572 and for Abingdon, 1584-85, 1588-89; fought in the Netherlands, Ireland and Portugal; knighted 1586; sewer of the household, 1590; Governor of Ostend, 1590-99, when he was recalled to comfort his parents, whose other sons had all been killed; clerk of the petty bag by 1600; JP for Berkshire, 1598-1603 and Oxfordshire, 1601-03; custos rotulorum for Berkshire, 1601-03; married, 1600, Elizabeth (d. 1621) (who m3, 1604, Thomas Erskine (1566-1639), 1st Viscount Fenton and later 1st Earl of Kellie), daughter of Sir John Norreys (d. 1612) of Fyfield (Berks) and widow of Thomas? Webb of Salisbury (Wilts); died 8 September 1603 and was buried at Englefield (Berks);
(4) Hon. Catherine Norreys (b. c.1553-1602); married, c.1583, Sir Anthony Paulet (1562-1600), Governor of Jersey, and had issue at least two sons and three daughters; died 24 March 1602 and was buried at Hinton St. George (Som.);
(5) Hon. Sir Henry Norreys (c.1554-99), born about 1554; educated at Magdalen College, Oxford (matriculated 1571); fought with his brothers John and Edward in the Netherlands 1586, knighted after the Battle of Zutphen 1586; MP for Berkshire 1589, 1597-98; served in Ireland as Col-General of Infantry 1595 and in the campaign in Munster 1599, where he died following the amputation of a wounded leg, 21 August 1599; his corpse was brought to Bristol in May 1600 and perhaps buried at Rycote;
(6) Hon. Thomas Norreys (1556-99), educated at Magdalen College, Oxford (matriculated 1571); MP for Limerick, 1585-86; knighted 1588; granted 6,000 acres in Munster, 1588; President of Munster and Lord Justice of Ireland, 1597; married Bridget Kingsmill, daughter of Sir William Kingsmill of Sydmonton (Hants), and had issue one daughter; died at his house in Mallow from a wound in the neck, 16/20 August 1599; his corpse was brought to Bristol in May 1600 and perhaps buried at Rycote;
(7) Hon. Maximilian Norreys (c.1557-93); served in Brittany under his brother John, where he was killed, September 1593.
He inherited the Rycote, Weston Manor and Wytham estates in right of his wife in 1559, and Yattendon (Berks) in 1588 under the will of his uncle, Sir John Norreys (d. 1563). He purchased Cumnor Place in 1574.
He died 27 June 1601 and was buried at Rycote, 10 August 1601, but is commemorated by a colossal freestanding monument, some 24 feet high, in Westminster Abbey, which was erected by his grandson after 1606; his will was proved in July 1601. His wife died in December 1599.

Norreys, Hon. Sir William (c.1545-79). Eldest son of Henry Norreys (c.1525-1601), 1st Baron Norreys, and his wife Margaret, daughter and co-heiress of John Williams, 1st Baron Williams of Thame, born c.1545. He was a soldier (Capt. of Horse) who campaigned in Ireland, 1573-76 and again in 1579; Marshal of Berwick. Receiver for Middlesex, Hertfordshire, Essex and the City of London, 1579. He married, 1576 (settlement 1 June), Elizabeth (d. 1611), daughter of Sir Richard Morrison of Cassiobury (Herts), and had issue:
(1) Francis Norreys (1579-1622), 2nd Baron Norreys and 1st Earl of Berkshire (q.v.).
He died of a fever while on campaign in Ireland in the lifetime of his father, 25 December 1579. His widow married 2nd, after 1586, as his second wife, Henry Clinton (1540-1616), 2nd Earl of Lincoln, and died about 4 July 1611.

Portrait, said to be of Francis Norreys,
1st Earl of Berkshire, from a stained glass 
panel formerly at Wytham Abbey.
Image: Bodleian Library.
Norreys, Francis (1579-1622), 2nd Baron Norreys and 1st Earl of Berkshire. 
Only child of the Hon. William Norreys (c.1550-79) and his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Richard Morrison of Cassiobury (Herts), born 6 July and baptised at Wytham, 19 July 1579. In February 1597/8 he went to France in the train of Sir Robert Cecil, Ambassador Extraordinary. In August 1599 he was serving in the fleet hurriedly assembled to repel a threatened Spanish invasion. He proclaimed the accession of King James I at Oxford in 1603, and journeyed to the Scottish borders to accompany Queen Anne of Denmark to London. Between 1603 and 1605 he accompanied an English embassy to Spain, but his return to England was delayed by a serious illness which kept him in Paris for some months. 
He was present at the investitures of Prince Henry and Prince Charles as Princes of Wales in 1610 and 1616, and was Cupbearer at the installation of the Elector Palatine as a Knight of the Garter, 1615. He seems to have possessed an impetuous and quarrelsome disposition, and quarrelled both with his wife and with the Hon. Sir Peregrine Bertie (1585-1639). In 1612 he fought a duel with Bertie in which the latter was seriously wounded in the shoulder; after he had recovered, the two men fought again in 1613, leading King James I to issue a proclamation against duelling. In 1615 the two men were involved in an affray in a churchyard in which he killed a man called Winwood, servant to Bertie's father, Lord Willoughby de Eresby, and he was convicted of manslaughter, but pardoned by the king. In February 1620/1 he was imprisoned in the Fleet prison for an insult offered to Lord Scrope in the presence of the Prince of Wales. He succeeded his grandfather as 2nd Baron Norreys, 27 June 1601, was made a Knight of the Bath, January 1604/5, and was promoted in the peerage to be Viscount Thame and 1st Earl of Berkshire*, 28 January 1620/1. He married, about 28 April 1599 at Chenies (Bucks) (but sep. 1606), with £8,500, Lady Bridget (1584-1631?), daughter and co-heir of Edward de Vere (1550-1604), 17th Earl of Oxford, and had issue:
(1) Elizabeth Norreys (c.1600-45), Baroness Norreys (q.v.).
He also had a mistress, Sarah Rose (who later married Samuel Hayward), and had issue by her:
(X1) Sir Francis Rose (later Norreys) (1609-69), inherited the manors of Weston-on-the-Green and Yattendon from his father in 1622 and came of age in 1631; knighted 1633; High Sheriff of Oxfordshire, 1635-36; MP for Oxfordshire, 1656-58; married Hester, daughter of Sir John Rouse (d. 1645), kt., and had issue; died 1669.
He inherited the Rycote and Wytham estates from his grandfather in 1601, and £3,000 from his grandmother, Bridget, Countess of Bedford, in 1603. His title to his estates was challenged by his uncle, Sir Edward Norreys, but the latter died in 1603, whose estates also passed to Lord Norreys.
He committed suicide with a crossbow in the Fleet Prison, 29 or 31 January 1621/2, when his earldom and viscountcy became extinct, and his barony devolved upon his only legitimate child; an inquisition post mortem was held 9 October 1623, and his will was proved 11 January 1623/4.  His widow appears to have died between December 1630 and May 1631.
* It was reported on 13 January 1620/1 that 'Lord Norris is to be Earl of Thame, on marrying his daughter and assuring his land to Wray of the Bedchamber', so his promotion in the peerage was evidently due to Wray and his influence with the Duke of Buckingham, who was at this time Wray's close friend.

Norreys, Elizabeth (c.1600-45), Baroness Norreys. Only legitimate child of Francis Norreys (1579-1622), 2nd Baron Norreys and 1st Earl of Berkshire, by his wife Lady Bridget, daughter and co-heir of Edward de Vere, 17th Earl of Oxford, born about 1600. She succeeded as Baroness Norreys suo jure, after her father committed suicide, 29 January 1621/2, leaving her one of the richest and most sought-after heiresses at court. Christopher Villiers, brother of the Duke of Buckingham, sought her hand with royal encouragement, and to avoid being forced into a marriage with him she eloped with and married, 27 March 1622 at St Mary Aldermary, London, Edward Wray (1589-1658)*, groom of the bedchamber to King James I and MP for Oxfordshire, 1625, third son of Sir William Wray, 1st bt., of Glentworth (Lincs). They had issue:
(1) Bridget Wray (1627-57), Baroness Norreys (q.v.).
She inherited the Rycote and Wytham estates from her father in 1622, and carried them in marriage to Edward Wray.
She died shortly before 10 October 1645 and was buried in Westminster Abbey, 28 November 1645. Her husband died at Fritwell (Oxon) on 20 March, and was buried at Wytham, 29 March 1658; administration of his goods was granted 10 July 1658.
* As a result of the king's displeasure, Wray was dismissed from the bedchamber and imprisoned for some months, his release being reported on 15 February 1622/3.

Wray, Bridget (1627-57), Baroness Norreys. Only child of Edward Wray (1589-1658) of Rycote Park and his wife Elizabeth (c.1600-45), Baroness Norreys, only legitimate child of Francis Norreys, 2nd Baron Norreys and 1st Earl of Berkshire, born 12 May and baptised at Hackney (Middx), 15 June 1627. She succeeded her mother as Baroness Norreys suo jure, October 1645. She married 1st, 24 December 1645, Hon. Edward Sackville (d. 1646), second son of Edward Sackville, 4th Earl of Dorset, and 2nd, between 1646 and 1652, as his second wife, Montagu Bertie (c.1608-66), 2nd Earl of Lindsey, and had issue:
(2.1) James Bertie (1653-99), 5th Baron Norreys and 1st Earl of Abingdon (q.v.);
(2.2) Hon. Edward Bertie (b. c.1654), born about 1654; died young;
(2.3) Lady Mary Bertie (1655-1709), born 1 September 1655; married, between 1678 and 1680*, as his second wife, Charles Dormer (1632-1709), 2nd Earl of Carnarvon, of Ascott House (Bucks), but had no issue; died 30 June 1709;
(2.4) Hon. Henry Bertie (c.1656-1734), born about 1656; educated at University of Padua (Italy) (admitted 1674); an officer in the army (Capt., 1678-85); Tory MP for Westbury, 1678-80, 1701-15, New Woodstock, 1681, and Oxford, 1685-87, 1689-95; deputy Constable of the Tower of London, 1702-05; inherited Nutley manor, Long Crendon (Bucks) from his father; married 1st, by 1687, Philadelphia (d. 1701), daughter of Sir Edward Norreys (1634-1713)**, kt., of Weston-on-the-Green (Oxon) and had issue three sons and two daughters; married 2nd, 1716 (licence 28 Sept.), Catherine (d. 1736), daughter of Sir Heneage Fetherston (1627-1711), 1st bt., of Stanford-le-Hope (Essex), but had no issue; died at Boulogne (France), 5 December 1734 and was buried at Chesterton (Oxon); will proved in the PCC, 19 December 1734.
She inherited the Rycote and Wytham estates from her mother in 1645 and came into possession on her marriage a few weeks later.
She died 24 March 1656/7 and was buried with her mother in Westminster Abbey. Her first husband was killed at the Battle of Kidlington, 11 April 1646, and was buried at Wytham (Berks), 18 May 1646. Her second husband died at Campden House, Kensington (Middx), 25 July 1666, and was buried at Edenham where he and his father are commemorated by a double monument erected by his sons; his will was proved 31 July 1666. 
* Lord Carnarvon's first wife died 15 or 30 July 1678, and Mary signed a book in her possession as 'M. Carnarvon', 1 October 1680.
** Son of Sir Francis Rose alias Norreys (1609-69) (q.v.), the illegitimate son of the 1st Earl of Berkshire.

Bertie family of Rycote and Wytham Abbey, Earls of Abingdon


1st Earl of Abingdon, by Kneller 
Bertie, James (1653-99), 5th Baron Norreys and 1st Earl of Abingdon. 
Eldest son of Montagu Bertie (c.1608-66), 2nd Earl of Lindsey, and his second wife, Bridget, Baroness Norreys, daughter of Edward Wray and Elizabeth, Baroness Norreys, baptised at St Margaret, Westminster (Middx), 16 June 1653. He was known as the Hon. James Bertie until he succeeded his mother as 5th Baron Norreys, 24 March 1656/7. 
After coming of age, he was summoned to Parliament as Baron Norreys of Rycote, 1675, and was promoted in the peerage to the Earldom of Abingdon, 30 November 1682. Lord Lieutenant of Oxfordshire, 1674-87 and High Steward of Oxford, 1687. In 1688 he was active in inviting Prince William of Orange to mediate between King James II and his people, and contributed £30,000 to the Prince's expenses. However, on discovering William intended to seize the throne, he opposed him, and exerted all his influence against declaring the throne vacant; but after William and Mary were crowned he seems quickly to have been reconciled to the new regime, and resumed his post as Lord Lieutenant of Oxfordshire, 1689-97. Chief Justice in Eyre south of the Trent, 1693-97. His political career was materially assisted by his close friendship with his half-sister's husband, Sir Thomas Osborne (later Duke of Leeds), who often visited him at Rycote for the hunting on that estate, and he was more vulnerable to attacks by the Whig junto after the Duke was dismissed from office in 1695. By then he was in increasingly poor health, probably due either to asthma or a heart condition. His portrait was painted by Sir Godfrey Kneller. He married 1st, 1 February 1671/2 at Adderbury (Oxon), Eleanor (1658-91), eldest daughter and eventual sole heiress of Sir Henry Lee (1637-58), 3rd bt., of Quarrendon (Bucks), and 2nd, 1698 (licence 15 April), probably at Stanwell (Middx), Catherine (c.1659-1742), eldest daughter and co-heir of the Rev. Sir Thomas Chamberlayne (c.1635-82), 2nd bt., of Wickham (Oxon), and widow of Richard Wenman (1657-90), 4th Viscount Wenman and 1st Viscount Wenman of Tuam, of Thame Park (Oxon), and had issue:
(1.1) Montagu Bertie (later Venables-Bertie) (1673-1743), 2nd Earl of Abingdon (q.v.);
(1.2) Hon. James Bertie (1674-1735) (q.v.);
(1.3) Hon. Henry Bertie (1675-1735), born 4 May 1675; he was ‘bred to the understanding of trade and merchandise’ under the merchant Sir Joseph Herne, but did not embark on a career in business; freeman and bailiff of Oxford, 1702 and a freeman of Hertford, 1703; Tory MP for Beaumaris (Anglesey), 1705-27; a commissioner for the public accounts, 1711-14; he acquired (when is unclear, but probably not until the 1720s) Sir William Berkeley's share in the ownership of the Carolina colony, as one of the eight Lords Proprietors, and sold this to the Crown in 1729; married 1st, 17 July 1708, Annabella Susanna (1667-1708), daughter of Hugh Hamilton, 1st Baron Hamilton of Glenawly, and widow of Sir John Magill (d. 1700), 1st bt. of Gill Hall (Co. Down) and of Marcus Trevor (1669-1706), 3rd Viscount Dungannon, but had no issue; he married 2nd, 3 October 1712 (with £10,000), his cousin Mary, second daughter and co-heiress of Hon. Peregrine Bertie of Waldershare Park (Kent) and widow of Anthony Henley (1667-1711) of The Grange (Hants), and had issue one daughter; died at Boulogne (France), 18 December 1735;
(1.4) Hon. Robert Bertie (1677-1710), born 28 February 1676/7; lived at Benham Valence (Berks); married, 1709 (licence 13 January 1708/9), Hon. Catherine (d. 1736) (who m2, Sir William Osbaldiston (c.1687-1736), 4th bt., of Chadlington and Nethercote (Oxon)), eldest daughter of Richard Wenman (1657-90), 4th Viscount Wenman and 1st Viscount Wenman of Tuam, of Thame Park (Oxon), but had no issue; died 6 August, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote, 10 August 1710; his nuncupative will was proved in the PCC, 15 September 1710;
(1.5) Vice-Adm. the Hon. Peregrine Bertie (1678-1709), born 2 February 1677/8; an officer in the Royal Navy (Lt., 1697; Capt., 1701; Vice-Adm. of the Red, 1707); captured at the Battle of the Lizard, 10 October 1707 and died unmarried while a prisoner of war in France, May 1709;
(1.6) Rev. the Hon. Charles Bertie (c.1679-1747); educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1695; BA 1699; MA 1703) and the Inner Temple (admitted 1700); Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford from 1703-27 (BCL 1706; DCL 1711); Sedleian Professor of Natural Philosophy at the University of Oxford, 1720-41*; rector of Kenn (Devon), 1726-47 and also of Holborough (Devon), 1739-47 and Honiton (Devon), 1740-47; married Elizabeth (d. 1759), daughter of Rev. John Cary, rector of Tredington (Worcs), and had issue one son and one daughter; died 15 February and was buried at Kenn, 26 February 1746/7; will proved in the PCC, 30 September 1747;
(1.7) Lady Bridget Bertie (1681?-1753), said to have been born 13 March 1680/1; married, 13 February 1702/3, with £8,000, Richard Bulkeley (1682-1724), 4th Viscount Bulkeley of Cashel, of Baron Hill (Anglesey), Tory MP for Anglesey, 1704-15, 1722-24 and Jacobite sympathiser, and had issue two sons and five daughters; died 13 June, and was buried at Beaumaris (Anglesey), 11 July 1753;
(1.8) Lady Anne Bertie (1682?-1734?), said to have been born 7 March 1681/2; married, 20 July 1704, Sir William Courtenay (1675-1735) of Powderham Castle (Devon), de jure 6th Earl of Devon, and had issue five sons and seven daughters; administration of her goods was grannted to her husband, 26 March 1734;
(1.9) Lady Mary Bertie (d. 1718); died 31 October 1718 and was buried at Powderham, where she is commemorated by a monument.
He inherited the manors of Rycote, Albury, Wendlebury, Chesterton, Dorchester, Thame, Beckley and Horton (all Oxon), and Wytham, Cumnor and Frilsham (Berks) from his mother in 1657 and came of age in 1674. His first wife brought him an interest in the estates of the Danvers family, and after legal disputes, a partition of the estates was agreed in 1681 which left him and his wife as sole owners of West Lavington, Marden and Patney (Wilts), and with shares in the manors of Westbury and Bradenstoke (Wilts). In 1688 he bought Littleton Pannell (adjacent to West Lavington).
He died of a fever at his house in Westminster, 22 May, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote, 29 May 1699; his will was proved in the PCC, 3 February 1699/1700. His first wife died 31 May and was buried at West Lavington, 6 June 1691, where she is commemorated by a monument. His widow married 3rd, Francis Wroughton (d. 1733) of Estcourt (Wilts), died 9 February 1741/2, and was buried at Long Newnton (then Wilts but now Glos); her will was proved 5 March 1741/2.
* Thomas Hearne records that he was a legal scholar and had no particular expertise in natural philosophy. He was appointed to this chair to provide him with an income from which he could repay All Souls College money defrauded from it by the man he had installed to deputise for him as bursar of the college, Barzillai Jones.

2nd Earl of Abingdon
Bertie (later Venables-Bertie), Rt. Hon. Montagu (1673-1743), 2nd Earl of Abingdon. 
Eldest son of James Bertie (1653-99), 5th Baron Norreys and 1st Earl of Abingdon, and his first wife, Eleanora, daughter of Sir Henry Lee, 3rd bt., of Quarrendon (Bucks), born 4 February 1673. Educated at Christ Church, Oxford (admitted 1685). A precocious political career, founded upon his father's influence as Lord Lieutenant of Oxfordshire, saw him made a Freeman of Woodstock, 1686; freeman and bailiff of Oxford, 1687, 1689; freeman of Chester, 1712; high steward of Malmesbury, 1699-1701 and of Oxford and Woodstock, 1701-43; Tory MP for Berkshire, 1689-90 and Oxfordshire, 1690-99; JP for Berkshire and Oxfordshire from 1701. 
He took the additional surname Venables by royal licence after his first marriage, 10 November 1687 and was known as Lord Norreys from 1682 until he succeeded his father as 2nd Earl of Abingdon, 22 May 1699. A member of the Privy Council, 1702-07, 1711-14, and 1714-43. Constable and Lord Lieutenant of the Tower of London, 1702-05; Lord Lieutenant of Berkshire, 1701-02, Oxfordshire, 1702-06, 1712-15 (DL from 1689); Chief Justice in Eyre south of the Trent, 1702-06, 1710-15, and one of the Lords Justices of the Realm between the death of Queen Anne and the arrival of King George I from Hanover, 1714. In 1736 he conveyed some of his real estate to trustees who were charged with the payment of his debts. He married 1st, 22 September 1687, Anne (1674-1715), Lady of the Bedchamber to Queen Anne, 1702-05, 1712-14,  daughter and sole heir of Peter Venables (d. 1679) of Kinderton (Ches.), and 2nd, 13 February 1716/7 at Beaconsfield (Bucks) or West Lavington (Wilts)*, Mary (1677-1757), daughter of James Gould of Minterne (Dorset) and widow of Gen. Charles Churchill MP (1656-1714) (brother of John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough), and had issue:
(2.1) James Bertie (1717-18), Lord Norreys, born 14 November and baptised at St Margaret, Westminster (Middx), 26 November 1717; died in infancy of smallpox in the lifetime of his father, 25 February 1717/8, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote.
He inherited the Rycote, Wytham Abbey and Westbury (Wilts) estates from his father in 1699. He bought the manor of Godstow (Oxon) in 1702 but sold it in 1710 to the Duke of Marlborough. Later, he bought the manor of Littleton Auncells (Wilts) adjacent to his estate at West Lavington, and in 1738 he sold Bradenstoke (Wilts). His second wife had houses at Minterne and Dorchester (Dorset). He settled his remaining real estate on his nephew for life and thereafter on his great-nephews in order of seniority in 1736, and by his will he excluded any who did not conform to the Church of England.
He died 16 June, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote, 27 June 1743; his will was proved in the PCC, 1 July 1743. His first wife died 28 April 1715 and was buried in the chapel at Rycote; administration of her goods was granted 25 June 1715. His widow is said to have accidentally burnt to death, 10 January 1757 and was buried at St Peter, Dorchester (Dorset); by her will, proved 20 June 1757, she left her real and personal estate (estimated at £70,000) to her kinsman Nicholas Gould of Frome (Dorset).
* The marriage appears in the register of both parishes, and also in that of Rycote.

Bertie, Hon. James (1674-1735). Second son of James Bertie (1653-99), 5th Baron Norreys and 1st Earl of Abingdon, and his first wife, Eleanora, daughter of Sir Henry Lee, 3rd bt., of Quarrendon (Bucks), born 4 February and baptised 13 March 1673/4. Tory MP for New Woodstock, 1695-1705 and for Middlesex, 1710-34. Freeman and bailiff of Oxford, 1695 and a freeman of Hertford, 1704. A Commissioner for Sewers in Tower Hamlets, 1710, and for the Trent Navigation, 1714, as well as being one of the Commissioners for building 50 new churches, 1711-15; Duchy of Lancaster steward of Grosmont, Skenfrith and White Castle, 1714-20. He married 1st, 5 January 1691/2 at Stanwell (Middx), Elizabeth (1673-1715), only surviving daughter and eventual sole heir of George Willoughby (1638-74), 7th Baron Willoughby of Parham, and 2nd, Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. George Calvert (d. 1696) of Stanwell (Middx), and had issue:
(1.1) Willoughby Bertie (1692-1760), 3rd Earl of Abingdon (q.v.);
(1.2) Edward Bertie (1694-1733), born 25 November 1694 and probably baptised at Stanwell; educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1712; BA 1716; MA 1719) and Grays Inn (called 1727); barrister-at-law; died unmarried, 21 September and was buried at St James, Paddington (Middx), 22 September 1733;
(1.3) Elizabeth Bertie (1695-96), baptised at Stanwell, 23 December 1695; died in infancy and was buried at Stanwell, 24 January 1695/6;
(1.4) Bridget Bertie (1696-1734), born 13 December and baptised at Stanwell, 14 December 1696; married, before 1719, Robert Coetmor (c.1691-1725) of Coetmor and Bodwrda (Caernarvons.), and had issue one son and two daughters; buried 9 August 1734;
(1.5) Elizabeth Bertie (b. & d. 1701), baptised at Stanwell, 22 January 1700/1; died in infancy and was buried at Stanwell, 25 January 1700/1;
(1.6) James Bertie (b. & d. 1702), baptised at Stanwell, 14 January 1701/2; died in infancy and was buried at Stanwell, 29 January 1701/2;
(1.7) Peregrine Bertie (1703-08), baptised at Stanwell, 10 January 1702/3; died young and was buried at Stanwell, 19 June 1708;
(1.8) Richard Bertie (1704-13), baptised at Stanwell, 11 May 1704; died young and was buried at Stanwell, 30 March 1713;
(1.9) Rev. the Hon. William Bertie (1705-67), baptised at Stanwell, 13 January 1705; educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1723; BA 1727; MA 1730; BD 1742; DD 1752); rector of Albury (Oxon), 1740-57 and Wytham (Berks), 1742-57; married his first cousin, Hon. Anne Bulkeley  (d. 1778), third daughter of Richard Bulkeley, 4th Viscount Bulkeley, and had issue; died August 1767 and was buried at Albury; will proved in the PCC, 14 March 1767/8;
(1.10) George Bertie (1707-08), baptised at Stanwell, 15 May 1707; died in infancy and was buried at Stanwell, 17 March 1707/8;
(1.11) Henry Bertie (1709-43), born and baptised at Stanwell, 20 April 1709; educated at Westminster; died unmarried and was buried at Bombay (India), 26 August 1743; will proved in the PCC, 3 December 1746;
(1.12) Anne Bertie (1710-11), baptised at Stanwell, 17 June 1710; died in infancy and was buried at Stanwell, 7 December 1711;
(1.13) Rev. John Bertie (1711-74), born 22 November and baptised at Stanwell, 3 December 1711; educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1731; BA 1735; MA 1738); ordained deacon, 1737 and priest, 1738; rector of Yattendon (Berks), 1744-47 and Kenn (Devon), 1747-74, and prebendary of Exeter Cathedral, 1763-74; married, 7 May 1734 (a clandestine marriage in London), Mary (c.1720-1803), daughter of Clark Nichols or Nicholas, and had issue; died 'of a mortification in his feet', 1 February and was buried at Kenn, 3 February 1774;
(1.14) Peregrine Bertie (b. & d. 1715), born and baptised at Stanwell, 26 September 1715; died in infancy and was buried at Stanwell, 12 October 1715.
He lived at Stanwell, in which his first wife inherited a life interest under the (disputed) will of her great-uncle, John Cary. She gained possession after a decision of the House of Lords in her favour in 1698. On her death in 1715, the estate passed to Viscount Falkland, and Bertie lived subsequently in Westminster.
He died 18 October 1735; his will was proved in the PCC, 17 March 1735/6. His first wife died 26 September and was buried at Stanwell, 2 October 1715. His second wife's date of death is unknown.

3rd Earl of Abingdon
Bertie, Willoughby (1692-1760), 3rd Earl of Abingdon. 
Eldest son of Hon. James Bertie (1674-1735) of Stanwell (Middx) and his wife Elizabeth, only surviving daughter and eventual sole heir of George Willoughby, 7th Baron Willoughby of Parham, born at Lindsey House, Westminster (Middx), 28 November 1692 and probably baptised at Stanwell. Said to have been educated at Corpus Christi College, Oxford or Cambridge (matriculated 1707), but does not appear in the Alumni volumes for either university. A Tory in politics, in 1715 he stood for Parliament in the Westbury constituency, where his family had a strong interest, and although initially declared elected, the result was overturned on petition, and he never stood for Parliament again. He went abroad for his health in the 1720s and lived in Florence (Italy), c.1722-27, while also visiting Rome and Naples and returning to England through Switzerland. At the time of his marriage he allegedly had 'a very weakly decayed constitution', but he survived for more than thirty years and produced a large family. He declined to join the Oxfordshire association in defence of the Hanoverian succession at the time of the 1745 uprising, and may therefore have had Jacobite leanings. He succeeded his uncle as 3rd Earl of Abingdon, 16 June 1743. High Steward of Abingdon and Wallingford, 1743. In Florence, he was closely associated with John Collins*, a Scottish Catholic who 'keeps a publick house in this town for the English Gentlemen that travel', and whose 'very pretty' daughter, Anna Maria (d. 1763), he subsequently married. The service is said to have been performed by a Church of England minister in Switzerland (and not in Florence), about August 1727. They had issue:
(1) Lady Elizabeth Bertie (1728-1804), said to have been born in 1728; married, 23 February 1763 at St James, Westminster (Middx) (but later sep.), Giovanni Andrea Battista Gallini (k/a Sir John Gallini) (1728-1805), an Italian dancer, choreographer and impresario resident in London, and had issue two sons and two daughters; died in London, 17 August 1804;
(2) Lady Jane Bertie (1732-91), born 23 March 1731/2 and baptised at St Anne, Soho, Westminster, 29 March 1732; married, 29 September 1760 at St George the Martyr, Bloomsbury (Middx), as his third wife, Thomas Clifton (1728-83) of Lytham Hall (Lancs), and had issue one son and three daughters; died 14 February and was buried at Lytham, 18 February 1791;
(3) Lady Bridget Bertie (1734-60), born 9 January and baptised at St Margaret, Westminster, 18 January 1733/4; died unmarried, 9 December, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote, 15 December 1760;
(4) James Bertie (1735-45), Lord Norreys, baptised at Gainsborough (Lincs), 25 September 1735; known as Lord Norreys from 16 June 1743 until he was killed in the fire which burned down Rycote House, 12 November 1745; buried in the chapel at Rycote, 14 November 1735;
(5) Lady Anne Eleanora Bertie (1738-1804), baptised at Gainsborough, 15 July 1738; married, 7 July 1766 at St Marylebone (Middx), Philip Wenman (1742-1800), 4th Viscount Wenman, of Thame Park (Oxon), MP for Oxfordshire, 1768-96, but had no issue; died in London, 19 April 1804 and was buried in the chapel at Thame Park;
(6) Willoughby Bertie (1740-99), 4th Earl of Abingdon (q.v.);
(7) Hon. Peregrine Bertie (1741-90), born 13 March and baptised at Gainsborough, 16 April 1741; educated at Westminster; an officer in the Royal Navy (Lt., 1759; Cdr., 1762; Capt., 1762); MP for City of Oxford, 1774-90; inherited Weston-on-the-Green and Chesterton (Oxon), Notley Abbey (Bucks) and Yattenden and Hamstead Norris (Berks) from Norreys Bertie (d. c.1766); married, May 1790 at Frilsham (Berks), Elizabeth Hutchins (d. 1833) of Yattendon (Berks); died without issue at his seat at Frilsham, 20 August, and was buried at Weston-on-the-Green, 28 August 1790; will proved in the PCC, 23 September 1790;
(8) Charles Bertie (b. & d. 1742), baptised at Gainsborough (Lincs), 3 April 1742; died in infancy and was buried at Gainsborough, 24 April 1742;
(9) Lady Mary Bertie (1746-1826), born 12 November 1746; married, 27 April 1772 at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster, as his second wife, Miles Stapleton (1742-1808) of Clints, Marske (Yorks WR) and Drax (Yorks WR), second son of Nicholas Stapleton (d. 1750) of Carlton (Yorks), and had issue at least two sons and two daughters; died 22 July and was buried at Carlton-by-Snaith (Yorks WR), 28 July 1826;
(10) Lady Sophia Bertie (1748-60), born 6 November 1748; died young, 12 October, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote, 17 October 1760.
He leased the east wing of Gainsborough Old Hall (Lincs) from 1733 until he inherited the Rycote, Wytham Abbey and Westbury (Wilts) estates from his uncle in 1743. Rycote burned down in 1745 and he reconstructed it to a modified design. By 1764 he was evidently in financial difficulties, and his trustees sold the manors of Wendlebury and Chesterton (Oxon) and Marden and Patney (Wilts).
He died 10 June, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote, 16 June 1760; his will was proved in the PCC, 9 July 1760. His widow died of a stroke while visiting the Venetian ambassador at his residence in London, 21 December 1763; her will was proved in the PCC, 17 March 1764.
* The humble origins of John Collins (c.1689-1763) were carefully obscured by the family to make him appear a gentleman. He is said to have been a Scottish Catholic who obtained a post as valet to the Florentine ambassador in London. The ambassador arranged a pension for him from the Grand Duke on his recall to Italy. This enabled Collins to set up his hotel in Florence, which also became the home of the first masonic lodge in Italy. He may well have been a Jacobite. On his monument at Rycote he is described as Sir John Collins, and if this was a not wholly fictional dignity, it may signify a Jacobite knighthood. He was buried in a leather coffin with sword and armour resting on it, suggesting a possible military career before entering Florentine service. He is sometimes identified as John Collins of Chute Lodge (Hants), but had no connection with that family.


4th Earl of Abingdon
Bertie, Willoughby (1740-99), 4th Earl of Abingdon. 
Second, but eldest surviving, son of Willoughby Bertie (1692-1760), 3rd Earl of Abingdon, and his wife Anna Maria, daughter of Sir John Collins, born 16 January and baptised at Gainsborough (Lincs), 18 February 1739/40. Educated at Westminster School, Geneva and 
Magdalen College, Oxford (matriculated 1759; created MA 1761), where he was one of three students chosen to address the Earl of Westmorland on his installation as Chancellor of the University, 1759. He was known as Lord Norreys from the death of his elder brother in 1745 until he succeeded his father as 4th Earl of Abingdon, 10 June 1760. He came of age and took his seat in Parliament, 1761, and was appointed High Steward of Abingdon and Wallingford in the same year. In 1763-66 he went on a Grand Tour with his brother Peregrine, and is known to have visited Rome (twice) - where his portrait was painted by Batoni - Naples, Turin, and Florence, but he spent much of his time in Geneva (Switzerland), where the French resident described him as 'a very petulant young man', who had been taught nothing except hunting and music. After a brief return to England he was again in Geneva in 1766-67, and he was in Florence again in 1770. In 1769 he funded the construction of the Swinford Toll Bridge (probably designed by Sir Robert Taylor) across the River Thames near Eynsham (Oxon), and obtained an Act of Parliament prehibiting the construction of new bridges within three miles of it, and making the income from tolls tax-free*. He became a noted patron of music, was in contact (through his brother-in-law, Sir John Gallini) with J.C. Bach and C.F. Abel, and was encouraged by Haydn to compose; he is the author of 120 known works, and was an accomplished performer on the flute and violin. That was one side of his character, but he seems also to have been a rather wild young man, prone to extravagant intemperance and eccentric behaviour. He had the reputation of being a political maverick, defending the liberties of the American colonies, but condemning the  French Revolution as a threat to "the Peace, the Order, the Subordination, the Happiness of the whole habitable Globe", and arguing that the movement for the abolition of the slave trade was simply the result of a "new philosophy" inspired by the new French republic. An obituarist noted that "his frequent speeches in the House of Peers were peculiarly eccentric", and Lord Charlemont in his memoirs calls him "a man of genius, but eccentric and irregular almost to madness". Horace Walpole found him "not quite devoid of parts, but rough and wrong-headed, extremely underbred but warmly honest" in 1777. He eventually dissipated his family fortune so much that he was obliged to sell the furniture from Rycote in 1779, as well as much of his property at Westbury (Wilts), to reduce his debts. Although he retained ownership of the burgages in Westbury, and thus control of the town's parliamentary seats, he sold the nomination of members there at each election after 1786 to gain extra income. In 1794-95 he was convicted of libelling a Mr. Sermon of Grays Inn, who had been his solicitor, fined £100, and sentenced to three months' imprisonment. He was insolvent at the time of his death. He married, 7 July 1768, Charlotte (1749-94), daughter and co-heir of Adm. Sir Peter Warren (1703-52), kt., of Warrenstown (Ireland), MP for Westminster, and had issue: 
(1) Lady Charlotte Bertie (1769-99), born 12 October and baptised at St Margaret, Westminster, 2 November 1769; died unmarried, 11 January 1799, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote;
(2) Lady Amelia Bertie (1774-84), born 6 January 1774; died young and was buried at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 22 May 1784;
(3) Willoughby Bertie (b. & d. 1779), Lord Norreys, born 8/10 February and was baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 20 February 1779; but died in infancy later the same day, 20 February 1779;
(4) Willoughby Bertie (b. & d. 1781), Lord Norreys, born 9 April and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 17 April 1781; died in infancy and was buried at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 1 May 1781;
(5) Montagu Bertie (1784-1854), 5th Earl of Abingdon (q.v.);
(6) Lady Louisa Anne Maria Bertie (b. & d. 1786), born 8 March and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 6 April 1786; died in infancy and was buried at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 31 May 1786;
(7) Hon. Willoughby Bertie (1787-1810), born 24 June and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 26 July 1787; an officer in the Royal Navy (Lt., by 1808; Cdr., 1810); married, 26 November 1808 in Guernsey, and again 10 October 1810 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Catherine Sloane Saunders, an actress known as Miss Fisher or 'the Young Roscia', and had issue one son (born posthumously and died in infancy); drowned when his vessel, HMC Satellite, was wrecked in the English Channel off Cherbourg (France), 19 December 1810; commemorated with his son by a monument in Salisbury Cathedral; will proved 21 June 1811;
(8) Lady Caroline Bertie (1788-1870), born 18 October and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 3 November 1788; married, 23 January 1821, Charles John Baillie-Hamilton (1800-65), MP for Aylesbury, 1839-47, second son of Ven. Charles Baillie (later Baillie-Hamilton) (1764-1820), Archdeacon of Cleveland, and had issue including two sons and two daughters; died in Genoa (Italy), 12 March 1870; will proved 14 April 1870 (effects under £1,500);
(9) Hon. Peregrine Bertie (1790-1849), born 30 July and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 1 September 1790; educated at Westminster and Jesus College, Cambridge (matriculated 1811; MA 1815); evidently emigrated to the United States of America, where he died unmarried, 17 October 1849 and was buried at Philadelphia (USA);
(10) Rev. the Hon. Frederic Bertie (1793-1868), born 12 February and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 1 April 1793; educated at Westminster and Jesus College, Cambridge (matriculated 1814; MA 1816); ordained deacon, 1816 and priest, 1817; rector of Wytham (Berks), 1817-68, perpetual curate of South Hinksey (Berks), 1820-68; rector of Albury and Wheatley (Oxon), 1820-68; JP for Oxfordshire; married, 17 October 1825 at Shiplake (Oxon), his brother's sister-in-law, Lady Georgina Anne Emily Kerr (1806-81), second daughter of Vice-Adm. Lord Mark Robert Kerr, and his wife Charlotte, Countess of Antrim suo jure, and had issue five sons and four daughters; died 4 February 1868; will proved September 1868 (effects under £7,000).
He inherited the Rycote, Wytham Abbey and Westbury (Wilts) estates from his father in 1760 and came of age in 1761. He sold West Lavington (Wilts) in 1761 and Frilsham (Berks) in 1762, and most of his remaining Wiltshire estate in a series of sales after 1777. In 1790 he inherited Weston-on-the-Green (Oxon) from his brother Peregrine, but it was entailed on his younger sons and eventually passed to the Rev. and Hon. Frederic Bertie (1793-1868).
He died 26 September 1799 and was buried in the chapel at Rycote; his will was proved in the PCC, 15 May 1800. His wife died 28 January, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote, 8 February 1794.
* The bridge continues to charge tolls to this day, but is no longer owned by the Bertie family.

Bertie, Montagu (1784-1854), 5th Earl of Abingdon. Third, but eldest surviving, son of Willoughby Bertie (1740-99), 4th Earl of Abingdon, and his wife Charlotte, daughter and co-heir of Adm. Sir Peter Warren, kt., MP, of Warrenstown (Ireland), born 30 April and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), 8 May 1784. He was known as Lord Norreys until he succeeded his father as 5th Earl of Abingdon, 26 September 1799. Cupbearer at the coronation of King George IV, 19 July 1821; Lord Lieutenant of Berkshire, 1826-54; High Steward of Abingdon, 1826. He received an honorary degree from Oxford University in 1810 (DCL). He married 1st, 27 August 1807 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), Emily (1776-1838), daughter of Gen. the Hon. Thomas Gage (1719-87) and sister of Henry Gage, 3rd Viscount Gage; and 2nd, 11 March 1841 at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, Lady Frederica Augusta (1816-64), fifth daughter of Vice-Adm. Lord Mark Robert Kerr and his wife Charlotte, Countess of Antrim suo jure, and had issue:
(1.1) Montagu Bertie (1808-84), 6th Earl of Abingdon (q.v.);
(1.2) Lady Charlotte Margaret Bertie (1809-93), born 23 July and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 19 August 1809; died unmarried, 7 November and was buried at Leamington Spa (Warks), 11 November 1893; will proved 11 January 1894 (effects £21,231);
(1.3) Lady Emily Caroline Bertie (1810-81), born 11 August and baptised at St Marylebone, 19 August 1810; married, 31 July 1830 at Wytham, Rev. the Hon. Charles Bathurst (1802-42), Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford and later rector of Siddington St Mary (Glos), fifth son of Henry Bathurst (1762-1834), 3rd Earl Bathurst, but had no issue; died 18 March and was buried at Brompton Cemetery (Middx), 23 March 1881; will proved 5 April 1881 (effects under £18,000);
(1.4) Hon. Albemarle Bertie (1811-25), born 26 September and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 31 October 1811; educated at Eton; died young, 4 February 1825; buried in the chapel at Rycote;
(1.5) Rev. the Hon. Henry William Bertie (1812-94), born 16 September and baptised at St Nicholas, Brighton, 29 October 1812; educated at Eton, Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1830; BA 1833) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1833); Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford, 1836-94 (BCL, 1840; DCL 1847); ordained deacon, 1836, and priest, 1837; rector of Stanford-on-Teme (Worcs), 1840-44 and of Great Ilford (Essex), 1844-81; died unmarried, 31 December 1894; will proved 2 February 1895 (effects £9,007);
(1.6) Hon. Augusta Georgina Bertie (b. & d. 1815), born 14 April 1815; died in infancy, 4 May 1815 and was buried in the chapel at Rycote;
(1.7) Hon. Vere Peregrine Bertie (1817-18), born 23 November 1817 and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 13 February 1818; died in infancy, 21 March 1818, and was buried in the chapel at Rycote;
(1.8) Hon. Brownlow Charles Bertie (1819-52), born 19 August and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 25 September 1819; educated at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1837); an officer in the army (Cornet, 1839; Cornet & Sub-Lt, 1840; Lt., 1846); DL for Berkshire, 1850; died unmarried on board a steamer between Panama and San Francisco (USA), while on his way to participate in an expedition to Japan, 30 December 1852.
He inherited the Rycote, Wytham Abbey and the remaining part of the Westbury estates from his father in 1799 and came of age in 1805. In 1807, he pulled down the main house at Rycote and sold the building materials, reserving some to reuse in remodelling Wytham Abbey, and in 1810 he sold the burgages in Westbury. By 1835 his finances had recovered somewhat and he purchased the manor of North Weston (Oxon) to add to his Rycote and Thame estate.
He died at Wytham Abbey, 16 October, and was buried at Rycote chapel, 24 October 1854; his will was proved in the PCC, 17 May 1855 (effects under £10,000). His first wife died 28 August 1838 and was buried at Rycote. His widow died in London, 26 November 1864.

Bertie, Montagu (1808-84), 6th Earl of Abingdon. Eldest son of Montagu Bertie (1784-1854), 5th Earl of Abingdon, and his first wife, Emily, daughter of Gen. the Hon. Thomas Gage and sister of Henry Gage, 3rd Viscount Gage, born 19 June and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), 30 July 1808. Educated at Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge (matriculated 1827; MA 1829; DCL 1834). An officer in the Oxfordshire Yeomanry Cavalry (Lt., 1827; Capt., 1831; Maj., 1847; retired 1855). Tory MP for Oxfordshire, 1830-31, 1832-52 and for Abingdon, 1852-54. He was known as Lord Norreys until he succeeded his father as 6th Earl of Abingdon, 16 October 1854. High Steward of Oxford and Abingdon; Lord Lieutenant of Berkshire, 1855-81 (DL, 1831-55). He married, 7 January 1835 at Nuneham Courtenay (Oxon)*, Elizabeth Lavinia (1815-58), only daughter and heir of George Granville Venables Vernon (later Harcourt) (1785-1861), MP for Lichfield, 1806-31 and Oxfordshire, 1831-61, and had issue:
(1) Montagu Arthur Bertie (1836-1928), 7th Earl of Abingdon (q.v.);
(2) Lady Elizabeth Emily Bertie (1838-1923), born 5 November 1838; was received into the Roman Catholic church, 1874, and lived latterly in Florence (Italy); died unmarried in Livorno (Italy), 4 May 1923; will proved 29 November 1923 (estate in England, £335);
(3) Lady Lavinia Louisa Bertie (1839-1928); married, 16 January 1883 at St Stephen, Kensington (Middx), Robert Bickersteth (1847-1916) of Downgate House, Wadhurst (Sussex), MP for Newport, 1885-86, eldest son of Rt. Rev. Dr. Robert Bickersteth DD (1816-84), Bishop of Ripon, but had no issue; died in Oxford, 5 July 1928; will proved 22 November 1928 (estate £18,237); 
(4) Rt. Hon. Francis Leveson Bertie (1844-1919), 1st Viscount Bertie of Thame, born 17 August 1844 and baptised at Nuneham Courtenay (Oxon), 25 March 1845; entered the Foreign Office 1863 (Private Secretary to the Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs 1874-80; Acting Second Secretary in the Diplomatic Service at the Berlin Congress 1878; Acting Assistant Clerk at the Foreign Office 1880-81; Assistant Clerk 1881-82; Acting Senior Clerk 1882-85; Senior Clerk 1889-94; Assistant Permanent Under Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs 1894-1903; Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary at Rome 1903-05 and at Paris 1905-18); Chairman, Uganda Railway Committee 1896-1903; he was sworn of the Privy Council, 1903, and appointed KCB 1902; GCVO 1903; GCMG 1904 and GCB 1908, before being raised to the peerage as Baron Bertie of Thame, 28 June 1915 and promoted to be 1st Viscount Bertie of Thame, 2 September 1918; inherited the family's lands in North Weston (sold 1913), Beckley and Horton-cum-Studley (sold 1919); married, 11 April 1874, Lady Feodorowna Cecilia (1840-1920), eldest daughter of Henry Richard Wellesley, 1st Earl Cowley, and had issue one son; died 26 September 1919 and was buried at Thame (Oxon); will proved 28 November 1919 (estate £15,803);
(5) Rev. & Hon. Alberic Edward Bertie (1846-1928), born 14 November 1846 and baptised at Nuneham Courtenay, 5 April 1847; educated at Merton College, Oxford (matriculated 1865; BA 1869; MA 1873); rector of Albury (Oxon), 1879-87 and Gedling (Notts), 1887-1923; married, 26 April 1881 at St Peter, Eaton Sq., Westminster, Lady Caroline Elizabeth (c.1855-1930), daughter of Mark Kerr (later McDonnell) (1814-69), 5th Earl of Antrim, and had surviving issue four sons and three daughters; died 20 March 1928 and was buried at Wolvercote Cemetery, Oxford; will proved 31 May 1928 (estate £8,819);
(6) Lady Frances Evelyn Bertie (1848-1929), born 23 April and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 31 May 1848; received into the Roman Catholic church, 1881, and became a nun at the Convent of the Visitation, Harrow-on-the-Hill (Middx) as Sister Frances Magdalen; died 29 August 1929; will proved 18 March 1930 (estate £143);
(7) Hon. George Aubrey Vere Bertie (1850-1926), born 2 May and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 7 June 1850; an officer in the Coldstream Guards (Ensign & Lt., 1868; Lt. & Capt., 1871; Capt. & Lt-Col., 1881; Maj. & Lt-Col., 1885; retired 1885), who served in the Zulu War, 1879; a keen yachtsman, he was member of the Royal Yacht Squadron, 1900-26; married, 13 October 1885 at Great Bookham (Surrey), Harriet Blanche Elizabeth (1850-1923), daughter of Sir Walter Rockcliffe Farquhar (1810-1900), 3rd bt., and had issue one son and two daughters; died at Nice (France), 8 November 1926, and was buried in the Cimetière Communal de St. Marguerite there; will proved 5 February 1927 (estate £1,319);
(8) Hon. Charles Claude Bertie (1851-1920), born 31 August and baptised at Nuneham Courtenay, 19 October 1851; an officer in the Royal Berkshire Militia (Lt., 1871) and later in the army (Lt.; resigned 1876); married, 29 April 1890, Adelaide (1841-1903), youngest daughter of Rev. Jeremiah Burroughes of Lingwood Lodge (Norfk), but had no issue; died in Oxford, 4 September 1920;
(9) Hon. Reginald Henry Bertie (1856-1950), born 26 May and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster, 16 July 1856; educated at Eton; an officer in the Royal Welsh Fusiliers (Lt., 1874; Capt., 1883; Maj., 1891; Lt-Col., 1899; retired as Col., 1903) who served in Crete, 1898 and China (mentioned in despatches) where he took part in the relief of Peking, 1900; appointed CB, 1901; married, 18 October 1892, Lady Amy Evelyn (1865-1948), daughter of Henry Reginald Courtenay (1836-98), Lord Courtenay, and sister of Charles Pepys Courtenay, 14th Earl of Devon, but had no issue; died 15 June 1950; will proved 3 October 1950 (estate £26,133).
He inherited the Rycote and Wytham Abbey estates from his father in 1854.
He died 8 February and was buried in the chapel at Rycote, 13 February 1884; his will was proved 31 March 1884 (effects £36,670). His wife died 16 October 1858 and was buried at Wytham.
* Their marriage was quite an occasion, being celebrated by the Archbishop of York, and with the Dukes of Bedford and Wellington, the Earl of Sandwich and Lord Leveson among the witnesses.

7th Earl of Abingdon
Bertie, Montagu Arthur (1836-1928), 7th Earl of Abingdon. 
Eldest son of Montagu Bertie (1808-84), 6th Earl of Abingdon, and his wife 
Elizabeth Lavinia, only daughter and heir of George Granville Harcourt MP, born 13 May and baptised at St George, Hanover Sq., Westminster (Middx), 29 June 1836. Educated at Eton. An officer in the Oxfordshire Yeomanry Cavalry (Cornet, 1856; Lt., 1860) and the Royal Berkshire Militia (Lt., 1858; resigned 1860 but re-apptd as Major, 1861; Lt-Col., 1863; retired as Hon. Col., 1880). JP and DL for Berkshire and JP for Oxfordshire. His first wife was a member of a leading recusant family and he was received into the Catholic church in the year of his marriage. He was known as Lord Norreys from 1854 until he succeeded his father as 7th Earl of Abingdon, 8 February 1884. High Steward of Abingdon, 1884-1928, representative of Towneley family among the trustees of the British Museum, 1885-1928, and a Governor of Abingdon School, 1901-15. He married 1st, 10 July 1858 at the Royal Bavarian RC Chapel, Warwick St, Westminster (Middx), Caroline Theresa (1838-73), eldest daughter of Col. Charles Towneley (1803-70) of Towneley Hall (Lancs), MP for Sligo, and 2nd, 16 October 1883 at Portsmouth RC Cathedral, Gwendoline Mary (1867-1942), eldest daughter of Lt-Gen. the Hon. Sir James Charlemagne Dormer KCB (1834-93), and had issue:
(1.1) Lady Mary Caroline Bertie (1859-1938), born 11 August 1859; married, 5 August 1879, Sir Edmund Bernard Fitzalan-Howard KG (1855-1947), 1st Viscount Fitzalan of Derwent, of Cumberland Lodge, Windsor, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, 1921-22, second son of Henry Fitzalan-Howard (1815-60), 14th Duke of Norfolk, and had issue one son and one daughter; died 21 April 1938 and was buried in the RC cemetery at Arundel (Sussex); will proved 12 July 1938 (estate £2,571);
(1.2) Montagu Charles Francis Bertie (later Towneley-Bertie) (1860-1919), Lord Norreys (q.v.);
(1.3) Arthur John Bertie (1861-62), born 26 December 1861; died in infancy, 10 January 1862;
(1.4) Lady Alice Josephine Bertie (1865-1950), of Dyneley, Burnley (Lancs), born 3 March 1865; JP for Lancashire; married 1st, 1 February 1890 at the British consulate and All Saints RC church, Cairo (Egypt), Sir Gerald Herbert Portal KCMG (1858-94), diplomat, second son of Melville Portal (1819-1904) of Laverstoke House (Hants), and 2nd, 5 October 1897, Maj. Robert Florent Joseph Nicolas Ghislain Reyntiens (1853-1913), an officer in the Belgian army, son of Maj. Robert Reyntiens of Brussels (Belgium), ADC to HM King Leopold II of the Belgians, and had issue one daughter; died 7 May 1950; will proved 4 January and 28 February 1951 (estate £114,996);
(1.5) Lady Cecil Josephine Bertie (1873-95), born 22 July 1873; married, 18 July 1895 at Ootacomund (India), Brig-Gen. Paul Aloysius Kenna VC DSO (1862-1915), son of James Kenna of Liverpool (Lancs), but had no issue; died of typhoid fever at Bolarum (India), 3 October 1895;
(2.1) Lady Gwendoline Theresa (k/a Goonie) Bertie (1885-1941), born 20 November 1885; married, 8 August 1908, Maj. John Strange Spencer Churchill DSO (1880-1947) of Holworth House, Warmwell (Dorset), stockbroker, younger son of Lord Randulph Churchill (1849-95) and brother of the Prime Minister, Sir Winston Spencer Churchill (1874-1965), and had issue two sons and one daughter (Clarissa, later the wife of Anthony Eden, 1st Earl of Avon, Prime Minister); died 7 July 1941; administration of goods granted 12 September 1941 (estate £310);
(2.2) Hon. Arthur Michael Cosmo Bertie (1886-1957) (q.v.);
(2.3) Lady Elizabeth Constance Mary (k/a Betty) Bertie (1895-1987), born 12 March 1895; appointed OBE, 1938; an officer in the ATS, 1938-42; married 1st, 21 April 1914 at the Brompton Oratory, Maj. Sigismund William Joseph Trafford (1883-1953) of Wroxham Hall (Norfk), eldest son of Edward Southwell Trafford (1838-1912), and had issue one son and three daughters; married 2nd, 5 September 1956 in South Africa, Col. Henry Antrobus Cartwright CMG MC (1887-1957), son of Rev. Arthur Rogers Cartwright of Clevedon (Som.); died 29 July 1987; will proved 8 September 1987 (estate £38,540);
(2.4) Hon. James Willoughby Bertie (1901-66), born 22 September 1901; an officer in the Royal Navy Reserves (Lt-Cdr.), who served in the First World War, 1917-19 and Second World War; a Knight of Honour and Devotion in the Sovereign Military Order of Malta; married, 12 June 1928 at Mount Stewart (Isle of Bute), Lady Jean DGStJ (1908-95), younger daughter of John Crichton-Stuart (1881-1947), 4th Marquess of Bute, and had issue two sons; died on Malta, 11 May 1966; will proved 11 April 1967 (effects in England, £30,074).
He inherited the Rycote, Cumnor and Wytham Abbey estates from his father in 1884, but sold parts of the Cumnor estate from the 1880s, Rycote in 1911 and Wytham Abbey in 1919. He lived at different times at Wytham, Cumnor Place (sold in 1909) and Oaken Holt, Cumnor. According to his great-grandson, he burnt through his inheritance with an "après moi, le déluge" attitude, but lived long enough to be swept up in the flood! His widow lived at Oaken Holt, Cumnor (Berks).
He died aged 91 at Oaken Holt on 10 March, and was buried at Abingdon, 14 March 1928; his will was proved 12 May and 5 July 1928 (estate £226,970). His first wife died 4 September 1873. His second wife died 16 September 1942; her will was proved 19 April 1943 (estate £6,360).

Bertie (later Towneley-Bertie), Montagu Charles Francis (1860-1919), Lord Norreys. Elder and only surviving son of Montagu Arthur Bertie (1836-1928), 7th Earl of Abingdon, and his first wife, Caroline Theresa, eldest daughter of Charles Towneley of Towneley Hall (Lancs), born 3 October 1860. An officer in the army (Capt.) and later in the territorials (Capt.) who served in the Imperial Yeomanry in the Boer War, 1899-1900, and as commandant of a prisoner of war camp, 1915-19. JP and DL for Berkshire and JP for Oxfordshire. A Roman Catholic in religion. He married, 25 July 1885 at St Raphael's RC Church, Kingston-upon-Thames (Surrey), Hon. Rose Riversdale Glyn (1860-1933), daughter of Vice-Adm. Hon. Henry Carr Glyn (1829-84) and sister of the 3rd and 4th Barons Wolverton, and had issue:
(1) Montagu Henry Edmund Cecil Bertie (1887-1963), 8th Earl of Abingdon and later 13th Earl of Lindsey (q.v.);
(2) Lady Alexandra Rose Alice Bertie (1886-1952), born 17 October 1886; granted rank of an earl's daughter, 1928; died unmarried, 21 April 1952; will proved 23 July 1952 (estate £16,052).
He died of heart failure resulting from illness contracted during his wartime employment, in the lifetime of his father, 24 September 1919; his will was proved 15 May 1920 (estate £19,090). His widow died 21 December 1933; her will was proved 13 February 1934 (estate £4,590).

Bertie (later Towneley-Bertie), Montagu Henry Edmund Cecil (1887-1963), 8th Earl of Abingdon and 13th Earl of Lindsey. Only son of Montagu Charles Francis Bertie (later Towneley-Bertie) (1860-1919), Lord Norreys, and his wife the Hon. Rose Riversdale (d. 1933), daughter of Vice-Adm. Hon. Henry Carr Glyn (1829-84) and sister of the 3rd and 4th Barons Wolverton, born 2 November 1887. Educated at Eton. An officer in the Royal Anglesey Engineers (2nd Lt., 1905; Lt., 1905). He is said to have intended to become a Roman Catholic priest, and was in his novitiate when war broke out in 1914, after which he returned to the army, joining the Grenadier Guards (Lt., 1915; Capt., 1918; wounded; retired 1919) and also serving in the Royal Naval Air Service (temp Flight Sub-Lt., 1916). He was employed briefly in Egypt after the First World War. He took the courtesy title Lord Norreys after the death of his father in 1919 and succeeded his grandfather as 8th Earl of Abingdon, 10 March 1928, and his distant kinsman, as 13th Earl of Lindsey, 2 January 1938. High Steward of Abingdon from 1928. He also succeeded his father as representative of the Towneley family among the trustees of the British Museum, 1928-63. He is said to have renounced the Roman Catholic church shortly before his marriage in a registry office, 11 August 1928, to Elizabeth Valetta (k/a Bettine) (1896-1978), a Chevalier of the Legion d'honneur, daughter of Maj-Gen. the Hon. Edward James Montagu-Stuart-Wortley CB CMG DSO MVO (1857-1934) and divorced wife of Capt. Alastair Edward George Grant (1892-1947). They had no issue.
He lived at 3 Seymour St., St. Marylebone in 1939 and later at 2 Curzon Place, Mayfair.
He died 11 September 1963, and was buried at Brookwood Cemetery (Surrey); his will was proved 8 November 1963 (estate £165,700). His widow died 24 October 1978 and her will was proved 19 January 1979 (estate £1,665,508).

Bertie, Hon. Arthur Michael Cosmo (1886-1957). Elder son of Montagu Arthur Bertie (1836-1928), 7th Earl of Abingdon, and his second wife, Gwendoline Mary, eldest daughter of Lt-Gen. the Hon. Sir James Charlemagne Dormer KCB, born 29 September 1886. Educated in Austria and at Balliol College, Oxford (matriculated 1904). Honorary Attaché at Petrograd (Russia). He served in the First World War as an officer in the Rifle Brigade (Maj., 1917; acting Lt-Col. commanding 11th Battn, 1918) (twice wounded and twice mentioned in despatches) and in the Second World War with the South African Defence Force and the Control Commission for Germany, 1945-48; awarded the DSO, 1917 and MC, 1918. A Roman Catholic in religion. He married 1st, 15 May 1929, in Rhodesia, Aline Rose (1888-1948), elder daughter of George Arbuthnot-Leslie of Warthill (Aberdeens.) and widow of Hon. Charles Fox Maule Ramsay MC (1885-1926), and 2nd, 7 May 1949, Lilian Mary Isabel (1902-2000), eldest daughter of Charles Edward Cary-Elwes (1869-1947) of Staithe House, Beccles (Suffk) and widow of Lt-Cdr. Frank Dayrell Montague Crackenthorpe RN (1900-44), and had issue:
(1.1) Richard Henry Rupert Bertie (b. 1931), 14th Earl of Lindsey and 9th Earl of Abingdon (q.v.).
He lived at Selwood, Mells (Som.) and later at Crepping Hall, Stutton (Suffk).
He died 1 February, and was buried at St Mary's RC church, East Bergholt (Suffk), 6 February 1957; his will was proved 30 May 1957 (estate £6,037). His first wife died 5 July 1948 and her will was proved 9 March 1949 (estate £2,434). His widow died aged 98 on 25 September 2000; her will was proved 31 October 2000.

Bertie, Richard Henry Rupert (b. 1931), 14th Earl of Lindsey and 9th Earl of Abingdon. Only child of the Hon. Arthur Michael Cosmo Bertie (1886-1957) and his first wife, Aline Rose, elder daughter of George Arbuthnot-Leslie of Warthill (Aberdeens.) and widow of the Hon. Charles Fox Maule Ramsay MC, born 28 June 1931. Educated at Ampleforth. He succeeded his cousin as 14th Earl of Lindsey and 9th Earl of Abingdon, 11 September 1963. After service in the army (2nd Lt., 1952; Lt., 1954; retired 1957) he became a broker and an underwriting member of Lloyds, 1958-96;  Chairman, Dawes and Henderson (Agencies) Ltd, 1988–92; Chairman of the Anglo-Ivory Coast Society, 1974-77. High Steward of Abingdon since 1963. A Roman Catholic in religion. He married, 5 January 1957 at St Mary's RC Church, Cadogan Sq., Westminster (Middx), Norah Elizabeth (b. 1932), younger daughter of Mark Oliver (later Farquhar-Oliver) OBE of Edgerston, Jedburgh (Roxburghs), and had issue:
(1) Henry Mark Willoughby Bertie (b. 1958), Lord Norreys, born 6 June 1958; educated at Eton and Edinburgh University; styled Lord Norreys from 11 September 1963, and heir apparent to his father in the earldoms of Lindsey and Abingdon; a Knight of Honour and Devotion in the Sovereign Military Order of Malta, 1995; a Knight of Justice in Sacred Military Constantinian Order of St. George, 1998; and a Knight of the Order of Saints Maurice and Lazarus, 1998; he and his wife ran a gallery in Andalucia (Spain) for twelve years before moving to The Old Dairy, Gilmilnscroft; he married, 8 December 1989, Lucinda Sol (b. 1960), shoe designer, second daughter of Christopher Stewart Moorsom, and has issue two sons; now living;
(2) Lady Annabel Frances Rose Bertie (b. 1969), born 11 March 1969; educated at St Mary's, Ascot and Edinburgh University (MA 1991); interior designer; now living;
(3) Hon. Alexander Michael Richard Bertie (b. 1970), born 8 April 1970; educated at Eton and Queen's College, Oxford (BA 1992); marketing consultant; married, 17 April 1998, Catherine Davina (k/a Katy), daughter of Prof. Gordon Campbell Cameron (1937-90), Master of Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge, and has issue one son and one daughter; now living.
He lived at Gilmilnscroft House, Sorn (Ayrshire), a seat of his wife's family, until it was sold in 2011 and now at Blairston Mains (Ayrshire).
Now living. His wife is now living.

Principal sources

Burke's Peerage and Baronetage, 2003, pp. 2348-52; A. Collins, Peerage of England, 1812, vol. 3, pp. 628-36; J. Ingamells, British and Irish travellers in Italy, 1701-1800, 1997, pp. 2, 85-86; personal communications from Lord Norreys, 2024-25.

Location of archives

Bertie, Earls of Abingdon: deeds, estate and household papers, 1639-1919 [Bodleian Library, MS DD Bertie]; estate papers, 1760-80 [Royal Berkshire Archives, D/EDb]; deeds and papers relating to Notley Abbey, Long Crendon (Bucks), 17th-18th cents [Buckinghamshire Archives, D52]

Coat of arms

Argent, three battering rams fesswise in pale proper, headed and garnished azure.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone provide portraits or photographs of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further or more precise information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 30 March 2025 and updated 8 August 2026. I am grateful to Lord Norreys for his assistance with this family, and to James Heald for corrections.