Showing posts with label Staffordshire. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Staffordshire. Show all posts

Monday, 25 May 2026

(636) Birch and Wyrley-Birch of Harborne House, Hamstead Hall, Wretham Hall and Armitage Lodge.

Birch of Wretham Hall
This family were settled as farmers and nailmakers in the villages north of Birmingham by the 16th and early 17th centuries. They were kin to the Birch family of Birch Hall, Manchester (who, although an ancient family, will not be the subject of a post as they never owned a country house), although the precise connection between the two is obscure. The genealogy below begins with George Birch (1616-60), who leased Harborne House (Staffs) in the late 17th century, and was the father of at least two sons. The elder, George Birch (1652-1722), was heir to his father's property at Harborne, while the younger, Thomas Birch (1654-1724?), was the ancestor of the Birches of Armitage Lodge, also considered in this post. George Birch (1652-1722) bought the freehold of Harborne House in about 1710, and also purchased an estate at Birchfield in Handsworth (Staffs) in about 1700. His eldest son, George Birch (b. 1689) evidently died in the lifetime of his father, so it was his second son, Sir Thomas Birch (1690-1757), kt., who inherited his father's estate. Sir Thomas was educated at the Inner Temple and became a successful lawyer, ending up as a judge in the court of common pleas, while two of his younger brothers went to university and became clergymen. Another brother, James Birch (1698-1772) was the ancestor of the Birch-Reynardson family and will be considered in my next post.

Although Sir Thomas inherited his father's property and was High Sheriff of Staffordshire in 1715-16, his legal duties kept him in London a good deal, and he lived chiefly in chambers there, and at Southgate in Edmonton (Middx). He had three sons, none of whom followed him into the law. His heir was George Birch (1739-1807), who inherited Hamstead Hall in Handsworth from his first cousin once removed, John Wyrley Birch (1707-75), and subsequently sold Harborne House. He rebuilt Hamstead Hall in the late 18th century as a comfortably elegant classical country house. George's brother Thomas inherited some lands at Harborne from his father and also in 1776 an estate at Erdington (Warks) from his uncle, the Rev. John Birch, but died without issue in 1795. George himself had only one son, Wyrley Birch (1781-1866), who was named for the family which had long held the manor of Hamstead and from whom it had passed by marriage to the (Manchester) Birches. 

As a result of his marriage settlement and the fortuitous accumulation of legacies, Wyrley Birch (1781-1866) became much wealthier than his forebears had been. This allowed him to sell the small Hamstead Hall estate and purchase Wretham Hall in Norfolk, which was a relatively new house of similar size, but set on a much larger estate. He also expanded the estate so that by the time of his death it ran to over 6,400 acres. He and his wife had an exceptionally large family of fifteen children, but rather than share his property out among them, he insisted that his sons should all follow professions and make their own way in the world. His eldest son, George Wyrley Birch (1805-55), who farmed in Lincolnshire and later on the Wretham estate, having died in his lifetime, he handed on his estate intact to the latter's eldest son, Wyrley Birch (later Wyrley-Birch) (1837-1901). The younger Wyrley, who as an army officer had served in the Crimea and the Indian mutiny, seems to have run into some financial difficulties, for although at first he occupied Wretham Hall, he sold it in 1879 and moved to Cromer on the Norfolk coast. The house at Wretham burnt down in 1906 and was subsequently rebuilt, but finally demolished in 1948.

Thomas Birch (1654-1724?), the younger son of George Birch (1616-60), seems to have settled at Brereton in Rugeley (Staffs), where he was succeeded by his only recorded son, Thomas Birch (1697-1771). The latter's only surviving son, Andrew Birch (1728-98) also lived at Brereton, and several of his children became nonconformists in religion. His two daughters occupied Brereton House after his death and endowed a Methodist school and almshouses at Brereton in the mid 19th century. His younger son, Edmund John Birch (1776-1829) was set up in business as a pottery manufacturer by his father, but in about 1810 he gave this up and put his capital into a bank at Stafford. He continued to be closely associated with the pottery industry, however, for in 1821 his second marriage was to Mary, daughter of Josiah Spode II (1754-1827). Andrew's eldest son, Thomas Birch (1774-1837), inherited his lands Brereton but added to them additional lands in the adjoining parish of Armitage. These probably included an existing house, which he greatly enlarged and remodelled to form a new seat called Armitage Lodge, which was complete by 1808, and in the grounds of which he built an independent chapel. His only son, Thomas John Birch (1808-95), was educated at Glasgow University and became a solicitor. He also became a major shareholder in a local colliery company, of which he was chairman for the last fifteen years of his life. He married the daughter of a London and Devonshire banker, and had one son and four daughters. He seems to have fallen out with his son, Lightwood Thomas Birch (1851-1903), perhaps on account of the latter's separation from his wife in about 1891. At all events, Lightwood was cut out oof his will, and the Armitage Lodge estate was left jointly to the four daughters, who sold it in 1896. Until the 1890s, Lightwood had pursued an unremarkable career, serving as an officer in the Staffordshire militia and becoming a JP, but after splitting from his wife - who kept their house in Lichfield - he dropped out of local society and went to live at Hastings (Sussex). Here, in 1901, he was cohabiting with a much younger German woman - claiming at the time of the census to be her uncle, though that seems improbable. Starved of resources by his father's testamentary dispositions, he left a paltry estate of £72 at his death in 1903.

Harborne House (now Bishops Croft), Harborne, Staffordshire

Nothing is known of the manor house occupied by the Birch family, which was replaced in about 1780 by a new house that was probably built for Thomas Green, a Birmingham manufacturer who acquired the manor of Harborne. His house is a three-storey brick cube, with an entrance front of three widely-spaced bays, with a plain dentil cornice and parapet. The Adam-style doorcase has half columns and plaster garlands in the frieze. To either side are pedimented wings which are co-eval with the house, although the connecting links between the house and the wings were enlarged as part of alterations by A.S. Dixon of 1902-03 for Archibald Kenrick. On the garden front, the centre is of five bays with a Doric porch in front of the central bay. The symmetry of the facade is disturbed by a one-and-a-half storey extension to the right of the central block that accommodates Dixon's dining room. The tall chimneys which tower above the wings are also Dixon's work. 

Harborne House (now Bishop's Croft): entrance front in 2001. Image: J.J. Sheridan/Historic England

Harborne House (now Bishop's Croft): garden front. 
Inside, the off-centre entrance hall has an Adam-style ceiling with delicate flowers, circular and diamond-shaped panels, and a frieze of lyres and garlands. The axial corridor has a similar frieze, and there is more 18th century plasterwork on the first-floor landing. Dixon provided a new open-well timber staircase to the right of the hall, with alternating octagonal and twisted balusters, but the most important interior is the dining room,which has full-height panelling and an excellent deep plaster frieze by G.P. Bankart decorated with garlands of roses, berries and other fruit, and a metalwork fireplace designed by the Birmingham Guild. Dixon also created the billiard room (now the bishop's study) in the west wing, with further plasterwork decoration by Bankart.

The house was acquired in 1921 as a residence for the Bishop of Birmingham, and in 1923 Dixon added a chapel in red-blue brick at the south-west corner of the house. Inside, the chapel is wainscoted to above head height, and has a plain groined vault. A fine screen divides a lobby from the chapel proper, which is arranged with plain stalls against the walls, like a college chapel.

Descent: Crown granted 1553 to Edward, Lord Dudley (d. 1586); to son, who sold 1604 to Sir Charles Cornwallis (d. 1629); to grandson, Charles Cornwallis, who sold 1661 to Thomas Foley... Philip Foley sold c.1710 to George Birch (1652-1722); to son, Sir Thomas Birch (1690-1757), kt.; to son, George Birch (1739-1807), who leased 1781 and sold 1785 to Thomas Green (1731-1803); to nephew, Thomas Green Simcox (d. 1828); to son, Rev. Thomas Green Simcox (1810-76); sold to Harry Heaton (d. c.1900); sold to John Archibald Kenrick (1869-1933); sold with 17 acres in 1921 for £10,000 to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners as a residence for the bishops of Birmingham.

Hamstead Hall, Handsworth, Staffordshire

The original Hamstead Hall, which may have been the manor house of Handsworth, stood in a small park close to Hamstead Mill on the River Tame, but was replaced by a house on a new site further west in about 1775, by which time the park had disappeared. Pipe-laying works in 1933 revealed some of the foundations of the old house and suggested a tentative dating to the 15th century. 

Hamstead Hall: view of the house in about 1799, from Stebbing Shaw's History of Staffordshire.
The new house, built for George Birch after he inherited the house in 1775, was a two-storey block of five by nine bays, with the main entrance under a pedimental gable containing a Diocletian window in the short elevation, which faced slightly west of south. The longer east elevation had a slightly recessed three-bay centre, with the three bays at either end crowned by similar pedimental gables to the south front. Irregular extensions and service accommodation lay to the north and west. Inside, the house was tastefully decorated in the Adam manner, and the drawing room was hung with a Chinese wallpaper. In 1884, when it was advertised to let, the house contained a spacious entrance hall, morning, dining, and drawing rooms, a library, billiard room, and twenty bedrooms. The partly wooded grounds sloped down to the River Tame, and a walled garden with a large greenhouse stood between the house and the river to its north.

Hamstead Hall: the house shortly before demolition in 1936. Image: Library of Birmingham.

Hamstead Hall: the drawing room chimneypiece in the Adam style. Image: Library of Birmingham
After the estate was sold to the Earls of Dartmouth in the early 19th century, it was rented out to a succession of local industrialists, who kept it in fairly good repair, although the proximity of the Hamstead Hall Colliery did not improve the amenities of the property. In 1935, however, the house was in the way of the relentless suburban expansion of Birmingham, and it was advertised for sale with a view to demolition. It was pulled down shortly afterwards, as a press reporter observed the process of dismantling in January 1936 and a demolition sale was held in June that year. By 1939 a housing estate had been laid out on the site.

Descent: Humphrey Wyrley (fl. 1615); to son, Sir John Wyrley (c.1607-87), kt.; to brother, Humfrey Wyrley (d. 1689); to son, Humfrey Wyrley (b. 1648; fl. 1705); to daughter Sibyll, wife of Rev. Dr. Peter Birch, prebendary of Westminster; to son, John Wyrley Birch (1707-75); to kinsman, George Birch (1739-1807); to son, Wyrley Birch (1781-1866), who sold about 1813 to William Legge (1784-1853), 4th Earl of Dartmouth... sold for demoliton, 1935. After the sale to Lord Dartmouth, the house was generally let, and tenants included William Wallis (d. 1825), merchant; John Lewis Moilliet (1770-1845), a Swiss banker, later of Abberley Hall (Worcs); Charles Smith Forster (1786-1850), banker and MP; William Bagnall (d. 1863) and his son, William Henry Bagnall; Charles Kirkham (fl. 1881-84), who opened the grounds as a short-lived commercial pleasure park; George Kynoch MP (d. 1891), ammunition manufacturer; and Joseph Boston (fl. 1900-09). 

Wretham Hall, Norfolk

The Wretham estate belonged to King's College, Cambridge from the 15th century to the early 19th century. In 1790 the college leased the estate to William Colhoun, who built the first country house here. It is marked on Faden's map of Norfolk in 1797 as 'New House' and was probably still under construction at the time of his survey. Wyrley Birch, who became tenant in 1812, subsequently purchased the freehold and expanded the estate to some 6,400 acres. It was no doubt he who laid out the park, which incorporated several natural meres and the ruins of the former parish church. Creating the park required the diversion of several roads and the removal of some houses. During the later 19th century the property was noted for the excellence of its shooting.

Wretham Hall: the south front of the house built in the 1790s, before the fire of 1906.
A surviving photograph and map evidence show that the Georgian house was a rectangular block with two semi-circular bows on the short east elevation, while the entrance was on the six-bay south front and a service wing extended to the west. The north front was pedimented and had a more elegant seven-bay facade, and may have been the original entrance front. Rather curiously, while the house was generally of two storeys, on the south front there were three storeys, with the two lower floors corresponding to the tall ground floor on the other elevations; the south windows of the room behind the bow were blind. This suggests that a small earlier house - perhaps the 'Pretyman's Farm' marked on a map of 1759 - was incorporated into the building. The fourth bay of the south front was stepped forward and was evidently altered in the 19th century, when banded rustication was applied to the angles of the breakfront and a balustraded single-storey porch was built in front of the projecting bay. Little seems to be known of the layout or decoration of the interior, but when the house was advertised for sale in 1910 it was said to comprise three good reception rooms and fourteen bedrooms; the two main reception rooms were probably behind the bow windows, which commanded views over the park.

Wretham Hall: the north front after the fire of 1906, showing how the house was completely gutted.

Wretham Hall: the temporary residence on the estate in 1910.
Image: Country Life.
A fire in 1900, occasioned by a beam being ignited in the kitchen chimney, was put out with only moderate damage, but on the night of Boxing Day 1906 a second fire, apparently from the same cause, largely destroyed the house and all its contents, with only the drawing room furniture being saved. No effort seems to have been made to repair or replace the lost mansion, but a building on the estate called 'the manor house' in 1910 was evidently fitted up as a temporary residence. In 1910 the Wretham estate was sold to the engineer, Sir Saxton Noble (1863-1942) for £42,750. He at once set about clearing the site and building a new house to the designs of Sir Reginald Blomfield. This was at first intended to be a small shooting box, but it grew prodigiously during the design process. It also went through considerable stylistic changes, with one drawing showing it with high hipped roofs of almost French proportions, while in the end it was a more traditional two-and-a-half storey H-shaped red brick building with Portland stone doorcases, in the 'Wrenaissance' tradition, symmetrical about two axes. The new house stood on approximately the same site as the old one, but was differently aligned.

Wretham Hall: the new house in 1917. Image: Historic England.

Wretham Hall: aerial view of the house in the 1930s.
The long east and west elevations were of nine bays and eleven bays respectively, with the two bays at either end of both fronts projecting; the short elevations were of seven bays, with the central three bays articulated by giant pilasters and slightly stepped forward. A service wing projected at the north end. A cornice ran round the building above the two main storeys, and in the attic above the windows were circular above the wings and doorcase on the entrance front, and between the wings on the garden front. Inside, the main entrance on the west led into a passage, flanked by a cloakroom and the owner's business room, to a large hall on the east front. The south end of the house was occupied by the drawing room and library, while the north end contained the dining room, billiard room, staircase, and a card room. In accordance with Victorian tradition, the layout was designed to maximise the distance from drawing room to dining room to facilitate a stately progression between the two. The interior was extensively panelled, but had murals in the dining room painted in 1918-19 by the Spanish artist, J.M. Sert, who also decorated the music room at Sir Saxton's London home, Kent House, Knightsbridge.

The magnificence of Sir Reginald Blomfield's new hall was short-lived, for the property changed hands several times in the early 20th century. On the death of Sir John Dewrance in 1938, the estate was put up for sale in lots, and some 3,347 acres were sold to the Forestry Commission, but the house and park remained with his daughter. In 1939 the house was used to house evacuated children from Dr Bernardo's Homes, but following the construction of an airfield at East Wretham in 1940, it became an officers' mess for the RAF (and for the USAAF from 1943-45). With no resident representative of the owners to exert control, the building had been badly damaged by military occupation, and in 1948 it was advertised for sale with just four acres of land. When it failed to find a buyer the owners held a demolition sale in October 1948 and the house was pulled down soon afterwards, after an existence of less than thirty-five years.

Descent: King's College, Cambridge leased 1790 to William Colhoun and later to Lord Paget and Wyrley Birch (1781-1866), who bought the freehold; to grandson, Wyrley Wyrley-Birch (1837-1901), who sold 1879 to William Morris (d. 1890); to nephew, Sydney Morris (c.1851-1924); burnt 1906 and sold 1910 to Sir Saxton William Armstrong Noble (1863-1942), 1st bt., who rebuilt the house; sold 1926 to Sir John Dewrance (1858-1937), kt.; to daughter, Claire (1887-1942), widow of Maj. Ernest Evelyn Rich (d. 1917); sold 1943 after her death to William Spruce, William Seamon and Anthony Seaman, Norwich grain merchants; demolished c.1948.

Armitage Lodge, Staffordshire

The history of this house is unusually obscure, but there may have been a building on the site before the elevations illustrated here were built, as the roofing plan suggests that the house had quite a complicated development history. The elevations that existed in the 20th century appear to date largely from the early 19th century, and it seems possible that they date from after the estate was acquired by Thomas Birch, who obtained a mortgage on the property in 1813 but was already resident by 1808. Alterations and improvements are also said to have been made for the Rev. Edward Sansom after he retired to the house in 1896.

Armitage Lodge: an aerial view of the house from the north in the mid 20th century.

Armitage Lodge: west front (though labelled south), from an early 20th century postcard.
When the house was advertised for sale in 1921 it was said to contain four reception rooms and nineteen bedrooms. Thereafter, it changed hands fairly frequently, and in the 1950s became first a club or hostel and then was partially converted to flats. In 1974 it began to be affected by mining subsidence, which progressed quickly to the point where the house became uninhabitable and it was vacated. Vandalism of the empty property followed, and it was demolished in 1975. Outline planning permission for a replacement dwelling on the site was obtained soon afterwards, but a succession of detailed schemes were rejected by the local authority, partly because of the subsidence risk, and partly for other reasons. Not until 1991 were plans approved on appeal for a new two-storey house.

Armitage Lodge: north front after the partial collapse of a retaining wall, 1974.

Descent: built or remodelled for Thomas Birch (1774-1837); to son, Thomas John Birch (1808-95); to daughters, who sold 1896 to Rev. Edward Samson (d. 1921); to daughter, Mrs Fowler Butler (d. 1949), who sold c.1925 to R.E. Moore; sold 1931 to Cuthbert Bailey, Managing Director of Doulton, pottery manufacturers, who established a poultry farm in the grounds; sold 1951 to Mr & Mrs E.A. Wooldridge as a hostel called Five Estates Club; sold 1956 to Mr & Mrs Lury, who occupied part of it and divided the rest into seven flats; demolished 1975.

Birch family of Harborne House, Hamstead Hall and Wretham Hall


Birch, George (1616-60?). Son of Thomas Birch and his wife, born 1616. He married Catherine [surname unknown] and had issue, perhaps among others:
(1) George Birch (1652-1722) (q.v.);
(2) Thomas Birch (1654-1724?) [for whom see below, Birch family of Armitage Lodge]
He became tenant of Harborne House in the late 17th century.
He is said to have died 4 December 1660. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Birch, George (1652-1722). Son of George Birch (1616-60?) and his wife Catherine, baptised 22 May 1652. He married, 4 February 1688/9 at Castle Bromwich (Warks), Mary (1662-1747?), daughter of Thomas Forrester of Castle Bromwich, and had issue:
(1) George Birch (b. 1689), born 14 November and baptised at Harborne, 26 November 1689; educated at Inner Temple (admitted 1707); died unmarried, probably in the lifetime of his father;
(2) Sir Thomas Birch (1690-1757), kt. (q.v.);
(3) Rev. John Birch (1692-1776), born 20 February and baptised at Harborne, 8 March 1692/3; educated at Pembroke College, Oxford (matriculated 1708; BA 1712*); rector of Binfield (Berks), 1721-67; lived at Henley-on-Thames (Oxon), where he was a schoolmaster; inherited his father's lands at Erdington (Warks); married, 13/23 January 1731 at Kinver (Staffs), Elizabeth Wood, but had no issue; died 28 June 1776; will proved in the PCC, 20 July 1776;
(4) Mary Birch (1694-1784), born 27 January and baptised at Harborne, 8 February 1694/5; married, 8 January 1719/20 at Harborne, William Greene, and had issue; died aged 90 on 29 March, and was buried at Harborne, 4 April 1784;
(5) James Birch (1698-1772) [for whom see my forthcoming post on the Birch-Reynardson family]
(6) Rev. Samuel Birch (b. 1700), born 4 August and baptised at Harborne, 19 August 1700; educated at Pembroke College, Cambridge (matriculated 1716; BA 1719; MA 1722); said to have married and had issue; death not traced;
(7) Elizabeth Birch (1703-32), born 4 August and baptised 17 August 1703; married, 27 March 1722, as his first wife, Abraham Spooner (1691-1788), iron merchant, of Rookery Hall, Erdington and Elmdon Hall (Warks), and had issue one daughter; buried at Harborne, 6 May 1732.
He purchased the Birchfield estate in Handsworth from his cousin, John Birch, in about 1700. He inherited the lease of Harborne Hall from his father and purchased the freehold c.1710.
He was buried at Harborne, 12 February 1721/2. His widow is said to have died in 1747.
* Although his name is given in the graduation records as Richard.

Sir Thomas Birch (1690-1757) 
Birch, Sir Thomas (1690-1757), kt.
Second, but probably eldest surviving, son of George Birch (1652-1722) and his wife Mary, daughter of Thomas Forrester, said to have been born 1690 and baptised 25 February 1690/1. Educated at Inner Temple (admitted 1709; called 1715). 
High Sheriff of Staffordshire, 1715-16. Barrister-at-law; Serjeant-at-Law, 1730-45; King's Serjeant, 1745-46; Judge of the Common Pleas, 1746-57. He became a member of the court of the New England Company, 1722. He was knighted in 1745. He married, 9 October 1733 at Edmonton (Middx), Sarah (1705-54), daughter and co-heir of John William Teshmaker of Edmonton, and had issue:
(1) Mary Birch (1734-86?), born 4 October and baptised at St Clement Danes, 22 October 1734; lived at Southgate (Middx); died unmarried and was probably the woman of this name buried in the Countess of Huntingdon's Connection graveyard at Spa Fields, London, 7 November 1786;
(2) Esther Barbara Birch (1736-1812), baptised at St Clement Danes, London, 23 November 1736; married, 18 May 1779 at St Marylebone (Middx), Rev. Thomas Lane (1746-1802), rector of Handsworth 1776-1802, son of Thomas Lane of Bentley (Staffs), but had no issue; buried at St Marylebone, 4 May 1812;
(3) George Birch (1739-1807) (q.v.);
(4) Thomas Birch (1742-95), baptised at St Clement Danes, London, 15 December 1742; educated at Queens' College, Cambridge (matriculated 1761) and Inner Temple (admitted 1761); farmer at Redhall, Harborne and inherited his uncle's lands at Erdington (Warks) in 1776; died without issue, 11 March, and was buried at Harborne, 14 March 1795;
(5) John William Birch (1744-95), baptised at St Clement Danes, London, 5 September 1744; an officer in the Royal Horse Guards (Cornet, 1761; Lt., 1764; Capt., 1771; retired 1777); died unmarried, 20 April, and was buried at St Marylebone, 25 April 1795.
He inherited Harborne House from his father in 1721, but lived chiefly at Southgate, Edmonton (Middx).
He died 14 March and was buried at Edmonton, 22 March 1757. His wife died 16 June, and was buried at Edmonton, 22 June 1754.

Birch, George (1739-1807). Eldest son of Sir Thomas Birch (1690-1757), kt., and his wife Sarah, daughter of John William Teshmaker, baptised at St Clement Danes, London, 26 July 1739. Educated at Queens' College, Cambridge (matriculated 1757) and Inner Temple (admitted 1755). High Sheriff of Staffordshire, 1803-04. In 1789 he purchased a steam engine from his neighbour, James Watt, the engineer, 'to wash his house [Hamstead Hall] with'. He married, 5 February 1776 at Handsworth, Anne (1751-1806), third daughter of Thomas Lane of Bentley and granddaughter of John Lane by his wife Mary, eldest daughter of Humphrey Wyrley, and had issue:
(1) Mary Ann Birch (1776-1820), born 24 November 1776; married, 8 December 1801, Richard Congreve (1778-1857) of Burton (Ches.) and had issue five sons and five daughters; died 5 August and was buried 12 August 1820 at Burton, where she is commemorated by a fine marble monument;
(2) Esther Barbara Birch (1778-91), baptised at Handsworth, 28 February 1778; died young and was buried at Handsworth, 2 May 1791;
(3) Sarah Birch (1780-1836?), baptised at Handsworth, 15 January 1780; died unmarried and was probably the woman of this name buried at Handsworth, 12 June 1836;
(4) Wyrley Birch (1781-1866) (q.v.);
(5) Ann Birch (1785-1848), baptised 21 September 1785; married, 15 September 1812 at Handsworth, Joseph Jeanes Durbin (1774-1848), an officer in the 2nd Somerset Militia (Maj.), son of Sir John Durbin (1734-1814), 1st bt., of Walton Manor House, Walton-in-Gordano (Som.), mayor of Bristol in 1778, and had issue four sons and six daughters; died 3 April and was buried at Holy Trinity, Cheltenham, 8 April 1848.
He inherited Harborne House from his father in 1757 but leased it from 1781 and sold it in 1785. He inherited Hamstead House in 1775 from his first cousin once removed, John Wyrley Birch (1707-75), and rebuilt the house.
He died 7 February, and was buried at Handsworth, 14 February 1807; his will was proved in the PCC, 4 May 1807. His wife died 12 February and was buried at Handsworth, 20 February 1806.

Birch, Wyrley (1781-1866). Only son of George Birch (1739-1807) and his wife Anne, third daughter of Thomas Lane of Bentley, baptised at Handsworth (Staffs), 11 September 1781. Educated at Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge (matriculated 1800). JP for Norfolk; High Sheriff of Norfolk, 1848. A Liberal in politics. His obituarist described him as a man with an inflexible sense of duty who was a strict disciplinarian in his own home, but possessed of a natural bonhomie. He married, 19 July 1804 at St Marylebone (Middx), Katharine Sarah (1780-1861), third daughter and co-heiress of Jacob Reynardson of Holywell Hall (Lincs), and had issue:
(1) George Wyrley Birch (1805-55) (q.v.);
(2) Thomas Jacob Birch (1806-68), born 15 October 1806; educated at Eton, Brasenose College, Oxford (matriculated 1823; BA 1828; MA 1831) and Inner Temple (admitted 1828; called 1831); barrister-at-law on the Norfolk circuit; Recorder of Thetford (Norfk), 1847-68; JP for Norfolk (where he was joint chairman of Quarter Sessions) and County Mayo; with his next brother, purchased a farm at Ballycroy, Ballina (Co. Mayo) about 1850, to which he intended to retire; he was unmarried and died unexpectedly at Ballycroy, 24 April 1868 and was buried at Wretham; will proved 1 July 1868 (effects under £20,000);
(3) Katherine Mary Anne Birch (1808-68), born 1 January and baptised at Handsworth, 6 February 1808; died unmarried, 3 January 1868, and was buried in the Protestant Cemetery at Rome (Italy); will proved 17 April 1868 (effects under £45,000);
(4) Henry William Birch (1809-78), born 26 September and baptised at Handsworth, 20 October 1809; educated at Eton and St John's College, Cambridge (matriculated 1829; BA 1833; MA 1836); solicitor in Lincoln's Inn Fields, London; with his next elder brother, purchased a farm at Ballycroy, Ballina (Co. Mayo); died unmarried, 8 April, and was buried at Brompton Cemetery (Middx), 12 April 1878; will proved 3 June 1878 (effects under £40,000);
(5) Jemima Lucy Birch (1811-92), baptised at Handsworth, 18 August 1811; married, 31 August 1841 at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), as his second wife, Richard Longfield (1802-89) of Longueville (Co. Cork), MP for County Cork, 1835-37, and had issue three sons and two daughters; died 15 January 1892; will proved in Dublin, 1 June 1892 (effects £8,441);
(6) Rev. Frederick Lane Birch (1812-50), baptised at Handsworth, 15 November 1812; educated at Charterhouse and St John's College, Cambridge (matriculated 1831; BA 1836; MA 1840); ordained deacon, 1835, and priest, 1836; rector of East and West Wretham (Norfk), 1836-50; died unmarried, 30 May, and was buried at Wretham, 3 June 1850; his rather remarkable will, which left sealed instructions to his executors which were not to be opened or acted upon until after his father's death, was proved in the PCC, 19 August 1850;
(7) twin, Frances Augusta Birch (1813-97), born 1 July and baptised at Handsworth, 24 July 1813; married, 23 July 1833 at Wretham, William Peere Williams-Freeman (1811-73) of Arniston (Midl.), Fawley Court (Bucks) and Pylewell Park (Hants), and had issue five sons and two daughters; died at Walliscote (Oxon), 15 January 1897, and was buried at South Baddesley (Hants), where she and her husband are commemorated on a gravestone in the churchyard;
(8) twin, Charlotte Etheldred Birch (1813-58), born 1 July and baptised at Handsworth, 24 July 1813; died unmarried and was buried at Wretham, 14 September 1858;
(9) Juliana Maria Birch (1815-98), born 31 May and baptised at Wretham, 13 July 1815; married, 3 November 1840 at Wretham, Henry Fowler Broadwood (1811-93), piano manufacturer, of Lyne House, Newdigate (Surrey) (which he rebuilt c.1865), son of James Shudi Broadwood, piano maker, and had issue two sons and five daughters; died 2 April 1898 and was buried at Rusper (Sussex); will proved 6 June 1898 (effects £7,128);
(10) John Charles Birch (1816-18), born 22 August and baptised at Wretham, 22 September 1816; died young, 25 October, and was buried at Wretham, 30 October 1818;
(11) Peregrine Birch (1817-98), born 21 December 1817 and baptised at Wretham, 23 February 1818; educated at Rugby; a committee clerk in the House of Lords, 1836-78; married, 5 September 1843 at Hayes (Middx), Anna Charlotte (c.1823-1901), daughter of Gen. James Grant of Hayes Park, and had issue six sons and five daughters; died 26 June and was buried at Forest Row (Sussex), 30 June 1898; his will was proved 25 July 1898 (effects £43,123);
(12) Elizabeth Caroline Birch (1819-1906), born 11 December and baptised at Wretham, 24 December 1819; married, 20 August 1844 at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), Robert Pryor (1812-89) of Weston Park and High Elms (Herts), barrister-at-law, son of Thomas Marlborough Pryor, and had issue at least three sons; died 15 March and was buried at Leavesden (Herts), 17 March 1906; administration of goods granted 14 June 1906 (estate £13,279);
(13) Anna Sophia Birch (b. & d. 1821), born 12 March and baptised at Wretham, 15 April 1821; died in infancy and was buried at Wretham, 18 April 1821;
(14) Laurence Birch (1823-95), born 16 November 1823 and baptised at Wretham, 19 February 1824; educated at Rugby and St John's College, Cambridge (matriculated 1842); a committee clerk in the House of Lords (Clerk of the Journals, 1873-84); JP for Wiltshire; lived in retirement at Fisherton Delamere House (Wilts), which he leased from 1871 and purchased in 1881, but which was sold after his death; married, 13 November 1855 at St John, Hampstead (Middx), Elizabeth Gertrude (1832-77), daughter of David Powell of Heath Lodge, Hampstead, and had issue one son and one daughter; died 28 March 1895; will proved 1 June 1895 (effects £30,497);
(15) Agnes Ellen Birch (1824-1910), born 21 December 1824 and baptised at Wretham, 2 January 1825; married, 12 September 1850 at the Episcopal Chapel, Melrose (Roxb.), Rev. James Park Whalley (c.1818-1911), rector of Illington (Norfk) and later of Wretham, second son of Frederick Whalley of Westminster, and had issue five sons and two daughters; buried at Westhampnett (Sussex), 28 January 1910; administration of goods granted 18 February 1910 (estate £3,277).
He inherited Hamstead Hall from his father in 1807, but sold it about 1813. He leased Wretham Hall (Norfk) from 1812 and purchased the freehold soon afterwards. In 1825 he obtained an Act of Parliament allowing him to exchange an estate at Shipdham (Norfk) for additional lands in East and West Wretham. He also owned property at Somerby (Lincs).
He died 24 December 1866 and was buried at Wretham; his will was proved 27 April 1867 (effects under £80,000). His wife died 11 October 1861.

Birch, George Wyrley (1805-55). Eldest son of Wyrley Birch (1781-1866) and his wife Katharine Sarah, third daughter of Jacob Reynardson of Holywell Hall (Lincs), born 8 April and baptised at St Marylebone (Middx), 15 May 1805. Educated at Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge (matriculated 1824). An officer in the army (Ensign, 1825; Lt., 1826; retired 1830). Farmer at Roxholm Hall, near Leasingham (Lincs) and later at Wretham. He married, 17 January 1833 at Burton (Ches.), his first cousin, Jane (1810-77), third daughter of Richard Congreve of Burton, and had issue:
(1) Katherine Sarah Wyrley Birch (1833-71), born 19 October and baptised at Rauceby (Lincs), 5 November 1833; died unmarried, and was buried at Great Yarmouth (Norfk), 16 March 1871;
(2) Jane Marianne Wyrley Birch (1834-87), born 18 December 1834 and baptised at Rauceby, 25 January 1835; died unmarried, 6 October, and was buried at Great Yarmouth, 7 October 1887;
(3) Wyrley Birch (later Wyrley-Birch) (1837-1901) (q.v.);
(4) Richard Jacob Wyrley Birch (1838-1901), born 8 September and baptised at Leasingham, 18 November 1838; educated at Marlborough; an officer in the army (Cornet, 1858; Lt., 1859; Capt., 1861); married, 31 October 1867 at Montreal (Canada), Catherine Leonora Margaret (b. 1843), second daughter of Alexander Home Vass of Montreal, and had issue three sons and one daughter; died at Quebec (Canada), 1 September 1901; administration of goods granted 31 July 1911 (estate in England, £281);
(5) Henry William Wyrley Birch (1840-58), born 17 March and baptised at Leasingham, 7 May 1840; educated at Marlborough; midshipman in Royal Navy; presumed drowned in the loss with all hands of HMS Sappho between South Africa and Australia, 31 January 1858;
(6) Ethel(dred) Louisa Wyrley Birch (1841-87), born 2 December 1841 and baptised at Wretham, 12 June 1843; lived with her sister Eleanor at Great Yarmouth and later Bournemouth (Hants); died unmarried, 28 May 1887; will proved 28 June 1887 (effects £3,283);
(7) George Anthony Wyrley Birch (c.1842-66), baptised at Wretham, 12 June 1843; educated at Marlborough; an officer in the Royal Navy (Cadet, 1856; Midshipman, 1859; Lt., 1865); died unmarried and was buried at Great Yarmouth, 17 July 1866;
(8) Eleanor Frederica Wyrley Birch (1845-1908), baptised at Wretham, 28 October 1845; lived with her elder sister, Etheldred, at Great Yarmouth and later Bournemouth; died unmarried at Christchurch (Hants), 18 October 1908; will proved 4 December 1908 (estate £692);
(9) John Philip Wyrley Birch (1848-1910), born 15 May and baptised at Wretham, 12 June 1848; educated at Marlborough; rancher and landowner at Pampa (Argentina); married and is said to have had issue in Argentina; died 18 October 1910; administration of goods granted 23 November 1910 (estate £384);
(10) Frances Elizabeth Birch (1851-99), baptised at Wretham, 10 March 1851; married, 18 July 1894 at Whitchurch (Oxon), Edward Ferdinand Melly (b. c.1857), mining engineer, son of Charles Pierre Melly, but had no issue; died 20 September 1899; will proved 23 December 1899 (estate £536);
(11) Thomas Samuel Wyrley Birch (1853-1919), born 8 April and baptised at Wretham, 20 June 1853; lived at Llangarren (Herefs) and Buenos Aires (Argentina); married, 6 October 1888 at St Anne, Highgate Rise (Middx), Elizabeth (1865-1939), daughter of John Williams, and had issue three sons; died 27 July and was buried at Putney Vale Cemetery (Surrey), 30 July 1919; will proved 18 October 1919 (estate £17,781).
He lived at Roxholm Hall near Leasingham (Lincs) until about 1842 and later at Forest Lodge, Wretham (Norfk) on his father's estate.
He died in the lifetime of his father, 5 April 1855, and was buried at Wretham, where he is commemorated by a monument. His widow died at Telegraph House, Great Yarmouth, 18 February 1877; her will was proved 17 April 1877 (effects under £1,000).

Birch (later Wyrley-Birch), Wyrley (1837-1901). Eldest son of George Wyrley Birch (1805-55) and his wife Jane, third daughter of Richard Congreve of Burton (Ches.), born 3 June and baptised at Leasingham (Lincs), 9 July 1837. Educated at Marlborough. An officer in the army (Ensign, 1855; Lt., 1855), who served in the Crimean War (fighting at Sebastopol and the Redan) and in the Indian Mutiny. JP and DL for Norfolk. He took the additional surname Wyrley by deed poll, 1888. He married, 27 November 1862 at St Anne, Dublin, Rebecca Katharine (c.1840-1914), eldest daughter of Ven. Samuel Moore Kyle (1801-90), archdeacon of Cork, and had issue:
(1) Henrietta Katherine Jane Wyrley-Birch (1863-93), born 26 October 1863; lived latterly at Cromer (Norfk); died unmarried, 30 January 1893; administration of goods granted to her brother, 19 June 1902 (effects £2,500);
(2) Amy Louise Wyrley-Birch (1865-1954), baptised at Watton (Norfk), 5 August 1865; volunteer social worker in Suffolk and Hoxton (Middx); died unmarried, 28 October 1954; will proved 25 January 1955 (estate £3,451);
(3) Emmeline Gertrude Wyrley-Birch (1866-1929), baptised at Watton (Norfk), 5 August 1866; married, 14 January 1891 at Great Witchingham (Norfk) (sep. 1909), Cecil Edward Bourchier (1866-1919) of Great Plumstead Hall (Norfk), son of Maj. James Johnes Bourchier, and had issue one daughter; died 27 April 1929;
(4) Wyrley Edwin George Wyrley-Birch (1867-1920), born 12 November 1867 and baptised at Wretham, 1 January 1868; educated at Hove (Sussex); lived at Harpsden (Oxon); married, 3 July 1899 at St Peter, Eaton Sq., Westminster (Middx), Muriel Alberta (1878-1932), daughter of Richard Edmund Longfield of Longueville (Co. Cork), and had issue two sons; died 1 June 1920 and was buried at Harpsden; his will was proved 13 July 1920;
(5) Sibyll Agatha Wyrley Wyrley-Birch (1869-1930), baptised at Wretham, 15 April 1869; married, 5 August 1909 at Holy Trinity, Brompton (Middx), as his second wife, William Meath Baker (1857-1935) of Hasfield Court (Glos), but had no issue; died 10 July 1930; will proved 30 December 1930 (estate £3,470);
(6) A daughter (b. & d. 1870), born prematurely, 5 November 1870, and died a few hours after her birth.
He inherited Wretham Hall from his grandfather in 1866, but sold it in 1879. He lived latterly at Cromer (Norfk).
He died 10 October 1901; his will was proved 15 November 1901 (estate £27,087). His widow died 18 June and was buried at Wretham, 23 June 1914; her will was proved 24 July 1914 (estate £691).


Birch family of Armitage Lodge


Birch, Thomas (1654-1724?). Second son of George Birch (1616-60?) [for whom see above] and his wife Catherine, baptised at Stafford, 3 August 1654. He married, 19 June 1687 at Harborne, Mary Guest (d. 1731?), and had issue, perhaps among others:
(1) Anne Birch (b. 1694), baptised at Rugeley, 10 October 1694;
(2) Thomas Birch (1697-1771) (q.v.);
(3) Lydia Birch (b. 1699), baptised at Rugeley, 20 August 1699.
He probably settled at Brereton in Rugeley (Staffs).
He was probably the man of this name buried at Rugeley, 20 October 1724. His wife was probably the woman of this name buried at Rugeley, 14 June 1731.

Birch, Thomas (1697-1771). Son of Thomas Birch and his wife Mary, born 29 January and baptised at Rugeley, 8 February 1696/7.  He probably married, c.1714 (licence 18 November), Ann Hughes (c.1693-1733). and had issue including:
(1) Thomas Birch (1721-43); died unmarried, 20 May 1743, and was buried at Rugeley;
(2) Mary Birch (b. 1724), baptised at Rugeley, 29 May 1724;
(3) Andrew Birch (1728-98) (q.v.).
He lived at Brereton (Staffs).
He died 15 August 1771 and was buried at Rugeley; administration of his goods was granted 1772. His wife died 15 July 1733 was buried at Rugeley, 18 July 1733.

Birch, Andrew (1728-98). Second but only surviving son of Thomas Birch (1697-1771) and his wife, born 11 July and baptised at Rugeley, 9 August 1728. He was a founder member of the Rugeley and district Association for the Prosecution of Felons, 1771. He married, 15 February 1770 at Colton (Staffs), Mary (1751-1817), daughter of John Pegg of Newlands (Staffs), and had issue:
(1) Anne Birch (1771-1834), baptised at Rugeley, 10 May 1771; a Methodist in religion, she lived at Brereton House; died unmarried, 16 October, and was buried at Rugeley, 20 October 1834;
(2) Elizabeth Birch (1772-1842), baptised at Rugeley, 16 October 1772; a Methodist in religion, she lived at Brereton House; she endowed a Methodist school at Brereton in 1838 and built six almshouses; died unmarried, 2 January 1842 and was buried in the grounds of Brereton Methodist Chapel;
(3) Thomas Birch (1774-1837) (q.v.);
(4) Edmund John Birch (1776-1829), born 31 August and baptised at Rugeley, 27 December 1776; set up by his father as a pottery manufacturer at Hanley (Staffs), and was noted for his production of black basalt ware; gave up this business about 1810 and became a banker at Stafford in partnership with Charles Yates; lived at Fradswell Hall (Staffs), which he leased; married 1st, 19 July 1800 at Stoke-on-Trent (Staffs), Anna Maria (1780-1810), daughter of John Yates of Shelton, and had issue four sons and two daughters; married 2nd, 11 June 1821 at Stoke-on-Trent, Mary (1781-1850), daughter of Josiah Spode II (1754-1827), potter; died 29 December 1829.
He lived at Brereton (Staffs).
He died 15 January and was buried at Rugeley, 19 January 1798; his will was proved in the PCC, 31 July 1798. His widow died 24 December 1817.

Birch, Thomas (1774-1837). Elder son of Andrew Birch (1728-98) and his wife Mary, daughter of John Pegg of Newlands (Staffs), born 6 November and baptised at Rugeley (Staffs), 30 November 1774. He became a nonconformist (Congregationalist) in religion by 1811, and built a small chapel in the grounds of his house c.1820, which he transferred to trustees as a place of public worship in 1831. He married, 18 December 1806 at Yoxall (Staffs), Mary (1785-1842), daughter of William Smith of Longdon (Staffs) and granddaughter and heiress of Edward Lightwood of Yoxall (Staffs), and had issue:
(1) Mary Smith Birch (1807-78), born 16 November 1807 and baptised at Armitage, 9 September 1808; married, 18 June 1843, William Taylor Smith (1808-49) of Hill Ridware (Staffs), son of Edward Smith of Rugeley (Staffs), but had no issue; died at Rugeley, 1 April 1878; will proved 23 April 1878 (estate under £7,000);
(2) Thomas John Birch (1808-95) (q.v.);
(3) Frances (k/a Fanny) Birch (1810-64), born 25 March 1810 and baptised at Armitage, 11 July 1819; died unmarried and was buried at Rugeley, 10 September 1864;
(4) Jane Birch (1812-76), born 12 April 1812 and baptised at Armitage, 11 July 1819; died unmarried, 8 July 1876; will proved 5 September 1876 (estate under £7,000);
(5) Anne Barbara Birch (1817-1909), born 2 December 1817 and baptised at Armitage, 11 July 1819; married, 10 March 1841 at Lichfield (Staffs), as his second wife, Richard Dutton (d. 1880) of Stanthorne Hall (Ches.), and had issue six sons and three daughters; died 14 November 1909; will proved 10 December 1909 (estate £10,658);
(6) Harriet Elizabeth Birch (1821-79), born 10 June and baptised at Armitage Independent Chapel, 3 July 1821; died unmarried, 18 December, and was buried at Brereton (Staffs), 23 December 1879.
He lived at Brereton until he purchased property at Armitage (Staffs), where he built or remodelled Armitage Lodge before 1808.
He died 10 January 1837 and was buried in the Congregational Chapel at Armitage; his will was proved in the PCC, 18 February 1837. His widow died 3 October 1842 and was also buried in the Congregational Chapel at Armitage.

Birch, Thomas John (1808-95). Only son of Thomas Birch (1774-1837) of Armitage Lodge, and his wife Mary, daughter of William Smith of Longdon (Staffs), born 4 October 1808 and baptised at Armitage, 20 June 1809. Educated at Lichfield Grammar School and Glasgow University. Solicitor. Master Extraordinary in Chancery, 1832. JP for Staffordshire (from 1852). He became a major shareholder in the Cannock and Rugeley Colliery Co., and was its Chairman, 1880-95. A Liberal (later Liberal Unionist) in politics. He married, 27 August 1842 at St John, Lambeth (Surrey), Julia Elizabeth (1814-90), only daughter of John Chanter of Bideford (Devon) and London, banker, and had issue:
(1) Louisa Julia Birch (1844-1923), born 17 March and baptised at Armitage, 16 April 1844; lived with her parents and later at Stoborough (Dorset); died unmarried, 25 August, and was buried at Wareham (Dorset), 29 August 1923; will proved 4 October 1923 (estate £10,464);
(2) Alice Mary Birch (1847-1931), born 19 May and baptised at Armitage, 21 July 1847; married, 6 August 1889 at Armitage, Arthur Claude Arnold (1864-1909), barrister-at-law, but had no issue; lived latterly at Hermitage House, Chieveley (Berks); died 22 December and was buried at Chieveley, 24 December 1931; will proved 5 March 1932 (estate £26,162);
(3) Ada Elizabeth Birch (1848-1932), baptised at Armitage, 21 September 1848; lived latterly with her brother-in-law, Maj. Foster, at Shenley House, Redhill (Surrey); died unmarried at Bournemouth (Hants), 25 March 1932; will proved 13 January 1933 (estate £32,584); 
(4) Lightwood Thomas Birch (1851-1903), born 12 February and baptised at Armitage, 31 March 1851; educated at Rugby, Malvern College and St John's College, Cambridge (matriculated 1870); an officer in the 1st Staffordshire Militia (Lt., 1875; Capt., 1877; retired 1880); JP for Staffordshire from 1878; married, 19 October 1876 at Colton (Staffs) (but separated about 1891*), Mary Cox (1848-1925) (who m2, 28 February 1905 at Christ Church, Broadway, Westminster (Middx), Maj. Reginald Campbell (1858-1941)), daughter of Thomas Berry Horsfall MP of Bellamour Hall (Staffs), but had no issue; lived at Quarry Lodge, Lichfield (Staffs) and later at Hastings (Sussex); died 6 September 1903; will proved 20 March 1905 (estate £72);
(5) Constance Jemima Birch (1855-1937), baptised at Armitage, 22 November 1855; married, 17 April 1879 at Armitage, Maj. Kingsley Osbern Foster (1848-1922) of Shenley House, Redhill (Surrey), and had issue three sons and four daughters; died 18 August 1937; will proved 5 November 1937 (estate £35,784).
He lived at Brereton until he inherited Armitage Lodge from his father in 1837. After his death the property passed to his daughters, who sold it in 1896.
He died 4 May and was buried at Armitage, 8 May 1895; his will was proved 25 June 1895 (effects £132,862). His wife died 2 February and was buried at Armitage, 6 February 1890; her will was proved 10 March 1890 (effects £7,309).
* They were not resident at the same address in 1881, 1891 or 1901, and by the latter year he was living in the household of a much younger German lady (Annie Schmidt) in Hastings; he then claimed to be a widower and her uncle, neither statement being true. It was perhaps the scandal of his separation and/or this liaison (if it began before his father's death) which led his father to exclude him from his will.


Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1898, vol. 1, p. 118; Burke's Landed Gentry, 1925, p. 141; VCH Warwickshire, vol. 7, 1964, pp. 58-72; Rugeley Times, 16 February 1974, p. 1; T. Williamson, I. Ringwood & S. Spooner, Lost country houses of Norfolk, 2015, pp. 282-84; A. Foster, Sir N. Pevsner & A. Wedgwood, The buildings of England: Birmingham and the Black Country, 2022, pp. 397-98;

Location of archives

Birch of Armitage Lodge: deeds, estate and family papers, 1680-1910 [Staffordshire Record Office, D(W) 1752]
Birch of Hamstead Hall and Wretham Hall: no significant archive is known to survive.

Coat of arms

Azure, three fleurs-de-lis argent, a canton of the last.

Can you help?

  • Can anyone demonstrate the descent of this family from the Birch family of Manchester?
  • Does anyone know more about the circumstances in which Lightwood Thomas Birch fell out with his father, or his relationship with Annie Schmidt?
  • Can anyone provide portraits or photographs of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 25 May and updated 4 June 2026.

Sunday, 22 February 2026

(627) Bill of Farley Hall and Storthes Hall

Bill of Farley Hall
Many landed families owe their status to one or two individuals who have brought the family game-changing wealth or power through their abilities in politics, the law, the armed services, or industry. Not so the Bills, whose rise into the Staffordshire county gentry was almost imperceptible, and was achieved by the patient acquisition of property through judicious marriages and purchases over a couple of centuries. It was a family with numerous junior branches around Staffordshire, the exact connections between whom it is beyond the scope of this project to disentangle, as many of them remained below the threshhold of gentility. Here I follow the upwardly mobile Bills of Farley Hall, whose story begins with Richard Bill (d. 1656). He came from Norbury (Derbys) and 
called himself a yeoman, but was the first of his family to acquire property at Farley (in 1607), and is said to have built the core of the present Farley Hall. He married Elizabeth Shenton, the heiress of the Shentons of Farley Hall, and continued to make small purchases of land in Farley and the surrounding parishes throughout his life. Richard and Elizabeth had three sons, of whom the youngest and the eventual heir was Robert Bill (c.1625-1710), who settled in his father's lifetime at Stanton in Ellastone parish, and seems to have continued living there after his father's death. Robert and his wife Joan Jefferson also had three sons, who each received a portion of his property, with the eldest, Richard Bill (1645-1716), being the heir to Farley Hall. Richard was for some 20 years bailiff of the Earl of Shrewsbury's Alton estate, which adjoined his own estate, and perhaps for that reason lived at Alton Lodge rather than Farley.

Richard's youngest son and eventual heir was Robert Bill (c.1684-1751), who was married twice and sired an eye-watering nineteen children, although all the six children of his first marriage seem to have died young. His second family was much more successful, with five sons and four daughters out of thirteen children achieving adulthood, and several of them living notably long lives. His eldest surviving son and chief heir was Robert Bill (1720-61), whose estates extended across the Staffordshire/Derbyshire border and also into Cheshire. He died aged forty, having already lost his wife, and leaving as his heir his only child, Robert Bill (1753-80). The young Robert was probably brought up in the household of one of his uncles, and when he came to adulthood chose a military career, dying during the siege of Gibraltar in 1780. The management of the Farley estate had been, throughout his minority, in the hands of his uncle Charles Bill (1721-1809), a London solicitor with chambers in the Temple, who acquired property at Marlborough (Wilts) and Sydenham (Kent), and on Robert's death in 1780 Charles came into ownership of the Farley estate. Soon afterwards, in 1782, Charles engaged Thomas Gardner (c.1737-1804) of Uttoxeter to remodel the house and build a new main front, but it is not clear how much he used the house, and at the end of his long life he handed the estate over to a nephew and retired to his house at Sydenham.

The beneficiary of this arrangement was Dr John Bill (1757-1847), who was one of the surgeons to Manchester Royal Infirmary from 1790-1804. He was the younger son of Charles' brother, the Rev. John Bill (1726-1806), the Cambridge-educated rector of Draycott-le-Moors (Staffs). On coming into the property, Dr Bill retired from his profession and took up residence at Farley Hall, which he enjoyed for more than forty years. When he died the estate passed to his only surviving son, John Bill (1795-1853), who qualified as a barrister but did not practice.  In 1827 he made a trip to America, of which in later years he published an account. He survived his father by only some six years, and at his death left two sons, the elder of whom died while a pupil at Harrow in 1856. The estate then devolved on the younger son, Charles Bill (1843-1915), who after Eton and Oxford went on to Lincoln's Inn and qualified as a barrister. In seeming contrast with his father, he had an active public life, serving as MP for Leek, 1892-1906, Colonel of the North Staffordshire militia, and a director of the North Staffordshire Railway Co. He married a daughter of the Fitzherberts of Somersal Herbert (Derbys), and they had two sons and a daughter (who became a Roman Catholic Sister of Mercy). The eldest son, Charles Fitzherbert Bill (1872-1955) was an engineer who had a career with the militia battalion of the North Staffordshire Regiment that took him to the Boer War and the First World War. After the war, he gave up Farley Hall, which was advertised to let in 1920. For the next thirty years the house had a chequered existence, being tenanted as a school, a guest house and a youth hostel, before returning to private occupation. At his death, it passed to his niece, Pamela (1912-62), who occupied it for some years with her husband, Christopher Clifford (1910-86) and their four sons. In 1958, Clifford, who owned a pottery firm in Stoke-on-Trent, was appointed managing director of Royal Worcester Porcelain, and the family had to move south (eventually renting Thornbury Castle in Gloucestershire). They let Farley Hall, hoping that one of their sons would choose to live there when they grew up, but in about 1970 the family took the decision to sell the estate, which was purchased by Anthony Bamford (b. 1945), now Lord Bamford.

One other branch of the family must be considered here. The elder son of Rev. John Bill (1726-1806) of Draycott-le-Moors was Robert Bill (1754-1806), who pursued a career as a merchant and East India Company official on the island of Sumatra (Indonesia). On his return to England, he married in 1791 Dorothy Horsfall, one of the daughters of William Horsfall (d. 1780) of Storthes Hall, Huddersfield (Yorks WR). Horsfall, who had no male heir, had left his property to his widow and daughters, who in the late 1780s came to a family agreement that they would rebuild Storthes Hall so that it could provide a home for such of the sisters as remained unmarried, and pass after their deaths to the children of the sisters who had married. As a result of this unusual arrangement, the house was occupied by two of Dorothy's sisters until 1818. They then moved out and handed the property over to Dorothy's son, Charles Horsfall Bill (1792-1863), who was the only child of any of the five sisters. He occupied the house until 1846, by which time he had inherited the freehold, but after that he let it, and it was occupied as a private school for some twenty years. His eldest son, Charles Horsfall Bill (1818-1908), who inherited in 1863, continued to let the house - this time to private tenants - and lived a curious peregrinating existence, taking houses from Dorset to Aberdeenshire for a few months or a few years at a time. He eventually acquired the town house (now an inn) called The Priory in Tetbury (Glos) as a more permanent base, although he seems to have continued to rent additional houses as well. In 1898 he sold Storthes Hall estate to a middle-man, who promptly resold it to the West Riding County Council, which developed a pauper lunatic asylum in the grounds. The house itself became a home for the mentally handicapped until 1991 when the whole hospital site was closed. 

Farley Hall, Staffordshire

The core of the house seems to be a 17th century building, three gables wide, which is said to have been erected after 1607 for Richard Bill. This had a stone ground floor and was timber-framed above, but the 17th century origins are now only really suggested by the north side, which has gables, a mix of smaller and larger casement windows, and a general irregularity which hints at a complex evolution.

Farley Hall: the north front c.1970. Image: Staffordshire Record Office C/P/65/7/1/15/8/1 (43/13593)
Farley Hall: the house from the south-east, 1929. Image: Country Life.
In 1784 the house was extensively remodelled by Thomas Gardner (c.1737-1804) for Charles Bill (1721-1809). He created a new south front, with two-storey canted bow windows at either end and classical fenestration with sash windows, above which the three gables of the older house float. He was probably also responsible for building the whitewashed stable block to the west of the house.  The tripartite window in the centre of the first floor of the south front may well be a later alteration, and a single-bay two-storey wing to the right of the south front may be of the same date, since it has similar fenestration. Running further east from the wing is a tall plain stone wall, from which projects a most attractive D-shaped greenhouse with a domed top and ashlar plinth. This must date from the mid 19th century, for it is the sort of decorative glasshouse popularised by J.C. Loudon. The wall continues to a later Gothic billiard room, erected by William Evans in 1866, which seems to have been designed with the qualities of both a lodge and a chapel in mind. It is a curious little building; detached billiard rooms were surely a rarity so perhaps it was also designed to be the smoking room of a household which detested tobacco fumes?

Farley Hall: the house from the south-west, c.1970. Image: Staffordshire Record Office C/P/65/7/1/15/5/1 (43/13597)
The last addition to the house of great significance was the application, sometime in the later 19th century, of nailed-on laths to suggest the semi-timbering which genuinely lay underneath. There have been 20th century changes too, involving some demolition on the north side, which altered the footprint of the house after the 1920s. Just before the Second World War, the house briefly became a youth hostel, but this closed on the outbreak of hostilities and it returned to private ownership. The house was restored for Sir Anthony (now Lord) Bamford, the managing director of JCB plc, who later bought Daylesford Park (Glos) and inherited nearby Wootton Lodge.

Descent: built 1607 for Richard Bill (d. 1656); to son, Robert Bill (c.1625-1710); to son, Richard Bill (1645-1716); to son, Robert Bill (c.1684-1751); to son, Robert Bill (1720-61); to son, Robert Bill (1753-80); to uncle, Charles Bill (1721-1809); to nephew, Dr. John Bill (1758-1848); to son, John Bill (1795-1853); to son, Charles Bill (1843-1915); to son, Charles Fitzherbert Bill (1872-1955); to niece, Pamela (1912-62), wife of John Bertram Christopher Clifford (1910-86); sold c.1970 to Sir Anthony Bamford (b. 1945), later Baron Bamford.

The house was advertised to let furnished in 1920; the contents were sold in 1921, and the property was let to Overdale School for Girls c.1922-27, and thereafter to Miss Gladys Hunt, who ran it as a guest house (bankrupt 1932); in 1936 it was let to the Youth Hostels Association, but closed at the beginning of the Second World War. It was let again from 1959 to Mr & Mrs John Goodwin (fl. 1968).

Storthes Hall, Kirkburton, Yorkshire (WR)

Storthes Hall: sketch by John Warburton, c.1720. 
Very little is known about the earlier house on this site, which is recorded in a crude sketch of about 1720 by John Warburton showing a gabled manor house. It seems likely that this was built in the early 17th century after Richard Horsfall had purchased the estate from the eponymous Storthes family.

The Jacobean house was cleared away before the present building was built in 1787-90 for the Misses Horsfall to the designs of William Lindley (1739-1818) of Doncaster (Yorks WR). This has a severely plain seven bay front of two-and-a-half storeys, with a pediment over the middle three bays, and a porch with Doric columns and a segmental pediment. A lower two-storey three-bay service wing adjoins the house on the left, recessed by almost the full depth of the house, from the end of which another wing projects forward. In the 19th century this was a four-bay two-storey block, slightly lower than the service wing, but it appears to have been replaced in the 20th century by a wing of similar proportions that has five windows on each floor that are not even spaced but rather clustered towards its outer end.

Storthes Hall: a Victorian engraving of the house before it became part of the Storthes Hall Hospital.

Storthes Hall: the house today.
In 1897 the house and grounds were acquired by the West Riding County Council as the site of the 4th West Riding Pauper Lunatic Asylum, for which grand new hospital buildings were erected by Joseph Vickers Edwards, the West Riding County Architect, from 1902 onwards. The Georgian house was used as an institution for the mentally handicapped, and known as the 'Mansion Hospital'. The whole hospital site closed in 1991, after which most of the hospital buildings were demolished, except for the gabled administration building of 1902-17 and the Georgian house, which was returned to private ownership. Part of the hospital site was redeveloped c.2000 for Huddersfield University's student village, but these buildings were themselves demolished in 2025 ahead of a planned large housing development. The mansion house stood empty and boarded up for some years, but was subsequently restored and returned to private ownership.

Descent: Thomas Storthes (fl. 1603); sold after 1603 to Richard Horsfall; to son, Richard Horsfall (d. 1644); to son, Col. Richard Horsfall (1612-68); to son, William Horsfall (d. 1711); to son, John Horsfall (d. 1722); to son, Richard Horsfall (d. 1731); to son, William Horsfall (d. 1780); to his widow and five daughters who rebuilt the hall in 1787-90 and occupied until  1818, after which it passed to Charles Bill (1792-1863), the only son of Dorothy Horsfall (d. 1792); to son, Charles Horsfall Bill (1818-1908), who sold 1898 to Thomas Norton, who sold 1898 to West Riding County Council; transferred 1948 to National Health Service; sold 1991...  The house was let from 1846-65 to Peter Inchbald, who ran a boarding school for boys, and later by Benjamin Lockwood, woollen manufacturer, and Joseph Armitage Armitage (1840-98).

Bill family of Farley Hall


Bill, Richard (d. 1656). Parentage unknown, born at Norbury (Derbys). Yeoman. He married Elizabeth Shenton of Farley Hall, and had issue:
(1) John Bill (fl. 1634); married and had issue one daughter; living in 1634;
(2) Richard Bill (d. 1649?); died without issue, and perhaps the man of this name whose will was proved at Lichfield in 1649;
(3) Robert Bill (c.1625-1711) (q.v.).
He settled at Farley Hall in 1607.
He died in about April 1656; his probate inventory was sworn 1 May 1656. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bill, Robert (c.1625-1711). Third and youngest son of Richard Bill (d. 1656) and his wife Elizabeth Shenton, born about 1625. He married, perhaps c.1642, Joan Jefferson, and had issue:
(1) Mary Bill (1643-1712?), baptised at Ellastone (Staffs), 24 August 1643; married, 8 August 1665 at Ellastone, Joseph alias Josias Whieldon of Ipstones (Staffs), and had issue; perhaps the woman of this name buried at St Werburgh, Derby, 14 July 1712;
(2) Richard Bill (1645-1716) (q.v.);
(3) William Bill (fl. 1676), of Stanton in Ellastone, yeoman; died without issue;
(4) John Bill (d. 1726), of Mayfield (Staffs); married, 1680 (licence 11 November), Dorothy Ensor (1658-1733) of Tissington (Derbys), and had issue two sons and three daughters (including John Bill (1686-1770), who was king's messenger to Hanover, and died a Poor Knight of Windsor); died 1 October 1726; will proved at Lichfield, 1726;
(5) Margaret Bill (fl. 1676); married, 1676 (settlement 10 June), John Smith of Stanton in Ellastone.
He inherited Farley Hall from his father in 1656, but may have lived at Stanton in Ellastone.
He was buried at Ellastone, 6 March 1710/11. His wife is said to have died in 1701, but I have not been able to trace a burial.

Bill, Richard (1645-1716). Eldest son of Robert Bill (c.1625-1710) and his wife Joan Jefferson, baptised at Ellastone (Staffs), 26 January 1644/5. Bailiff to the Earl of Shrewsbury's Alton estate in the late 17th and early 18th century. He was also involved in lead mining, leasing land on his estate to prospectors. He married 1st, c.1669 (settlement 17 December), Hannah Morris (1650-94) of Cotton Hall, Cheadle (Staffs), and 2nd, 3 May 1700 at Alton (Staffs), Mary Prince (1654-1719), and had issue:
(1.1) Jane Bill (c.1673-1703), born about 1673; married, by 1693, Thomas Masgreave of Alton, and had issue three sons; buried at Alton, 29 March 1703;
(1.2) Joan Bill (c.1675-1718), born about 1675; married, 16 November 1694 at Ipstones (Staffs), William Rushton (1673-1759), son of Anthony Rushton (1654-1734), and had issue six sons and four daughters; buried at Alton, 17 March 1717/8;
(1.3) Robert Bill (1677-78), baptised at Alton, 8 February 1676/7; died in infancy, 5 December 1678;
(1.4) Richard Bill (b. 1680), baptised at Alton, 12 August 1680; living in 1715; 
(1.5) Robert Bill (1684-1751) (q.v.);
(1.6) Hannah Bill (1685-1766), baptised at Alton, 4 November 1685; married, 27 December 1714 at Alton, Roger Sutton (1683-1752), husbandman, and had issue four sons and two daughters; buried at Alton, 6 March 1766.
He inherited Farley Hall from his father in 1710, and also owned Alton Lodge.
He was buried at Alton, 26 May 1716; his will was proved at Lichfield, 11 October 1716. His first wife was buried at Alton, 23 July 1694. His widow was buried at Alton, 12 November 1719.

Bill, Robert (c.1684-1751). Third, but second surviving, son of Richard Bill (1645-1716) and his wife Hannah Morris, born about 1684. Landowner and farmer. He married 1st, 23 February 1708 at Doveridge (Derbys), Winifred Adams (d. 1717) of Norbury (Derbys) and 2nd, 21 December 1718 at Rolleston (Staffs), Lydia (1692-1755), daughter of Robert Hurst of Cheadle Grange (Staffs), and had issue:
(1.1) Robert Bill (b. & d. 1710), baptised at Alton, 20 February 1709/10; probably the child of this name buried at Alton, 22 April 1710;
(1.2) Richard Bill (b. & d. 1711), baptised at Alton, 7 May 1711; died in infancy and was buried at Alton, 20 May 1711;
(1.3) Hannah Bill (b. 1712), baptised at Alton, 28 June 1712; probably died young;
(1.4) Christopher Bill (1713-14), baptised at Alton, 9 May 1713; died in infancy and was buried at Alton, 2 December 1714;
(1.5) Catherine Bill (b. & d. 1714), baptised at Alton, 12 July 1714; died in infancy and was buried at Alton, 21 July 1714;
(1.6) Winifred Bill (1715-17), baptised at Alton, 5 July 1715; died in infancy and was buried at Alton, 8 June 1717;
(2.1) Margaret Bill (1719-80), baptised at Alton, 11 November 1719; married, 23 December 1754 at Alton, Rev. Francis Ward (1731-83), perpetual curate of Croxden (Staffs), 1758-83 and rector of Stanford-on-Soar (Notts), 1771-75, and had issue at least two sons; died 18 April and was buried at Alton, 23 April 1780;
(2.2) Robert Bill (1720-61), baptised at Alton, 24 December 1720; farmer and landowner with property in Derbyshire, Staffordshire and Cheshire; married, 17 December 1752 at Elvaston (Derbys), Alice (1727-57), daughter of William Storer of Manchester, and had issue one son (Lt. Robert Bill (1753-80) who died during the siege of Gibraltar, 1780); died 30 April 1761, and was buried at Alton, where he is commemorated on his father's monument; will proved in the PCC, 6 May 1761;
(2.3) Charles Bill (1721-1809) (q.v.); 
(2.4) Lydia Bill (1722-97), baptised at Alton, 14 November 1722; married, 3 January 1743 at Kingsley (Staffs), John Gilbert (1724-95) of Cotton Hall, Cheadle (Staffs) and later of Worsley Hall (Lancs), joint agent (with his brother Thomas) to the Marquess of Stafford and Duke of Bridgwater, canal-building pioneer, and had issue at least three sons and one daughter; died 22 November and was buried in the Egerton family vault at Eccles (Lancs), 25 November 1797; will proved at Lancaster, 21 December 1797;
(2.5) Francis Bill (1723-1813), baptised at Alton, 13 February 1723/4; married, 18 January 1757 at Alton, Dorothy (1735-1809), daughter of William Hall Walton, and had issue four sons and three daughters; died in London aged 90, and was buried at St George-in-the-East, London, 1 January 1814;
(2.6) Elizabeth Bill (1724-1809), baptised at Alton, 23 February 1724/5; married, 10 November 1754 at Alton, Michael Barbour (c.1719-82) of London and Stone (Staffs), and had issue two sons and three daughters; buried at Lewisham (Kent), 13 June 1809; will proved in the PCC, 13 June 1811;
(2.7) Rev. John Bill (1726-1806) (q.v.);
(2.8) William Bill (1727-84), baptised at Alton, 23 November 1727; married, 26 October 1752 at Draycott-le-Moors (Staffs), Mary (d. 1802), daughter of William Hall Walton, and had issue five sons and six daughters (including the inventor, Robert Bill (1754-1821)); died intestate, 18 November 1784; administration of goods granted 28 April 1785;
(2.9) Winifred Bill (b. & d. 1729), baptised at Alton, 6 January 1728/9; died in infancy and was buried at Alton, 2 February 1728/9;
(2.10) Mary Bill (b. 1730), baptised at Alton, 7 April 1730; perhaps died young;
(2.11) Rupert Bill (1731-49), baptised at Alton, 24 May 1731; apprenticed to Henry Cooper of London, feltmaker, 1747; said to have died unmarried, 20 or 22 September 1749;
(2.12) Ann Bill (b. & d. 1733), baptised at Alton, 17 March 1732/3; died in infancy, 28 August 1733;
(2.13) Penelope Bill (1735-61), baptised at Alton, 4 October 1735; married, 23 September 1755 at Alton, Edmund Smith (c.1730-77) of Underwood, Rochdale (Lancs), merchant, (who m2, 11 October 1762 at St Mary, Ousebridge (Yorks), Mary Rayner, and had further issue), and had issue two daughters; died 20 July and was buried 23 July 1761 at St Chad, Rochdale, where she is commemorated on her husband's monument.
He inherited Farley Hall from his father in 1716.
He died 22 February and was buried at Alton 25 February 1750/1, where he is commemorated on a monument. His first wife was buried at Alton, 8 June 1717. His widow died 18 September and was buried at Alton, 21 September 1769, where she is commemorated on her husband's monument.

Charles Bill (1721-1809) 
Bill, Charles (1721-1809). Second son of Robert Bill (c.1684-1751) and his second wife, Lydia, daughter of Robert Hurst of Cheadle (Staffs), baptised at Alton (Staffs), 5 December 1721. A solicitor with chambers in the Temple, London. JP for Staffordshire. He was unmarried and without issue.
He lived at Marlborough (Wilts) and inherited the Farley Hall estate from his nephew in 1780. At the end of his long life he seems to have handed over Farley Hall to his nephew, Dr John Bill, and moved to Sydenham (Kent). 
He died at Sydenham, 6 January, and was buried at Alton, 21 January 1809, where he is commemorated on the family monument; his will was proved 19 April 1809 (effects under £45,000).



Bill, Rev. John (1726-1806). Fourth son of Robert Bill (c.1684-1751) and his second wife Lydia, daughter of Robert Hurst of Cheadle (Staffs), baptised at Alton, 29 May 1726. Educated at Christ's College, Cambridge (matriculated 1745; BA 1749). Ordained deacon, 1749 and priest, 1750. Curate of Hatley St. George (Cambs), 1749-50 and rector of Draycott-le-Moors (Staffs), 1750-1806. He married, c.1750*, Mary (1723-1800), daughter and co-heiress of Thomas Harrison (1688-1749) of Dilhorne Hall (Staffs), and had issue:
(1) Maria Bill (1753-1847), baptised at Dilhorne, 8 April 1753; married, 7 April 1774 at Draycott-le-Moors, as his second wife, William Burton of Sheffield, surgeon, and had issue one son and one daughter; died at Bath (Som.), 14 April, and was buried at St Mary's Chapel, Bath, 22 April 1847; her will was proved in the PCC, 11 June 1847;
(2) Robert Bill (1754-1806) [for whom see below, Bill family of Storthes Hall];
(3) Dr. John Bill (1757-1847) (q.v.);
(4) Susannah Bill (1763-68), baptised at Draycott-le-Moors, 29 December 1763; died young and was buried at Draycott-le-Moors, 25 September 1768.
He died 25 May 1806, and was buried at Alton (Staffs), where he is commemorated on a family monument; his will was proved in the PCC, 10 June 1806. His wife died 29 December 1800 and was buried 5 January 1801 at Alton (Staffs), where she is commemorated on a family monument.
* The date and place of marriage have escaped me; it was not registered at either Dilhorne or Draycott-le-Moors.

Bill, Dr. John (1757-1847). Younger son of Rev. John Bill (1726-1806) and his wife Mary, daughter and co-heiress of Thomas Harrison (1688-1749) of Dilhorne Hall (Staffs), born 13 April and baptised at Draycott-le-Moors (Staffs), 17 April 1757. A surgeon and apothecary, who practised at Manchester by 1788 and was surgeon to the Manchester Royal Infirmary, 1790-1804, when he retired and moved to Farley Hall. He became blind some years before his death. He married, 5 December 1785 at Bury (Lancs), Esther (1767-1833), daughter of Samuel Grundy of Lyme Field, Bury (Lancs), and had issue:
(1) John Bill (b. & d. 1787), born 5 May 1787; died in infancy and was buried at St Ann, Manchester, 25 May 1787;
(2) Robert Bill (1789-1823), born 15 August and baptised at St Ann, Manchester, 6 November 1789; educated at Macclesfield and Oriel College, Oxford (matriculated 1807; BA 1812; MA 1814) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1811); lived at Blackheath Park (Kent); married, 4 January 1820 at St George, Bloomsbury (Middx), Louisa (1796-1870), daughter of Philip Dauncey KC, and had issue three daughters; died in the lifetime of his father, 12 October, and was buried at Cheshunt (Herts), 21 October 1823;
(3) Charles Bill (1790-91); born 23 August 1790; died in infancy, 12 January, and was buried at St Ann, Manchester, 14 January 1791;
(4) Mary Bill (1792-1854), baptised at St Ann, Manchester, 5 October 1792; married, 22 May 1823 at Alton (Staffs), Rev. Edward Whieldon (1787-1859) of Hales Hall (Staffs), and had issue two sons and one daughter; buried at Cheadle (Staffs), 22 May 1854;
(5) Lydia Bill (1794-1859), baptised at St Ann, Manchester, 25 April 1794; married, 28 November 1817 at Alton, Dr. Thomas Mayo MD FRS (1790-1871), physician to Marylebone Infirmary (FRCP, 1819; President of Royal College of Physicians, 1857-62); buried at Kensal Green Cemetery, London, 1 February 1859;
(6) John Bill (1795-1853) (q.v.).
He inherited the Farley Hall estate from his uncle in 1809.
He died 6 April, and was buried at Alton (Staffs), 14 April 1847, where he is commemorated on the family monument; his will was proved in the PCC, 25 June 1847. His wife died 7 December 1833 and was buried at Alton (Staffs), where she is also commemorated on the family monument.

Bill, John (1795-1853). Fourth, but only surviving, son of Dr. John Bill (1757-1847) and his wife Esther, daughter of Samuel Grundy of Lyme Field, Bury (Lancs),  baptised at St Ann, Manchester, 24 July 1795. Educated at Manchester Grammar School (admitted 1806) and Grays Inn (admitted 1821). Barrister-at-law (but did not practise); JP for Staffordshire. In 1827 he visited America, and in 1849 Paris (France), and he wrote an account of his travels published as The English Party's Excursion To Paris In Easter-Week 1849, To Which Is Added A Trip To America (1850). He married, 8 September 1831 at Manchester Collegiate Church (now Cathedral), Sarah (1798-1878), daughter of Abel Humphrys of Philadelphia (USA), and had issue:
(1) Mary Louisa Bill (1836-1902), born 7 September and was baptised at Alton (Staffs), 25 October 1837; married, 12 June 1862 at Alton, Rowland Hugh Cotton (1833-87), of Etwall Hall (Derbys), and had issue one son and five daughters; died 5 March 1902 and was buried at Etwall, where she is commemorated by a monument in the churchyard; her will was proved 19 August 1902 (estate £3,239);
(2) John Bill (1839-56), born 22 August 1839; educated at Harrow (admitted 1853), where he died young, 2 February 1856;
(3) Charles Bill (1843-1915) (q.v.).
He inherited Farley Hall from his father in 1848.
He died 15 February and was buried at Alton (Staffs), 23 February 1853, where he is commemorated by a monument; his will was proved in the PCC, 13 May 1853. His widow died 2 July 1878; her will was proved 7 August 1878 (effects under £14,000).

Charles Bill MP (1843-1915) 
Bill, Charles (1843-1915).
Second, but only surviving, son of John Bill (1795-1853) and his wife Sarah, daughter of Abel Humphrys of Philadelphia (USA), born 8 January and baptised at Alton (Staffs), 9 May 1843. Educated at Eton, University College, Oxford (matriculated 1861; BA 1866; MA 1869) and Lincoln's Inn (admitted 1864; called 1868). Barrister-at-law; JP for Staffordshire; Unionist MP for Leek, 1892-1906; Alderman of Staffordshire County Council. An officer in 4th Battn, North Staffordshire Militia (Lt-Col. commanding and later Hon. Col.), who served in Burma, 1886. He was a director of the North Staffordshire Railway Co., and was largely responsible for the construction of the Manifold Valley Light Railway, opened in 1904. He married, 3 May 1870 at Somersal Herbert (Derbys), Ellen Margaret Hepburn (1845-1926), second daughter of Lt-Col. Richard Henry Fitzherbert of Somersal Herbert, and had issue:
(1) Ida Helen de la Martelliere Bill (1871-1956), born 4 April and baptised at Alton, 28 May 1871; a Sister of Mercy and later Mother Superior of the Holy Cross Convent, Haywards Heath (Sussex); died Jan-Mar 1956;
(2) Charles Fitzherbert Bill (1872-1955) (q.v.);
(3) John Hugo Hepburn Bill (1877-1919) (q.v.).
He inherited Farley Hall from his father in 1853, and came of age in 1864.
He died 9 December 1915 and was buried at Alton; his will was proved 7 February 1916 (estate £49,592). His widow died 14 April 1926; her will was proved 27 July 1926 and 2 March 1927 (estate £5,064).

Bill, Charles Fitzherbert (1872-1955). Elder son of Charles Bill (1843-1915) and his wife Ellen Margaret Hepburn, daughter of Lt-Col. Richard Henry Fitzherbert of Somersal Herbert (Derbys), born 13 July and baptised at Alton (Staffs), 29 July 1872. Educated at Eton and New College, Oxford (matriculated 1891; BA 1894). An officer in 4th Battn, North Staffordshire Regiment (2nd Lt., 1892; Lt.; Capt. by 1905; returned to colours, 1914; Maj.), who served in Boer War and First World War. An engineer, he was briefly in partnership with Frederick Hugh Smith at Datchet (Bucks) in the manufacture of carburettors and other parts for motor cars (partnership dissolved 1905); and from 1919-27 he was a director of National Welsh Slate Quarries Ltd and it successor Hendre-ddu Slate Quarries Ltd., which operated the Hendre-ddu slate mine in Merionethshire. He married, 29 September 1909 at Hawarden (Flints.), Alice Violet (1881-1917), only daughter of Charles Bolton Toller of Aston Bank (Flints.), and had issue:
(1) Cynthia Margaret Bill (1910-85), born 18 July and baptised at Hawarden, 28 August 1910; married 1st, 3 March 1934 at Hawarden (div. c.1939), Percy Newton Butler Lusk RAF (1905-70) of Auckland (New Zealand), son of Robert Butler Lusk, barrister and solicitor; married 2nd, 1940 at Wingham, New South Wales (Australia), Lyell Edward John Cooper (1900-96), grazier, son of Edward Charles Cooper, and had issue; died 2 May 1985;
(2) Phyllis Elizabeth Bill (b. 1912), born 2 March 1912; emigrated to Malaya with her husband, 1946, but subsequently moved to Victoria, British Columbia (Canada), where he worked as a realtor (estate agent) and she was a secretary; married, 20 December 1945 at Kensington (Middx), Stuart Arthur Simpson (1906-97) of Ipswich (Suffk), but had no issue; death not traced;
(3) Violet Mary Bill (1917-2007), born 16 March 1917; actress under the name Ria Sohier, who had parts in television series in the 1950s and 1960s; died unmarried aged 89 at Kingsbridge (Devon), 23 November 2007.
He inherited Farley Hall from his father in 1915, but let it after 1920 and lived latterly at Cheltenham (Glos). At his death the house and lands passed to his niece, Pamela Clifford.
He died in Cheltenham, 1 March 1955; his will was proved 18 May 1955 (estate £2,483). His wife died of scarlet fever following childbirth, 22 March 1917; administration of her goods was granted 6 June 1917 (estate £636).

Bill, John Hugo Hepburn (1877-1919). Second son of Charles Bill (1843-1915) and his wife Ellen Margaret Hepburn, daughter of Lt-Col. Richard Henry Fitzherbert of Somersal Herbert (Derbys), born 24 November 1877 and baptised at Alton, 27 January 1878. Educated at Wellington College and New College, Oxford (BA 1899). An officer in the Indian Civil Service, who served on the North-West Frontier and in Nigeria, Persia and Mesopotamia. He married, 3 May 1911 at St Peter, Cranley Gardens, Kensington (Middx), Cicely Annie (1885-1973), daughter of Robert William Bill (1856-1941) of Ashtead (Surrey), and had issue:
(1) Pamela Bill (1912-62) (q.v.);
(2) Muriel Joan Bill (1915-17?), born 25 March and baptised at Ashtead, 14 June 1915; probably died in infancy in India, and perhaps the 'Joan Bill' buried at Kohat (Pakistan), 7 March 1917.
He was murdered by Kurdish tribesmen at Birzah Kaprah in Mesopotamia (now Iraq), 2 November 1919. His widow married 2nd, 1920, Maj-Gen. William Archibald Kenneth Fraser CB CBE DSO MVO (1886-1969), and died 23 November 1973; her will was proved 22 March 1974 (estate £15,525).

Bill, Pamela (1912-62). Only surviving child of John Hugo Hepburn Bill (1877-1919) and his wife Cicely Annie, daughter of Robert William Bill of Ashtead, born 26 March 1912 at Bushire (Iran). She married, 5 September 1938 at Alton (Staffs), (John Bertram) Christopher Clifford (1910-86), master potter; director of Palissy Pottery and later of Worcester Royal Porcelain Co., and had issue:
(1) Michael Hugo Clifford (b. 1939), born 17 October 1939;
(2) twin, Timothy Christopher Clifford (b. 1941), born 29 May 1941; company director; lives in Feock (Cornw.);
(3) twin, Anthony Charles Clifford (1941-2019), born 29 May 1941; died 10 December 2019;
(4) Robert J. Clifford (b. 1950), born Apr-Jun 1950.
She inherited Farley Hall from her uncle in 1955. It was let from 1959, with the explicit intention that the family might return at a later date, when her sons were old enough to decide to live there, but it was sold c.1970. Her widower lived for a time at Thornbury Castle (Glos) in the 1960s, before selling it for conversion into an hotel.
She died 28 October 1962; her will was proved 3 May 1963 (estate £9,157). Her husband married 2nd, 1964, Jane (1937-2022), daughter of Jack Gawthorpe Adamson Ellis (1904-57); he died at Whitwell (IoW), 1 May 1986.

Bill family of Storthes Hall


Bill, Robert (1754-1806). Elder son of Rev. John Bill (1726-1806) and his wife Mary, daughter and co-heiress of Thomas Harrison (1688-1749) of Dilhorne Hall (Staffs), baptised at Draycott-le-Moors (Staffs), 4 May 1754. A merchant and civil servant in the East India Company's service, who lived for many years on the island of Sumatra (Indonesia), returning to England about 1790. DL for Staffordshire (from 1796). He married, 14 March 1791 at Kirkburton, Dorothy (d. 1792), daughter and co-heiress of William Horsfall of Storthes Hall, Kirkburton, and had issue:
(1) Charles Horsfall Bill (1792-1863) (q.v.).
He had previously had illegitimate children:
(X1) Robert Bill, born on the island of Sumatra; an adult in 1792;
(X2) Elizabeth Bill, born on the island of Sumatra; probably an adult in 1792, when she was living at Ealing (Middx).
His wife was co-heiress with her sisters to Storthes Hall. A family arrangement in 1791 allowed the unmarried sisters to live at the hall. and provided for the children of the married sisters to be co-heirs, but she was the only one of the sisters to leave issue.
He died 17 January and was buried at Alton (Staffs), 27 January 1806, where he is commemorated on a family monument; his will was proved in the PCC, 25 February 1806. His wife's date of death is unknown.

Bill, Charles Horsfall (1792-1863). Only recorded legitimate child of Robert Bill (1754-1806) and his wife Dorothy, daughter and co-heiress of William Horsfall of Storthes Hall, Kirkburton, born 15 January 1792 and baptised at Kirkburton the same day. Educated at Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1810). JP for West Riding of Yorkshire (from 1828). He married, 13 July 1812 at Kildwick (Yorks), Emma (1791-1872), daughter of Richard Wainman of Carr Head Hall, Kildwick (Yorks WR), and had issue:
(1) Emma Bill (1814-90), born 13 November and baptised at St Martin, Coney St., York, 14 November 1814; married, 27 August 1844 at Great Malvern (Worcs), Rev. Edward Otto Trevelyan (1810-80), curate of Stogumber (Som.), 1841-80, who rented Ashwicke Hall, Marshfield (Glos) from about 1878, and had issue one son and four daughters; died 11 November 1890; will proved 22 December 1890 (effects £51,642);
(2) Charles Horsfall Bill (1818-1908) (q.v.);
(3) Robert William Bill (1820-44), born 28 March and baptised at Kirkburton, 30 March 1820 and again 25 June 1822; educated at Eton and Trinity College, Oxford (matriculated 1840); died unmarried and was buried at Great Malvern, 28 October 1844;
(4) Augustus Horsfall Bill (1823-74), born 2 August and baptised at Kirkburton, 7 October 1823; educated at Eton, Christ Church, Oxford (matriculated 1842; BA 1847) and Lincolns Inn (admitted 1852); lived latterly at Kilmalieu (Argylls.); married, 9 December 1871 at St Margaret, Westminster (Middx), Helen Sarah, daughter of Henry Vernon; died without issue and was buried at Brompton Cemetery, 22 January 1874.
He was the only descendant of his mother and her four sisters, and as such was the heir presumptive to the Storthes Hall estate from his birth. Although his last surviving aunt did not die until 1843, he came into possession of the estate in 1818, when his aunts vacated the property. He let the house from about 1846 and lived latterly at 68 Queens Gardens, Paddington (Middx).
He died in London, 27 September, and was buried at Highgate Cemetery, 2 October 1863; administration of his goods was granted 16 November 1863 (effects under £70,000). His widow died at Bath (Som.), 17 March and was buried at St Mary, Bathwick, 23 March 1872; her will was proved 16 April 1872 (effects under £1,500).

Charles Horsfall Bill (1818-1908) 
Bill, Charles Horsfall (1818-1908).
Eldest son of Charles Horsfall Bill (1792-1863) and his wife Emma, daughter of Richard Wainman of Carr Head Hall, Cowling (Yorks WR), born 14 May and baptised at Kirkburton, 18 May 1818. An officer in the 15th Hussars (Cornet, 1839; Lt., 1843; retired as Capt., 1849). JP for Gloucestershire and Wiltshire. He married, 30 March 1841 at All Souls, Langham Place, Marylebone (Middx), Anna Maria (1820-75), daughter of General Charles Middleton (1789-1854), and had issue:
(1) Elizabeth Horsfall Bill (1847-1912), born at sea and baptised at Holy Trinity, Maidstone (Kent), 20 June 1847; married, 16 September 1873 at St James, Piccadilly, Westminster (Middx), Maj. Ralph William Caldwell (c.1836-1911) of Olivers, Stanway (Essex), son of Henry Berney Caldwell, and had issue one child, who died young; died 15 April and was buried at Shrub End (Essex), 19 April 1912; will proved 8 June 1912 (estate £18,037);
(2) Caroline Bill (b. 1849), baptised at Fritwell (Oxon), 28 July 1849; married, 3 August 1881 at St Mark, North Audley St., Westminster (Middx), as his second wife, Gen. John Alfred Street CB (1822-89), son of Capt. John Street RA, and had issue one son (the author Cecil John Charles Street (1884-1964)); death not traced;
(3) Charles Horsfall Bill (1853-1906), born 5 February and baptised at Maidstone, 31 March 1853; an officer in the West Yorkshire Rifle Militia (Lt., 1871; resigned 1877); married, Apr-Jun 1895, Lillian Alice Holmes (b. c.1869), but had no issue; lived latterly at Aberdovery (Merioneths.); drowned in Cardigan Bay, 22 May 1906 and was buried at Llanfihangel; administration of goods granted to his widow, 25 August 1906 (estate £155);
(4) Robert William Bill (1856-1941), born at Nigg (Ross & Cromarty), 8 January 1856; farmer; JP and DL for Parts of Lindsey in Lincolnshire; an officer in 3rd Battn, Lincolnshire Regiment (Capt.); married, 16 November 1883 at St Martin-in-the-Fields, Westminster (Middx), Annie Cecilia (1859-1936), daughter of Rev. Richard William Bulmer, rector of Belleau (Lincs), and had issue two sons and two daughters (one of whom married her kinsman, John Hugo Heyburn Bill (1877-1919), for whom see above); died 7 November 1941; will proved 26 January 1942 (estate £485);
(5) Arthur Ingram Horsfall Bill (1859-1929), born at Elgin (Morays), 6 November 1859; emigrated to New Zealand, where he farmed; married, 2 July 1888 at Marton, Wanganui (NZ), Mary Ross (1862-1939), but had no issue; died at Marton, 21 September 1929; administration of goods granted 8 September 1932 (estate in England, £165);
(6) Emma Maria Bill (1862-1943), born at Elgin, 15 March 1862; accompanied her husband to incumbencies in Canada, 1892-1913; married, 7 June 1883 at St John, Croydon (Surrey), Rev. Charles Herbert Rich (1860-1933), son of Stiles Rich, accountant, and had issue two sons; died 14 August 1943; will proved 18 November 1943 (estate £9,157);
(7) Anne Horsfall Bill (1864-1942), born 10 October and baptised at Dauntsey (Wilts), 7 December 1864; married, 3 February 1891 at St John, Woking (Surrey), Rev. Henry George Constable Curtis (1865-1957), rector of Babworth (Notts), youngest son of Capt. Constable Curtis of The Hall, Great Berkhamstead (Herts), and had issue one daughter; died 17 March 1942; will proved 21 May 1942 (estate £968).
He inherited Storthes Hall from his father in 1863, but continued to let it. He occupied many properties around England and Scotland, but eventually settled at The Priory, Tetbury (Glos), which was sold after his death. He sold Storthes Hall in 1898 for £49,500.
He died aged 90 at Sidmouth (Devon), 6 November, and was buried at Sidmouth, 10 November 1908; his will was proved 28 January 1909 (estate £75,596). His wife died 4 January 1875.

Principal sources

Burke's Landed Gentry, 1952, p. 178; R. Harman & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: Yorkshire West Riding - Sheffield and the south, 2017, p. 368; C. Wakeling & Sir N. Pevsner, The buildings of England: Staffordshire, 2nd edn., 2024, p. 269.

Location of archives

Bill family of Farley Hall: deeds, estate and family papers, 1438-20th cent. [Staffordshire Record Office, D554]

Coat of arms

Bill of Farley Hall: Ermine, two bill-hooks in saltire proper, on a chief azure a pallet or, charged with a rose gules between two pelicans' heads erased argent.

Can you help?

  • If anyone can provide additional information about the Clifford family and their decision to sell Farley Hall in c.1970, I would be most grateful.
  • Can anyone provide photographs or portraits of the people whose names appear in bold above, for whom no image is currently shown?
  • If anyone can offer further information or corrections to any part of this article I should be most grateful. I am always particularly pleased to hear from current owners or the descendants of families associated with a property who can supply information from their own research or personal knowledge for inclusion.

Revision and acknowledgements

This post was first published 22 February 2026.